We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be going back”
Review of Vime Club Venus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vime Club Venus
Ranked #74 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed 18 October 2010

On arrival at Monastir airport it takes about 1hr 30min to arrive at the hotel. We arrived at the hotel at 4.00am and were booked in and shown to our room. Although the room was basic it was clean and we had ample storage space for our clothes. There was plenty to choose from for breakfast i.e.well stocked salad bar, bread, boiled eggs (3 and 5 min), cereal, fruit, croissants various local recipes that included fish and chicken dishes although I must admit I wasn't always sure what they were but did try a few and were found to be quite tasty.

Lunch and dinner were the same types of food and although some dishes didn't look as appetising you have to remember that you are in a foreign country and there food is totally different to ours but, if you want british then stay in Britain. The chefs did try to cater for everyone and the pasta with salad was great. The cakes the chefs made were really good and I think you really have to try the food before you write it off.

The hotel and the grounds were nice and the pools very clean but the hotel will be closing for refurbishment at the end of October and when it opens again will probably be 4* plus. The hotel had it's own part of the beach and the water is crystal clear, although we were in an all inclusive hotel you had to pay for the sunbed mattresses at the beach and for our drinks at the beach bar which I don't think is right . Our barman at the beach bar was very fluent in english and tried to be helpful. The beach is a very popular area and there are all all sorts of water sports available at a reasonable price. You can also walk from Yasmin marina beach all the way to Hamammet Medina if your up to it .

I found the staff to be very pleasant and tried their hardest to be helpful although there was a language barrier but, this will get better as the tunisian people can speak quite a few languages and think the english will get better through time.

Although we didn't do all the trips that were on offer we did go on the Pirate ship "The Sultan II" and I thought it was good although my partner did get seasick. But would recommend it.

The weather on our first week was fantastic but the second week the weather was changeable with thunder and lightning and very heavy rain, but as we went at the end of season we expected this. I would go back to Tunisia a the people are very friendly and it is a beautiful country.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greatholiday186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2010

Where on earth do i start?! 2 weeks of pasta, rice, potato, cous cous and other food we had no idea what it was!! Move rooms 3 times due to a yellow bath, brown water and toilets that stunk to high heaven!! Need we go on?!!!!

Prior to our visit we checked the reviews on here and were rather concerned but were advised by the tour operator that we were too late to change out booking so we went with an open mind.

Our first problem was the transfer to the hotel, the book stated 40 min but took 1 hour 20 and that was with us being the first drop! On arriving at the hotel we found the guy in reception understood no english and wanted us to fill in a form that wasnt in english then asked us if we spoke Arabic!! Im Mansfield born and bread of course i bloody dont!

After that we had to find our room ourselves and well we seems to walked for miles with the numbers not running in order to then find the room basic but ok until we walked into the bathroom to discover a yellow bath and a shower curtain that wanted to walk out the room itself!! YUK!!!!

We spent 2 nights in this room and then moved into room number 2 which was better but still not great but we were willing to make do. After a 2 day trip to the Sahara we arrvied back to wanting a wash and some food but found brown water coming out the taps!! The hotel sorted this in the evening but then in the morning we were still unable to wash as the water returned to being brown so room 3 here we go!

On being shown room 3 which was an apartment, the manager walked into the bathroom to and inch of water! He stated that he would get this fixed whilst we collected our belonging and were out for the day. This room was perfect, private roof terrace with 3 other apartments and a nice clean white bathroom. On arriving back to the room after a day round the pool, the toilet was still leaking all over the floor, brown water out of the taps and also what seemed to be part of the beach also making an appearance in the bottom of the bath!

Off we went again to reception and upon asking for the manager, any english that the staff spoke suddenly disappeared! At this point we were asked to shower in a room 3 doors down and use a broken toilet that was leaking onto the bathroom floor! I dont think so! We never slept in this room and after being shown 6 rooms we finally ended up in room 4 of the holiday. This time in a block full of non english speaking guests that clearly are thought more of and pay more money to have clean and comfortable rooms with clear water! The good part is we were 100 yards from the beach!

The air conditioning is turned off on the 15th September which was not in our brochure despite it still being in the 80's and half of the facilities were shut as it is said to be out of season! The entertainment staff really tried but it was poorly put together, abit like the rest of the hotel that is said to be for sale for £26million!!!

The hotel is in the middle of no where so you need to get a taxi wherever you want to go. Luckily we found Shakepeares, a english pub with good cheap british food! Yes i like to try the local food but also like to know what i am eating and dont want to eat the same day in day out for lunch and evening meal.

The food in the hotel was never labelled except for 1 item on a certain evening, it was fish, but with the head and tail still on i had sort of gathered that anyhow!

If you are addicted to carbs then by all means book it now!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank APope29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

we got to the hotel, it is lovely, presented nice all staff presentable not much english spoke but enough so you could find your way around and get food and drinks, all the entertainment team was great, evenings were fun always stayed in the hotel, there is also a discoteca on site, which was great to go to if you wanted a late night with loud music, the food was brilliant, and i would go back again for another holiday, the hotel was always kept clean, same with our rooms, fresh bedding and towels daily, the pool was also cleaned everyday, i would recommend this hotel to a couple, family or even a group of young people wanting a relaxed holiday, there is a resturant in hammamet called steakhouse which has all your english food and some english beer, also there are plenty of shops mainly with all the same things in but nice to walk around you dont get hasseld much, also a water park and zoo, ask in taxis for day time trips, money is dinar and was very cheap, you got your moneys worth x

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reanne5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Stayed in this hotel recently and had a lovely time. It's true what other reviews say, there aren't many English, but isn't this why we come abroad??? If not you should stay in the UK or go somewhere like Spain where you can have your fish and chips and bacon butties!! The food here was lovely, with fresh salads, local dishes and super cakes for dessert. The staff tried hard to communicate and did really well considering they speak multiple languages. I love the traditional decoration in the rooms and the beds on concete bases are really cool!! Drinks were available from 7 in the morning to midnight and the pool and beach areas are fantastic. The trips on offer from our rep were amazing. We went on the 2 day trip to the sahara and saw some amazing things. I would recommend it to anyone!
I'm looking forward to visiting this hotel again, even if it's just to get away from the narrow minded brits!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vincethevistor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

My wife and i arrived late on a Friday evening when we approached the front reception desk we were treated very abrubtly and rude with no hello what so ever.
As first impressions i was not impressed but was then told to leave our bags at the reception as we had to hurry cause dinner was almost over and they wanted to close the restaurant,
The food was not to our taste but we just put it down to us being so late with our transfer from the airport.
I am somewhat of a positive person so i thought not to get negative too quickly but the next day when we got tobreakfast we were also not impressed with.
We stayed on an all-inclusive basis but when i asked for diet coke they told me that i would have to pay extra for that.
I would just like to finish by saying that i have never stayed in such a disgusting hotel as this one and would strongly advise people to think twice before booking with this hotel.
The rooms are really dirty and are in serious need of renovation and some paint work.
The positive thing i have to say is that if you do want to go to Tunisia i would strongly recomend doing the 2 day Sahara trip with ALLTOURS, they are a very organised company with very friendly staff and it is good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelpaul1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Myself and my partner travelled to this hotel with Olympic holidays only to find that a majority of the staff could not speak english and communication was very difficult. The food offered was of very poor quality with a limited selection and the same meals served for several nights. The breakfast was the worst meal of the day with literally nothing but croissants to eat. There was no toast served, and while there was the choice of boiled eggs they were always cold. The drinks were given to you in very small plastic glasses and none of the food was labelled making the all inclusive side of the holiday not worth its money. Also alot of the advertised activities and amenities were not avaliable, the indoor pool/ gym were not open, the hut where you get the sports props from was closed for alot of the day and the quality of the equipment was very poor.

Whilst the grounds and reception area are well kept our room was very out dated with several things in need of repair such as the shower and broken tiles. The air conditioning in our room did little to cool it down and instead made a continual drilling sound. There were not many english visitors in this hotel at all but of those we met they shared similar complaints. We paid for late check out yet a porter came to ask us to leave our room as they needed it, yet another misunderstanding,

As for the entertainment in the evening all english people become completely secluded as none of the entertainment in the 2 weeks we were there were given in english, and even without the means to understand what was going on it was clear that it was poor as several times the show was stopped because music was cued incorrectly. The whole thing was chaos probably due to the fact that they only rehearsed the show that day round by the pool so any suprises were ruined. They also seemed at times very inappropriate with lots of clear sexual references and actions early on when children were still around.

Whilst the animation team worked hard to include everyone they barley even spoke to any of the english guests, The one time we decided to join in any of their scheduled activities (which did not happen often) all instructions were given in german italian and french regardless of the fact that we had told them we were english and the only response we got was to be clicked at and called "Oi english"

The staff we encounterd were very unhappy and rude, the lifeguard round the pool constantly pestered us for money to reserve sun beds which was completely unjustified as there were plenty and they were free, Unfortuatley this was not the same for the beach where you had to pay daily for a matress if you wanted one! There are also people walking around the pool constantly trying to sell you excursions and trips who won't take no for an answer and you encounter them daily.

We would not recommend this hotel to any ENGLISH people at all, you are not catered for, cared for or treated the same as other guests and of the 4 other english groups we met all felt the same- none of us would go back again and we would strongly recommend that you don't either.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reading2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

after reading only a few reviews in english before i went i was very wary ;but it was nothing to what i saw when i got there. this hotel caters i would say only for germans italians and french.
on arrival i was asked to fill in some forms to which i could not because they were not in english:a waiter had to be called and with his limited english we managed to fill them in eventually.
we were then taken to our rooms.the lift only went to the second floor ;i had to take my two small children what felt like forever to the other side of the hotel and eventually to the fourth floor.
on entering i felt like crying the room was unbelievably small .it had one cupboard for a family.the bed had a brick base and the bathroom was dirty .the balcony had low fence around it;and with two small kids i found this worrying.
i went straight back to reception phoned my olymypic hols rep and demanded to be moved out of the hotel at any cost.i was then moved to a better bigger room on a lower level.for the rest of my holiday.
i could write about this hotels lack of acknowledgement for english all day .....i will give you a few examples the dinner times were not in english ;the food which was poor was not labelled in english it was a case of trial and error....as i said i could go on all day
the only possitive points were the pool was clean and the beach was close.thats it.....
ill finish as i started this hotel is not for the english

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billy019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Menara
Hotel Menara
#51 of 119 in Hammamet
200 reviews
0 mi away
SplashWorld Venus Beach
SplashWorld Venus Beach
#6 of 119 in Hammamet
802 reviews
2.3 mi away
Vincci Flora Park
Vincci Flora Park
#26 of 119 in Hammamet
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
#33 of 119 in Hammamet
441 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lella Baya & Thalasso Hotel
Lella Baya & Thalasso Hotel
#30 of 119 in Hammamet
152 reviews
4.1 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#2 of 119 in Hammamet
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vime Club Venus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vime Club Venus

Address: Zone Touristique Sur, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: £52 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 339
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Vime Club Venus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vime Club Venus Hotel Hammamet
Vime Hotel Hammamet
Vime Hotel Venus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing