We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just returned from a lovely week”
Review of Vincci Marillia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vincci Marillia
Ranked #21 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
Norfolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just returned from a lovely week”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We've just returned from a lovely relaxing week at the Riu marillia in Yasmin hammemet. My husband and I have stayed in Tunisia several times, but this was by far our best visit. The marillia is not the biggest or the most luxurious hotel that we've stayed in, but was the most friendly, helpfull, enjoyable, of all the rius here in Tunisia. I have to mention FIFI!! The hardest working animation team member ever. He learns everybody's name, works all day & night, and is one of the nicest people I've ever met.
The rooms were lovely, ( we had a suite) the reception manager took us to our room and made sure we were happy. We couldn't fault the place.. Very good value. The only down side was the airport having several flights all landing at once. We have to que for ages.

Room Tip: Sea facing, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maxwellsmumNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    438
    159
    92
    57
See reviews for
400
513
51
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner have returned from a week at the riu Marilla and our first visit to Tunisia. To break it down:

Rooms
spacious, clean, modern and well equipped. Maid cleans and refreshes towels daily. The only thing we had a moan about was the NONE EXISTENT air conditioning. Yes in the brochure it says all rooms are air conditioned but after listening to other guests, this is not true! we asked at main desk on two separate occasions for it to be sorted but to no avail. I warn you.... choose to either sleep with balcony door wide open to get some air and take risk of been bitten by mosquitos, or have a holiday with no sleep as room turns into a sauna at night meaning you struggle to get a good nights kip

Food/drink
food variety was good but i m sure would get very repetitive after a week. Being a typical all conclusive, the food is continuously topped up but unless you wait around till it is.... it is rarely hot, just luke warm. We also tried the asian restaurant which was very good and provided something different.
drinks are typical of the Rui chain, but are definitely watered down.
Staff in restaurants and bars are very attentive and friendly.

Pool/Beach
Amazing and largest pool I've ever seen in main area. There is also a quieter pool which although smaller is still big for a second pool. Both are spotlessly clean. Plenty of sun beds with cushions for extra comfort- no matter what time of day.
Good thing about this hotel it has its own private beach which staff clean every morning at the crack of dawn. A rarity in Tunisia im sure!

Entertainment
One word.... SHOCKING!
This is a big disappointment for the hotel and really drags it down. Unless you want to play 'guess the flag' or 'guess the celebrity' I suggest you do the overnight trips. I don't know what we would have done if we stayed for longer than a week, even though we are late 20's we were in bed by 10pm most nights!!! Thank god the shop sells a pack of cards, it kept us occupied after dinner.
Yes the entertainment team work hard and are polite and friendly, but i suggest the hotel splashes out a bit and out sources professional entertainment acts each evening. It really does make or break the holiday experience.

I'd give it 3 stars not 4.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PheasantOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Just returned from Riu Marillia after having a two week stay. Be prepared when you get out the airport to be noticed by every porter which will try offer you help, however they always want money after. On the way to the hotel, me and my boyfriend did think 'where the hell have we come' as we had heard that it was not a nice place and first sight was living up to that, as a girl it was very intimidating with men absolutely everywhere, no women in sight as we arrived at night. however once getting to the hotel it was absolutely lovely.

We were given cocktails as we were checked in and then in no time at all shown to our room, which was absolutely lovely, no faults at all. We had a lovely sea view room which i would recommend as it was lovely to wake up to. we were also told that food was available for us in the restaurant which we did go along to, but was not alot there, just salad, but was very nice of them to prepare food.

For the first week out of the two, we chilled by the pool which was lovely.There was always plenty of sunbeds available and the pool bar staff was wonderful, Lassad esspecially who brought us drinks every single day and we didnt have to move once of our sunbeds. The animation like to get you involved, however don't pester if you dont want to. we did play alot of the games and they were alot of fun and would recommend getting involved as you meet more people. For the second week of the holiday we did a lot more, for example, we went to Friguia animal park which was one of the excursions Thomson offered. It was really good, we fed elephants, giraffes and zebras, we also got our picture taken with a sea lion which was only £4 and well worth it. After you had been to the park, you then went to what they called a zulu night which had a 4 course meal whislt being entertained by belly dancers and zulu dancers therefore would definitely recommend to do this as it was a nice night out as the food can get repetive.

The restaurant and waiters were lovely, we got given petals on our table every night from day 2 of the holiday. They will do anything for you and constantly pulling your chair out for you and seeing if your okay. The food ranged in different types of meat and fish, however some foods like chips and pizza were offered every night so even fussy eaters would find something they would like.

The beach was lovely however we only went on it the once. You do get sellers on the beach but that is common everywhere, they do also offer camel rides and horse riding, of course they always want money after - they are not connected to the hotel itself. They do offer paraglying, jet ski, mable boat, banana boat and different types of water sports which we did do and was amazing and would definitely do it again, it was all very safe. We got all of the water sports for £35 for two which is a very good price.

The only downfall in the hotel is the shops, dont buy anything from there! my boyfriend brought 'ray bans' which broke a day after, they exchanged them, they broke again and would not exchange them again. I brought an ankle bracelet which also broke, i took it back to them to get it fixed but ended up doing it myself. We still didnt learn and brought some deodrant from them and it left white markks on my clothes so took it back and would not leave until they exchanged it for some suncream. The shop really lets the hotel down. If you go down to the marina or the medina, the quality is way better and much cheaper. I would recommend going to 'JOYS' which sold lovely handbags, I came back with 4.

After having an amazing two weeks there, we have been back a week and have already booked to go back in october this year. I am not normally one to go back to the same hotel however the quality of the hotel and staff was great and the price of it was a bargain therefore will be returning! Hope this has been helpful!!

Room Tip: Sea view room is worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

So we went for two weeks, totally loved the first room we were given right next to the pool on the ground floor but had to get changed as there was some creep takin photos of me on the night just after i had a shower, now people will assume it was sumone who worked in th hotel this was not the case it was an english guest the manager dealth with this issue very sensitively and changed our room to a superior suite, which was very big and clean as was the first room which we had. Fifi bessem sam and mario tried thier best to get me to join in with all activities, and if this was my thing i would have, however i didnt participate in much bar dance, darts and archery, this is only a small selection of th activities on offer. The food in alyssa resteraunt was very diverse and guarenteed that there is something everyone likes, and the asian resteraunt was good for a change of food, theme nights were also there, the best barman has to hav been adel made me special drinks as i am fussy, and samir who does the quad camal and pirate ship excirsion is class, i wouldnt bother with the zoo trip offered by thomson or any other, they are overpriced and in general just not worth it, the zoo was inhumane being an animal lover i had to get out, did i mention the quads pirate ship n camal excursions? They were fab and a lot of fun, would go bk for maybe 10 days as 2 weeks is too long, also if u want an english pub go to the rovers return its canny like

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bambiboi87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Went for 7 nights stay in Sept 2013. We had a junior suite which was very spacious with a good view, sea view although a fair distance away, but none the less sea view. I dont like really soft pillows so sleep was not brilliant, but if you do fine. The room lacked finesse, no pillows on chairs, no fluffy towels, just plain, little things that can make all the difference. Getting sun beds and pools great, or go on beach for sun tan. Weather was very good just right really hot without being too hot with broken cloud to keep you from burning but get a good tan. The sea I found not inviting a bit rough and the sand you sank into like sinking sand not for me. The dining experience was ok food adequate, lunch time was a lottery for seating and food bit samey. Main diner was ok and asian restaurant was good, what it lacked was more waiter service. Bars the same the odd guy would go out his way to wait on you and so I tipped, that way they keep coming back to serve you otherwise its good old queuing and guess what foreigners don't Que!
I have to mention the animation team and in particular Fifi who was just brilliant guy, we didnt participate with activities just being lazy but alot did and you were not thought worse of for not doing so, but if you like to be cajoled into having fun with taking part then do it looked alot of laughs, then not just entertaining folks all day they also put on shows at night which ok not broadway but what do you expect! It was good light entertainment, and as usual Fifi at the heart of it, guy derserves a medal.
So overall certainly value for money, but if you want 5 star treatment then suggest you pay a little more money and try elsewhere, but would certainly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: we had junior suite, we like the extra room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymond_holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Just spent a week at this hotel, returning on 29th September 2013. this is a good all round hotel with good facilities, two good sized pools with plenty of sun loungers, with a good beach close by.
The staff are very attentive and friendly and the rooms are kept very clean. The whole hotel and pool area is well kept up and tidy. the food is of a good quality, but the evening meals could do with some more variation. The Asian restaurant, in the hotel is well worth a visit.
The only problem that we encountered was that as we went in late September, they still had a heat wave, but the Air Conditioning had been turned off. after a few requests from a lot of the guests staying there is was turned back on, but at a very reduced rate.
Would we go back to this hotel again, yes we would as it was very convenient flying from Bournemouth, the flight times where good and the weather was excellent.

Room Tip: all rooms where good.We where on the top floor room 302 with a great sea view. Rooms 2,4, 6 and 8 on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hancop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Riu Marillia. We had a great holiday and would definately return to this hotel. The beach and pool area were always kept clean. The only thing that I would mention is the air conditioning was rubbish. We informed the Manager and reception on a few occassions but it never got looked at. Other people were also complaining but it never got sorted. It was really hot in the rooms at night. The Animation Team were very good, especially Sam. We did not like it when Fifa came round selling raffle tickets, as he made you feel very uncomfortable and made you feel like you could not say no. The food was really good and there was always something you could pick to eat. The Asian restaurant was really nice and we did eat there a few times. Unfortunately it closed on 30 September so we were unable to eat there our second week. The waiters were very friendly and were always there to help. All in all we had a great two weeks holiday and would say it was value for money. We met some lovely people and would recommend the hotel to anyone who would like to holiday in Tunisia.

Room Tip: Before we went to the Marillia I e-mailed the hotel and requested a room with a sea view. I mention...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
7.4 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
6.3 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#1 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#18 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Averroes
Iberostar Averroes
#10 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Marillia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Marillia

Property: Vincci Marillia
Address: Zone Touristique | Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia (Formerly Hotel Marillia)
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#17 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#22 Family Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Marillia 4*
Number of rooms: 352
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vincci Marillia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marillia Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing