We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Animation Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Saphir Palace & Spa
Ranked #47 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Everyone at the hotel we're very friendly and made everyone feel welcome. Entertainment was great and food was lovely. There was a very funny little man named Medo who was very sexy. Shows were very exciting and great skills were shown by the staff. Activities for all ages were on going throughout the day including Archery, Football, Water Polo and many others. Dances and music was very good and everyone gets involved. Animation staff made everything better, especially Looky who was very funny and entertaining:D. Overall great experience!

Room Tip: Book with Thomas Cook for great deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jez B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

starting from the reception, they welcome you with a warm smile but after u give ur money, they will always escape to whatever u asking for(i asked for a second card for my bro, they told me they don't have,knowing many rooms were empty..) the buffet is good, but you have to pay for water..i understand about other drinks but not for water...
the staff who are here to entertain you during ur vacation are most of the time working only with those who gave them tips or made friendship. ..
before the guys who come for the survey form, alllll the staff come to us one by one asking us (plzzzz write my name to get a high score on my record)
the corridor isn't well lighted

to finish with my comment, wasn't well satisfied for the price i booked for.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Bekaddour H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Saphir Palace & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Although we regret reading that your stay at our IBEROSTAR Saphir Palace did not live up to your expectations, we thank you for your review on personal experience among us.

We were however surprised to read that a second key card was denied when requesting it for your brother as at the time of check in we do handle a key card for each person occupying the room.

Moreover we lament hearing that apparently you were not properly informed about your half board basis at the time of reservation; as you can see both on our web and brochure, the half board basis includes drinks at breakfast but none for dinner, we encourage you for future occasion to visit our webpage ort to contact our call center from where we can offer you a personalized booking guidance and give you all the relevant information for you to fully enjoy your holidays among us.

Further, it saddens us to read that you felt pressured to answer the questionnaire which is a potent tool to measure our guests' satisfaction with our services. To us, it is of prime importance that these are filled out honestly. Please know your comments have been shared with our management team for further revision.

On the other hand, we thank you for pointing out the genuine kindness of our reception team as well as the quality of our buffets; the passion for gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company, we greatly appreciate your praising comments on our restaurant where our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights.

Our goal is to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits. We are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you gave us that chance.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Saphir Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

terrible, the staff is not polite and for sure it's not a 5 stars hotel, it seems a 3 stars hotel..
and the wiffi... in a 8 days stay I could conect the wiffi only one time for 3 minutes, the rest of the time it said that there are many participantd using the wiffi and that i have to try later..

Room Tip: old furniture, everything is broke
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nuritaviajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Saphir Palace & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your personal impressions on your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Saphir Palace hotel. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.

At IBEROSTAR we strive to deliver an excellent and personalized service to all our guests, and we lay high value on our personnel being guest orientated and welcoming at all times this is why we were very disheartened to read your comments on their service and will not fail to share your feedback with our heads of department for revision.

Moreover, we send you our sincerest apologies for the difficulties you experienced with our Wi Fi service, but as our staff answered you, during high occupancy when many guests are connected at the same time, the service can be slower and we commit to revise how we can enhance it in the near future.

Once more thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area; your constructive remarks will certainly help us to quickly improve the aspects you mentioned; thanks again for the courtesy of your time, we all look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Saphir Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I can't really give this hotel an overall 5 star rating. It borders more with 4 star rating. I went all exclusive in August 2014, and despite having a few hitches with my initial booking upon arrival, due to a booking error via my agents, all was resolved reasonably quickly. The Hotel were very understanding, and offered me their front desk assistance by contacting the booking office for the local region, and also allowed me to contact my agent in London. I was quite impressed by the front desk efficiency. The staff in the hotel were very friendly and had a positive attitude at all times. Most of them could speak some English, and also fluent in other languages. Amazing really!

The overall decor within the hotel is up to standard. The facilities for sport and animation were ok, but not fantastic. The food was mostly of good variety, which included local dishes. The quality of the buffet food in some cases wasn't so good, not freshly cooked, and not freshly squeezed juices, mostly like squash. Perhaps using some canned food for the fruit salad bar. The fish was absolutely fresh, and loved the selection on patisserie and sweet desserts.
The Hotel room that we stayed in was really nice and clean with a superb view of the outside pool. All facilities fully functional.The Pool bar and The beach side bar was great too. Well organized and helpful staff. Good quality recliners too.

I would like to thank the Management and staff of Iberostar Saphir Palace Hotel for such a pleasant stay, and I hope to visit again some time soon in the future.

Room Tip: Depends on your preferences, with either to have a sea view, pool view, etc. Nice to see views from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Adara-Ibru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We went early August. It was busy and it was something I booked quite late so paid a bit of a premium. I have been to many hotels and I would not place this in the five star category. We had gone for half board but had a few buffet lunches because it was at a good rate and simply too hot to venture out with our children in the afternoon heat.

The food was often repetitive and in a few days we could easily spot the same food being repeated. There were some good tasty food but more often felt like canteen food dressed up a little bit better. The restaurant also closed at very strict timings and the AC switched off half an hour before the time ended.

The lobby also did not have AC and Wifi was not great. My wife wrote a letter and left it with the reception but no one responded back which is not what we would expect in a five star.

Surprisingly on Tuesday the hotel suddenly perked up. The AC was switched on and we suddenly noticed the service in a fifth gear. The door was opened for us, we had fruit bowl delivered to our rooms (for all guests) and there was even a free invitation to free drinks and canapes. At dinner time the arrangement was better with some props and we had extra staff talking to us. We then found out that they had Iberostar survey that evening and we were given a form to fill. As we filled the form one staff from the activity section tried her best to coerce us to put the best even though we met her the first time...this was unacceptable and made the survey a sham. What it showed was that the hotel was capable of providing a high level of service but simply did not bother. The next day the Cinderella carriage had turned back to a pumpkin. The service was patchy and AC switched off.

In terms of activity we did not think there was much and I have seen better. The arcade was however good and the children enjoyed the air hockey and pool. The spa person continued to sit in front of a big 'playing golf poster' and looked pretty bored. We initially thought he was recruiting for golf and only when I started talking to him found that he was from the spa. He had very little in terms of offers and it is our first five star hotel where we have not used a spa.

In the world of digital and satellites I am surprised as to why this hotel only had two channels in English which was just News. The rest of the channels were all in French or German. And oh yes the TV was a little old and small for our room.

On a positive note the children loved the swimming pool which is huge and had a good drinks section. They were also some helpful and good staff who are trying their best. The room was spacious and house keeping was outstanding.

Overall If you get a good rate then this may be the hotel for you. I am also told that the service is better in winter times as there are less people. For us this was certainly disappointing and a shame to see a potentially good hotel not living to the five star standard and making short cuts.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Murtaza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Saphir Palace & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Although we deeply lament reading that your stay at our IBEROSTAR Saphir Palace hotel was not as enjoyable as it could have been, we would like to thank you for sharing your observations with us because this gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests a better service, which ultimately is the goal of IBEROSTAR.

We sincerely regret reading that you felt pressured to answer the questionnaire which is a potent tool to measure our guests' satisfaction with our services. To us, it is of prime importance that these are filled out honestly, this is why we will share your comments with our Management team firstly to ensure our five star standards at all times and to guarantee the credibility of our guests’ feedback for the improvement of our services, guest satisfaction being our primary goal.

Moreover, we would like to express our apologies for not answering your wife’s letter, our Hotel Manager has been informed so as to ensure that all guest’ comments are taken onboard and accordingly answered.

The Spa is rented to an external company and not managed by IBEROSTAR; we however will not fail to pass on your comments to the responsible person for information.

On the other hand, we are glad your children took advantage of our pool and our arcade games room and thank you for pointing out the cleanliness and comfort of our accommodations.

Once more, we are sincerely sorry to hear that we were not able to make your stay a pleasant one during this occasion and do hope we will have the opportunity to change your first impression about our service and turn it into a wonderful holiday experience with IBEROSTAR in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Saphir Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Dear Sir
We write to pass on our gratitude towards many of your staff. We have just returned from a two week stay at your hotel and felt compelled to write. We stayed between 31/07/14 & 14/08/14, in rooms 440 & 450.

Although the furnishings within the communal areas are very tired and do not warrant a 5 star rating, your staff most certainly do. Please pass on our gratitude to all staff who helped make our stay so enjoyable.

We would particularly like to mention several staff who went above and beyond their duties to make our holiday special. (Unfortunately, many staff do not have name badges which makes it difficult to name all excellent staff).

Ali, the manager of the bars was extremely kind and helpful towards our family and always gave a greeting and a smile, he ensured we always had everything we needed, we all are blessed to have met him.

Yassine, one of the beach life guards is an intelligent, multilingual gentleman who took time to offer help and assistance and most certainly added to the enjoyment of our holiday. His ability to communicate confidently in several different languages and his kindness, helpfulness and friendliness, enhanced our holiday experience. Again we feel very blessed to have met him.

Although less able to communicate in English Amir was also very helpful. We would also like to praise the work of the beach bar man.

Within the restaurant most waiting staff were polite and helpful, but we feel Manager Chokre (hope we have spelt this correctly) and waiter Hichem again went above and beyond their role to make our family feel special.

Many bar staff were friendly and helpful but we feel Mohammed deserves a special mention, he is friendly and helpful.

Mario your head of entertainment took time to speak to everyone every day, remembering names and using them. He is also an intelligent multilingual gentleman who's ability to communicate in several languages brought together holiday makers of many nationalities.

Your reception staff are excellent, unfortunately we only managed to catch one name Sassi, as within the hotel many staff do not wear name badges. The day time reception staff were also very helpful. We had a problem with very noisy air conditioning which they arranged to be fixed very quickly.

Finally the food in the restaurant was always pleasant and the rooms were always well cleaned and cared for. Thank you to all the staff behind the scene who ensure meals are ready and rooms are clean.

Please pass on our good wishes and many thanks to the above mentioned people. We hope to be able to return in the future.

Kindest Regards


As a family of 4 adults ages ranging from 23 to 51 we had a relaxing fun holiday. We swam in the sea daily and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We would definitely go back. 1 note, please be aware that there are jelly fish in the sea and at the weekend when locals spend the day at the beach the water has a lot of rubbish in it. They do not seem to use bins.
Sent from my iPad

Room Tip: Free Wifi in communal area, you have to renew every 4 days. A little intermittent but usable. Air co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

staying at the saphir palace hotel was excellent Kadesha on reception checked us in while the waiter brought us a welcome drink as it was my birthday they upgraded us to a suite absolutely fantastic We stayed on an all inclusive board base which worked for us.The food was varied always something you could find that you liked the waiters in the dinning room were very helpful an elderly lady guest got lots of attention they walked around and carried her plate while she filled it and carried to her table how polite. The bar staff at the saphir lobby bar are amazing our favorite was Ramsi and Ali the bar Manager nothing was too much trouble always walking around even around the pool collecting glasses and chatting to guests This is the first holiday we have been on that the staff are the reason we will return

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank betty b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
6.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
0.9 mi away
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
#30 of 119 in Hammamet
787 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vincci Flora Park
Vincci Flora Park
#26 of 119 in Hammamet
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Royal Hammamet
Hotel Le Royal Hammamet
#52 of 119 in Hammamet
452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#11 of 119 in Hammamet
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saphir Palace & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saphir Palace & Spa

Address: Boulevard 7 Novembre | Yasmine, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia (Formerly Iberostar Saphir Palace)
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#39 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: £36 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Saphir Palace & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Saphir Palace Hotel offers 5-star hotel accommodations just steps from Yasmine-Hammamet Beach. Our hotel is a perfect spot for travellers in search of a peaceful, enchanting Tunisian holiday. During your stay, enjoy our tasteful and fully-equipped guestrooms, deluxe gastronomic selections, and entertainment options that will exceed your expectations. Enjoy an unforgettable Hammamet experience any time of the year - only at the IBEROSTAR Saphir Palace Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Saphir Palace & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Saphir Palace Hotel Hammamet
Accor Saphir Palace Hammamet
Sofitel Hammamet
Hammamet Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing