We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Peaceful”
Review of Residence Sultana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Sultana
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Zarzis
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Residence Sultana was the perfect place to spend a week, especially if you need rest and relaxation! The week was perfect, filled with early morning swims and afternoons on the beach. Mohammad the owner was wonderful and attentive to everything we needed. The food was great and every night they prepared us something new, fresh and delicious. The grounds were beautiful as well, wonderfully maintained with plenty of quiet places to sit and read or enjoy the beautiful ocean breeze. I can’t wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: The rooms were clean, large and air conditioned.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nsnourian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Residence Sultana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Beautifully and sympathetically designed former private residence set amongst tranquil, verdant and flower filled gardens makes this the perfect spot to escape and relax into. Complete peace and quiet, excellent food (much from the gardens) and fine hosts made this a really exceptional place. Wander through the gardens eating figs off the trees, swim, lounge and gaze at the stars, time slows down and London feels far away. However, if you like or are wanting the huge hotels/mass tourism of Djerba this is not it, this is for the people who are in search of the perfect retreat. This is it.
There is an array of individually decorated rooms all with patio/veranders, dotted around the walled property are different seating areas for every time of day, beautifully decorated with local textiles and upstairs, first floor viewing and relaxing patios to take in the ever changing light across the sea. Also a Hammam - too hot when I was there but it looked very tempting. Trips out can be arranged if you can peel yourself away and the local town is 10 mins away for shopping and wandering.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank emilyb06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

My fiance (who is Tunisian) and I went to inquire into room rates for guests for our forthcoming wedding, and the owner was incredibly rude and spoke to us in a tone as if to suggest 'how dare you set foot on my property'. It is a shame because she has now lost out on any potential future business from us, or our friends / family.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank MissyMuzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

All the comments are spot on. i am only adding a few words to reinforce the impression.of extraordinary hospitality.
We were at the Sultana .as part of a UK mission reviewing the border camps for refugees fleeing from Libya.When my wife alerted Mohammed (the owner) that i was in a wheelchair, he even went to the trouble of ordering 16 wooden ramps to ease my way around the gorgeous garden. Throughout our 3 week stay, he or his staff regularly put themselves out to be of assistance. A veritable "Helpdesk" in the round! I was touched.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
5  Thank nibor14Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

I read a review of another hotel recently which said that no hotel was perfect. The person who wrote that review clearly hasn't been to the Sultana. We stayed for five days at the end of July, and had been slightly concerned by the lack of recent reviews before we went. However, everything about the hotel was truly perfect, and we couldn't fault a thing. We have been fortunate enough to have stayed in a number of wonderful 5* hotels over the years, but nowhere we have ever been can compare to the Sultana.

The hotel itself is stunning - I have never seen so many flowers in my life! We had a standard double room, which was off an exquisite courtyard, again packed with flowers. The room was charming, and very spacious, with a huge bathroom, enormous balcony, with chairs, stone seating, a sunlounger, and spectacular views on three sides. The airconditioning was very effective, and everything was spotless. Each room is different, and ours had a separate seating area, as well as a little window seat. Rooms have fridges, kettles, and ours had a huge vase of fresh flowers. There are numerous little seating areas and stairways leading to private sunbathing areas throughout the hotel's grounds, and everything is immaculate and maintained to a very high standard. The pool is beautiful, with a jacuzzi area, and more than enough sunbeds, with plenty of parasols. The hotel also has a private area of the beach, and a private pier, with lots of sunbeds.

Breakfast was fairly basic but adequate, with home made yoghurt, toast, cake etc. The hotel offers a set menu for dinner. I was initially a little concerned about the lack of choice, but we ate at the hotel every evening and the standard of food was in an entirely different league to any hotel food I have ever had. Every course of every meal was delicious, and beautifully prepared, with a different theme each night. The portions were very generous. Even the wine served at the hotel was way superior to any other Tunisian wine I have had elsewhere. Lunch was available, and the hotel's chef cooked guests' requests to order. The owners and all of the staff were delightful and friendly, and were concerned to ensure that all guests' needs were met.

The hotel is very small and intimate, with just 13 rooms. However, they are spread out throughout the beautiful and extensive gardens, and there is an overwhelming feeling of peace and tranquillity as soon as you enter the main gate. There is plenty of car parking available, and wifi internet access throughout the hotel. The Sultana is quite isolated, and is not really within walking distance of many shops or restaurants, so is not suitable for anyone who wants a busy resort hotel, but if you want total relaxation with lovely facilities and wonderful food, you really couldn't find a better place. We will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Growlybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

This little dar is a true gem, an incredible find. Zarzis [pronounced jzerjees] is outside of Djerba, and we did not want a touristy beach resort,which is why we picked Zarzis. Sultana was a little hard to find but well worth it. When you go through the front door, you are transported to an oasis, a lush tropical garden with palms, vines, lawns, fountains, a beautiful pool, and out the back door is a small pier that goes out over the Mediterranean. The owner, Mohammed, takes a personal interest in the guests and oversees the kitchen. the meals are excellent, the wines are good an inexpensive, the atmosphere quiet, romantic and tropical. We very much hope to return. The rooms are beautifully decorated in dar style with patios or balconies, well air conditioned, there was nothing else we could have have wished for.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docdickcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: choisir la suite sultana
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zarzis hotels
0.7 mi away
Eden Star Zarzis
Eden Star Zarzis
#3 of 11 in Zarzis
1,229 reviews
3.6 mi away
Zephir Hotel & Spa
Zephir Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Zarzis
600 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Club Lella Meriam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Residence Bellevue
1.0 mi away
Odyssee Resort & Thalasso
2.0 mi away
Safira Palms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Sultana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Sultana

Address: BP 111, Zarzis 4170, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Zarzis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Zarzis
Price Range: £123 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Sultana 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Sultana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Sultana Zarzis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing