We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
Ranked #31 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing ”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

First of all I'm giving this hotel 2 rating as it's advertised as a 5 star hotel and is no where near to a 5 star!! Very disappointing.
The pool is very nice but needs to be a lot larger to accommodate the amount of people the hotel holds. There are not enough sun beds on the beach or the pool side areas to for fill the customers at the hotel. We found the food to be hit and miss but mostly very bland and boring. If you want anything fresh then be prepared to wait. Especially in the morning if you want a crepe or omelette then the que is even bigger, to miss this I would recommend get up about 7:30am (which nobody wants to do on holiday) and while your down there I would recommend putting your towel out as otherwise you won't get a sun bed for the day. The private beach next to the hotel looks beautiful until you get up close and realise there is rubbish everywhere and even in the sea!! We went into the sea twice thought we would give it a second chance and all that, then I got a churned up carrier bag stuck to me whitest in the sea, it was a case of dodge the rubbish before we both got out never to return again!! It is a real shame there is rubbish everywhere as the beaches and sea is beautiful to look at and very clear but just too polluted :(.
If unfortunately if you have already booked this hotel then I would recommend doing some trips - Simply Sahara is amazing they cram loads of sight seeing into your two days. Well worth the money you see the Star Wars sets, Sahara, Amphitheatre plus loads more. Zulu is another one, it's a good afternoon out you go around a zoo which is a really nice zoo, did think at times the animals there got treated better than the people staying in our hotel.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel for anyone and wouldn't go back to Tunisia. The only good thing I could say about the hotel was the rooms where big (but run down in need of reprinting and repair)

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    244
    112
    69
    47
See reviews for
204
286
48
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Well think it has nearly all been said before, we were also disappointed that there was no tea and coffee facilities in the room, which is common through all hotels in Tunisia (especially when you arrive at 1am in the morning and the company we flew with did not offer meals or drinks at all then after a delay with Just sunshine transfer (do not use this company at all) we were desperate for a drink and something to eat, only to be told only drinks were available, then when we asked for a pot of tea we were asked did we want it with water!!!!! but we did not get milk with it!!. Apparently if you arrive during the day you are told everything, but if you arrive late evening or later you get told nothing. We were told that the night staff do not speak fluent English which is why they are put on the night shift. We had a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool, do not choose a pool view over the outdoor pool unless you are joining in the evening entertainment, as a glass of water on the bedside table was moving with the noise from the entertainment, we moved rooms the next day to overlooking the indoor pool, which was great you could just wonder down and have the pool all to yourself, only disadvantage these rooms do not get any sun. Our corridor had never seen a hoover in the 2 weeks during our stay, plus the lights did not always come on automatically so you had to feel your way to open your door. We found that people who had room service put their plates out after using them, and they were still there 3 hours later. Our toilet kept constantly filling up, we requested this to be repaired but this was still not carried out 2 days later. We mentioned this to our Rep Maher from hotels4u.com was most helpful, and a lovely guy to talk to, when we told him he reported it and it was repaired within 15 mins. There is a lack of information for you, for example, if you want pool towels you need to go the the cashiers desk and pay £10 each deposit, you get a card which you exchange for towels each day, then when you leave you get the £10 back. Look for the indoor pool with the sauna, but note you may have to request the sauna to be switched on, as they said it was too hot to have on, then why have one installed in a hot country. In the indoor pool the paint on the metal beams was coming off and in danger of dropping into the pool.

As for the restaurant, we also found that some of the food was not always labelled so you had no idea what you were eating as the chefs could not speak English. Our waiter Mohammed was brilliant as he seemed to be the only one working to keep the tables clean and ready for the next people. I am not a vegetarian but was whilst eating in this restaurant, also it is best to get a table before you get your food as we saw couples wondering around with plates of food and no where to sit.

One tip is if you are leaving anything in the room ie. left over shampoo sun cream etc for the cleaners please write a note and sign it as the cleaners are not allowed to take anything without a signature and room no from you, as I also left a couple of items of clothing I was not going to wear again.

Whilst we were there they were supposed to be spraying in the evening to get rid of the flies and mosquitoes which did not work as the flies were still around the next day.

This is also the furthest hotel away from the town, so unless you want to pay each time to go into Yasmin Hammamet it is a 20 min walk which is badly lit in the evening, and uneven pavements and very very smelly from the horse's!!!!! who are worked all day and evening, and are very thin and badly treated.

Please do the trip to the desert, but be prepared for 2 very early morning starts, ie 4am & 5am but well worth it.

Room Tip: Do not get a room over the pool unless you do not want to sleep. Rooms overlooking the indoor pool d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

After booking in and waiting over TWO,yes TWO hours for our room,we were pleased to find the room was as we expected.Spacious,clean and to be fair perfectly adequate.The service is not what I would call professional at all.At the poolside restaurant,you can barely get a smile from the staff unless you speak Arabic or French.At lunch times,you can't get a simple snack anywhere in the hotel.It's a meal or nothing.I will give praise to the pizzas tho,superb.The breakfasts were perfectly adequate,a mix of hot cold or croissants,but the evening meals,whilst a great selection,were reasonable with plenty of choices but never hot.Always luke warm apart from the soup,that was just barely warmed.As mentioned in other reviews,having to sneak water in from outside was a joke.After returning from a trip one day,we were stopped at the entrance by security and told I couldn't bring in an opened and quarter full bottle and made to throw it in a bin outside the hotel.Flies were a constant nuisance around the pool and on the beach which was never tidied and could have been better.My only praise for the staff goes to Adele,the pool attendant,he was at it non stop.Always had a smile on his face and worked non stop to make the guests comfortable,from moving beds,putting the brollies up and bringing drinks.Well worth his tip!!! The entertainment at night was good for the first 3 nights,but then they get the same acts in and you have to listen to them all over again.Same Act,same tunes.Great the first time round tho.I could go on,but I'm getting bored writing it,let alone reading it.5star it is not,2 at best.One word,AVOID!!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NAS0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

If you enjoy staying in hotels with an unpleasant atmosphere, being spoken to rudely by staff members, being fleeced at every opportunity and having to behave like a petty criminal while on holiday this is the hotel for you. I have stayed in better Premier Inns. The rooms are very basic, with no tea and coffee making facilities. The beds are like sleeping on a concrete slab and there was a considerable amount of mould in the bathroom. NOT 5 star. If you want to use the spa facilities expect to pay for it and heaven forbid you want to fill your water bottle up at the water fountain to use in the gym. Same with the bar or the restaurant at the beach, you can only sit in theses areas if you are purchasing goods. At the beach this has to be in excess of 200 Tunisian Denar. The hotel advertises 9 restaurants we only found 3 open and have no idea where the other 6 are. While eating in one of the restaurants one evening we were told we had to move tables from outside to inside as we were not purchasing any drinks. As for water, you can either pay the high price in the hotel or behave like a petty criminal and buy it at the local supermarket for a quarter of the cost then sneak it in in your beach bag. Taking food and water into the hotel from outside is STRICTLY PROHIBITED. We did not know this and had our water confiscated. Even if your partner is violently ill, as a result of the food in the hotel, you will be expected to buy water from the hotel or sneak it in round the back. The mini market in the hotel is not even allowed to stock water. 

We stayed in this hotel between the 8th to 15th September and the only pleasant member of staff was Adele the pool man. As a female I found it very difficult to get any of the male staff in the hotel to speak to me. Initially I thought this was a cultural thing but having spent time outside the hotel this is not the case. The unpleasant undertone also left me feeling quite unsafe in the hotel.

 The location its self, Yasmine-Hammamet, is poor and a bit like tacky seaside beach abroad. Tunisia in general is filthy and there is a big problem with flies. The beach at the hotel was dirty with litter in the sand and I would not venture into the sea as there was so much rubbish floating in it. It was not the picturesque place we were looking forward to visiting. In conclusion, if you are looking for a relaxing holiday in a 5 star hotel DO NOT stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank runlabratrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Hi there anyone who is reading this please do not make the mistake of booking this terrible hotel, The rooms are bland no decor had room for one man in the so called balcony food was disgusting and repetitive we had diarrhoea most nights was counting the days to come back, the waiters in the restaurant are rude and don't clean your table unless you buy a drink from them. The rep from thomson is an absolute joke she is a useless cow and was never there to help she has a face like a bull dogs no smile nothing, I would never recommend coming back to this hotel, there is so much more I could say but I think the hotel deserves 1* nothing more thats being generous. The only one good thing about this hotel was the Shisha bar a small guy who worked there was lovely I think his name was Akram. Overall the hotel is a mess a joke never come to this place unless you enjoy wasting time and money, DISGRACEFUL.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ALCAPONE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We found the hotel quite pleasant on arrival but it was all down hill from there. room was clean and tidy apart from the patio curtain was hanging down and the net curtain was dirty, there was mould around the bath, the hall lights did not work and the toilet and bathroom extractors did not work and by the time we left the toilet light had gone out. We reported the problems on the day of arrival to reception, and the next day to the tour rep but it was a waste of time as they never got it sorted.

Waiters were rude and could not be bothered unless you bought drinks at inflated prices and when you paid for them you didn't always get your change. If you required any cutlery if you were lucky to receive them they were usually dirty used from a cleared table which they wipe in a dirty napkin. Also if you did not buy a drink with your meal, the waiter would try to clear the table and reset it before you had finished your meal.as for 9 restaurants I spent two weeks there and could not find them.

The pool was clean and tidy which was thanks to one man adel who sorted the sun beds out for guests. the animation team were a waste of time they had a couple of games scheduled in for day and a aqua gym which a lot of people weren't interested in so were mainly cancelled. the only other problem around the pool was the flies mainly on our last few days. As for the beach, it was filthy, with rubbish bags floating in the sea.

This was our 3rd trip to Tunisia the other two were fantastic, but if this had been our 1st trip we would never have returned.

Room Tip: change hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ron r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Not sure where the 5* rating came from as the room was is a bit run down, had to wait for room to be cleaned, wasn't to impressed with it had 2 nails coming though the wardrobe and lamps hanging out of the wall, and balcony door would not lock (ground floor room) they said they would look into it but they didnt. Food was a bit repetitive but was nice and the staff were very helpfull, Beach was nice about a 5 min walk.hotel is a bit out of the main town about 20 mins walk.You cant take food or water in to the hotel from outside,they said all the hotels there were the same but this the first one where they stopped us to look.But they are there to make money but 3 times as much is a bit Strong, just didnt feel right.all in all would not go back . But will go back to Tunisia nice place friendly people

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeeab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#18 of 118 in Hammamet
1,259 reviews
7.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
2.1 mi away
Hotel Le Royal Hammamet
Hotel Le Royal Hammamet
#52 of 118 in Hammamet
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
3.0 mi away
Hotel Menara
Hotel Menara
#48 of 118 in Hammamet
185 reviews
7.6 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#4 of 118 in Hammamet
2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra Thalasso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Thalasso Hotel

Property: Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
Address: Bp 66 | Yasmine, Hammamet 8052, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#29 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Alhambra Thalasso Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the famous Alhambra Palace in Granada, and evoking memories of a Moorish and Andalusian era, the elegant and superbly designed Alhambra Thalasso Hotel 5*, member of the prestigious chain Warwick International Hotels, ideally located in the resort of Yasmine Hammamet, is an architectural masterpiece in its own right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alhambra Thalasso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Thalasso Hammamet
Hotel Alhambra Thalasso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing