We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Go!”
Review of Residence la Paix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence la Paix
Ranked #55 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed 21 July 2013

First the positive - the woman on reception has excellent English and was very helpful - she should be working somewhere else; she's way too good for that dive!
The negative's - everything - a walk out of Hammamet - a walk that was too long on busy, noisy, dirty roads smelling of sewage all the way.
The apartment - bed that creaked with every move - could hear neighbours every time they moved too. Bathroom and kitchen wall and floor tiles cracked and damaged; toilet bowl cracked and glued together. The shower floor space was an 18 inch square as it was actually a hip bath to sit in, which I gave up and did to feel safe. We had to keep the plugs in the bath, basin and sink to stop the constant smell of sewage. The apartment wasn't and remained unclean - god knows what the chambermaid cleaned with to leave as much dirty as she did. The cleaning trolleys were left permanently on each landing, not a pretty site! The balcony table had a tablecloth on it - obviously to hide how dirty, stained and worn it was.
The pillows were so thin, only one each so had to use folded up blankets as well - I think the chambermaid thought she was doing us a favour covering them with a sheet. The equipment for self-catering was 2 cups & saucers, 2 small glasses, 2 dinner plates, 2 knives & forks, 2 teaspoons, 2 tablespoons,1 blunt bread knife and 1 saucepan without a lid. I had taken a corkscrew/bottle opener/penknife and we had to buy a knife and potato peeler as well as 2 decent sized glasses. We took another saucepan with lid off the cleaning trolley. Luckily I'm an experienced and inventive cook so could improvise and I did cook more nights than we ate out. The reason we wanted to cook was because it wasn't worth the walk there and taxi back to go into Hammamet; a dirty, scruffy, primitive and dead-end town with meals not as good as I can cook.
Antiquated air conditioning positioned at the head of the bed didn't help either.
The pool - small and on the first floor with music played low/high/not at all by a young lad who thought he was a DJ when he wasn't chatting up older woman for drinks and cigarettes. The pool area and saggy, old, mattressless sunbeds were scruffy and dirty. The beach was a bit rough as is usual in Tunisia but this extended to the 'private' beach with old, dirty, saggy sunbeds without mattresses except for the ones 'reserved' by some guy dependant who was his favourite that day. The old guy who was running the bar and food tried his best but was ruled by the owner of the beach area who came each day, expected the best table in the shade and proceeded to talk loudly on his mobile to god knows who to show how important he was. Then there were the beach sellers approaching right up to sunbeds; previously they haven't been allowed on the private area.
If this had been my first holiday to Tunisia I would have never returned - we have previously been 6 times to Port El Kantaoui to a apartotel which knows how to look after and treat their guests. We only didn't return as we fancied a change and it had gone all-inclusive, which isn't for us.
Coupled with a man trying to rob both our bags on the beach and two women having a man come into their apartment on the ground floor in the night, this did us with Tunisia, it'll be somewhere else definitely next year for our 2 week holiday - we are currently planning to go somewhere else to get over this experience.
I'd chosen these apartments as so few are available in Tunisia and had had to go down a star to do so - big mistake, never again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lindaking2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

A lovely little place comfortable and very clean rooms- yes it is a little out of the way but considering that it costs only 2 dinar (about 80pence) to get into town this is not a problem- nice and quiet and friendly Staff were all very good and the cleaning ladies excelent. lovely cats - please feed them very good value for money and much more personality than the big hotels. I cannot understand the negatives the rooms were certainly not shabby and the and curtains not dirty.

Room Tip: We prefered the ground floor as the terraces were lovely and the gardens very pretty
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank travelmad97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Just returned from spending 18 days here, self catering, Room quite small but a okay size for the two of us, kitchenette only had 2 hobs to prepare food but we managed, cleaner came every day and even washed the dishes we left lol :) Was winter season so there was only probably 4 families in the hotel so was very quiet, but had a really good time, the hotel itself needs a bit of paint here and there but in the summer i can see this hotel being brill! ( would return! )
There are around 12 cats what live at the hotel and they are so cute but a bit annoying screaming outside of the door when preparing meals lol... Had a lovely time and would look into booking again soon xx

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HannahRalphson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

h we struck lucky with this one. In a town full of disappointment, this hotel was our haven. In a quiet beautiful street, with a view of trees and sea to the front of our large terrace, and a view of the lovely gardens filled with chickens roaming freely. And there were few other guests. The apartments were spotless. These 3 members of staff were so kind, helpful, warm and friendly with us, they made us feel like family, Saadia, Lazhar and Mouktar - apologies for any incorrect spelling. These three lovely people have worked at the hotel for many years, and work very hard, long hours, yet their gentleness and sense of humour with us was endearing. Without them, our visit would have a very different review. This is great value, has everything you need in the apartment, plus a restaurant and its own pool.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank annerealmotivation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

My husband, son and I stayed in a 'family apartment' on & off during our vacation. I was personally disappointment with the state of the apartment. Agreed YOU GET WHAT YOU PAID FOR but the decor was so shabby with dirty curtains and walls in dire need of a fresh lick of paint & lighting in bedroom not good (bedside lamp?) Not keen on the 'french beds', built onto cold tiled plinths.

I found the apartment totally dull & depressing. My husband was not overally impressed either. We stayed half board. If you get to breakfast in the last hour of breakfast time you are lucky if you get a hot cup of coffee or a croissant! There never seemed to be enough food for the guests in the morning; and we witnessed many disgruntled guests turning on their heels and retreating within minutes of arriving for breakfast!!!

We had a few problems regarding what was on offer for the evening meal, told we could only order pasta meals or pizza!!! My husband & I peacefully had words with management that we would like to sample Tunisian fare (my husband is Tunisian) and we were very unhappy regarding what was on offer. In their defence they quickly came to an arrangement that the chefs would put on a varied hot buffet in the evening started the next day, (they kept their promise) which was adequate.

The hotel staff, cleaning staff & maintenance guy were lovely, and any problems were dealt with quickly. Thank you for your kindness to my family.

Hotel Residence La Paix: Please pay close attention to your green stair runner carpet leading up to the restaurant; it is quite frayed and nearly caught my shoe heel in it on a few occasions! (lawsuits are expensive these days!)

The residence is close to the beach & approximately 15 mins walking distance of the Medina Hammamet if you're fit enough on a real hot day to take in some delightful scenery!

I think I am just & fair with my comments.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Princessdotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
residence_lapaix, Directeur général at Residence la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Dear Ms,

Thank you for choosing Residence la Paix for your recent stay in Hammamet.
We're always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve.
We regret the inconvenience caused during your stay, We hope that we did react in time further your complaints on the desk.

We thank you agin for your review, it will help us a lot to improve our service and we hope you'll choose Residence la Paix the next time you're in Hammamet that you can realize the improvements to make yu enjoyr your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed here for a week in Nov 2012. Enjoyed it - comfortable and clean if a little run down. Breakfast edible and sheets/towels changed regularly. Great for the budget traveller. Staff friendly and helpful. However, there is a man who sells excursions who arrives every time a new customer does. Don't go on the camel ride! He promised a ride through the mountains with waterfalls and a meal with drinks. You end up riding through building sites and rubbish tips and a drink of coke. He said we would see "real arabs!" We were dressed up as arabs! Hilarious but not true. The quad biking is a much better bet if you want an excursion. Also, the hotel boasts its private beach. It doesn't have one! It is close to the beach which is more than enough.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Best thing about this great budget choice are the staff and the cleanliness, always friendly, helpful, patient and accomodating with rooms immaculately turned down every day. Generally find hotel food pretty bland, but if you want to play safe then perfectly fine. Facilities in room were fine but not very well equipped for self-catering.
Hotel is in between old town and Yasmine so easy to jump in a cheap taxi to either, but found the best beach was a bit further up towards hotel les citronniers as it is kept cleaner than the surrounding area of la Paix beach. Supermarket next door is rip off but in the main road behind the hotel is a normal supermarket next to a very good street ficasse stall.

Room Tip: Well recommended for a quiet location if you get a room facing away from the road, and if you like c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank euromongrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
residence_lapaix, Directeur général at Residence la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Residence la Paix for your recent stay in Hammamet.

We're always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Residence la Paix the next time you're in Hammamet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.5 mi away
Residence Hammamet
Residence Hammamet
#107 of 119 in Hammamet
113 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa
Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa
#24 of 119 in Hammamet
376 reviews
5.2 mi away
Vincci Flora Park
Vincci Flora Park
#29 of 119 in Hammamet
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
3.3 mi away
Hotel Palace Oceana
Hotel Palace Oceana
#6 of 119 in Hammamet
880 reviews
2 mi away
SENTIDO Aziza Beach Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence la Paix

Address: Avenue du Koweit, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence la Paix 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence La Paix Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing