We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel is not 5star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Laico Hammamet
Ranked #27 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“hotel is not 5star”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Supposedly 5 star more like European 3star. most guest where on their holidays and the majority of these seemed to be All inclusive. I was only bed n breakfast due to working not vacation.

Pool was nice. hotel was situated over the road from the beach.

Breakfast was very poor. Chef couldnt even make an omelette that wasn't liquid in side. cheese on display seemed very sweaty.

the rooms where ok, nothing flash. my toilet stank and the bathroom needed refurbishing.

Wifi was available throughtout the hotel aslthough ws prone to signal dropping

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank daveannmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    175
    136
    87
    71
See reviews for
271
259
30
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
269 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Visit as a tour group and stayed at xx hotel next door. Everyone complain and moved to this advertised one. Much much better.
Although I would not say absolute 5 star, it is much well maintained than others in the trip. I can say it is one of the good one. With this context, I do not hesitate to recommend this hotel.
The standard in Tunisia is lower than other countries and therefore I cannot agree with the other reviewers.
The buffet dinner is also one of the best in the trip.

Room Tip: Wifi too slow in the room. No need to change room because of this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobBobGolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncef G, Director of Sales at Hotel Laico Hammamet, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Sir
All the laico/Ledger team and I would thank you for sharing your experience further to your stay within our property.
I took note of your comments with particular attention, especially regarding the wifi in rooms and ask you to accept my apologies for these inconveniences.
Besides, I could note that the food in restaurant have met your expectations.
Your observations are precious as it allows us to, constantly, improve the quality of our service in the sole aim of keeping your satisfaction.
I hope being able to welcome you again in Laico/Ledger to offer to your good selves a new unique experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I have been several times in Hotels in the Hammamet area; and I have never seen such a terrible hotel; it should be down-graded to 1 star hotel; supet unfriendldy hotel staff; especially at the front desk in the lobby... If you ask for anything, you get always the "I-Don't-know " answer; the only way to motivate them to get the work they are supposed to do done ... The pool is dirty; and one can see clearly dirt in the water; and for a 5-star hotel, it is extremly tiny...

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fahdoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hammamet hotels

North Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel has dodgy lifts and I have been staying in the hotel only 3 days and been trapped in them twice now. ( July 2014)

What is more concerning is that the "alarms" in the lifts dont work and if it wasnt for my friend calling the hotel from the UK to say I was trapped I could be still in there.

I am asthmatic and this was a very stressful experience.
The first time I was trapped for 45 minutes at night and the second time for 1 hour in the day.

I am writing this review as they dont seem to care and are not getting it fixed.
If you are old you do not want to be trapped in the 42 degree heat in a small lift as its very unpleasant.

It is not five star and the service levels are maximum 3 -4 star.
AVOID IF POSSIBLE.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank North-Wales-skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruda Bugaj, Polska
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I've stayed there for several nights in the begining of December. I got the room with a pool-area and partially marina/see view. Room was OK, spacious, with a balcony, tv, big wardrobe, nice bathroom with a proper bath (however I normally prefer just a shower:), empty minibar fridge (hotel do not provide in the room even any bottled-water) operates no matter if the roomkeycard is in the slot, so you don't need to apply the trick with the other thing in the slot when you are outside and like to have your cola be cool when get back. However, for the other stuff to work, such as your mobile charger, the trick is necessary).
The hotel/room is rather clean but not 100%. Overall service is OK taking into account Tunisian standards (in my opinion you cannot anticipate extraordinary service here:). Maybe in other countries the 5 star would be disputable, but here I believe is OK as long as the hotel has some facilities as restaurants operating most of the time, room service, laundry, safe box, bars, pools etc.

Food is tasty, but a little bit borring from day to day. Drinks are expensive so take your duty free with you. Small beer was about 6 dinars, Tunisian wine starts with about 15 (small bottle), one shot 0.04 is about 20dinars. The supermarket is however right behind the corner, but you can buy there only beer and local wine. Spirits are hard to buy in Tunisia, but if you manage to find it, a half litter red Johny Walker will cost you more than 130 dinnars (60 euro), while 0.5l water is half of dinar and 0.5l cola is 0.8-0.9 dinar.
Indoor pool was nice (with water of about 25 centidegrees) as the outside temperature was about 18-20 and water in the outdoor pool had about 14 centidegrees. However the operating hours for indoor pool outside the high season are 9-18 only.
One night it was a traditional show in one of the bars - people wearing traditional cloathes playing music, some ladies dancing etc. - It was not of highest quality, but very interesting and nice to be part of. The show was for free (a big surprise!).
But if you want experience a high quality show, go to the Sheherezada show, 3-4 minutes from the hotel, for a dinner. This show is amazing!
Yasmine Hammamet beaches in December do not look incentive, garbage is everywhere. I recommend going to Hammamet downtown (about 10km, take a taxi which is about 7 dinars). In December it was easy to cut prices even to 1/3 of initial quotation of the salesmen in both medina shops and Yasmine Hammamet shops. Even 'fixed prices' shops accept bargain to at least 40-50% down. You can take very nice pictures in both Hammamet medina and nearby as well as in Yasmine Hammemet - especially in Yasmine port. Few days in Yasmine Hammamet could be very nice, but for real flavour of Tunisia you need to go somewhere else as well. If you get nearby Sfax (which is not the travel destination itself) should you try the seafood and fish. Cutlefish, octopus and dorada fish are just a few to mention, but generally real food in Tunisia is probably one of the best experiences you will have (if you get out of your hotel of course:). Enjoy Tunisia!

Room Tip: I am not sure if it works in this hotel, but I heard if you give a bottle of vodka or whisky, you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed here with my girlsfriend in august 2013. Claims to be a 5 star hotel, but is not. Nice pool area, nice big lobby. Old (but big) rooms, bad food (almost every dish is sprinkled with tuna). Boring neighbourhood. You can take a taxi to the nearest city, but taxis is Tunisia does not seem safe to me. (No lights, no speed limits, no safety belts.)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arvid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Thankyou xaviero76 (review posted 2nd October) I have just returned from same hotel today. I have to agree with everything you said!
Wherever do these places get their star ratings from?
The food was diabolical.....hot food always cold and cold food always uncovered and infested with flies. It's a miracle we survived the week without some serious stomach bug.
Although our maid was a very sweet girl she and all other cleaning staff need teaching how to actually clean!
The hotel corridors are carpeted, they were disgusting when we arrived and worse when we left - never seeing a vacuum cleaner once.
The bedrooms are VERY dated, toiletries are in very short supply, our friend in the next room went without soap three days in a row, washing her hands with shampoo! We were given bath robes the day we arrived, the next day they took them away?
Outdoor areas are poorly cleaned too. Taking coffee outside the breakfast room one morning we discovered a table full of food remains and pots left from the previous nights dinner. No wonder the flies are everywhere.
Please take note of my review, this is my 4th Tunisia visit and by far the worst experience.
PS the bar staff are lovely, they deserve a mention and the weather just fabulous.

Room Tip: Insist on a sea view. Pool view rooms must be noisy from daytime poolside music and nightly animatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asas0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
1.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
1.5 mi away
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
#31 of 117 in Hammamet
705 reviews
5.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
#25 of 117 in Hammamet
402 reviews
0.6 mi away
Saphir Palace & Spa
Saphir Palace & Spa
#43 of 117 in Hammamet
1,130 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#20 of 117 in Hammamet
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laico Hammamet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laico Hammamet

Property: Hotel Laico Hammamet
Address: main esplanade of Yasmine, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Laico Hammamet 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sail in a ship in grand style on the blue Mediterranean... Situated on the sea front in the bustling resort of Yasmine Hammamet and close to the marina, the LAICO HAMMAMET will surprise you with its spaciousness and light and the uncluttered simplicity of its architecture. Tennis or Golf, cocktails next to the pool or a snack in the beach bar, thalassotherapy or shopping, a visit to famous Hammamet or the Carthage Land theme park... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Laico Hammamet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laico Hotel Hammamet
Hammamet Laico Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing