We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Magic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tui Magic Life Africana
Ranked #10 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Luton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Pure Magic”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We are a family of three (our son being 8 yrs old) and we stayed at Club Magic Life Africana from 28/07 – 11/08. It was our first time at a Magic Life resort, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We have been to Tunisia many times, and this was by far the best family holiday there.

There was a little chaos at Enfidha airport after we landed (09.15am), with very few Passport Control desks open, but we finally arrived at the hotel around 11.30am, giving us plenty of time to unpack and head off to explore somewhere to eat (whilst my husband chilled out in the room catching up with the German Grand Prix)!

Our double family room (No 253) was large and clean, with beautiful views across the activity pool (through palm trees), but it was a strange layout, with the toilet being off the communal hall area (which lead to the lounge with sofa bed/tv/fridge). Off the communal hall on the right was the door leading to the main bedroom, through another small hallway. On the right of this small hallway was the bathroom, and the main bedroom straight ahead.

The internal “bedroom door” should be re-positioned to the entrance to the bedroom itself, and not the hallway, as people sleeping in the lounge end up disturbing those sleeping in the bedroom when they want to visit the bathroom to wash their hands after using the toilet, which, by the way, could do with a small hand washbasin to avoid this).

The bed was massive and could easily have slept 3-4 people in it alone! We had a lovely maid (sorry, can’t remember her name) who was very friendly and did an excellent job.

Unfortunately, we had a visitor in the middle of the night (cockroach) on two occasions. The maid said they were coming from the plugholes in the bath/basin so we ensured that the plugs were in/down to prevent this from happening. However, my husband found one scuttling under the front door a few nights later, and he refused to sleep with the lights off! This problem was resolved by rolling a towel up and placing it against the bottom of the room door.

The grounds of the hotel were beautifully looked after, and were spotlessly clean. In fact, the whole hotel was spotlessly clean, and we cannot find any fault with this.

The food was very good, plentiful and varied. There was something for everyone (apart from our very fussy son), but we did manage to get him to try the squid one evening, which he did (and survived)! Only thing I can fault is the hidden calories, hence me putting on 3lbs whilst over there (damn those chocolate pancakes)! The restaurant layout is good, and it never seemed to be too busy, even with the hotel at full capacity. We had a wonderful waiter, Fedhi, who was very attentive, and had our drinks waiting for us on our “regular” table.

We tried the Thai restaurant one evening – it was interesting, to say the least. We had the shrimp salad (no shrimps) and then the chicken in sesame seeds (which was just like chicken in breadcrumbs). The food was tasty, but not really Thai. They also served bagels in a basket, rather than prawn crackers/toast etc. We didn’t try any of the other restaurants as the main buffet suited our needs very well.

The snack bar, which is between the activity pool and the family pool area, is ok, but poorly managed as people are queuing for quite a while at the service stations. It also gets full pretty quickly, so after having tried it once, reverted back to the main buffet restaurant.

Three new pools opened up recently by the beach, and this is the “family pool” area. All the pools were heated, so we didn’t have to shiver after only a few minutes in them. The surrounding pool areas are again very clean, and the pool man by this area (again, didn’t get his name) was very helpful. My only gripe was that the pools contained quite a bit of sand, which never seemed to be cleaned out properly. The hotel needs to invest in a pool vacuum to clean the bottom of the pools thoroughly and / or improve the filter system.

This area was quite breezy at times, and parasols were tipping over. The hotel needs to invest in wider bases to ensure this doesn’t keep happening.

There is building work going on around this pool, where a new bar will eventually be opening (which will be very welcomed).

Yes you do have to put your towels on your sun beds early if you want some shade, but it is up to you in the end. I went down around 6.15am every morning and found a great spot each time. You can leave it to later, but then the choices available with shade become more limited. There are signs saying “No reservation of sun beds” etc, but this is not enforced (thankfully – or not, depending on your views on this)!

Our son attended the kids club on a few occasions, which enabled us to get a break of "mummy, mummy, daddy, mummy look at this" etc! Different nationalities attended but this was not a problem. He had a good time when in them.

Evening entertainment was either in the amphitheatre or the Captains Bar and consisted mainly of dance shows and sketch shows or music quiz evenings. They were ok – nothing brilliant to write home about, but pleasant enough. The Animation Team consisted of many different nationalities including Brazilian, Belgium, Turkish, German, English and some Tunisian. They worked very hard to keep everyone entertained through the day and night.

We didn’t do any trips, as we’ve exhausted them on previous trips to Tunisia, but we did walk down to the Medina (about 10-15 mins), a couple of evenings. If you make your way to where the restaurants are around the main square, there are folk dancing shows on most nights, starting around 9.30pm – 10.00pm, which are pleasant enough to watch whilst sipping cocktails!

Other than that, the surrounding area of the hotel consists of a few supermarket type shops a few minutes walk away, but there is also the Marina, which, unfortunately, we never ventured to, so cannot comment on what that is like at night (have been there a few times on previous visits during the day), and there are bars and cafes dotted around, but it’s nothing special – there really isn’t a lot of Tunisian charm there at all.

Please DO haggle in the hotel shop. Although it says fixed price, we got some cracking leather jackets and some jewellery for a “very good price”. Not as cheap as we would have wanted, but we were happy with the deal in the end (and I can assure you, so were the shop keepers)!

All the hotel staff were friendly and courteous, and if there was a problem, they would do their best to rectify it as soon as possible.

Many different nationalities attended this hotel, and it was a superb mix of people - most of whom spoke English, yet again putting us to shame! There were no "yobs" or drunkenness behaviour on site, which makes a nice change!

Would we return to Club Magic Life Africana? I would return again - even on my own, but we’d like to try the other Magic Life hotels in Turkey / Egypt beforehand so we have something to compare.

All in all, a cracking holiday, and we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from noisy entertainment to ensure a good night's sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeanneLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    170
    74
    27
    15
See reviews for
430
262
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Initially I really wasn't sure about the whole " all incl " holiday BUT I could not fault anything about this hotel, staff and food.
Throughout the week their was a amazing selection of food for all pallets - I found previous reviews misleading as if you were willing to try new food and flavours there was most definitely a variety that guaranteed you never ate the same food repeatedly.
The culinary expertise of the chef and his team provided and excellence that never disappointed.
Wine was not a let down either although I found the double doses of spirits in cocktails slightly over powering for my taste.
Cakes, dessert - not to be missed - watch the waist line though - steadily does it .

Staff - the general team were obliging and professional , polite and discreet - not once was our privacy invaded although gentle persuasion was consistent when the entertainment team were organising games etc.
A particular THANKS to Amy - a wonderful young lady who added an sparkle to our daily routine.

Accomodation - large , clean rooms kept spotlessly clean by housekeepers - nothing was too much for Siada , absolutely NO complaints what so ever.

Plentiful pool side loungers but as in a lot of destinations these are rapidly reserved by folk , if you can't beat them join them is how we went about this - no one bides by clear cut rules of NO reserving loungers permitted - popping a towel before breakfast worked to guarantee we had a spot if wished.

Unfortunately some Eastern Europeans are darn RUDE - pushing and shoving during buffet meals , don't quite know why the need BUT as there is plenty of food to go around I most certainly didn't rise to the bait !.

Club Magic Africana - you did not disappoint , we had a FAB break with you all and most definitely sing your praises - Thank You for a truly unforgettable holiday.

Room Tip: We had room 220 - 1st floor - large entry area with cupboards , WC then a bathroom , mini fridge and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tootydawn1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We booked for only 10 days because we believed that was going to be long enough for an all inclusive holiday. We were wrong. We wished we had booked a 14 day stay!
We usually spend our time lying on the sun bed and enjoy the food and drink but with the many activities magic life had organised we tried out Archery, Mountain biking, Salsa class, Water aerobics and best of all free water sports all day every day.There was no pressure from the entertainment team but they encouraged you to take part and have a go!
There are many things about Magic Life Africana that we liked, cleanliness of rooms/ garden areas, amazing beach, varied food in buffet restaurant, excellent service and food in a la carte restaurants but best of all was the service we received from all of the staff. From the moment we arrived with the reception staff quickly booking us in to the moment we left we could not fault or complain about the way we had been looked after.
Our favourite member of staff was Amy. She is a new English member of the entertainment team who could not do enough to help us in every way. We really enjoyed our daily chats and she tried hard to sort out any problems we had.
For once, we did not want to come home. We would have liked to take part in another beach and pool party and also enjoy another bike ride supervised by Alex.
We will definitely return to this hotel but this time will book for 14 nights.

Room Tip: Beach front room numbers begin at 700 which are on the ground floor, our room was on the highest 4th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WirralMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We spent two amazing weeks at Magic Life Africana.
Excellent service, kind staff, clean and beautiful rooms.
We had booked to stay three people in a double room but on arrival the hotel gave us two double rooms instead, free of charge!
Only thing that wasn't top standard was the food, it was good but they seemed to focus on quantity rather than quality.
The animation team, the fitness team, the water sports team, the childrens' team and the teens' team did an fantastic job creating a happy atmosphere and welcoming the guests in various activities. We enjoyed taking part in aqua aerobics, pilates, water activities, stretching and of course, the evening activities: shows, live music, beach parties and dancing till 2.
We definitely plan to come back next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karinmek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We have just returned from a week at Magic Life Africa Imperial and cannot recommend this highly enough. We are a mid 40's couple with 2 boys 16 and 12.
As soon as you arrive at the hotel you are greeted by the always friendly hotel staff, a welcome drink is provided, check in is very quick and cases taken to your room. We arrived at midnight so unpacked and had a quick walk about, first impressions were very good.
Breakfast is good plenty of variety cereals, croissants, toast, fruit, omelettes etc (as others have said no bacon, so what? plenty of other options!!!)
Pools open at 0600, the loungers are reserved but hey if you cant beat them join them, we did drop towels off on the way to breakfast at 0730!
We spent most days on the beach and just walked the 2 minutes back to the pool. There were always plenty of loungers and parasols on the beach, the beach security would always greet you with a smile and take the lounge cushions to your loungers, marvellous.
The beach was very fine sand, the sea was 27c and crystal clear. Water sports would start at 0830-1230 then 1400 onwards, one speed boat for the banana boat and one for the water skiing, wake boarding. We did all these over and over and over brilliant fun.
We all thought the food was excellent, the main restaurant has a HUGE variety and different theme each evening. There is always Tunisian food, a variety of meat dishes, salads, a Magic Lite healthy option and if the kids don't fancy any off that, there is always spaghetti bolognaise, chicken nuggets, chips. Lots of different desserts/cakes and lots of fruit. The variety is plentiful. You're in a foreign country try the food!! The beach bar is open 1000-1800 and serves freshly made Panini's from 12-1800, very nice.
Drinks are plentiful, sit in the same area, tip the evening waiter a few Dinar and your glass will never be empty for the rest of the week.
There are also 3 a la carte restaurants. We only ate in the Biai Mediterranean restaurant, very nice fish restaurant.

There is loads of entertainment in or around the activity pool from 10.00, if you want to join in great if not no problem but hey you're on holiday join in. The staff were all very friendly and would always go out of their way to say hello. Especially liked how they would all go into the audience and get you up to dance - a nice touch.The evening entertainment was ok some shows excellent some ok. 2130 in the amphitheatre then 2230 in the captains bar. The beach party is excellent a great atmosphere with people from all countries joining in with the fun.

We took at taxi to the local Medina (market) in Yasmine Hammamet for 3 dinar and came back with bag loads. If you can haggle (which you must do) you can grab your self a bargain.

As soon as we got out the taxi a guy walks up saying "Hi I am a waiter from your hotel don't you recognise me" He then wants you to get into another taxi and go to a better market down the road? Ask him which hotel he works at and you got him, I don't know what he had planned but ignore him.
Another guy outside the Medina then says ignore him he is a "bloody liar" He seemed genuine and showed us the entrance and plan of the market layout and offered a short tour which is good. If he advises to go into the Duty Free shop, which happens to close in one hour! don't bother. This must be one of his mates who will try to charge you crazy prices. We just said NO and waked out. The rest of the market has similar items which are much, much cheaper.

Now the negative things

The sea was too wet, the sun was too hot, there were too many choices of food and drinks. The bar was only open 24 hours a day and we only booked for 1 week......lol

We will definitely be going back again. Absolutely loved it.

Room Tip: We stayed in 360 & 364 these are at the back of the hotel very quiet. 360 overlooks the tennis c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank StevenB6339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

After our last two five * holidays this hotel is certainly not 5* Although the hotel is immaculate, rooms are basic for the star rating.
Dinner time in the restaurant was a little hectic with so many people at one time and quite noisey food was ok but got boring after a while. The coffe machine by the desserts made a wonderful hot chocolate though. The waiters were wonderful and attentive especially if you tipped them.
We found it a pleasure to dine in the A la carte restaurants purely for the peace and quiet from the main restaurant ,Food was only ok though.
The snack bar at lunch made a nice pizza and chips :)
The beach is beautiful with white sand and clear blue sea.
Entertainment was more for the children than adults although one show we watched was ok .
Wifi is impossible trying to log on in the evening to many people sat around with phones..
Was dissapointed in the Thompson welcome meeting although fairly informative this is the first ine I have attende were no drink was offered wouldnt of hurt them cos its all inclusive maybe a little to much trouble for them.
Also plenty of signs around the pool stating sunbeds must not be reserved or towels wll be removed ... well dont worry this is not the case as we witnessed familys with towels on them for at least 3 hours without use whilst they were on the beach while people were looking around for beds totally unacceptable in my eyes, so i,m afraid if you want a bed set your alarm and if you cant beat them join them as only way to get one, The relax pool maybe not so quiet on occassions noisey Russians paying no attention to the be quiet signs,
Pool towels exchanged once everyday but as we went back to room we always exchange for the next day.
The marina is beautiful with plenty of cafes around to sit and chill out and it is only a 3 dinar taxi ride away or a 20 minute walk.
The shops are well when you have been in one then you have been in them all if you get the drift.
Do not like myself save any dinars to spend in duty free as you cannot take any currency past passport control apart from enough to buy drinks which are highly exspensive,In the duty free shop its euros or english wish the rep had bothered to tell me this at the welcome meeting,
So my advise is take english currency away with you and cash up small amounts as and when you need to at the reception desk.
All in all would we go back the answer is no, but the weather was wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erniemegmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My Sis and I have just returned from a week at the Magic Life Africana, what a fantastic time we had, the food was very good and plenty of choice, the cleaners & the maids work hard every thing was spotless.

The Staff were very friendly, most of them spoke English, The Entertainment Team were A* 1st class, it was great to have an English entertainer, we found Amy very helpful and nothing was too much trouble for her, she always had a friendly smile, The shows were very good, the entertainment team work so hard,We had a fantastic holiday, Would definitely return to this hotel, and Thanks go to the rep Lorraine she was so helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank english_lady2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
6.2 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#2 of 117 in Hammamet
597 reviews
9.4 mi away
Holiday Village Manar
Holiday Village Manar
#1 of 117 in Hammamet
1,907 reviews
7.3 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#6 of 117 in Hammamet
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#3 of 117 in Hammamet
5,403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
6.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tui Magic Life Africana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tui Magic Life Africana

Property: Tui Magic Life Africana
Address: B.P 48 | Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8056, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#7 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tui Magic Life Africana 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect holidays for families. The club is located close to Hammamet. From here it is just a short 'shuttle-jump' to the two golf courses around 15km from the Club. The golf clubs offer fairways and greens in olive groves, tree lined hills and cliff landscapes. The star architect, Ronald W. Fream, has come up with some fantastic ideas for you.This club is an enchanting resort with large gardens in a setting of 50,000m2. There is one main Hotel with a number of apartments with a total of 300 rooms. It is situated at the seafront and approx. 65km from Tunis airport and 80km from Monastir Airport, 15km from the centre of Hammamet and approx. 25km from Nabeul. Transfer time: approx. 1 hour to Tunis and 90 minutes to Monastir. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tui Magic Life Africana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Life Africana Imperial Hotel Hammamet
Magic Life Africana Imperial Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing