We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room needs renovation..Too old..!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in La Marsa
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
160 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“The room needs renovation..Too old..!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The major structure of the hotel is nice but the room and the bedding equipment need renovation..The blanket is ugly..! They used this kind of blanket in a 2 star hotel..The pillow is too big..I got my neck pain the day after. The pool is nice though but the pizza is disgusting..

Room Tip: The room can be very far away from the lobby and all the corridor can get you lost easily..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yadita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    127
    87
    26
    16
See reviews for
28
38
22
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel claims to be a 5 * establishment, but in my view it barely achieves a 3 * The hotel needs major renovations, the main restaurant served uninteresting buffet-style food, and the service was less than stellar. I would not recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheerim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed hete for 1 night on my way south to work. Lovely hotel, beds are big and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent , plenty of choice for everyone, staff were very friendly and helpfull. Big pool to swin about in , and lovely views from the top 2 floors. See my pictures. Would definately stay here again. :))

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Leeeee69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights as part of a tour and had no problems with this hotel at all. Our room was large witha balcony overlooking the pool complex and with views to the sea. The room was clean and comfortable and well serviced while we were there. Food was the usual N Africa/Mid East breakfast buffet which I always enjoy with lots of choice and the evening buffet was better than others I have had. The reception staff/concierges were friendly and helpful with a reasonable amount of English spoken. As always in Tunisia a little French goes a long way as does the odd word of Arabic. Overall I would recommend the hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the pool and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staffordfatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed here for three nights on business. Supposed to be 5 star, but doesn't quite make it. I expected more.

On the plus side, the beds were comfortable, for me, with a choice of pillows. The Italian restaurant was pretty good too. But there were many downsides which do not arrant more than 3 stars:

First the room - pleasant and business like, but as pointed out by others, they are not quiet, with any conversation in the corridor seeming to be amplified into the room. The tea/coffee tray had just one cup, one tea bag and one coffee sache, every day. The shower was really hard to regulate the temperature and I'm not a fan of showers in baths anyway. The rooms are quite dark in the evenings as there isn't sufficient lighting. The furniture is getting worn (but I guess that the recent troubles have perhaps limited investment. The TV is old style, whereas most competitors these days have gone to flat screens. The choice of channels is very limited.

In the hotel itself, the bar is too small, as all tables are taken up early in the evening. It's not cheap either. Breakfast is served in a sort of café area, but the choice was not up to my northern European taste - there should be more variety, especially in a 5-star hotel.

And finally, by the way , my room on the 5th floor had excellent wifi.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burenye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at the hotel a few times and 2 times the bed sheets were stained with food which had dried up. Must not have been changed for a while.

Also the cleaning lady left lots of hair behind after cleaning up.
The hotel staff are kind of rude to non French speakers.

On a positive note, the hotel is clean and the rooms spacious.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Professionalcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Marsa hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The hotel is located close to La Marsa, in a wonderful position with a fantastic view on the seaside. Distance from Tunis about 30 minutes by car.
The structure is elegant, with a spa, swimming pool, and a nice open bar.
Rooms are good, with free wi-fi connection. unfortunately I noticed some problems with the maintenance of bathrooms: no hot water available for the shower (just for the bath) and definitely the room was too noisy. A morning I was woke up by the neighbor having a shower. It was like having him in my room!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank i-mascherati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Marsa
1.0 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis
1.7 mi away
El Mouradi Gammarth
El Mouradi Gammarth
#4 of 12 in Gammarth
607 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Tunis
Ramada Plaza Tunis
#2 of 12 in Gammarth
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Regency Tunis Hotel
Regency Tunis Hotel
#4 of 6 in La Marsa
239 reviews
2.3 mi away
Carthage Thalasso
Carthage Thalasso
#3 of 12 in Gammarth
354 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Residence Tunis
The Residence Tunis
#1 of 12 in Gammarth
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis

Property: Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis
Address: Avenue de la Promenade | BP 606, La Marsa 2078, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > La Marsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in La Marsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis hotel is located on Gammarth Bay, overlooking the crystal clear waters of the Mediterranean, combining Business and Leisure.We have chosen this oasis of calm for the splendid views as well as nearby ancient sites.With its architectural style reflecting the meticulous standard, one would expect of a five-star deluxe hotel, while our employees are dedicated to your every need and expectation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis Hotel La Marsa
Golden Tulip La Marsa
La Marsa Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis Tunisia/La Marsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing