We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic Life Africana Imperial”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tui Magic Life Africana
Ranked #15 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Overall impression was good, created an enviroment where you could do as much, or as little as you liked. Room a little tired but was moved to a better located one. Main restaurant area clean, tidy and very well run, as was the reception. All hotel staff were very friendly and always had a smile on their face. Enjoyed using the other onsite restaurants and snack bars, again clean and well run. A very good choice of sports activities on offer. Very pleasing layout to the hotel, all the pools and gardens well tended, beach clean and well supervised.Excellent entertainments team, in both getting guests involved in Club Magic activities during the, day, and very polished performances in the shows they staged in the evenings.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 890 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Rooms could do with an update, but are comfortable enough. Rest of hotel was lovely. Received a warm welcome, with luggage taken to room, and welcome drink & meal on arrival at midnight! All staff were very helpful & friendly, with an extremely accommodating & excellent host in Aymen in both the snack bar & restaurant.
Lots to do here & watersports aplenty on the beach. The only thing we missed, having been to Holiday Villages in previous years, was the English reps; of which there was only one here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is lovely, quite big but broken up in to different areas, we have a standard room which is decent tbh good size mini fridge restocked with coke fanta and water daily hotel is kept clean as you would expect and food is very German but we have found something at each meal time and we are fairly fussy English isn't widely spoken or understood easily but you get there in the end, guests would be right now about 30% from uk rest Russian German and Tunisian, the only thing that would make me think about not coming back would be the airport over 90mins of ques to get through customs and another 30 waiting for luggage! Landed at 9am arrived at hotel just before 12!!!! Ridiculous and speaking to lots of people it's the same every year ! I hope going home is better!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Yanmorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We came on holiday as a group of 5 however 2 of the group left after 1 week but 3 stayed on for the full 2 weeks. First impressions of the hotel were very good and the lobby was very nice. The activity pool was a reasonable size, and so was the relax pool. The food on the first night was a bit disappointing however it was better from then on. The only slightly disappointing thing was the fruit, although there was a decent selection it was not of the best quality. The waiter service varied as to where you sit, one night you could get a very good waiter - but the next it could be rubbish. There was one particularly good waiter who deserves a mention and that is Samir.

The entertainment was very good however to join in with activities besides kids club and teens club you have to be over 16, even for boccia which seems a little silly. However the entertainment team made everything fun: organising pool games and making all the activities exciting. The best of the entertainment team was by far Lucy, she was really kind, encouraging and helpful. Whatever you needed she would always help and introduced us to other English people throughout the holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Marcus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

If you're picturing a holiday where you can relax by the beach or pool, with a nice cocktail, this isn't the resort for you.

I travelled with my partner, and 7 month old baby. Also in our party were my parents & brother.
Firstly, when we arrived, we noticed that the temperature from outside (in midday heat) to the lobby, didn't differ, this is because the hotel had decided not to use the air conditioning. Which isn't the nicest after spending 40 minutes on a hot stuffy bus. We were greeted with cocktails which was lovely, but maybe that was to soften the blow that the other three in our party, would have a wait for their room, we were told 1 and a half hours which was irritating but manageable. So after we were showed to our room, their suitcases dumped by the porter in there too and a rude brush off after we didn't tip, we ended up with a THREE hour wait for their room.
Later that day after they had unpacked, they discovered the air conditioning unit to dysfunctional, and after a maintenance man waving a screwdriver at it, (to no avail) they were forced to move rooms. To a lovely room down the corridor that was wall to wall with public toilets that overwhelmed the room with the stench of sewage. Lovely.

The next morning after our welcome meeting with our rep (Claire) She promised them a better room, but reception were having none of it, with only an offer to move them to their previous room. A room without air conditioning, or a room that smelt? They settled for the smelly room after being fobbed off the hotel was 'full', only for it to get increasingly busier in the week, proving this was false. During our conversation with Meika, the trainee manager, she gladly explained their three hour check in wait was due to them offering late check out to other families. Glad to see the hotel will happily put you out, to make an extra pound or two.

This seems to be the recurring theme for this hotel, something I must mention which I found incredulous that it hadn't been mentioned so far, you are completely unable to buy any spirit or cocktail ANYWHERE in the hotel, except for the 'Wunderbar' in Reception. This means if you are on the beach, or by the pool, even in an a la carte, if you fancy a cocktail, expect a long walk up to reception to get one. Unless you drink beer, wine or water, you wont find anything to drink at any other bar. The final negative point is the service, normally, we receive good service, therefore we tip, and then continue to receive this service. Not here, with the exception of two waiters in the buffet, you receive next to no service, unless you're tipping first. We were even asked by one young lady in the buffet 'Are we leaving yet', we were feeding our child food. How rude?

The upside to the hotel is yes, you do get free wifi. But if i'd have wanted that so bad I'd have stayed at home? It's also a very clean hotel, I cannot fault that. The maids are excellent and the pools are completely spotless, (probably as you are not allowed any drinks in the pool). The food was the same as any all inclusive, slightly repetitive, but you could always find something. Always seemed to be some form of entertainment going on, although we stuck by the slide pool as it was extremely quite.

Wouldn't return to this hotel at all, people in our party were ill due to the food, and you couldn't get what you wanted, when you wanted, something Magic Life are supposed to pride themselves on for offering. Beware, this hotel definitely isn't 'Magic'.

Room Tip: If you are offered any room in the 700's, and have a small child or like to sleep before 12, dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Upon arrival in Tunisia, we were a little surprised, we had to load our own luggage onto the coach, whilst the driver and the rep waited on the bus for us to get on. There were six of us travelling which included a baby, so a pram to get on board too, was a little stressful after an early morning start, but we managed. The transfer time is around 40 minutes so not to bad, and Club Magic was the first drop off. We entered the lobby, which is huge, but very dark, later on we discovered half the lighting is not lit, hence the darkness. My daughter her partner and baby were in one room and my husband and I in another with our son. We had booked Family suites and requested rooms next to each other, or interconnecting. However our room was not ready, the receptions staff , told us dont worry just wander around, we will put your luggage in your daughters room, never mind that she may have not wanted that. We arrived at 11.30am our room was finally ready at 3pm. Its a long time, when you cannot freshen up and are tired. We then discovered the maid had not made up a third bed for our son, so had to go and grab her from another room, to come back and make the bed up. The rooms are spacious and very clean. We freshened up and went for a dip in the pool, which again are very clean, however no chance of a sunbed unless your up early. Came back to the room to discover the air con did not work. Another call to reception for the engineer to come and look, he did and couldnt fix it. A call an hour later from reception to say we would have to move rooms if we wanted air con. So we now pack everything up again and move rooms to 714. If you are staying in this hotel do not go into room 714, it smells of sewarage. On first appearance the room seemed fine, it had just been cleaned and had air con that worked. After an hour or so, the smell appeared and throughout the holiday that was how it was. We did speak to our rep Claire the following morning at the welcome meeting , who advised us that Meike the assistant manager would sort us out another room, we should never have been put into that room, as they were aware there was problem. Great , have to move again, but at least no smell of sewarage. After the meeting we waited behind, another hour wasted. Meike advised us with Claire there is no other rooms available, we can go back into our original room with no air con ( they reckoned they had fixed it, must of been working overnight on it - maybe ???? ) or stay in the sewarage smelling room with air con. It seems incredible that you have to choose between air con or smelling of sewarage. I did explain, we also wasted our first day waiting to get into our room and then having to move rooms . Meike advised check in time is 2pm. SO BEWARE if you arrive prior to this time you are not guaranteed a room.
The service at this hotel is not good, there is no one to seat you at meals times you have to scramble to find your own table, and then try and get cutlery from other tables. I have never been to a hotel like it. The bar staff like their tips , if you expect any kind of normal service then tip right at the beginning and tip big, as you will be looked over whilst queuing for drinks whilst the tippers are served.
Lastly my idea of heaven is sipping cocktails on the beach or by the pool, dont come here. The only place you can get cocktails or any spirits of any kind is reception bar and Captains bar after 6pm. The beach bar and pool bar serve beer, coke, orange, lemonade, red.white,or rose wine. The food is repetitive and just called different names, whilst being exactly the same dish. I have stayed at many many all inclusive's this hotel is trying to gain the most profit, by not putting lights on, serving limited drinks, restaurants serving exactly the same as the main buffet. I would not advise anyone to go to this hotel.
Plus points - Clean rooms - Clean pools - Weather
Negative points - Poor service - No drinks selection - Football every day is for over 16 only - have to tip to get any kind of service - you have to be up early to get a sunbed

Room Tip: Do not choose 714 - the rooms 705-710 are all overlooking the captain bar so can be noisy until 12pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Wykenio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

It has to be said that our usual 'family' holidays are somewhat unsatisfactory. What with a dysfunctional family and a narrow time slot of when we can go on holiday it was with some trepidation that I booked the Magic Life. But....to say that I (and the family) were delighted with what we got is an understatement. The hotel is a short transfer from the oh so quiet airport (good start). I checked in to the hotel on-line and this did indeed save time filling in laborious forms at the check in desk so as soon as we had downed our welcoming drinks (don't ask just drink it) we were shown to our rooms. Inter-connecting rooms, brilliant, perfect for our needs. Both rooms were really clean, the bathrooms were good and with a separate WC would work well with us all. Outside the rooms was the most glorious atrium filled with exotic palms and plants which hang from the top floor to the ground. An ornate fountain gave an air of calm and serenity, really unexpected. The gardens all around the pools were attractive and clearly a lot of thought had gone in to the lay out of the grounds. There are different areas to relax in, in-your-face pool side or chilling in the quiet areas. It was the first time since an indulgent break in the Maldives that I have felt so at home somewhere. Another treat was in store at meal times. Normally all inclusive can be a bit repetitive, a bit bland BUT not here! The food was magnificent. Take your time to look under all the covers and you will find amazing currys and local dishes. Truly scrumptious. Omelettes for breakfast (served with a cheery smile), fresh pancakes, fruit, cakes, pastries, ice cream. And then, just when you think you couldn't eat anything else they serve afternoon tea. The waiters are friendly and pleasant and the wine was actually pretty good. Of course no all inclusive is complete without the evening entertainment. Pretty cheesy, or so we thought. After the first couple of nights of bizarre sketch shows we were blown away with a dance spectacular of epic proportion. If you take in to consideration that at least 4 of the crew are Brazilian you'll understand that it's going to be good. So to summarize: if you want to go somewhere hot (good heat that doesn't give you mad woman hair), sunny with great food, fantastic facilities (I did Yoga and Stretch), really pleasant accommodation, cheesy but great entertainment and about 2.5 hours flying time from London well go here. It was great and yes I'd go again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MamaCakeFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
9.4 mi away
Hotel Manar
Hotel Manar
#1 of 119 in Hammamet
2,124 reviews
6.2 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#2 of 119 in Hammamet
765 reviews
6.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#8 of 119 in Hammamet
6,229 reviews
7.2 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#3 of 119 in Hammamet
2,164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa
Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa
#21 of 119 in Hammamet
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tui Magic Life Africana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tui Magic Life Africana

Address: B.p 48 | Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8056, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#7 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#11 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: £56 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tui Magic Life Africana 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect holidays for families. The club is located close to Hammamet. From here it is just a short 'shuttle-jump' to the two golf courses around 15km from the Club. The golf clubs offer fairways and greens in olive groves, tree lined hills and cliff landscapes. The star architect, Ronald W. Fream, has come up with some fantastic ideas for you.This club is an enchanting resort with large gardens in a setting of 50,000m². There is one main Hotel with a number of apartments with a total of 321 rooms. It is situated at the seafront and approx. 65km from Tunis airport and 80km from Monastir Airport, 15km from the centre of Hammamet and approx. 25km from Nabeul. Transfer time: approx. 1 hour to Tunis and 90 minutes to Monastir. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tui Magic Life Africana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Life Africana Imperial Hotel Hammamet
Magic Life Africana Imperial Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing