We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Residence Mahmoud
Nearby Hotels
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort(Hammamet)(Great Value!)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Diar Lemdina(Hammamet)(Great Value!)
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lella Baya & Thalasso Hotel(Hammamet)(Great Value!)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Badira(Hammamet)
US$318
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Sindbad(Hammamet)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chich Khan(Hammamet)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
37
24
13
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
24
13
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We booked a trip to Tunisia with a traveling agency, so we didn't know what kind of hotel we're staying at. The trip didn't start so well, because the travel agency bus had an accident before we even left the airport, then it was driving us from hotel to hotel and ours was the last one.

We arrived there well past midnight (we were driving for over 6 hours!!) and there was no one at the reception! The bus driver had to go look for people (our tour guide has conveniently left us, because he stayed at a 5* hotel) and we were the only one who were staying here. After 30 more minutes, the bus driver managed to find very sleepy staff. By that time we were completely dehydrated and asked if we could buy some bottled water. They said the bar is closed and that we can't get any. So we had to walk down the road in the middle of the night and hoped to find some gas station to sell water. We did find it, but we were completely exhausted.

In the morning, when we woke up, we were pleasantly surprised to see that this is a very beautiful hotel! It was dreamy! The inner courtyard was beautiful and it felt like heaven. Food was delicious and staff was friendly too.

There is a small pool, but the beach is quite some walking distance away. We didn't mind, because the path to the beach is through the private streets and you can get a feeling of the local lifestyle.

The only mishap we had was when a maid blatantly ignored the "do not disturb" sign and barged into our room while we were sleeping (nude). She was really embarrassed and when we returned back to the room, there were flowers on our bed.

Don't forget to leave a few coins for the cleaning lady, they will greatly appreciate it and will make sure your room will look especially nice and decorated when you return!

I would prefer this kind of hotel any time, because you're closer to the locals and can really experience the feeling of Tunisia.

I would go back there any time. :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Eva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

I have spent an excellent holidays with my family. We felt our selves like home ))) the staff very gentle and professional ))) we will go back there for sure ))) the beach is a little bit far from the hotel about 300 meters but very secure and nice. Rooms are very clean, the food is good and generous portion ))) at night we can stay at the terrace listening music and smoking chicha)))

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Faloussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I managed to find this hotel at a price of about £30/night in peak season, for a double room including breakfast. After climbing about 7 flights of stairs we finally hauled our luggage into our room, which was clean, very spacious and had a large balcony overlooking a terraced area. The bathroom was clean and large, with a full sized tub! The hotel has a restaurant on site, as well as a bar and snack bar. All the corridors are large and well lit, with a traditional feel to them, and the courtyards are full of colourful flowers.

The restaurant was hardly ever manned, but if you could catch the attention of a member of staff, the food was reasonably priced and not bad at all.

The hotel has a nice pool area, with plenty of loungers, that never seemed too crowded, and there was also an on site masseuse if you wanted a massage.

Breakfast was a strange affair, if you arrive half an hour before the breakfast service ended, you were rushed in, and hovered over until you left - they obviously didn't want you hanging about! Most days, a few slices of cold toast, and one or two slices of (what I think was) ham was thrown at you with some jams...although one day we did get a hard boiled egg. Not quite like the help-yourself buffets we'd been used to in other hotels in Tunisia!

The nearest beach was a 5 minute stroll from the hotel, and had a plentiful supply of loungers with small beach bars...not the best beach I've ever seen, but not the worst either. A ~1mile walk along the beach brings you to the centre of Hammamet, where the restaurants, bazaars etc can be found.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Clare_ska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

At the end of the summer season we almost had the place to ourselves. Other guests were mainly from Russia and there was also some Tunisians staying at the hotel. Breakfast was bread, jams, cake and tea/coffee/orange juice. During the week we once had as an extra a yogurt and on two different morning a hard boiled egg. Dinner was very good and for the price paid for dinner, bed and breakfast we were really pleased with the meals generally speaking. The rooms were fine, ours had a blockage in the toilet and we were upgraded to a superior room which was huge for the last couple of days. The only problem we found was that there was nowhere to escape the smoke, everywhere smoking was permitted - not a problem I'd say if you were staying mid-summer and could use the outside facilities during the evening but October time there was no alternative but to put up with everyone's smoking. The reception area was constantly filled with smoke. These days I'd have thought they were section at least one small area for non-smokers. The swimming pool area was always clean but too cold to use in October. For the size of the hotel during busy periods I think this area would be too small. The lovely beach was not quite a ten minute walk where the hotel had a private area with beds and shades which were free to use.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank news12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

It was terrible! We lived in Mahmoud for 10 days and was counting every single day to come back home. Dont go thére, it places very far from thé beach, u have to walk two roads and à lot of garbage! People are rude. Fourati is much better!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LesyaGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews