We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feels like home,fun,simplicity,never boring”
Review of Le Khalife

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Khalife
Ranked #86 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed 13 August 2009

I've been five times there and i will definitly go again.Hotel is realy nothing special.More like -no body cares for anything.If you're not steryl person the rooms are clean,changed sheets every day,the food is o.k. sometimes great,sometimes usual -but tasty,wayters very fast polite-if you're.If you're some grumpy gest,than every thing will take time.You have a bar a cross the road with wireless internet,the pool is clean and so on......there's no gold and crystal....but the pessonel is the best ever.I was never before thinking that i will go even two times at the same place.As long the hotel will work with this animators and the others it will run.If there were not this people than realy the hotel is nothing special.Every body that's working in this hotel has his own caracter and they seem to be as one big crazy fun family.Even one of my friends that was sleeping half of his vacations sad that he had best time in life,and want to go again. If you relax and let your self into that atmosfhere ,when you go home you will feel very sad.

But still hapy becouse you know that you'll be back...soon as posible.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitaLjubljana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Le Khalife
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2008

Hey to all,
I feel like I should tell all the truth about this hotel and to be as much as it is possible in these circumstances impartial.
To tell you the truth, this summer i was second time in this hotel. The hotel itself is not that good, rooms are quite poor, swimming pool looks nice but could be deeper and foods quality is average, hotel is not on the seashore, but it's not the point.
The best thing in this hotel is "D'animators", these guys are just amazing. As I remember: Kimo, Mimo, Chouchou, Dido and the most sincere and always smiling the Dj (somehow I forgot his name). Every evening they give you a bunch of positive emotions which you feel even when you get back to your country.
I can strongly say that once in a life it is worth to go to this hotel and to see how staff sincerely is trying to do the best for you. Even in 5star hotels in Africa you can’t find such helpful employees.
All in all I would like to say that if someone is looking for cheap and unforgettable holidays this is the best solution:)
I have added some photos from the holidays in Tunisia, but if someone wants to know more about this hotel you may contact me on msn: [-]

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Ruby_girl_Lithuania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2008

Yesterday i back from Tunis from Le Khalife hotel and i allready miss all this people.Hotel is small and cheap but every person in hotel ewould accept you as a member of family not like a guest.People on reception,restaurant,bar,pool,cleaning lady,animators...they always find a nice word and worm smile for you.If you are some kind of elit,dont go there,thats hotel for normal people who dont go on hollidays to eat like bears and who just look to find some dust or something similar.
This way I want to say hello for all hotel,Hello to Amin,Mimo,Dido,Šušu and a big kiss for my love Karim.See you...

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Vedrana-Harissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

The food and hygiene should be better. The fruit should be included for the breakfast, especially during the summer. The towels are so grayish and stinky, glasses dirty. The swimming pool is too small and water is pretty dirty (to much chlor in it).
The animators have the same awful and too noisy program every evening. If you have a room with the view to the swimming pool, be sure that you would not be able to sleep before midnight. Fortunately I spent only 3 nights in Le Khalife.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank admiral_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2008

We have visited hotel Le Khalife for the second time this year and had a brilliant time there. There was everything we need to relax and enjoy our vocations: the sea, the swimming pool and a wonderful animation team (Hello ChouChou). From the first moment we were welcomed by stuff as good friends. We had 6-year-old son with us and he got plenty of attention there, we never felt that he was bored. I highly recommend this hotel to families with young and also teenaged children. The animation team did a fantastic job with the daytime activities and during evening entertainment.I can say that we have made really good Tunisian friends and if there was a way to stay there we'd have stayed!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TatjanaLithuania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2008

Tunisians are very normal and simple people. They are do not like our evil European spirit. Their religion is very good. Food is not poisonous like in other continents and everybody have handsome soul!!! I did not expect such kindness in hotel Khalife and all around Hammamet.Animators are not aforethought but friendly such as hotels crew(HELLO ADEL).So,how can Hotel be bad when everyone treat you like a friend??? You have a bed and meal. It is enough for me. Dirty? No. I want to come again in le Khalife. SALUTE TO AMIN (animator, student) AND KAMEL (beach rescuer) FROM CROATIA (Tanja and Dario)!!! They are great people.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dari0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2008

I was there in the end of April 2007. Weather was warm, but not hot. Several cloudy days and some rain during the week. It was the very beginning of the season. Was able to get couple of sunny days on the beach. Nice season to travel around.

The hotel is about 30 min walk in quick step from the center of Hammamet (Medina). Taxi to/from center costs 2-3 dinars (approx the same if calculated in USD). Possibly some 3-4 km from center.

From the hotel to the beach you must walk some 300-500 m (streets etc) (some 5 minutes).

The first impression of the hotel was bad, as the look from the street entrance was not much like the look on photos (the yard) ;)
Entry to the hotel is almost strightly from the street, seemed like back door at the beginning :) I got the room with a view not to the seaside, so the view was not as good as imagined from the pictures in the Internet :) Some dead pigeon or smth on the nearby building roof :) Also furniture was old and pretty carelessly painted.

Later our tour operator person said, that in general in hotels you can try to ask for other room, if you do not like the one, which you get at the beginning. But possibly with a view to other side (pool), it would be louder, especially during hot summer nights, when your neighbors would drink outside and shout in a hotel yard late in the night. Also sea is some 300-400 m away and separated by other buildings, so I am not sure you can see it anyway ;) May be from higher floors.

Just for info - no TV/bar/refrigirator in the room (you can rent TV/bar for extra price if you really need it).

At the entrance of the hotel there is a sign like "no vodka/water/sandwitches can be brought in". But I still used my own alcohol/water inside the room. No one checks your bags. I do not know how serious those signs and restrictions are. Did not try to publicly walk in with my own bottle of wine in the hands :)

After staying in the hotel for a week, impression got much better. It is not very big hotel, so you get more or less personal attitude from personnel in a restaurant, at the reception. The hotel was clean. No any smells (except your own). The minimum was provided - bathroom, toilet, soap, toilet paper; towels changed, room cleaned up every day. No any insects observed. Left some 1 USD tips 3 times during my 7 night stay in a room as adviced by tour operator guide. When I did not leave tips - 1 of 2 big towels dissappeared, when left 1 USD appeared again (3 towels) :) Not sure whether those events were related :)

Also there are these "animators"/entertainers, which sometimes bothers you a bit during dinner in the hotel restaurant, but they also organise/lead nice free shows each evening in the bar and wants you to visit them and spend your money in the hotel bar not somewhere outside :) Those shows were fun. So I did not visit any clubs/bars outside hotel, except lunch in neighboring restaurant. Especially good was fakir show on the last evening. But these entertainers are usual as I understand for all or lot of hotels in this country and also at least in Egypt. When I got used to those animators in this particular hotel, I started to like them and did not feel bothered. It depends on you how you feel. They are friendly, you just need to adjust a bit to their very active style of communication.

The one thing which I certainly did not like, is that in your room you can hear very good the sounds in the corridor. But this is common problem for many hotels around the Europe.

Water tasted and smelled after chlorine, but I understand it is common in Tunisia. May be not? And it is better to taste after chlorine than to get some stomach infection.

There is nice looking and probably good (did not try) inner/outside pool in the hotel, some frumpish sports room.
You can take sunbathe in the yard of the hotel if you do not want to go to the beach - the yard is really nice and green. The bonus of taking sunbathe in the yard, is that you do not need to fight with the beach bargainers (one of them was very pushy, when I lied on some "wild" beach part not under "protection" of other hotel's private beach sector security guys).

There is volley ball area in the yard also (I did not see anyone playing). Also ping-pong table is available. Billiards table was for additional price (I believe 1 Dinar for play).

For additional price you can get sauna, massage etc features.

Visitors are mostly from Lithuania, Estonia, Latvia, Ukraine, Poland, Croatia, Slovenia etc Eastern/Central Europe, France as it seamed to me. There is country calling during those evening events, when you can see, where everyone comes from.

To summarize - I was not dissappointed, as I did not expect something extra and used cheaper "Fortuna" offer from our tour operator (you get to know the name of the hotel, where you will stay, only some week before tour, until then you know it will not be worse than 3*). So I knew it will not be something fancy.

Probably I would try other hotel from 4* category next time in Tunisia. This was 3*.

The quality very good matches the money paid (true at least for April prices) and this is good choice for budget vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank crabis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Emira
Hotel Emira
#103 of 118 in Hammamet
151 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Hammamet
Residence Hammamet
#38 of 118 in Hammamet
115 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Bel Air
Hotel Bel Air
#112 of 118 in Hammamet
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Romane
Residence Romane
#68 of 118 in Hammamet
80 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Club Les Colombes
Hotel Club Les Colombes
#70 of 118 in Hammamet
264 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Menara
Hotel Menara
#52 of 118 in Hammamet
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Khalife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Khalife

Address: Rue Hassan Hosni Abdelwaheb, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Price Range: £9 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Khalife 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Khalife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Khalife Hammamet
Le Khalife Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing