We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people , lovely weather .. too many flies”
Review of Hotel Movie Gate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Movie Gate
Ranked #62 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Just returned from a weeks break at this hotel, going to sum it up in a quick review.
PRO'S
Rooms... spacious with huge balconies that have drying rails . Beds big but firm , ideal for me at 6ft plus with a bad back.
Separate toilet and bathroom ( another plus for me as I have a man who likes to sit in loo for 30 mins at a time )
Loads of storage space but no in room safe . ( have safes at reception which we didn't bother with as I don't think you get much theft here )
Location ... Has its own beach , sunbeds and towels ( no need to bring your own ) provided free of charge. Tip the beach guy ( wearing a white T-shirt ) on your first day (1 dinar approax 50p) and he will save you a comfy bed near the sea/ bar every day.
Town is a ten minute taxi drive away .. cost roughly 7 dinar (under £3)
Food.. Breakfast was my favourite meal, no sausages or beans , but freshly made Omelettes or Pancakes , with fresh bread suited me fine . Cereals , cakes , cheese and salad were also available.
Lunch and Dinner .. Both consisted of the same .. Soups, salad, fresh bread, meat dishes and veg.
All followed by a fantastic selection of cakes .
As well as the buffet restaurant , there is a beach restaurant for lunch , which serves Fish, salad and pasta .
Also you can get fresh filled bagettes on the beach during the day.
There are also for Al a carte restaurants that you can eat in for free ( need to book the day before with the woman opp reception )
Enterainment.. always seemed to be something going on by the pool and in the amphitheatre in the evening. The hotel has 3 outdoor pools and a Kiddies pool .. with slides and activities

CONS
Rooms ... slightly dated and not the best cleanliness I've ever seen .. ( bathroom door needed a good wipe over and shower head needed bleaching )
Saying that the maid came in every day and had a general clean and changed towels etc
Food.. No real organisation in buffet restaurant .. Had to find your own table even during evening meal, then 9 times out of ten get your own drink and cutlery.
Guests.. the week I stayed I was the only English person in the hotel.. not a problem for me but maybe off putting for some !
Biggest bug bear .. was the amount of flies .. If you you sit in the outside bar not only do they swarm you they bite as well. I appreciate this is a common problem in Tunisia , but its very annoying
SUMMARY
All in all I had a great Holiday , adore the Tunisian people , even the guys on the beach who try and sell you their goods .. give them a firm no if you're really not interested , otherwise play them at their own game .
Staff in hotel are all lovely and can't do enough to help.
Weather was fantastic , loved the beach , pool and location .
Would recommend this Hotel to friends .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tracey-Marcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

We had an awesome time in this resort. Everybody is very friendly, room are clean and decent an beach is just few steps from the room.

Our room had a beautiful view of a nice garden. The food in the resort is pretty decent.

Special thanks belongs to the staff, who made sure that our stay is even more enjoyable. Particularly to guest relation Salma, receptionist Hamdi, shisha waiter Ibrahim, night pizza chef Sabri and morning coffee waiter Ali. Thank you guys very much, you are doing a great job.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JiriSimCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Excellent food en superclean place ! Ideal with childres since there are 3 glides !
Superb location near the sea. Only a pity that our shower rail was broken and that the window curtain was too small. Beds are hard to sleep in, we asked for softer ones and received one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stine1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

t his hotel is now known as the cine gate miramar with a movie theme the improvement in the quality of the food has been maintained there are now four themed restaurants that can be used at no further cost on the first floor there is a cinema showing current releases all in all i would say that this hotel is value for

Room Tip: all the rooms and suites have either garden or sea views there also two rooms suitable for people w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Buffet food is without flavor, it's served cold and there's a general lack of hygiene (picking up food with a dirty cloth and throwing it back in). Restaurants are to be reserved a day in advance at 9AM but don't bother getting up. Not only do you have to choose your food at reservation, it is low quality and again served cold. We choose couscous in the Tunesian restaurant and were quite surprised when the same dish was presented to our neighbours as tajine. The beef burger turned out to be turkey - though the chef could only agree with us after a long discussion. Cocktails are made with whatever liquor is available (mojito with gin doesn't really give the same effect) and wines are sure to give you a headache.

Hygiene in the rooms is basic, not worth 4 stars but sufficient. Sleeping above the disco is not a good idea, stay away from the street facing wing.

Staff in reception is unfriendly, even rude. Some waiters are friendly, others extremely annoyed when you ask them a question. Complaining has no use, the management is not in favor of West-Europeans. They have leased the Miramar hotel grounds for x years, called it "Moviegate" and just want to make money - if one travel agent stops booking, there's sure to be another one. Also, mind the Russians ordering vodka at 9AM - I know it's not fair on all Russians, but there was one guy who was drunk enough to leave blood stains on the stairs after hitting a glassed door.

Time for the pro's : the hotel grounds are beautiful, lots of space, 3 outdoor & 1 indoor pool, situated on the beach, some of the staff is very friendly and the sun is hot...

Room Tip: Avoid the street wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank N_lyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I stayed here for a week on my honeymoon and was really impressed by the quality of of the service. Everyone knew my name and remembered it for most of my stay, in some cases, I didn't even have to tell them my name, they just remembered me from check in I guess. I would like to also thank Max for taking great care of me and my wife during our stay. He was really helpful and very kind. He even went to the extent of giving me his cell number and told me to call him on his personal line if I needed anything. That was great! The hotel was in a very nice and clean area, as well as on the beach. A 5 minute taxi ride, (about 5 TD) to the marina. The room was also very clean and nice, we had a suit with a living room and to AC units. Stayed nice and cool during the hot summer months of Tunisia. I have no negatives about this hotel. I loved the service, cleanliness, area, staff, (Animation team too), and the food buffet was off the charts. I can't wait to go back again next summer!! Merci Max and Oumar Aouij ;) Aziza too..

Room Tip: Ask for Max, he'll make sure you have a wonderful stay! Don't forget to tip him!! He really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

GENERAL

I think hotels should close the health point of view. Europe, this low level should not be out of the question. This hotel is really dangerous to health hotel, I do not recommend it to anyone. Least for families with children.

HOTEL ROOMS

The rooms are terrible condition and not healthy. They suffer from widespread water damage and moisture. Mold can be clearly seen and smelled. The walls are paper thin, and therefore there aren't any privacy. There are also cockroaches running all over the roof and walls!!

POOL AREA AND BEACH

The pools are very crowded and competition will occur in beach chairs. Some tourists behavior is inappropriate and therefore you may even lose your beach chair while swimming.

The beach is beautiful, but the sea is floating in the water a camel feces. Beach chairs are hard to find, but with tipping the beach boy will find you a chair. Services sellers are more aggressive, so be prepared.

FOOD

This hotel was a shocking experience. Do not take an all-inclusive! Buffet dining is full of flies and stray cats. Ventilation is not playing and the food is going bad in wrong temperature. Be careful what you eat, some guest became seriously ill during their stay!

The hotel's other restaurants require reserving a table, which in turn requires tipping that you can make ​​a reservation at all. Restaurants food level is also very low and they offer the same(!) food that they offer in the buffet.

SERVICES

Take into account the culture and the level of the hotel. You do not get any service unless you tip.

I do not recommend Hammamet as a vacation place and especially not this hotel. The entire holiday we were just hoping to get out of there. Complete waste of money!

Room Tip: Do not go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SuoFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.4 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#8 of 119 in Hammamet
6,229 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Sindbad
The Sindbad
#28 of 119 in Hammamet
711 reviews
3.7 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#3 of 119 in Hammamet
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Menara
Hotel Menara
#50 of 119 in Hammamet
200 reviews
2.7 mi away
Houda Yasmine Hammamet
Houda Yasmine Hammamet
#35 of 119 in Hammamet
1,083 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Manar
Hotel Manar
#1 of 119 in Hammamet
2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Movie Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Movie Gate

Address: Rue de Nevers, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia (Formerly Barcelo Hammamet)
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Movie Gate 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Movie Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primasol Miramar Hammamet Hotel Hammamet
Hammamet Miramar Hotel
Hotel Miramar Hammamet
Miramar Hammamet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing