We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Few things to take note”
Review of Hotel Machmoum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Machmoum
Ranked #98 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

The location is good (2-3 mins walk to the beach.

The staff know little or no English so communication is poor.

The animation team are excellent they can speak English.

Food is mediocre but we paid £20 a
day between us to stay so could not complain. We had our room cleaned everyday (few basics lacking hair dryer/bin/safe (Safety deposit boxes in reception)).

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank TravelChimp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed here for a week in july and my stay was very enjoyable. We arrived in the late afternoon and were showed straight to our room and had our money changed promptly. The next day the animation team introduced themselves and reassured us that anything we needed we could go to them, they kept everyone entertained playing water polo , doing aqua gym and other activities. The receptionists and barstaff were lovely and a real laugh. Some of them dont speak alot of english but there is always one or two members of staff who did. The food was great for the price, changed every night and there is always plenty of choice and the decor in the dining room was clean and our table was always decorated with flower petals. The rooms were cleaned thoroughly every day and swans and pretty bows were left on the beds , the attention to detail was spot on.
There is a spa , an indoor and outdoor pool and pool tables and the beach is two minutes out the back gate. There was always something to do and a few english bars within walking distance.
For a family holiday we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, there is a real family feel to the hotel and the staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome and at home. I made some lovely people who i still keep in contact with. I will definately go back and i highly recomend this hotel to anyone looking for a fun , enjoyable , no stress holiday :)
And there are plenty of trips to go on around the area.
Also the hotel closed for 5 months for a renovation so all the bad reviews arent right , because the pool is huge and very clean , all staff are friendly and attentive and the hotel rooms are up to scratch.

Room Tip: Pool view is nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

just came back on 20/07/2013 i read all horror reviews but i can tell you are not true may be in past which i cannot confirm but we do no that hotel has had refit which it was closed for 5 months now its very good with rooms cleaned every day with some special touches with flowers draping the beds and towel designs in bathroom very pleasant on the eyes air conditioning which was free and very comfortable in 35 36 degree heat,think that covers accommodation, now to the pool our room looked over pool area every morning pool was cleaned checked and looked great a very good size, animation team were very friendly and could speak quite a few languages which helps every one to have good time and meet new friends the restaurant was very large and well situated with special touches with hearts made from fresh flowers on our table most nights food was good traditional Tunisian with a few English treats food was varied over the week giving you plenty choice not forgetting they dont eat pork out there so you wont be getting bacon in mornings unless you go to few English bars and pay high price, friendly waiters and bar staff always on hand to help, i would recommend massage which was excellent with full beauty treatments all in hotel a must for relaxing holiday all in all give it a go we did with no regrets

Room Tip: get a pool and garden view very nice to wake up to
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank rolyrmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Quite good hotel. Situated not in the centre of Hammet, but has a good connection to old town by local bus or taxi. About 200 metres from the beach. It has a clean and medium-size swimming pool with a bar. Clean rooms with a comfortable bed. Everyday room service changed towels and bed sheets. I had HB option. The food was tasty and everyday the kitchen served something different. Animation was really good.

Room Tip: I recommend rooms with the view to the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank aarongeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Went on a family holiday here early october 2012 for a week. Plain was delayed on the way there, and went down hill from there!!! When we landed in Tunisia airport, expecting to be greeted by our rep, but was no were to be seen. We got bombarded by 'porters' who took our bags to the bus, which we thought was part of the service but they only wanted a tip and wouldn't let us on the bus without giving them money!!!
As we arrived at the hotel, reception didnt speak a word of english and didn't even give a smile!! Dissapointed with our rooms-not very clean, stained areas in the bathroom, damp area on walls and ceiling, no frigde/kettle or any other electrical appliances.
Food was not great-was cold on some days and remaining food that was not eaten was given the next day!
We didn't have any entertainment, but we didn't expect any as we arrived after season.
Staff didn't speak much english, so was very hard to communicate i.e asking for Rose wine with our food was a huge mission!!!
Impossible to exchange money from reception, as they would also tell us to come back later, which would sometimes mean hours!!
WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL!!! Do not understand why it has been given a 3*, we would give a 1*
VERY DISSAPOINTED HOLIDAY!! WOULD NOT VISIT TUNISIA AGAIN

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Rather poor hotel. When we came we wait around 4 hours to get the room. The one we get was ugly with moisture on the walls in some place dirty. We change it after huge row in reception. I have to add that hotel try to apologize with fruit plate. On the third day 90 tunisian dinars disappeared from my wallet hidden deep in suitcase. If You plan to go there or any other tunisian hotel better buy safe. Animations was kind good but however I wont go there second time. (I was there in september 2004)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MisiuPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Moved to write this review as I have just been to this hotel on holiday. I was concerned about all the bad reviews I had read, but this hotel is not, as some suggest, the hotel from hell!. The staff were friendly and helpful, although many of them did not speak much English. The food was, in my opihion, great in the evening, lots of dishes to choose from, and myself (vegetarian) and my children (fussy eaters) were always able to find a selection. The breakfasts were less exciting, although they did cook omlettes, doughnuts and pancakes freshly for you.
Our rooms were lovely and cleaned every day. (I recommend the garden rooms if you don't want to hear the entertainers music all day long)
The hotel itself is in Yasmine Hammamet, about a £4:00 taxi ride from the centre of Hammamet.
When we stayed at the Hotel, we were the only English staying, which could have been quite isolating if we had spent all our time in the Hotel. Hammamet itself has not got a huge amount to do unless you are a beach lover. - For a wider selection of things to do, I would recommend Sousse, but we did have a nice holiday there.
The Hotel itself was a three star, so a little rough round the edges, but in my opinion, worth the money, with a large area around the pool. Entertainment was put on every night, fakir, belly dancers, snake man... a pleasant place to be in the evenings. Another recommendation, - buy your booze from the Bazar shop at the Marina, you have to ask for alcohol, and they direct you to a "hidden" room round the back - Hotel prices are expensive, but this place was cheap. The hotel barman was willing to open bottles of wine if, like me, you forgot your corkscrew1
Go, have fun, dont expect 5* and enjoy lovely Tunisia!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Londoner014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
5.9 mi away
Residence Mehari Hammamet
Residence Mehari Hammamet
#99 of 119 in Hammamet
26 reviews
5.5 mi away
Kinza Hotel
Kinza Hotel
#80 of 119 in Hammamet
110 reviews
5.5 mi away
Residence Romane
Residence Romane
#67 of 119 in Hammamet
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Menara
Hotel Menara
#62 of 119 in Hammamet
200 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Emira
Hotel Emira
#90 of 119 in Hammamet
152 reviews
6.7 mi away
Le Khalife
Le Khalife
#88 of 119 in Hammamet
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Machmoum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Machmoum

Address: Rue Du 14 Janvier | Rue Du 14 Janvier, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#66 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: £19 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Machmoum 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer you the comfort of 150 double, triple or quadruple spacious rooms (chambers), among which 17 family consequences (suites). All are equipped with TV, phone, bathroom with bathtub, air conditioning (in July and August) and heating with individual regulation, plate glass window, terrace, balcony or own garden. A junior continuation (suite) with balcony giving onto the garden and the swimming pool, lounge (show), dining room, TV in the room (chamber) and in the lounge (show), the minibar, the Jacuzzi. The Restoration Spacious restoring non-smoker. In the summer months tables are raised (drawn up) on the big terrace in front of the swimming pool. Snack bar (Snack) Pizzeria at the edge of the pool* (opened in summer). Bar beach (range) for fast food and refreshments* (opened in summer). Bar *, coffee (café) maure*. FITNESS CENTER Covered swimming pool warmed in winter ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Machmoum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mechmoum Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing