We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the belisaire”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Medina Belisaire & Thalasso
Ranked #12 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Having read all the reviews I decided to go with the belisaire having stopped with the hotel chain before in bulgaria. I couldnt fault the hotel, it was good value for money. We did alot of walking around the area and thought it was very peaceful. There is a supermarket type shop on the corner near the marina that sold alcohol. The weather was just right. There is a lovely beach a short walk from the back of the hotel. We decided to take 2 days out of our week to go on the sahara explorer trip (well worth the money) but you do spend alot of time travelling. If you take the 'noddy' train to hammermet there is a lovely icecream bar called 'Tootie Fuity' or something like that. They do fantastic strawberries and ice cream (they dont skimp). We would love to go back when the new airport opens and perhaps they might havee filled some of the newly built empty shops then.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spamberler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,878)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,050 - 1,056 of 1,878 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2009

Have just returned from a week at the Belisaire. Unlike a few comments earlier, my daughter and I opted to go all inclusive at the Belisaire. We found this very convenient as you can get drinks whenever, including cappucinos, water, wine, local spirits etc. It also meant that on a Monday, Tuesday or Wednesday you could dine at any of the Iberostar speciality restaurants in the area (if booked the day before at Belisaire reception and at no extra cost) - Asiatic at the Belisaire, Italian at the Averroes (10 min walk), Mexican at the Chich Khan and Oriental at the Solara (both about 20 mins walk). We loved this as we felt we had gone out to a smart restaurant for the night and we eat at both the Asiatic and Italian, where the wine flowed all night! However, we did meet a couple with a child who did not recommend it, as the food it not a suitable for children (more grown up and none of your pizza or hamburgers) and one evening we had a couple with two young children, one of which was grizzly and obviously uncomfortable, so if you have children - don't bother and keep to the buffets.

The buffets were very varied, both at lunchtime and in the evening, but always plenty of variety, lots of different ice creams and some lovely cakes and fruit, including gorgeous strawberries. The crepes with chocolates are available after lunchtime onwards and we enjoyed these too.

We had a nice clean room overlooking the quiet pool (again, the main lagoon type pool near the bar and restaurants was more geared up for children and lots of entertainment/music etc). There were plenty of sunbeds to go around and all inclusive allowed us to have a clean towel each day from reception (having paid a refundable deposit of 20TD.

The Iberostar also provides its all inclusive guests with a all inclusive package tot he Medina, giving you a free ticket to see the Museum, the palace of 1001 nights, the Tunisia Odyssey (sound and light cinema show with fountains etc) and also Dinner and full show -belly dancing etc (Friday or Saturday - again book day before at reception) at the Sheherazade, although you only get a bottle of water to share and will have to pay for any alcoholic drinks you want.

Although our rep explained that all taxi drivers should switch their meters on, one tried to rip us off by deliberately turning his off and trying to haggle with us over the price - we ended up walking back to the hotel in the end. The guys in the Medina do hassle a bit but there are lots of fixed price shops there, so just ignore then if necessary or try your hand at bartering.

The beach for the hotel is a 5 min walk away and no alchol is served on the beaches (I think this is a Tunisan rule), so only water and soft drinks are available from the iberostar bar, there is also a ladies shower and toilet and also the same for gents. The water was lovely and clear and you can make use of the free pedaloes and Kayaks, but the other water sports are payable.

We found the staff and animation team very friendly and welcoming - mind you with my 24 year old daughter, some of them were drawn to us and she did get a lot of stares from the males on the streets, which she ignored. The animation team seem to work very hard and will try and get you involved in activities but you can easily say 'No' if you just want to relax. They are also involved in the evening entertainment and we saw one show which wasn't too great - the hotel could do with a bit more resource on the entertainment side. Also please note that there is only one lifeguard who alternates between the beach or the hotel swimming pool near reception, so we felt this was too thin on the ground.

The mini bar for all inclusive guests does not exist - just a couple of bottles of water (which is a shame Iberostar as other places you get the full works) and although the hotel bedroom leaflet talked about cocktails and milkshakes in the bar, these did not exist either (although we saw a whole range of cocktails being served at the Iberostar Averroes hotel).

The health centre was excellent and my daughter and I tried a few treatments - which we found well worth the money and very relaxing. It was a very extensive health centre and offered a lot of choice in its treatments, with some special packages if you wanted to spend more money on lots of different treatments (this was also offered to us as a shared package - i.e. pay one price and split the treatments in the package between the two of us).

We also tried the gym - half of the equipment doesn't work and the room in the basement was hot and airless with no air conditioning. After 15 minutes we were dripping in sweat and had had enough.

Note that the air conditioning is apparently not switched on in the rooms until June (although air is circulated about but cannot be changed to cold). This mean that with our hot May week, we had to sleep with the balcony door open and curtains drawn, so we didn't suffocate. You may then suffer the Magic Life Club song from the hotel next door, which at 5am is a bit much.

Would I rate this as 4*. Yes, but only just about, as there is quite a bit missing for all inclusive guests compared to some of the other Iberostar 4* hotels I have stayed at in the last year or so and when I go back to Tunisia in the future I will book either the Iberostar Solara or Averroes hotel, which seems to be totally all inclusive and offers these extras! The Chich Khan seemed like it needed a bit of a revamp from what we could see of it.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Myself and family stayed here for 1 week in may ,the hotel staff are very friendly but the entertainment team pester you all day to join in with there games ,shuffleboard archery and darts all day every day.if you have under 12's be very careful if they go to the kids club run by the hotel as they are not qualified and just let them run in and out when they want. You can't buy small bottles of water at the bar they for the all inclusive guests only and the air con does not come on in the dinning area until august so be prepared its hot.Theres a good choice of food i'm very fussy and managed to eat every night ,we where half board if you want to upgrade when you get there you need to barter with the hotel reception to get the best price .If you have any old mobile phones take them with you the hotel staff will buy them off you .Lastly when you go to the airport you can pay with english money and you get english money change not euros like the reps tell you and its quite cheap ,you can take bottles of pop or water with you they dont take them off you when you go through customs and if you are a smoker you can smoke in the departure lounges.when you go shopping barter for everything start low and stay low you,ll get what you want.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bookiesbabe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

just back from tunisia yesterday 18th may 2009
its 1st tim iv stayed at a iberostar hotel and i can tell you i will defo be back.
rooms were nice plenty of storage for all your clothes beds comfy.
bathroom had shower and bath which was good as i like abath on holiday to relax.
food was amazing not a night did i go with out anything to eat ,cakes are amazing.
entertainment was not to good at night it catered more for the french and germans i you like bonni m from the 70s youll be fine.
my only complaint was the kids club entertainment at night didnt start till 9pm the kids were tired by then and there was a lot o complaints from parents about this.
i did speak to gigi the entertainment manager and i explained most kids were ready or bed at 9pm he said that his kids didnt go to bed till 10.30pm at night and she was only 18 months.
day time entertainment was very good i you like french bowls and archery silly games like that my partner loved joining in all these games during the day while i lay at the pool.
all the staff work very hard but get paid very little money. i would recomend leaving tipping till the end of your holiday we tipped 5 diner for each person we thought should get a tip.
over all i would say good hotel but night time entertainment needs to be changed it was boring

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donna35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2009

I have just returned from an 11 nights holiday with my boyfriend. We were upgraded to this hotel from the Marina Palace (which is undergoing refurbishment). I am very pleased that we were as this hotel was a delight. The hotel is large, well-maintained, bright and very clean. There are two swimming pools as well as a paddling pool and a heated hydro-pool indoors. There is a spa complex with massage, turkish bath etc available at fairly reasonable prices. The food is excellent - buffet meals (a la carte available upstairs for a fee). Loads of choice - very varied both for breakfast and evening meal. Friendly and helpful staff (useful if you have conversational French though as English is a third language). Plenty of entertainment bith day and night (a bit tacky but fun). Seemed to be plenty for children to do. The entertainment team work very hard indeed (although they are paid quite poorly). Crazy golf, tennis and table tennis available free of charge. Internet is available but not very cheap and is very slow. Good sized rooms, cleaned every day - decent balconies. Bar prices aren't bad altho it is naturally cheaper in town. The hotel is reasonably well situated - 10 mins from medina, 25 minutes from the marina (walking). You will need a taxi for Hammamet or Nabeul - but they are very cheap indeed. The hotel staff were perfectly well aware that we were a gay couple but were as friendly and polite as they are with any other guest - so no worries there. All in all an excellent hotel. Don't be like some of the British tourists there though, who simply stayed in the hotel all holiday. There is more to see in the area so do venture out.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradley25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2009

I stayed at the Belisaire with my partner for 7 days from 29th April 2009 .
We stayed in a third floor room which proved adequate with the best feature being the kingsize bed which was very comfortable and provided 7 good nights sleep.
The room had the usual features including air con with the only real gripe being the useless TV (unless you like German, French or Arabic channels or maybe like 24 hour BBC World News). The latter being the only English speaking channel on it.
We has previously stayed in another Tunisian hotel which did have more English channels so it is possible to get them. A recommendation to future guests is bring your own kettle, coffee etc. so you can have a drink in the room when you want.
We had decided to go all inclusive which was quite expensive for what you got. For lunch, all local drinks,snacks etc. it cost approx £125 each on top of half board (7 nights).
However we still had to pay for the room safe on top which I thought was a bit tight.
The menu for all three meals has been described very accurately by the reviewer awaythelad, and after a few days it became rather bland and you became a bit fed up with it.
The drinks were the usual format of local spirits etc under a all inclusive banner and they seem to be able to make only one cocktail called the belisaire which tasted like tango and white rum. The beer however was quite good for a local one.
The staff were friendly and helpful in the main and enjoyed teaching you a few words in arabic.
Entertainment was lively from the animation team (if you like that kind of thing) with games and shows etc. in the day and evening. However in the evening it was generally in a smoke filled noisy room full of excited small children.
We joined in the archery which was good fun.
A major complaint is that you could smoke pretty well anywhere in the Hotel including the rooms and corridors. The only place you didnt see people smoke was in the Dining Room (thank god). However the hotel was left with a permanent smell of cigarettes wherever you went which is difficult for non smokers.
The Zaheer ? bar which was about the only place in the evening you could get a quiet drink was ok until people turned up and started smoking heavily, at which point you could see non smokers start to leave and go to their rooms or anywhere for some fresh air.
The internet connection is an adventure with the operating system being Windows NT which I last used around 8 or 9 years ago. It had problems connecting to the Windows Live messenger system. I asked the rep who said type in e-buddy .com which did work when I eventually managed to get on line.
The location is as described again by Awaythelad but I have to say it seems a long walk to the resort if you are partially disabled. The resort is new with a lot of building work going on and it does seem to be quite a distance from the hotel to the Marina for example but I will let other people give their views on that one.
We walked to the Hotel beach (about 5 mins away), it was still closed for the winter but looked pleasant enough for summer pastimes.
Overall we enjoyed our stay, having been to Tunisia twice before and done all of the major trips in that time, I must also say though that we were ready to come home after 7 days. Would I return to this Hotel? Probably not.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liketotravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2009

We stayed at the Iberostar Belisaire Yasmin Hammamet 6 – 20 April. This was our first trip to Tunisia so we did not know what to expect. If they do not hand out tourist visa forms on the plane you will have to complete one for all your party on arrival in the airport, so remember to have enough pens handy. Money is a closed currency and you have to get it and leave it there. This is not a problem as the government set the rate so it is OK to get it from your hotel on arrival. April was approx 2TND to 1GBP. This Hotel is not 4 * but 3*+. It is clean and well presented and our room was also clean and well maintained. We did have a problem on arrival in that our patio door leading to the balcony (ground floor) would not lock but after reporting it to reception it was fixed within 30 minutes which was impressive given that it was 2200hrs. There is SAT TV with 22 channels however, there is only BBC world news in English. This would not have mattered too much normally but we had a lot of rainy days so the odd movie would have been nice. If you want a brew in your room, you will have to take your own kettle and makings. Do not expect any fancy cosmetic trappings in the bathroom either. The weather was disappointing; out of 14 days half were spent indoors from the rain.
If we were to return (and probably will) we would wait until May as the weather will be better and the resort of Yasmin will be more open for business. We took the advice of an earlier report and did not go all inclusive. I think this is a good idea as my wife does not drink and I would have to have drunk over150 beers to make it worth while. The beer (lager) in the hotel is 4.20 TDN and is cheaper than some of the bars in Yasmin. Spirits are more expensive. Breakfast is more set up for the continentals than the Brits. The cereals are poor and the cooked breakfast is fine if you like hot dogs and streaky greasy bacon. You can find salvation in the great omelettes and fried eggs but everyday it’s a struggle. The evening meals are varied and OK, you should have no problem finding something you will like. Food outside the hotel is generally cheap and cheerful with most restaurants having the same menu.
The biggest asset this hotel has is the staff. They are all very friendly and will do everything to make your stay a good one. Most speak several languages including English but a little French would serve you well. The Hotel’s Zafeer Piano bar is a very comfortable place to enjoy an evening drink. However, as most of the guests are from the continent it quickly becomes smoked bound. This is something the Hotel should consider and make this bar the refuge of the non smoker.
The animation team are always on the go and there is a programme of activities if you are in to that sort of thing. Evening entertainment was not great to be polite but that may be due to season not starting until May.
Yasmin is purpose built for tourists and only about 10 years old. It is however a very smart resort with some fabulous looking hotels, beautiful beach and promenade. I agree that it is a little false but nice all the same. The hotel is only a very short walk (5 mins) to the beginning of the shops and even closer to the beach, so I am at a loss why some have moaned at the location. The Medina (shops / restaurants) is about 10 mins walk, the marina 20 (worth a look, more restaurants and a fantastic ice cream parlour). Hammamet can be reached by either the ‘Noddy Train’ 5 TDN return (tourist ‘train’) taxi or local bus. This town is a lot older and is more real than Yasmin. However, it is very busy and the Medina is a nightmare for those who hate shopping/bartering. I would recommend a visit to Nabul for the Friday market. We took the local bus, great value at 1.275 TDN each way. The bus stop is outside the rear of the Hotel and could not be easier. Here the prices in the restaurants are half of Yasmin and are terrific value. More bartering is required in the market but was assured by hotel staff that best prices obtained here.
Would I go back to Tunisia? Without a doubt – May onwards.
Would I stay at the same hotel? Possibly

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Awaythelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#11 of 119 in Hammamet
1,353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vincci Flora Park
Vincci Flora Park
#28 of 119 in Hammamet
899 reviews
6.4 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#2 of 119 in Hammamet
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#3 of 119 in Hammamet
2,180 reviews
6.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Belisaire & Thalasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Belisaire & Thalasso

Address: Bp 204 | Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#6 Best Value Hotel in Hammamet
#6 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#8 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: £21 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Medina Belisaire & Thalasso 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel lies directly Hammamet - Yasmine (Tunisia) and just 200 m from the beautiful sandy beach. Family-friendly complex. Lively entertainment program. Just 5 km from two golf courses. Thalasso - therapy centre with different treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Medina Belisaire & Thalasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Belisaire Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Belisaire
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing