We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tui Magic Life Africana
Ranked #15 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2014

This was my first all inclusive with my 8yr old daughter.
We arrived to a lengthy wait in passport control- over 1hr but this wasn't to be expected, had read it has happened before. Others go through in twenty mins, it's just the way out there.
Transfer from airport was half hour and nice air con coach.

We got there and our room was brill. Fully stocked mini bar, plenty of storage for your clothes.

We hit the water slides and pool and found the panini bar and some drinks.

The welcome meeting was helpful and our rep took us in a walk in the madina in her own time.
This helped loads as I wouldn't have liked to explore on my own.

Food was great, we tried the Tunisia restaurant one night which was great, really good and my daughter even tried new foods.

Entertainment team are great, never stop and always doing what they can to keep you happy.
Tuesdays is there day off so you can always go off for the day if you want.

We booked a trip to the zoo and the pirate ship all in one day.
It was fab!!
The zoo was great then a smooth coach to the marina where you got into pirate ship. So much entertainment whilst sailing. We spotted dolphins whilst out. Then you can jump off the boat into sea, the kids can do it with life jackets on too.

Water sports are limited in the hotel. There is another place next to the private beach, you can get a jet ski or parasailing for 40dinar each.

When we left the hotel manager and staff wave you off in the coach, which was very sweet.

Tips
The hotel is 75% German and yes towels go out from crack of dawn.
But don't fret there's always some where you can get a bed.
Tips for waiters does work, they will be at your beck and call but if you don't you still get served so don't worry.
Also be careful when going to madina. We had a few people telling us they worked at our hotel and they would show us round. But they get the hotel name off your driver or tuck tuck driver. It's a swizz- just be careful.

Door locks are a bit temperamental had to have them reset a few times. But not end of world.

It's overall really good would recommend and even return myself

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Otleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 890 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

We just got back from the best family holiday ever at the club Africana. When we arrived we couldn't believe how grand the reception area was. We had 2 pool side rooms which were of a good standard and were very clean. The fridge in room was filled with water coke and fanta which was a nice surprise. We went to the main restaurant most evenings which had a good variety of meats pasta salads vegetables cakes and fruits with a different theme every evening. The service was good by the waiters I would recommend tipping as they will make sure you are looked after. The snack bar offered a good variety of food for lunch and the beach bar had good selection of paninis.

The swimming pools catered for everyone 5 pools to choose from was a great advantage they were all very clean and checked daily!

The private beach was a bonus especially the water sports. We always got a sun bed.

The mungo kids club was brilliant the staff work so hard to
Make the sessions fun for the children! My daughter went to the 4-6 yr old sessions and throughly enjoyed herself. I was a bit apprehensive in beginning as she was 1 of 3 English children and the rest spoke different languages but the staff spoke very good English and translated everything in English for the English children. My daughter is a very shy child but the staff made her fell so welcome that every day of the holiday she wanted to go to mungo club. I can't thank them enough for looking after my daughter and making her holiday enjoyable. I would defiantly recommend mungo club for all age groups they are outstanding.

Our cleaner was Rafika such a lovely lady! Our room was always cleaned to a high standard she works really hard.

If you want to go on a fun relaxing family holiday this is defiantly the place for you. We will defiantly be returning to this hotel we all had a wonderful time.
I would recommend 2 weeks as 1 week goes to fast.

If you can book the vip lounge for your return home. We had a stress free departure at the airport we checked our cases in and relaxed until we boarded our flight, with unlimited drinks and snacks.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Simxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We've just returned from a fortnight's holiday in the Africana in Yasmine Hammamet and we had a great time. Again we booked through First Choice - we flew from East Midlands and check in/passport control was slick on both sides. The transfer was quick and painless as was check in at the hotel.

The hotel is beautiful and the reception area is plush and fantastic. The reception staff were excellent and more than helpful - all of our cases were taken to our rooms (we gave tips when deserved - a few dinar/pound was always greatly received). Despite the experiences of some reviewers our room was fantastic - we had two medium-sized beds along with a camp bed but we all fit in the beds together with plenty of room (both me and the wife are quite tall too). The bedroom had a TV, air con, and a fridge which was restocked several times with water, Fanta and Coke during our stay. The room was just right to be honest. Wi-fi is free in the main hotel areas but we picked it up in Room 102 with no problems.

The hotel has 3 or 4 bars (our favourite was the beach bar which served paninis and drinks till around 6/7pm). The restaurant always had a good range of food and there were several themed nights during our stay. The only thing I didn't like was the juice, which seemed very sweet and more like squash. The waiting staff were brilliant and very attentive to the pupils. They had great fun with Ayman who could almost be on the entertainment team - a top man!

The hotel had 4 pools: an activity pool, where all the entertainment and games happen (this had shallow parts so was perfect for our 4 and 3 year old novice swimmers); a family pool which has a good range of flumes; an indoor pool, which was really peaceful, with a sauna, etc; and a relaxing pool, for adults only. The hotel also has its own stretch of beach - the beach sellers are not a problem and don't cause any aggravation. We were able to get sun beds where we wanted and I think this was generally the case, except for those people who only get up after 10am (and that's their fault really). The pool bar was good but as expected there was a queue, which I think is to be expected in the heat. We went in August and it was incredibly hot - more than we expected - some days it was 43C around the pool apparently! There is a kids-club from 2 or 3 years upwards but our kids didn't want to go, which was a shame! The kids disco in the evening started too late - that's our only complaint really.

There is a shop in the hotel - they sell snacks along with the usual gifts, watches and clothes. The guys there were fantastic, especially the chap I think was the boss. He even offered to go and buy more wife some medicine from a local pharmacy (I forgot to say goodbye to this man and it bugs me). You can haggle with them on prices of the gifts and they enjoyed this bartering (as long as you're realistic and not offensive).

Next to the hotel on the beach there is an activity centre - we used them for paragliding (70 Dinar for 2 of us) and jet-skiing (£30 each for 2 jet skis for a long session). You get water-skiing and wakeboarding free through the hotel but we found the staff here a biit rushed - we were given no training on wakeboarding and were rushed through. I felt it was much better when we paid for it with the other guys.

You can only get Tunisian Dinar in Tunisia but most places seemed to accept sterling/dollar/euro and you can readily change it in hotel reception (we were getting around 2.9 dinar to the pound).

In summary, we really enjoyed the holiday. We don't like going back to the same place but I certainly would use the Magic Life chain again, and I thoroughly recommend this hotel/holiday. I would only give a 5/5 rating if my holiday was absolutely perfect and idylic so this 4/5 is right at the top end of my rating. Visit the Magic Life Africana - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 102 was perfect for our family of 2 adults and 2 young children. Ground floor with access to f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bert1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Where to start:- Hotel was Awesome..!, room was good size and cleaned daily, lots of choice on the pools (one lively, one quiet, one with slides etc), food and drink endless with lots and lots of choice. Bar staff not the quickest/happiest. Cleaners great and super polite. Reception staff/food servers were great and helpful. The guy in the mini shop selling fake gear/watches - funny (Very cheap my friend, good price, good price..!). Beach was great, although there were some days where there was lots of rubbish in the sea (not the hotels fault). Fish swimming round your legs was fun. Evening entertainment was good in the amphitheatre but didnt start till 9.30. There was one sketch with two guys dressed as a camel - I thought my daughter (12yrs old) was going to be sick from laughing so hard. Cheap alcohol in the drinks.A la cart restaurants - book quick as they fill up fast (we only managed one, food/service was fantastic). Weather was only 40degc..! but with nice cool breeze. Entertainment staff full of energy and good fun. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We had one downstairs with a main pool view - easy access for nipping back. Very quiet. Door lock pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkTravellernumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Overall impression was good, created an enviroment where you could do as much, or as little as you liked. Room a little tired but was moved to a better located one. Main restaurant area clean, tidy and very well run, as was the reception. All hotel staff were very friendly and always had a smile on their face. Enjoyed using the other onsite restaurants and snack bars, again clean and well run. A very good choice of sports activities on offer. Very pleasing layout to the hotel, all the pools and gardens well tended, beach clean and well supervised.Excellent entertainments team, in both getting guests involved in Club Magic activities during the, day, and very polished performances in the shows they staged in the evenings.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Rooms could do with an update, but are comfortable enough. Rest of hotel was lovely. Received a warm welcome, with luggage taken to room, and welcome drink & meal on arrival at midnight! All staff were very helpful & friendly, with an extremely accommodating & excellent host in Aymen in both the snack bar & restaurant.
Lots to do here & watersports aplenty on the beach. The only thing we missed, having been to Holiday Villages in previous years, was the English reps; of which there was only one here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is lovely, quite big but broken up in to different areas, we have a standard room which is decent tbh good size mini fridge restocked with coke fanta and water daily hotel is kept clean as you would expect and food is very German but we have found something at each meal time and we are fairly fussy English isn't widely spoken or understood easily but you get there in the end, guests would be right now about 30% from uk rest Russian German and Tunisian, the only thing that would make me think about not coming back would be the airport over 90mins of ques to get through customs and another 30 waiting for luggage! Landed at 9am arrived at hotel just before 12!!!! Ridiculous and speaking to lots of people it's the same every year ! I hope going home is better!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Yanmorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
9.4 mi away
Hotel Manar
Hotel Manar
#1 of 119 in Hammamet
2,124 reviews
6.2 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#2 of 119 in Hammamet
765 reviews
6.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#8 of 119 in Hammamet
6,229 reviews
7.2 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#3 of 119 in Hammamet
2,164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa
Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa
#21 of 119 in Hammamet
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tui Magic Life Africana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tui Magic Life Africana

Address: B.p 48 | Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8056, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#7 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#11 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: £55 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tui Magic Life Africana 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect holidays for families. The club is located close to Hammamet. From here it is just a short 'shuttle-jump' to the two golf courses around 15km from the Club. The golf clubs offer fairways and greens in olive groves, tree lined hills and cliff landscapes. The star architect, Ronald W. Fream, has come up with some fantastic ideas for you.This club is an enchanting resort with large gardens in a setting of 50,000m². There is one main Hotel with a number of apartments with a total of 321 rooms. It is situated at the seafront and approx. 65km from Tunis airport and 80km from Monastir Airport, 15km from the centre of Hammamet and approx. 25km from Nabeul. Transfer time: approx. 1 hour to Tunis and 90 minutes to Monastir. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tui Magic Life Africana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Life Africana Imperial Hotel Hammamet
Magic Life Africana Imperial Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing