We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but friendly hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence la Paix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence la Paix
Ranked #52 of 123 Hotels in Hammamet
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Basic but friendly hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Room was basic but cleaned daily. If you are planning on SC the equipment was few and far between. No kettle etc. Bed was made of concrete with it's mattress on top which made it quite hard but not too uncomfortable. We booked an apartment for 4 but were given what I would call a studio. We did have a balcony with table and 3 chairs. Our room was roadside so noisy until about 2pm. Plenty of hot water, towels, toilet paper etc. Breakfast was a little boring ( but continental often is isn't it!) Swimming pool was unusable the whole time that we stayed, cloudy water with film of something questionable on top. There was no private beach or snack bar during our visit. You can rent beds and an umbrella for 10D per day.
None of the facilities at the hotel were open? No bar, no pizzeria etc although this may been as it was the end of the season?
All in all we were a little disappointed, we have travelled in Africa a couple of times before and so were prepared for the little nuances you normally find. On this occasion the hotel just seemed half closed and therefore we felt short changed. I would not recommend this hotel if you need your creature comforts. It's position however is quite good half way between Hammamet centre and South. Take a taxi and enjoy the Tunisian culture first hand eat out at restaurants like Le Berberousse in the Medina wall. Highly recommend Resto la Plage for those on a tight budget.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SS1866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    61
    30
    14
    17
See reviews for
57
50
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Where do we start on this place and not just the hotel. Right the hotel. We have arrived back in England this morning and it isn't a day too soon after holidaying in Hammamet.
The hotel is dated and in need of some serious renovation,everything is older than grass inside the apartments with smells unlike anything Iv'e smelt before. Cleaners do a good job of a bad hotel.However the hotel staff are very helpfull to be fair but the hotel is not up to standard of a package holiday
2.50 Dinar per £ and you really do get great value for money 20 Marlborough 25 Dinar.
Taxis very cheap 3 Dinar into Hammamet during the day 5 after 9pm.
Food is very cheap in town. The shop next to the hotel is a bit more expensive but nothing major.
Chinese restaurant round the corner is ok as the evening meal here is very poor and at 15 dinar per head a rip off. Kitchen poorly equipped,bathroom ok,small rooms.
Hammamet is a very noisy place and the paths are virtually impossible to walk on as they park on the paths.Beach is quiet but full of litter like the streets.
Not a good place for teenagers or girls travelling alone.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!! Go into a better hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lewis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hammamet hotels

UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

These are the things I would have found useful to know before my holiday, so it's quite long - any questions, please ask & I'll try to help.

Rooms a bit run down, but at the price you're paying you can't expect the Ritz.

Arrived in the middle of the night, & after checking in security guard carried our cases to our room. Please note that 2-person accommodation is very small, & has a double bed. Back to reception (wanted single beds) & they gave us a 3-person room. Double bed plus a sturdy single camp bed - good mattresses & thick pillows. Very roomy with a huge bathroom (had shower, 3/4 bath, shower curtain & a place to attach shower head to the wall (unlike Greece & Turkey accommodation I've had), toilet complete with hose attachment on wall to use toilet as bidet plus washbasin with cupboard below) & large balcony with large square table & 3 chairs - air con is free, & loll rolls provided - at least 2 spares every day. Rooms cleaned daily, fresh towels every day & beds changed every 2 days. Only had 2 saucepans - & it took 20 mins to boil enough water for 2 cups of tea. Suggest you take a travel kettle & extension lead as plug sockets are in weird locations. Only plates, glasses, cups & cutlery provided - no bread knife, chopping board, can opener or sharp knife. We managed without (just about), Stairs are on outside of building & in short flights, so much safer than long straight flights. Also useful having open corridors - prop door open plus bathroom window plus patio doors to quickly cool room down at the end of the day. Fridge worked well & electricity didn't go off when you left the room with your key. If you wanted to, you could leave air con on all day while you were out.

There is a security guard all night, & reception doors are locked & only opened to let in guests. High walls surround the hotel, & the gardens & paved pathways are gorgeous. Road outside has heavy traffic until about 4am, so if you want a quiet room, try to get one at the back overlooking the gardens. Fatima on Reception spoke very good English, & the night receptionist was quite good. The rest of the staff had very limited English, as did the shops in town (apart from the ones selling tourist stuff), so it might be an idea to brush up your French. Safety deposit boxes are in Reception, not the rooms - 10 Dinar deposit, cost 2 Dinar per day. Wifi available in reception - 10 Dinar for 24 hours.

There was a constant stream of gusts arriving & leaving the hotel. There were Tunisians, French, Belgians, Danes, Swedes, Algerians, Dutch - but very few English - yet again, worth brushing up on your French.

We had booked room only, but we were able to buy breakfast (olives, tomatoes, cucumber, harissa, french stick, cheese triangles, boiled eggs, pain au chocolat, croissants - absolutely gorgeous croissants - & jam) for 5 Dinar, or evening meal (example salad, rice salad, red cabbage salad, lamb stew, unidentified meat stew, ice cream, nectarine) for 15 Dinar - only had evening meal once as we found food on beach better. A taxi into town & back plus croissants & freshly squeezed lemon juice in Canari was probably cheaper than 2 breakfasts at hotel. Magasin General in town is the big supermarket, but only about the size of a Tesco Express. If you want to buy beer etc, it's the door next to Magasin General - but is only open daytimes, not nights. It looked like you could only buy cans in trays of 24 so we didn't bother. Shops don't cater for visitors tastes (unlike Greece where you can get Lurpak butter & sliced bread) - food is what Tunisians eat, so if you want UK food you will need to take it with you. We ate out virtually every day (don't think I had an English meal in 2 weeks), & the block of cheese & tin of corned beef we took with us plus a french stick provided enough 'snacks' when we couldn't be bothered.

Rooftop pool had about 30 sunbeds, a large covered seating area & some showers.

Tables & chairs on lawn where you can sit without pressure to buy from bar - take your own drink there if you want to. Bouncy castle & slides up one corner - quite safe as the children can only leave the lawned area by heading to the main path leading to Reception. Disco set up there in the evening - but not loud music, more background. There was a wedding when we were there - beautiful setting with raised platform draped in white backdrop with white chaise longue for the couple, white tablecloths & chair covers for the guests who arrived about 10 pm - singing & dancing for a couple of hours (until after midnight). Beware if there is a wedding while you are there - they close the bar at 9:30!!! We had a bottle of water & cakes given to us by the wedding party & our cleaner tried to get us up to join in the dancing.

Turn right out of the hotel & walk for about a minute to the path to the beach. Lots of rubbish dropped there. Get to beach (another minute's walk) & turn left for the private beach. Sand is amazing - very fine (like pepper), deep & white - but quite heavy so doesn't blow about. Sea is crystal clear but has large stones - a row of sandbags (under water) makes wading to deeper water easier Sunbeds free, but you can rent 2 mattresses & have your favourite spot reserved each morning for 5 Dinar. Sunbeds spaced a reasonable distance apart, & never saw a time when they were all full. A pack of about 8 feral dogs sleep under the sunbeds, & also give warning of strangers during the night to the lads who sleep on the beach to keep watch on the cafe / bar. Very nervous dogs - only managed to persuade one of them to come to me in the whole 2 weeks, as I don't think they'd ever been stroked before. Upon saying that, Tunisians seem very tolerant of animals - didn't see anyone being mean to any animals. A quick 'Imshi' & the dogs disappeared into the gardens behind the beach, or moved under a vacant sunbed. Food on beach was good - salads of various types, barbeque steak, lamb etc, Ojja (wonderful), chips, batons with various fillings, beer wine etc. Also had my favourite which wasn't on the menu - sardines - so worth asking if you don't see anything you fancy. No pressure at all to buy - eat & drink your own food if you want to. As this hotel is outside the main tourist areas, there were only a few regular beach sellers (doughnuts, fruit, etc) who only walked along the shore line unless you called them - so no hassle there - & occasionally rugs & sarongs. I don;t think the men at the cafe would have allowed them to make a nuisance of themselves. No camels on our beach - in fact, didn't see one at all. There were 4 shower cubicles on the beach, but apparently the local authority decided to ban beach showers a few days ago so they were removed on a JCB. No toilets on the beach, nor was there any music.

A 20 minute walk takes you into Hammamet - via the beach, be prepared to paddle up to your ankles round one large rock, & if going by road beware all the cars parked on the pavement so you have to walk on the road which is very busy. Better to stand outside the hotel & flag down a taxi (all of them are yellow so easy to spot).

The shop next to hotel is expensive (by Tunisian standards) but convenient - however, bread doesn't arrive until about 10 o clock. There is a piece of waste ground opposite the beach entrance that takes you to the road behind the hotel. Here you will find a few shops, cafes (only saw Tunisian men in these, no women), & a few restaurants (including La Luna & Sidi Slim). Didn't try these, but one was advertising rotisserie chickens, & another one I think had Wifi. There's also a greengrocers on that road heading towards town on the left. There is a patisserie too selling croisants - but nowhere near as good as Canari in town.

All in all, a good holiday - everyone very friendly - even the elderly traditional Tunisian women (nothing to do with hotel) walking along the beach or the road would smile & say Bonjour.

Was very glad that this hotel was so far from town - Hammamet & Yasmine seemed busier than home (Birmingham), so this location was very relaxing. On the shuttle back to the airport, we picked up from hotels the far side of Hammamet - the road into the Zone Touristique had a roadblock & police armed with automatic weapons..............quite scary to think the 'posh' AI hotels needed armed guards!

Saw no mosquitos, one wasp & no more flies than during a UK summer BBQ. Days were hot, but with a breeze so it wasn't clammy. Had rain a few times plus overcast sky occasionally, & cooler evenings - might be worth packing a lightweight cardigan just in case. Brilliant climate.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel quieter, but front of hotel gives sea view & view of road so you can watc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank UkWanderer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denbigh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

I went to this hotel with my family for one week. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience and learn about the Tunisian culture.
The room- it was just the right size for us,2 single beds and 1 double bed. There was limited equipment in the cupboards which was not enough for all four of us but we managed. Make sure the cleaning women do not put any flowers on your bed otherwise there will be ants around the bed for the next couple of days,even though they are lovely women and cleaned our room everyday superbly. The bathroom is quite small and the shower is even smaller,the tile work needs a bit doing to it but overall its just right. The balcony was very nice to sit out there in the evening when it became a bit cooler and to see the lovely scenery that surrounded the hotel.

The food- We sate out at the restaurant one night and it was so expensive. We thought we were paying the same amount of money for food and drink but the chef charged us for the drinks as well. The breakfast had just enough variety for a couple of days with a range of foods for everyone.
We found a very affordable place in hammammet called 'Dar Hammammet'. The food was amazing at such a great price and the man who owns the restaurant was such lovely man to us and there was no stress,no bother,no hassle and smoking was available.
The receptonist was very helpful and kind. She was the only one who told us where to go for sightseeing and places to eat. I think she is wasting her time at the hotel because her English was too good for this job.
The pool- this was the best part of the hotel. Even though I got a allergic reaction from inside the pool on my fingertips I enjoyed my self for the most part.
The shop right next door to the hotel is a rip of shop! They are charging 2 and a half dinar for a 1 and a half litre of bottle water and with that price you can get six bottles of water at the supermarket around the corner. There are some very cheap local shops stores behind the la paix Hotel, if you shop there you will get more items with your money.
Be aware taxi price from la paix to the hammamet town, you should not pay more than 2. 2,5 dinar. The new Medina Yasemin town you should pay only 6.50 / 7 dinar.
If anybody comes to tell you that " He is the chef from your hotel " do not believe and tell him leave you alone, What that people does is, as soon as you come out of the taxi, they ask taxi driver which hotel he took you, so they get information from taxi driver and they find you & badder you

Room Tip: In Hotel reception people are very helpful, specially "receptionist Fatima"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank selam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

First the positive - the woman on reception has excellent English and was very helpful - she should be working somewhere else; she's way too good for that dive!
The negative's - everything - a walk out of Hammamet - a walk that was too long on busy, noisy, dirty roads smelling of sewage all the way.
The apartment - bed that creaked with every move - could hear neighbours every time they moved too. Bathroom and kitchen wall and floor tiles cracked and damaged; toilet bowl cracked and glued together. The shower floor space was an 18 inch square as it was actually a hip bath to sit in, which I gave up and did to feel safe. We had to keep the plugs in the bath, basin and sink to stop the constant smell of sewage. The apartment wasn't and remained unclean - god knows what the chambermaid cleaned with to leave as much dirty as she did. The cleaning trolleys were left permanently on each landing, not a pretty site! The balcony table had a tablecloth on it - obviously to hide how dirty, stained and worn it was.
The pillows were so thin, only one each so had to use folded up blankets as well - I think the chambermaid thought she was doing us a favour covering them with a sheet. The equipment for self-catering was 2 cups & saucers, 2 small glasses, 2 dinner plates, 2 knives & forks, 2 teaspoons, 2 tablespoons,1 blunt bread knife and 1 saucepan without a lid. I had taken a corkscrew/bottle opener/penknife and we had to buy a knife and potato peeler as well as 2 decent sized glasses. We took another saucepan with lid off the cleaning trolley. Luckily I'm an experienced and inventive cook so could improvise and I did cook more nights than we ate out. The reason we wanted to cook was because it wasn't worth the walk there and taxi back to go into Hammamet; a dirty, scruffy, primitive and dead-end town with meals not as good as I can cook.
Antiquated air conditioning positioned at the head of the bed didn't help either.
The pool - small and on the first floor with music played low/high/not at all by a young lad who thought he was a DJ when he wasn't chatting up older woman for drinks and cigarettes. The pool area and saggy, old, mattressless sunbeds were scruffy and dirty. The beach was a bit rough as is usual in Tunisia but this extended to the 'private' beach with old, dirty, saggy sunbeds without mattresses except for the ones 'reserved' by some guy dependant who was his favourite that day. The old guy who was running the bar and food tried his best but was ruled by the owner of the beach area who came each day, expected the best table in the shade and proceeded to talk loudly on his mobile to god knows who to show how important he was. Then there were the beach sellers approaching right up to sunbeds; previously they haven't been allowed on the private area.
If this had been my first holiday to Tunisia I would have never returned - we have previously been 6 times to Port El Kantaoui to a apartotel which knows how to look after and treat their guests. We only didn't return as we fancied a change and it had gone all-inclusive, which isn't for us.
Coupled with a man trying to rob both our bags on the beach and two women having a man come into their apartment on the ground floor in the night, this did us with Tunisia, it'll be somewhere else definitely next year for our 2 week holiday - we are currently planning to go somewhere else to get over this experience.
I'd chosen these apartments as so few are available in Tunisia and had had to go down a star to do so - big mistake, never again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lindaking2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

A lovely little place comfortable and very clean rooms- yes it is a little out of the way but considering that it costs only 2 dinar (about 80pence) to get into town this is not a problem- nice and quiet and friendly Staff were all very good and the cleaning ladies excelent. lovely cats - please feed them very good value for money and much more personality than the big hotels. I cannot understand the negatives the rooms were certainly not shabby and the and curtains not dirty.

Room Tip: We prefered the ground floor as the terraces were lovely and the gardens very pretty
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank travelmad97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

Just returned from spending 18 days here, self catering, Room quite small but a okay size for the two of us, kitchenette only had 2 hobs to prepare food but we managed, cleaner came every day and even washed the dishes we left lol :) Was winter season so there was only probably 4 families in the hotel so was very quiet, but had a really good time, the hotel itself needs a bit of paint here and there but in the summer i can see this hotel being brill! ( would return! )
There are around 12 cats what live at the hotel and they are so cute but a bit annoying screaming outside of the door when preparing meals lol... Had a lovely time and would look into booking again soon xx

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HannahRalphson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Movie Gate
Hotel Movie Gate
#55 of 123 in Hammamet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Hammamet
Residence Hammamet
#82 of 123 in Hammamet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.6 mi away
Residence Romane
Residence Romane
#75 of 123 in Hammamet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hamilton Hotel
Hamilton Hotel
#81 of 123 in Hammamet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Phoenicia
Villa Phoenicia
#3 of 14 in Hammamet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence la Paix

Property: Residence la Paix
Address: Avenue du Koweit, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Hammamet
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence la Paix 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence La Paix Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing