We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not like the Club Med we know..”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Club Med Hammamet

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hammamet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Club Med Hammamet
Ranked #55 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not like the Club Med we know..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

We went one week to this village at the end of May. We have seen a lot of Club Med destinations and this was good, but can be a lot better.
We had an hotelroom, perfect for us travelling with a baby from 9 months old, there was a "living" with a separate bedroom, so we could sit at the balcony while our baby was asleep (in Tunesia the baby monitors are forbidden) and we don't choose for the babyclub, because she's going to daycare back home.

We really liked the food, there wasn't much choice as we are used to, but it was really good!
The babycorner at the restaurant was ok, there wasn't much for baby's older than 4 months, but the babyrooms weren't that great, it wasn't clean at all!
The rooms could also be more clean, there was a lot of sand in the room and we did not go to the beach at all... just to give an example.
Most of the staff were friendly, except for the lady at the bar and some of the ladies at the reception, I don't think they really like their job.
The local staff in the restaurant were super friendly!

We will not return to this club at first, there are many Club Med villages which are a lot better, but we had a great holiday!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maart-Mal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    156
    76
    35
    13
See reviews for
305
36
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I went with my partner and our two young children (one and two) September for a week to this resort. We have been to a few Club Meds before and so we have got to know what is good and bad. On this occasion we found the resort rather good. The beach was clean and well looked after. The rooms in the villa was spacious and comfortable. The food was adequate for the 3 star resort. The star was the Chef du Village who gave the best efforts to amuse - magic tricks, dressing as a smurf, beatles tribute band!The baby and kids clubs were good although my two year old always complained about the heat - the GOs, especially the Irish girl, made their best efforts to entertain and amuse. The highlight was the sports facilities and being generally chilled out. Me and my partner really enjoyed the fact that we could play tennis and sit by the beach, have lunch without having to worry about our kids or anything. The spa was good. One thing that would make it better would be more English speaking GOs. The only improvement would be the process for children vacinations for the club. We brought the cerificates but we still needed to visit the local doctor to get another certificate. Very time consuming and annoying.

Room Tip: Rooms starting with 8 or 9 are nearer the beach and very quiet - but a 5 min walk to the main restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LLL2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

Everything you would need location wise for a sunbathing holiday for me whilst the kids have fun. Great pools never a problem finding a place. Was glad to see that people do not harass you on the beach even though it is technically public they stay out of the Club Med part in general.
The food was disappointing, repetitive with not much choice not to mention not the best quality, and we had food poisoning one night. If they put as much preparation into the actual food as they did the decorations and presentation of fruit pyramids etc it would be more pleasing.
Having read in last year's reviews that there was a lack of English speaking staff I was not sure if we would leave our children in the mini club. Thankfully there was a lovely Irish girl who really looked out for us, and even though she worked with the 4/5 year olds they allowed my 6 year old to stay in her group so we felt completely at ease leaving our kids there knowing they would not be left out due to language barriers as this happened at another resort we visited last summer. Really pleased with the childcare, so handy to drop the kids off and pick them up whenever we wanted (and the kids loved it so much it was hard to get them out of there!), great fun activities with such enthusiastic and generally super staff, always felt so welcome and felt our kids were really being looked out for, special thanks again to Rachel for going the extra mile for us.
Great night time entertainment, something different every night, for the kids and the adults. The shows were great fun, obviously we weren't expecting any great acting but it was a laugh.
Waiting at the bar was sometimes an issue, I think there should have been more staff on at night time.
The reception team was not great. Mostly friendly but sometimes a general lack of knowledge was frustrating.
No problems with the room, spacious and comfortable and cleaned regularly.
Toilets around the resort however were DISGUSTING.
Made some genuine friendships with the staff, however we found some of their duties (eg. standing at the restaurant entrance greeting us, cheering for us when we arrived, waving goodbye at 7am for our departure, being almost "interviewed" about our experience at the hotel, having the chef du village come round the tables while we were trying to enjoy our meal etc) forced and more often than not it was so artificial it just made us uncomfortable. For example could tell who was genuinely being friendly to us and who was only chatting to us because it was part of their job.
Overall we had a good holiday, perhaps I sound more negative than intended, I should empathise there were more positive points than negative.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loveholidaysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Hammamet, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Hammamet Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your family had good time there and you enjoyed the way your children have been welcomed in the Children's Clubs and the Resort facilities.

We were sorry to hear about your health disorders during your stay. We can assure you that Club Med takes whatever steps are necessary to ensure that a good standard of hygiene is maintained in all its resorts. Food and drinking water samples are analysed regularly to detect possible bacteriological contamination. The tap water supplied in our resorts is chlorinated and checked regularly.

As far as our staff attitude is concerned, please note that our G.O.s are dedicated to be polite and helpful. We are sorry to hear that you found it artificial sometimes but we assure you that it was not the case.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our resorts.

Best regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

The resort is very big and a good manteniment of landscape around the hotel site.The boungalow are very big :like a suite!living room with tv ,big patio 1 bedroom bathroom.Very quite,good sleep.The beach is far from the heart of the resort but there is a shadow corridory to reach it.Beach wide long and clean. Very close to the marina and the local store Resteurant at the beach really SUPER:thanks to the cheaf and all his staff.
GREAT the sailing staff and special thanks to Momo,Arciraf and all the others.
Food ::good prodocts ,not many choise.
Circus is great ,too Thanks to the Switzerland girl for her patience .
Pur is a very kind and wonderful person.
Magic show really SUPER.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

This was our first summer club med, having done skiing last year.
I was really impressed with the accommodation, food, staff and facilities. Fred was an excellent chef de village, multi-talented (made a great john Lennon) and appeared to be everywhere at the same time. Momo ran an impressive sailing area, and his staff were great. The whole family really enjoyed the catamarans.
For someone with no willpower, mealtimes were difficult as the food was brilliant, well presented and it was difficult to stop eating!
Our rooms were immaculate and we had no issues with cleanliness.
The GO's were very enthusiastic and good fun.
Any issues?
I think it is advantageous to speak at least some French, some of the GO's English was not quite as good as others. Nevertheless, Club Med is French and as I like speaking French it wasn't a problem for us.
My only gripe is nothing to do with Club Med but the extraordinarily aggressive porters at Tunis Carthage airport snatching cases out of your hands in order to get their tip. Whilst I appreciate this is their livelihood, they were so unpleasant about it there was no incentive to pay them at all.
Other than this a great holiday, highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gadgetdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

I went to Club Med Hammamet with my girlfriend during the opening week, and everything was perfectly up and running!
Our room was beautiful, cozy, and fresh.
The food was deliciously varied, with a daily theme.
We had a go at almost everything: the pool(s), the beach, catamaran lessons, circus trapeze, tennis, archery, the spa, water aerobics, etc. and there is simply nothing to say besides that they were either great new experiences, or fun to redo.
The kids of all ages (from toddlers to teenagers) seemed to be having such a great time in their Clubs... and their parents probably too without them!
Two fun things we did outside of the Club Med but right on the beach were a camel ride and a two-persons parachute ride pulled by a boat!
And last but definitely not least: the GOs. They were all so great and fun at what they do. Sure, there were a few rookies, but they'll be confident in no time! Fred, the "chef du village", is a very nice and funny guy, and a mind-blowing magician as well!
We honestly do not understand all these negative reviews. I'm guessing a lot of changes have been made for this new opening season.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heneaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

First impressions were good - we arrived at around 11.30pm and the buffet restaurant was opened with friendly staff and service. The food was adequate given the time of day. Luggage was delivered to the room for us and all was clean. Never having done an all inclusive package we didn't quite know what to expect. Things went downhill from the second day. The quantity of food was vast yet the buffet arrangement was frantic and there was so much wastage with greedy people taking far more than they ate - plates of food left on tables were evidence enough of this. The same applied for all meals as well as the open bar. You would think the children ( lots of them by the way) would be the main culprits but frankly the parents were simply setting a bad example. The food hall was vast and te seating arrangements made it seem like a school canteen. The only saving grace was that plates etc were cleared usually with a degree of efficiency.

Unfortunately both my wife and myself succumbed to a bug - vomiting and diarrhoea - which is still with us on our return home some 5 -6 days after it started. We weren't alone. Of course the majority of people had a great holiday and a small number of people falling ill is probably not treated as serious. However the meal arrangements and the fact that much of the food is standing around for a couple of hours ( with flies in abundance) was a worrying aspect and hot food dishes were often not hot even at the point of service. The quality of the food was also very variable - It was noticable that the best choice was presented on the very last evening (cynical thinking ) - unfortunatley I was unable to eat anything by this time.So beware if you are thinking of this holiday. I had heard Club Med was the top of the league.. but I doubt I will holiday with them again.
If you enjoy being herded around and don't seek a little intimacy and peace then this location would be fine for you. My next break will be to a small intimate hotel with table service and fine food.

On a positive the staff were very friendly and enthusiastic, the range of activities quite good - the highlight was sailing - and for families the kids clubs seemd to be a hit.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank gb2cv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Hammamet, responded to this review, 26 November 2010
We are sincerely sorry to read that you were dissatisfied with the standard of hygiene during your holiday in Hammamet. We can assure that Club Med takes whatever steps are necessary to ensure that a good standard of hygiene is maintained in all our Resorts and has for many years implemented a preventive health policy to ensure better protection of the individual and the community.

In this specific Resort, 93% of our customers stated they were satisfied or highly satisfied with the food offered on site this Summer. We are therefore very surprised to see this review but be sure that your complaint is taken very seriously and that we are constantly monitoring the standard of customer care in all our Resorts worldwide.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you need to discuss this matter further at customer.uk@clubmed.com.

Best regards,
The Club Med team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.2 mi away
Hamilton Hotel
Hamilton Hotel
#81 of 117 in Hammamet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence la Paix
Residence la Paix
#54 of 117 in Hammamet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Hammamet
Residence Hammamet
#69 of 117 in Hammamet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
smartline Mediteranee
smartline Mediteranee
#34 of 117 in Hammamet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Citronniers
Hotel Les Citronniers
#49 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Romane
Residence Romane
#76 of 117 in Hammamet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Hammamet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Hammamet

Property: Club Med Hammamet
Address: BP 26 | Barraket Es Sahel - Hammet, Hammamet 8056, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Med Hammamet 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To the south of Tunis, in the gulf of Hammamet, between a huge lagoon pool and a long beach of fine sand, this Club Med Resort exudes a family atmosphere and a love of sports open to all. Bathed in Mediterranean light, Hammamet, with its Moorish-style hotel and its characteristic blue-and-white bungalows, is steeped in a strong local culture, which is also reflected in the culinary specialities. You will find pleasures to touch all the senses beside a clear blue sea, caressed by a gentle breeze. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Med Hammamet Hotel Hammamet
Hammamet Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing