We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Menara
Nearby Hotels
Medina Belisaire & Thalasso(Hammamet)(Great Value!)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Saphir Palace & Spa(Hammamet)(Great Value!)
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Vincci Flora Park(Hammamet)(Great Value!)
US$47
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel(Hammamet)(Great Value!)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Club President(Hammamet)(Great Value!)
US$36
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$33
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort(Hammamet)(Great Value!)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Bel Azur(Hammamet)
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
67
70
35
14
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
70
35
14
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreception girlbig thanksclean towelsanimationcleaners
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We went for a 14 night stay in September 2013. The hotel is NOT as advertised. The All inclusive drinks consisted of Beer, Wine, Bouka liquer and 2 Bouka based cocktails. There were no sugar free drinks at all. The food left a lot to be desired with breakfast consisting of Hot dog sausages (with flies - honest), hard boiled eggs, Danish pastries and mushroom omelette. There were pancakes cooked by the pool during the afternoon, but we had to pay for them. When queried, we were told 'they are not part of the 'All inclusive'. Spoke to the rep who said 'there are so many bad reports on Trip Advisor'. We had not read them as we did not know the hotel was called LILAS as we had booked for the Menara! In 25 years and over 60 holidays abroad, this is the first time we have ever complained. Today I have received a cheques from Thomson's in final settlement of my complaint. SUCH A SHAME AS WITH A LITTLE EFFORT IT COULD BE A BEAUTIFUL HOTEL. The Entertainment Team were really good, if not a little bit crazy I do have photo's but not putting them on here. Contact me if you want me to email them. PLEASE WORK AT THIS HOTEL AS IT COULD BE GREAT!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pussfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed with my partner here from 4th Sept to 11th, and i cant say its the worst place ive ever stayed but Thomson did miss-sell there All Inclusive package to us. The drinks were very limited, no spirits or liqueurs, one choice of beer on draught only, and wine (red,white,rose) there where no snacks included in the all inclusive, however there is a crepe stand by the pool but they charge you 3 dinar, which is about £1, i might be sounding like a tight bugger but i paid for all inclusive and did not get what i paid for.
We arrived around 9pm and on greeting we recieved a refreshing lemon soft drink, and after 5 mins in our room we received a tray of food
The hotel itself is nice, although i think we got slightly lucky because some couples we met did have to change rooms as they were dirty, or had broken air con. The side of the hotel above reception/restaurant is more modern. Cleaners are on hand every morning, and make your bed with flowers and such freshly cut from the gardens. Our bed was a bit like sleeping on a brick
The food is a free for all buffet which we personally found to be bland, and the meet was dry, it was the same kind of food every night, pasta, chips, stew, fish chicken/turkey. plenty of salad, limited fruit & some deserts luckily my fiancé is a chef and a talkative one at that, he got talking to the chef at the hotel and we were then treated wonderfully by the waiting staff and the chef had even prepared our meals separate from the rest, (its amazing what a nice conversation and 5/10 dina can do for you in this country).
The staff at the hotel where what made our holiday(that and the fabulous weather and company we met) they were always on hand to help you or serve you. Also the Animation team(entertainment staff) where outstanding(Zizo, Mimo, Titou and Olga), various activites going on throughout the day, aqua gym, water polo, archery, and more. If your not interested they dont pester you. Great laughs had by all thanks to the team.
Couple local shops near by out of the hotel and to the right.
Taxi's available right outside the hotel, be ready to haggle should be no more than 8dina to Yasmine hammament(5 mins journey), even when the guys tell you after 9 the tariff changes, stand your grown with them, if your up for it try them for 5 during the day ;-) . There is a store sort of like small frasers/jenners called JOYS in yasmine, if your not upto haggling in the stress(Which can be a bit daunting if you've not experienced anything like it before) then go here, it had everything you get on the street markets but at set prices, also has clothing, bags & shoes/trainers & some snacks(crisps, juice, chocolates etc).
The 'private beach' that thomson advertise isnt just down the private walk way, best way to get to it is to go out the front of the hotel, take a left at the gate and head down right towards the beach, although down the path way once your reach the beach it has flags saying menara, this is not the menara beach, we managed to lounge here once but then the staff on the beach asked us for 5 dina to lay here otherwise to go down the beach to our own private one, which was beside the pile of camal crap, and had limited loungers.

The weather & staff made our holiday, although i wouldnt go back
Thomson however miss-sold the place to us and i have yet to hear back from them after expressing my feelings to them after i got back.

Room Tip: rooms above main part of the hotel are best.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Lots of people are moaning about this hotel but it's one of the cheapest on the Thomson website, if you want 5 star then you've got to pay for it. The hotel itself is fairly basic but it is clean and the maids do a great job. We had our towels made into swans and love hearts and flowers on the bed! The staff are friendly and honestly couldn't do enough for us, yes the choice of all inclusive drinks is limited but the beer and wine is OK and if you do pay for drinks they are pretty cheap anyway. Food wasn't amazing but it wasn't awful, it was a bit hit and miss but you won't starve. Eating out in Hammamet is cheap so you can always get a taxi for around £2-3 and go to a restaurant to break up the repetitive all-inclusive food. The pool and sun-lounger area is great and we never struggled to get a lounger (having said that we went in September so it's probably busier in peak season). Lastly, the animation team are amazing! Zizo, Mimo, Sousou and Biba made our holiday so much fun and they are always up for a laugh. Be willing to get involved and leave your inhibitions at home and you will have a great time! Equally, if you don't want to get involved in all the activities they won't force you.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first and second floors are the more modernised ones. Take insect repellent as later in the season there were a lot of flies.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harrietttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

This Hotel has changed it's name to Menara. Having read the previous reviews I can understand why. Don't be fooled, it has not improved much if at all. Loose live wires, no water for guests arriving late, noise pollution are some of the areas that need improving. Thompson sell this as all inclusive. Beer, wine, local spirits and soft drinks. You have to pay for all spirits. False advertising. You can't write a review on the Thompson website which it asks you to do as the Lilas or Menara are not listed but then all the reviews would be poor and they would not be able to sell this. I don't like this place and hate Thompson.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baggiemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We were transferred to Hotel Lilas by our rep after originally booking into Hammamet Garden Resort and Spa ( - which was DISGUSTING!!) but we found Hotel Lilas fantastic.

Staff were friendly and approachable - most spoke basic English; anything we requested was done for us. Cleaners were in the rooms every day with clean towels. Waiters were great - offered us a permanent table (we were all inclusive) and laying out clean napkins and flowers at each meal.

The food was well cooked and filling (if not always red hot) - always a choice of 7 main courses including fish and vegetarian options at lunch and dinner, a varied salad bar and desserts. My vegetarian step-daughter said the vegetarian food was wonderful and the chef was always happy to explain what the ingredients were.

Only downside - the range of drinks for all inclusive was limited - only one local spirit - but most guests are half board so they have a wider choice. Beer was served in pint glasses - which makes a pleasant change.

The entertainment staff (especially Mimo, Zizo and Olga) were great. Offering sporting activities during the day (archery, mini golf, petanque, water polo) and a different show each night - even if Tunisian humour revolves around hitting Mimo with various objects. They wandered around talking to the guests during the day but weren't pushy - if you said you didn't want to take part they were fine.

The air conditioning wasn't the best in the rooms but the rooms were quiet - all entertainment and noise finished by 23:30 so sleep wasn't a problem. The pool was cleaned and monitored every day. - We honestly found none of the problems other reviewers have complained of.

There were 2 local shops literally 5 minutes walk away so where a reviewer got 'a 2km taxi ride' from makes me think they never even stayed there!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doc218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews