We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Vincci Marillia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vincci Marillia
Ranked #22 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We arrived on 5 jan, and from the time of arriving never looked back, and will be returning very soon. The staff were spot on , and I mean all of them, many personnel thanks to the bar manager Adel, who always found time to come and chat, and providing cold milk in the bar fridges, to make a decent cup of tea. Tarek in the restaurant was great and his staff so helpful,and very attentive to your needs reception staff brilliant, nothing too much problem. There was a bit of noise , with small amounts of work being done to the building, and 1 lift was being refurbished, but from our point of view nothing to worsen a very good time. the Thomson rep Mikey did a brilliant job, and a pleasure to have around the site., one of the best I have encountered. All in all a no hassle holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank clive m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    459
    172
    100
    64
See reviews for
442
536
52
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This hotel has a number of very positive points. The position is excellent, on the seafront in a quiet location, yet within an easy and pleasant walk of the Medina and marina of Yasmine Hammamet. The hotel itself is clean and comfortable and has all of the facilities that you would expect of a hotel in this size.
The food is to the high standard I have come to expect from the Riu chain. There is always a good selection of quality food. We did not have one occasion in our two-week stay where we could not find something interesting and tasty to eat.
The staff too are excellent. From the reception staff to the waiters and bar-staff, we found everyone to be approachable and helpful.
However, for us, the holiday was marred by noise. It is difficult to criticise the hotel here as they have little control over the level of noise. The main issue was the construction of the hotel itself. Any noise from adjacent (especially overhead) rooms was transmitted directly through. Our first room was below a room occupied by someone wearing high heels who seemed to spend all afternoon and long periods of the night walking in their room. Unable to sleep, we asked to be moved. The staff were really helpful and moved us immediately to a top-floor room. This was easy when we were there as there was low occupancy; in the high-season I imagine the noise would be worse and the opportunity to move more limited.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeardedWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I am writing this from the hotel itself. We arrived here on 8th January for a weeks holiday. Thomson holidays recommended this hotel for a peaceful getaway. The failed to mention that the lift closest to our room would be out of service and that there would be ongoing maintenance work with loud drilling and other annoying noises!! The main pool is empty due to maintenance too, and although it may be too cool to use the water would still have added a sense of ambiance to our holiday!!
Feedback has been given to the Thomson Rep...
I would like to add that the hotel otherwise is of a good standard and the staff are amazingly friendly. The food is varied and delicious and the entertainment team are excellent at their job.
I

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Iftica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We got a really good deal with Thompson and wanted somewhere relaxing, hot and by the beach. When we arrived we were given a complimentary drink while we waited to be shown to our room. Once we got the keys we went into the room and were shocked as we couldn't lock our door. We complained but we were told we had to wait until the morning till it could get fixed. Finally, the next day it was fixed and we were also told we were upgraded for free which was amazing as the room was brand new.

Location: The hotel was right on the beach and had its own private beach which was lovely. It had waterspouts (jet ski, banana boat, flying fish) which we got for another good deal and was really fun. However, there is not much to do outside of the hotel. We walked into the media (10 minutes) where we went to a few nice restaurants and looked around the shops but not bars/clubs to be seen. One night we got a cab (which the hotel booked for us) into Hammamet centre which was extremely busy and looked good, but there was only restaurants, once again no bars.

Entertainment: The hotel entertainment worked really hard and tried to get everyone involved during the day time activities. Even if you didn't want to they were happy to have a chat. At night the hotel performed shows/kareoke which was ok, but made better by groups in the hotel sat together as there was no other bars to go to. However it was quite chilly at night, we needed a cardigan/jumper.

Food: We are not fussy eaters so the all inclusive buffets were fine for us. Did the basic salads, meats, fish, pasta pizza etc. and had wine and beer to grab for yourself. The oriental restaurant was really nice, you was only supposed to go once a week however we tried to put our name down twice and they allowed it.

Excursions: The first one we did was the pirate boat by Thompson. We was expecting a chilled out sail into the ocean with the potential of seeing dolphins, however this was a lively, sort of party boat without alcohol, where the crew tried to get you involved dancing etc. If you don't like being centre of attention sit downstairs, however you don't get any sunlight.

Another one we did was the quad biking which was amazing. We arranged this with a man that came round the pool, allowed by the hotel. We did have to haggle quite hard and tried to get us to give him a tip. The normal deal was to go for a whole day, however we only wanted an hour as we thought we might get bored. There was only us and another couple and one excursion leader showing us the way. We went into the desert and could drive at your own pace. Was amazing would definitely do this again and worth the money.

We took a trip to the market one day, which was arranged by the hotel, and has one pick up and drop off per day. The market itself was really good to look around, however you do get hassled but you just have to say no politely. You can haggle them down to about 1/8 of the price they say, just stay firm. The train there and back was a very long journey in the heat, which we wish we just got a cab instead.

We also got a free spa treatment which was fantastic. If we knew how good it was we would've paid the price but luckily we were chosen to help a trainee masseuse.

Overall we had a brilliant first holiday, and wouldn't fault it at all. The only thing we would have liked was more bars/places to go in the evening which we weren't told about by Thompson. If you are looking for a hot, pool/beach, relaxing holiday then this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 879Cameron_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed for 11 nights in December. This was our 5th visit to Tunisia and 3rd to the Yasmin Hammamet area. We were very impressed with the hotel and think Riu have done a great job so far and that it is definately on par if not better than the other Riu's in the area. The room was fine, the maid did a great job. we had a lovely view of both the sea and pools.The food and drink were excellent, everything was fresh and tastey with lots of choice. All of the staff were very friendly and helpfull. The animation guys were good fun but not intrusive. The indoor pool was nice and warm. We were very lucky with the weather, it was pleasantly bright and sunny every day. The hotel is in a good location, we enjoyed a pleasant walk around the area most days. Would recomment Joys/Magic price for souviniers ect if you liked to be left alone to browse.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Kalee36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My husband and I returned to the Riu Marillia on the 22nd September to 6th October 2013, we were also there in July 2013 for 11 days. Once again we were well looked after by the staff of the hotel especially the reception manager Romdhane and his staff, also the waiters in the dining room, bar staff in the lobby bar and a special mention for the lady waiter Faouzia at the pool bar who was always very friendly and helpful. I would also like to thank the animation staff who do a great job entertaining you. There was only 3 of them on when we were there but they did well to entertain you especially Sam, Bessem and Fifi also did a good job when in July there were a lot more of them.
We read trip advisor were people say the food can be cold and not red hot but the twice we have been there there has been a Master Chef supervising at every meal time and one must also consider guests are from every nationality each with various food tastes and overall we found the food to be very reasonable, if we didn't we would not have gone back again.
There are also 2 managers called Galek and Hammadi who are there at every meal time and also go around the pool asking you if everything is to your liking and if you have any problems they note them down. We also did have a problem with the air conditioning, we would go back to the room at night time and the room would be cold but through the night you would wake up sweating and the room would be very warm even after we had it checked out, but this did not happen in July.
One other thing we could not understand was in the afternoon a waiter would come round with a pot of mint tea and it had a charge of 2 dinar when everything was all inclusive and you could have mint tea anytime in the dining room.
Since we were there in July they have now added a lot more chairs for the entertainment outside but we were disappointed they hadn't opened up the piano bar which would be very pleasant to sit in at night time.
Once again we had a lovely holiday and the weather was nice and hot and we also met up with some friendly people who we enjoyed there company.
This review is being submitted in accordance with the time regulations regarding second visits.

Room Tip: Select a room with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liverpooltequilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

just got back,.had a great time,went for a relaxing 11 days met lots of nice people,drinking an chatting late into the night,all the staff where friendly and very attentive,entertainment could have been better but the animation team done well to make it enjoyable (they worked really hard) and it is low season so is to be expected.there was a mixture of all nationalities but everyone seemed to mix and get on well together.i wouldnt recommend it to much for youngsters at this time of year, but for over 40s who just want to relax this is ideal.there was plenty of food nice friendly and very helpful,room is clean daily,me and my husband spend most of time in swimming poll,nice warm water, we both enjoyed very much,I can't wait until go back again,it's so peaceful to walk on beach and on the street.also very safe,I loved everything about this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashiik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.5 mi away
Vincci Flora Park
Vincci Flora Park
#25 of 118 in Hammamet
877 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
0.7 mi away
Saphir Palace & Spa
Saphir Palace & Spa
#47 of 118 in Hammamet
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#4 of 118 in Hammamet
2,089 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
#31 of 118 in Hammamet
751 reviews
8.7 mi away
Vincci Nozha Beach Resort
Vincci Nozha Beach Resort
#17 of 118 in Hammamet
2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Marillia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Marillia

Property: Vincci Marillia
Address: Zone Touristique | Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia (Formerly Hotel Marillia)
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#17 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#22 Family Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Marillia 4*
Number of rooms: 352
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vincci Marillia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marillia Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing