We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book this one; you won't regret it”
Review of Vincci Marillia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vincci Marillia
Ranked #20 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My wife and I would normally never ever go for an all-in holiday. We are world travelers, and always go on our own, the adventurous way. But I was really, totally overworked and dead tired, so we skipped India and went for 10 days of doing nothing, except some reading in the sun, around a swimming pool. Marillia boasts one of the biggest and most beautiful in the region. But the hotel also touches the sea and has a lovely private beach, maybe only 150 metres away from the swimming pools (there are 2). The rooms have been refitted (someone told us that the hotel had been closed for 11 months, just before this season), and were very much to our liking, with a nice balcony and a lot of useful space inside. The restaurant is also very spacious and serves a lot of variety in its large and tasteful buffets, on every occasion completed with a special, typically local dish. We found their system of free drinks completely in balance: in the central bar inside the hotel, almost everything is free all day (except foreign spirits), by the swimming pool there are less kinds of drink and on the beach still less free drinks. But you get your towels free (with a small deposit) and you can change them as many times you want. Almost last, but not least; the personnel was extremely friendly. My wife unfortunately had to stay a few days in hospital (she had developed ulcers in her stomach!) and you can't believe how many personnel have asked about her health while she was away; even the cleaning ladies, who gave her a welcome kiss upon her return! And last: we went on an excursion trip that left the hotel at 6 am (and left for home with an early plane at exactly the same time), but got a full breakfast! In short: we will recommend this hotel to all our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jempie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 1,470 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2011

I'm Egyptian Canadian, my wife Is Tunisian. We stayed at this hotel with her family during a week in July. Even though I'm very familiar with Arab culture and speak French, English and Arabic fluently, I found this place deplorable.

The service is non-existent. My wife got screamed at because she tried to take crepes to the swimming pool. She was even threatened by the hotel security. Apparently last year, someone got slapped on the face by a waiter in the pool terrace.

The food on the "all-inclusive" deal is bad. The variety is bland, the food fatty and sad to look at, and the line ups are disturbing. You basically line up for everything and then may or may not be lucky in getting what you want. Basically, as a Canadian physician this is the sort of diet I advise people against on a daily basis!

The pool is nicely done, but the hotel provides no towels! People swimming in the pool can be dressed in basically anything. A religiously conservative family was swimming alongside us today in the clothes they walk through the hotel door with (skirt, trousers, blouses, head scarves and to top it all stockings! Basically, they just took their shoes off.)

The rooms are depressing. Cigarette burns through the curtains and worn out bed linens. The A/C made a noise throughout the night. There is no sound proofing, so we could hear the lobby chatter all the way up to the second floor.

Except if you want to pay to be treated like cattle .... I'd highly advise you to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank OshTosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I have been at the hotel in July with my husband, his brother & his family. The children of his brother are 5 and 8. We booked this hotel because we wanted to join the family & children for a week, together with family & friend visits. They booked the hotel for the swimming pool, it is near the beach and the child proof facilities (baby pool, children's disco, animators, etc.). The animators were loved by the children. Also the All-in concept is easy with children. Without children, do not book this hotel.

Service;
My sister in law and me had to endure a long conversation about how beautiful we are and so on every time we wanted to order something...Nice for the self a steam but to have this with every drink you order, or towel change, not amusing. If you are not smiling you will get a nasty remark (in arab/french). Besides that like in the restaurant, I can understand you sometimes have rude customers but to be so indifferent and sometimes really rude to every customer is a bad attitude. Bad for the atmosphere. My husband and his brother are both born in Tunesie and do understand the language well. It were sometimes very rude remarks. Often we witnessed a loud discussion and angry faces between customers and personnel in the restaurant (and lounge bar).

We know that Hammamet Yasmine is not the sole example of Tunisian hospitality, but it is such a shame that this is the only image Tunisians give for first time Tunisia tourists.

Positive.
Food; If you are devoted to 'home european food', not much choice (chips, pizza). But we really enjoyed the Tunisian kitchen from the hotel restaurant. Sometimes leftovers used in next day meals but used in a creative way. It all was very tasty. Ignoring the rude waiters we enjoyed our food every meal.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2006

My husband and I stayed at the hotel marillia in October 06 for a week, with our two children.

On arrival to Tunisia there was no welcome party, by the transport company, after asking around a taxi driver said he was our transport, and took us to our hotel. We were a bit worried we were going to get charged for this journey, as he was a taxi however he did have a document which had our hotel name on, and luckily we arrived at our hotel, and were not charged.
Make sure your transport has your details before going with them, as there are many taxi drivers at the airport who are happy to take you, and charge you extra. We had to fight people off taking our bags.

On arrival at the marillia we were told there were no rooms available, and we had to stay in another hotel for 2 nights. The only benefit from this change was our half board status was upgraded to all-inclusive.
But this was only available at the marillia, which we had to travel to and from the alternative hotel, this was a good 5 - 10 minute walk every journey, which we could have done with out with two young children.
We later found out there were another two families from England (we were the only 3 English families staying at the hotel, the other guest were either German or French) who also got transferred for two days.

The hotel itself was over all clean and tidy, and was cleaned regularly, however it is a bit shabby around the edges, and could do with a good refurbishment, so as to meet its so called 4* status.
I would say when it was first built it was a 4*, but I would only give it a 3* now.

The food was ok; luckily my kids will eat all most anything, but the German sausage in everything, got a bit too much by the end of the week. And 3 out of 4 of us got upset tummy's.
The menu was designed with the German diet in mind, so watch out if you like a simple English dish, because you’re not going to get it.
All of the evening entertainment was in German or French, never in English.

The beach was beautiful golden sand, which the kids thought was great, and is a lovely walk, into hammermet, with out being bothered by sells men, trying to sell you local goods.

There are lots of sports available at the hotel:
Swimming; 2 outside pools, plus 1 baby pool and 1 good size indoor pool,
Football, archery, volleyball, water sports, twice daily aerobics, mini golf (only 2 putt’s available)

As they say a holiday is what you make it, and we did have a lovely break, however we would not go back again, due to the fact English are not catered for in any way. Don’t be put off by Tunisia as there are some other lovely looking hotels in Hammermet, just make sure its not the Marillia and they cater for English before you book.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank hazyday72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2006

my family and I stayed at the hotel marillia in october.Tunisia was a really nice country and the people there are lovely although the shopkeepers can be pushy.We booked our holiday with discount holiday centre who we thought did a great job.The flight and transfers went smoothly then it came time to check in at the hotel.They said they had no booking for us and we would have to go to another hotel for two days and come back when there was room.They did find us another hotel but we couldnt stay there all inclusive and so had to come to the marillia for food and drink which was really annoying when you have young kids to walk to and fro all day.The rep was never anywhere to be seen (we never met her once).We were told her name was Monia and could speak hardly any english.Infact no one in the hotel could speak much english and the men on reception didnt really want to help at all when I wanted to complain about there being no room for us when we had booked months ago.We later found out that there were only two other english families staying there (it is not catered at all for the english in any way) and they too had been turned away for two days.After checking into an alternative hotel we quickly walked back to the marillia as my two children were by this time starving, on arrival we saw four german families arriving and they were shown to their rooms, when I questioned rather angrily, why there was room for them and not us when we arrived first they simply shrugged and said they didnt understand.This hotel definately prefers its german and french guests and definately has something going on where english families are put up else where for a few days and they see no problem in doing this.Discount holiday centre booked our hotel through hotels4u.com and I have since read countless reviews where the same thing has happened to many others.It didnt ruin our holiday because we didnt let it but it was a stressful two days and we paid alot of money to be messed about.Although Tunisia is a beautiful country and the hotel was lovely and clean and well situated we would probably never go back because of this experience.(aswell as the fact that you are treated as second class citizens compared to the germans and french who definately get preferencial treatment).We will probably get no compensation as most companies like ours need some kind of proof that you complained at the time before you got home but as the rep was never there it was impossible for us to do this but we are still waiting to hear.I wish I had checked with the hotel about our booking before we left england like someone said to do on their review but I just thought it wont happen to us........live and learn!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bev6951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2006

We have just come back from wonderful 1 week break in Marillia. The room was spacious and well cleaned, if somewhat in need of a bit of refurbishment; the food was quite good and there always was a great choice of it, large salad bar, warm dishes bar, deserts bar plus BBQ for select your own ingredients lovers; not to mention pool-side snacks bar serving salads, pizzas, etc. when restaurant was closed. So there was always something we could select for us and our 6-year old, what we liked. Drinks (alcoholic and non-alcoholic) were served in 2 bars (inside and by the pool) from 9 am all day. Reasonable kids facilities, really excellent swimming pool. Especial thanks to the staff for making our stay just this a little extra bit more enjoyable. Animators were really great; waiters are there when you need them, always courteous. The hotel is conveniently situated for Hammamet Yasmine with its shopping streets (about 10-15 min easy walk) and provides courtesy bus with guided tour to Hammamet Old town.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JuliaWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2006

This was our first visit to Tunisia and can say that we were very surprised at the quality of the hotels at Yasmine Hammemet resort.
Marillia Hotel had a huge entrance hall, very spacious and airy. With leather chairs and sofas, it oozed style, comfort and luxury.
We were impressed at 1st impressions. Unfortunately we tried to book in, only to find that a room ahd not been pre-booked between Marillia and our travel company IMPERIAL TRAVEL.

A period of 5hrs of waiting followed.....no record of our transaction meant we were without a hotel room for the night. This was worrying considering our situation...miles from home in a country where english is not widely known....!

Eventually we were sent to another hotel, with the help of the hotel receptionist. PLEASE NOTE: Beware when booking through Imperial Travel, they failed to contact us about our queries and left us to rot!

Two days later after a brief stay at El Olf Hotel we arrived to the Hotel Marillia once more after eventually our query was answered.
This time we saw a room...the room was clean and spacious. The staff very courtious although certain waiters were ignorant whilst others could not do enough to help.

The food was very spicy...We like spicy food but after 5 days, can get rather boring and a problem when it comes to regular toilet activities....As we went all inclusive, every meal was pretty much the same (fish, beef, lamb, chicken) with rice, chips and potato...all very spicy.

The beer was fizzy and ended up blowing my belly up...or was that the food....urrrm, well there were a wide variety of alcohol and the bar was not too busy.

Bars included The Main Bar, Pool Bar (where meals can be obtained 1500 - 1800), and the beach bar. Other bars were closed for some reason.
The hotel facilities i have to say were very good. Other activities such as beach sports, massage etc were available from small costs...so take a little money for extras.

The pool was absolutely massive, biggest i saw in all the hotels on the resort, the beach was attached to the hotel complex and was clean, just watch out for 'Dodgy Ken' who sells the fruit, veg and ciggies on the beach....You must be able to say ' NO '.

The entertainment was good, however the room in which it is held has no bar, and everyone is packed together on chairs. It can get quite tiresome after the 3rd or 4th night and urrm quite niffy!!!

The animation team are very hard working and try to make the holiday a good one for you, and although the english are not usually found in the hotel, they try to keep up with the convo. Most entertainment is catered for the French and German.

On the whole, good hotel but the beginning experience with the travel company ruined the relaxation for us!!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Mr_Dalby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.5 mi away
Vincci Flora Park
Vincci Flora Park
#26 of 119 in Hammamet
896 reviews
7.1 mi away
SENTIDO Aziza Beach Golf & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#10 of 119 in Hammamet
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Saphir Palace & Spa
Saphir Palace & Spa
#44 of 119 in Hammamet
1,153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
7.4 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#4 of 119 in Hammamet
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Marillia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Marillia

Address: Zone Touristique | Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia (Formerly Hotel Marillia)
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#15 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#20 Family Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: £25 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Marillia 4*
Number of rooms: 352
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Vincci Marillia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marillia Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing