We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Medina Solaria & Thalasso
Ranked #13 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This was our 1st trip to Tunisia and the Hotel Solaria and Thelasso and we were really suprised with the level of comfort and and service. The hotel itself was really lovely and relaxed and nothing was too much trouble for the amazing staff. I am disabled and i took my mobility scooter with me. We were given a disabled friendly room 3052, which had extra wide doors and plenty of room for my scooter. The bathroom was a wet room which was great for me as i cannot get in and out of a bath. My husband and i have been to many countries and stayed in some great hotels but we both agreed that this was the most welcoming and relaxing hotel we have stayed in. The whole place was spotless including our room (maids are so efficient), the staff are extremely hard working and the animation team are amazing. They are so friendly and try very hard to include everyone in any activities going on, without being pushy. We did try and tip all the staff and this is really appreciated, as i dont think they earn a lot of money. We also enjoyed the food, which is quite varied and plentyfull and the deserts are gorgeous. All in all, we would honestly recommend this hotel to anyone with an easy conscience and we shall be returning here soon ourselves.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a little bit noisier with limited road traffic, but deffinately worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TURKI Z, Responsable relations clients at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Julie,

First of all, we would like to thank you so much for choosing "Medina Solaria & Thalasso" for your first trip to Tunisia and for posting a very pleasant Review on TripAdvisor.
We are grateful for your detailed appreciation of our services, facilities and hospitality and for recommending our property.
Also, we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that we achieved our standard of ensuring your holiday to be both relaxing and memorable.
We really are looking forward to seeing and welcoming you back again to your second home.
We send you a big hug and have a great day.
Warm Regards
Online Reputation Management
Turki Zahia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

349 - 355 of 2,101 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

I arrived early morning and the hotel looked beautiful, we were all excited to get to the room and go to bed... Unfortunately that turned to disappointment when we opened the door.. It was dirty and dull and the bed covers were stained, however the main issue for me was that the turning space, being in a wheelchair, it was more or less non existent!

The next morning I mentioned this to reception and they showed us a number of rooms and tried to accommodate us... They did say I would have to pay €50 extra a night for a suite but when I got to it the doorway was too small to get into the bathroom so it was not possible. We ended up changing to another room with slightly (and mean SLIGHTLY) more turning space - still was not good enough really but we thought we would give it a go.
Unfortunately we were in this room no more than few hours before the adapted shower flooded our whole entire room, the hall way, and two other rooms (luckily unoccupied) - I was only in it 5-10 minutes!!!
After having tried to explain the extent of this to the receptionist a man came up with a tiny bucket and mop. He was rude and seemed angry with us and told us that we should of put a towel under the door, which is highly unpractical and quite frankly not gonna soak up the amount of water there was. He took over an hour trying to get the water out before another guy came up and said that have we to close the shower curtain.. Which 1) I had and 2) it was about 50cm off the ground!!
After all this we realised it was useless speaking independently to the hotel and spoke to our Thomas Cook rep about the situation.

The staff were as accommodating as possible and showed us what seemed to be the best room/suite of the hotel (bare in mind they say €50 a night for something smaller than this and now was offering a bigger suite for no extra cost - frustrated me further, quite rightly so). I just about fit through the bathroom door but hit my knuckles on the door frame and there was still no way of me getting to the toilet at there was a smaller 'alleyway' as such, within the bathroom... There response was to get someone to help me...
No thank you!

By this time I just wanted to get out of this hotel and had to speak to my rep about moving hotels which we finally did and was a fabulous holiday once we had moved to the Iberostar Averroes !
It's just a shame these first few days were so rubbish and was an awful start to our holiday!!

To top it off the food was absolutely appalling at the Solaria. The only thing I actually could have was the fresh juice for breakfast, everything else was poor quality and quite simply disgusting! And that's putting it nicely!

On the plus side the entertainment team were very friendly and nice and seemed to want to help with our situation which was kind of them, and also the guy who was promoting the spa and massages was also very kind and friendly!

I personally wouldn't ever recommend this hotel to anyone, ever. I feel they did everything they could to help but it just wasn't enough and too little too late! It could of easily tried to be resolved the first day by getting a manager involved yet instead they tried to get money out of me for something even less practical than I already had.

Any wheelchair users... It really isn't a good idea to book this hotel! I read a review saying how wheelchair friendly it was which is why I booked it in the first place, however unless you don't want to shower or have a flood in your room (which by the way when we asked they said had happened previously but never choose to mention this), then you'd best steer clear!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Nicole_Martine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TURKI Z, Responsable relations clients at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Nicole,

Thank you for taking the time to express your impressions. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We apologize for not having met your expectation of room design and amenities. .
Please be assured that these will be looked into and that your comments will be used to monitor future improvements needed.
We pay great attention to providing the best value for your money. If we have not met your expectations in this respect, we sincerely apologize.
We look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.
Yours Sincerely
Online Reputation Management
Turki Zahia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I really don't want to say how good this hotel is because I don't want to share it!
I stayed here for 2 weeks in May and can honestly say its my "Best Holiday Ever"
All the staff are amazing from reception, porters, cleaning, bar staff, waiters/waitress, shop staff, photographer,animation and a special mention for the life guard.
I felt very welcome from the minute I walked through the door which is important when you holiday alone. The rooms are big and clean, the food is always hot and there is always a great choice even for the likes of me who is really fussy. the entertainment is fun and although I don't normally get involved I felt comfortable joining in especially Archery with Mourad (3 yellows). It was really fun watching the mid day games and the dance after. Anyone considering this hotel, please don't listen to any of the bad reviews I nearly did and I could have missed out on a fantastic holiday where I met some fantastic people and made some amazing friends (you know who you are) I love you all,
Okay, the only downside is the hassle in the shops outside the hotel. Embrace it!!! these people have to make a living so don't be rude just say no thank you. They do appreciate people being nice.
I hope to see you all again soon at the Medina Solaria,
Thank You,
Tracy from Newcastle.

Room Tip: i stayed in 3037 and had a good view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tracyxxx63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TURKI Z, Responsable relations clients at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Tracy,

We thank you very much for having chosen our hotel for you stay and for your positive appreciations about our staff. In general their kindness and availability are one of our greatest strengths and we will send your compliments to them for participating in your wellbeing during your stay.

We do to our best efforts to assure to our clients a warm welcome and give a great importance to the details. Our only target is to delight your holidays and make your stay more enjoyable and relaxing.
Regarding the hassle in the shops outside the hotel, we thank you very much for your understanding, these people were friendly and welcoming and if you don’t want anything to buy from them, say no, smile and walk on.
We hope you had a pleasant back return and hope that you give us the opportunity to welcome you again in Medina Solaria & Thalasso.
We send you a big hug and have a great day!
Warm Regards
Online Reputation Management
Turki Zahia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

A friend and I are just back from a week all inclusive in The Solaria and had the best time ever. We had a room each which were huge and the beds were changed 3 times in the week.
The staff were so friendly in all departments of the hotel but best of all was the Animation Team they would remembered our names and greeted us warmly when we met them in the hotel. The food was very good too apart from a booked meal we had in the Italian restaurant which we found disappointing. The hotel was very clean and the pool was too, the Life Guard was very quick to bring a mattress when you arrived and parasol if required. We would really consider another visit as it was very good value for money and we felt welcome.

Room Tip: I had a room on 4th floor looking towards the sea and marina and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Issie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TURKI Z, Responsable relations clients at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Issie,

First of all, We would like to thank you for selecting our hotel for your first stay at Tunisia and for sharing your valuable comments on TripAdvisor.

We are very grateful for your recent visit and we hope to be to your service again during your next visit in Tunisia. However, we regret that the Italian Restaurant did not feel your expectation and we will follow your feedback to improve our service. We hope that you were happy of our other themed restaurants in our different hotels within Yasmine Hammamet, the new concept called “Dine Around” of our “All Inclusive” Package.

We are looking forward to have the pleasure welcoming you back again for another great relaxing break.
Warm Regards
Online Reputation Management
Turki Zahia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Everything was pretty good at this hotel. From our hassle free check in we felt comfortable and looked after. Reception was helpful and quick to sort out any problems like our Balcony door that wasn't locking right.
The rooms were clean and spacious, but better light for make up would be good. Cleaners were great and left the room tidy as well as clean!
Food - Excellent. Loads of variety, chefs helpful and always hot! Waiters were friendly and took good care of you. Ahmed Mathlouthi was our waiter and he went out of his way to be helpful and answered questions for us. He was very professional and decorated our table lovely for the last night.
The Pool - Clean and loads of sunloungers. The Lifeguard was quick to bring you a mattress and even a small table and umbrella if you wanted shade.
The Pool bar had a very nice barman who was fun and non judgemental about drinking vodka at midday! The drink was plentiful and good choice of cocktails for AI.
The Animation Team - A mixture of really nice fellas who put a lot into their job. We were expecting Bingo and quizzes in the evening but instead it was more shows like 'Riverdance' and Tunisian night. Everything was held down in the big conference room and this was just a little bit far from the bar and bar service seemed slow once you were down here. Daytime activities were grand, darts & archery and some water polo and they were not too pushy in getting you to participate.
The area was bit quiet but felt safe for 3 women. Yes the men can be a bit sleazy and try to pester you but a firm no works wonders. Just walk on and blank them.
We found 3 discos that were all fun and entertaining and not too far from hotel.
This was a relaxing week away for 3 ladies and the Solaria hit the right spot.
We never go back anywhere again but we would make an exception for the Solaria as it offered everything we wanted for a good price. It is worthy of its 4 star rating and with a bit of work could easily be 5 stars.
We may be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RoisinMc14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TURKI Z, Responsable relations clients at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear RoisinMc,

We would like to thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our hotel and staff as well as our hotel services and installations.

We are very glad you liked the place, had fun and have a lot of good memories. We can imagine how agreeable to arrange and organize this kind of trip for three women.
Yasmine Hammamet Area is safe as all the other tourist regions in Tunisia, with a nice infrastructure to let you enjoy this nice place all year around. You were not afraid to visit us in the low or high seasons, solo or accompanied, you did fit your needs for a good time and safe staying.
We are even more happy to see you are planning to come back and selecting our property as a second home in Tunisia for your future holidays. We look forward to having you back again for another great holiday!
We send you a big hug to all of you and have a very nice day.
Warm Regards
Online Reputation Management
Turki Zahia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel is fantastic from when you enter, i stayed in march 2014 and the animation team was great, especially kader ie sonic, just made us all so welcome and feel a part. Mahmood also was lovely to us, always made time to come and have a chat with us. The restaurant staff was equally as good and the food was excellent. My wife and i are definately going to return in march 2015.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TURKI Z, Responsable relations clients at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Karl,
It was our p
leasure to have your as guest in our hotel and we are touched by your nice words.
Our hotel welcomes different international customers during the year. Our target is to satisfy our guests, make them happy for a quiet and nice stay among us.
We enjoy learning that you were happy by our different services and that our food required your flavour.

We will be delighted to welcome you back again in March 2015 in our hotel and offer you our best services and accommodate to you a nice and suitable room equal to your last experience among us.
Warm Regards
Online Reputation Management.
Turki Zahia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

for our first time at this country it gave us an excellent experience. We've got the relax and qualitiy time we had in mind.
Overday entertainement was ok.
The night entertainement we experienced as too loud for us. The sound was good for a stadion, not for a small hall.
The food was good with a large choise. The service was excellent so we tried to choose the same waiter during our stay. A. Mathlouthi gave us and other guests a nice feeling with the right attention.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TURKI Z, Responsable relations clients at Medina Solaria & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Johan,

We thank you for selecting the Medina Solaria & Thalasso for your first time in Tunisia and for the time spent to share your experience with us.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that we achieved our standard of ensuring your holiday to be both relaxing and memorable.
Please be assured that your comment concerning the loud sound of evening entertainment will be certainly take in consideration with our entertainment team and we will do our utmost to improve this point .

We really are looking forward to welcoming you back again for another great relaxing stay.
Warm Regards
Online Reputation Management
Turki Zahia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#10 of 119 in Hammamet
1,337 reviews
5.5 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#2 of 119 in Hammamet
792 reviews
6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#3 of 119 in Hammamet
2,176 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
0.7 mi away
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
#35 of 119 in Hammamet
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Solaria & Thalasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Solaria & Thalasso

Address: Rue de la Medina | Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#8 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#10 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#11 Best Value Hotel in Hammamet
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: £28 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Medina Solaria & Thalasso 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Medina Solaria & Thalasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Solaria Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Solaria
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing