We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interim Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iberostar Royal El Mansour
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Mahdia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Have only been here for four days so far - nice rooms, good food, friendly staff, etc. but two points need to be aired:-

Firstly, at dinner last night waiter at drinks station pours leftover beer from three used glasses into fourth glass and serves to guest.

Secondly, there are no lifeguards at any of the indoor or outdoor pools, or at the private beach. Presumably, unlike in the EU, they are not mandatory in Tunisia but I would think Iberostar should volunarily employ them to avoid the tragedy of a kid drowning and the resultant business-wrecking adverse press publicity in the UK, Germany, France, Russia, etc.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Hirsekorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

704 - 710 of 2,157 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

we have just returned from two weeks at the royal mansour.prior to going didnt have great expectations due to the price. the hotel is immaculate,the rooms spacious,the food v good and plenty of choice,the staff are very freindly,fatma in the kiddies club was brilliant with our kids,all the animation team,and the restaurant and bar staff bent over backwards.free wi fi, rooms cleaned properly every day,no charge for safe in room ,free towels for sunbeds,i could go on .if youre thinking of going here just book it you wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank andrew d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Just came back from this one week vacation. Very splendid indeed. Food was delicious, especially the seafood. The fish particularly the white fish was so tender. Great selection of salads too. And although there are not as many dishes to choose from as say Cuba, what they provided was very nice tasting. The local tunisian baklawa deserts to were way better than any place I have tried before (even nicer than lebanese sweets from harrods). Ice cream was delectable and fragrant as well. However, drinks wise I felt obliged to try all the rum, vodka and gin based cocktails in the bar and was not at all impressed. Due to the use of local spirits, the drinks tasted almost undrinkable at best. Bottled water though tasted as good as Evian.
Rooms were very quiet (except when animations was on) and clean, comfy and relaxing.
Beach was nice although because of the season a bit too much weed for me to like swimming in.
The area was in a good location and it was easy to walk around. We really enjoyed the market (friday) in the Medina. Mahdia is quite beautiful in the old town, really charming. Pattisseries are everywhere and I tried all that I could see, and all pastries were delicious. And finally all the staff I had the pleasure of meeting were really cheerful and helpful.

Room Tip: A top floor has a beautiful vista.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lonetree777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Hotel is absolutely brilliant. Has everything that you could want. Animation team was FANTASTIC!!!! Considering how much work they did, they were always very friendly and willing to help anybody. Lots of activities throughout the day like archery,volleyball,aqua gym etc. The food was always good, big selection and also you can go to the restraunt 1 time during your visit or you can chance your luck and go more. Swimming pools are freezing but you do get used to them. Rooms were very clean and very spacious. Beach was fine but didn't spend much time there apart from volleyball. Away from the hotel the country is still developing but we were happy staying in the hotel most of the time anyway. The tour rep Philip was such a nice guy, we went on the ramble with him to Mahdia which was great as he knew a lot about the culture.
Overall I was there for 2 weeks from the middle of May and couldn't fault the hotel for anything. Entertainment team were great (especially Sam) and would highly recommend to anybody looking for a chilled out holiday lounging around by the pool. Looking forward to going back some day.
Thanks
Kenny

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Kenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

good food, excellent hotel, nice people
out of season, perfect for rest - maybe noisy in season or school vacation

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank mauricke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

we stayed in this beautful hotel for 10 nights and came back on the 23rd of may. well i was so mesmorised by the hotel as soon as we pulled up outside. it was huge but so gorgeous. deffinetley worth 5 sar. the reception staff wouldnt let u take your cases they did for you, and took them up to ur room for u. the exchange rate was very good at 2.4. and it dosent matter wether u change it at the airport or the hotel you wont get a better deal as it is at a fixed rate, it will be the same anywhere you go. so much choice of food. 4 big pools outside and a gorgeous private beach. plenty on sun beds for everyone. the animation team where just amazing. pipo was the one who i got quite close with and he even jumped in the pool with me on my last day because it was my last day. and he even gave me his orange adidas band :) and i am going to send some pictures over to tunisia to him of me and him as a reminder for him. pipo always brightened up your day with the way he shouts vollyball. he always came over to me and sat and spoke with me for ages bless him. he interacts with everyone as some are not like that. plenty of sport activities going on through the day such as aqua gym, vollyball, football, water polo, archery, french bowls etc. the rooms are very nice and you get your own balcony and you can request if you want a particular view such as pool view or sea view. the waiters in the restaurant are brilliant. we gave hedi a tip because he always seated us to a table and remembered what we had to drink every day and always brought them over without asking because he already knew. the bar is very nice, seats ver comfertable aswel as the ones outside the bar. disco downstairs very nice but can get quite warm. pool bar service was very good, snacks inbetween lunches and things was just right. beware aswel if you like your coffee with milk you have to say with milk or they give you black coffee. our rep phillip was brill and very nice polite man he was. there isnt much around outside the hotel just a few shops that are nice because they let u look around and dont harras. overall, all the staff what works there are amazing. they work such long hours and are always so polite to you its unreal. they always say hello and greet you with a smile. the animation team deserve a medal. they work outside all day in the heat and spend time with you at night in the bar if there not doing the entertainment in the disco downstairs. people who decide to go please look after my pipo i really do miss him. we are going back next year because he will still be there as he told me and because the hotel is just beautiful. deffinetley worth its 5 stars. and i will continue to go every year. i would deffo recommend this hotel. best holiday i have ever had. see you next year pipo :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I came back last week from Tunisia where I spent 10 great days with my wife. Our holiday wouldn't be such a great experience if not the Iberostar Royal El Mansour.
But from the start.
The hotel itself looks absolutely stunning it’s one of the biggest and newest hotels in the area.
The entrance a massive gate looks like from a Disney movie and the reception area isn't different with enormous mirrors hanging on both ends of the corridor it looks superb and very specious. Reception staff is nice and efficient we got the keys quickly along with juicy drinks. Phillip the TC rep welcomed us to the hotel and invited everybody to the next day meeting which was very nice and professional. The rooms were another great surprise as they are one of the biggest and most beautiful rooms I've seen and I have been to few 5 stars hotels already... Our balcony was on the town side which means we were looking out to a busy street and here is a good advice its worth to pay extra for the sea view as its absolutely stunning we were in of the rooms with the sea view on the 5th floor and its absolutely unbelievably pretty although saying that the town view is quite nice as well especially sunsets over the buildings... street noise could be disturbing at times but only if your balcony door is open and another thing is the nearby mosque, some people were complaining that they heard prayers from early morning till late night but guess what you came to Tunisia and its an Islamic country what were you expecting... the mosque is on the right side of the hotel facing the main entrance so if anybody is quite sensitive on the noises better not take the room facing the street in the right wing as this is the closest to the mosque our room was in the left wing so you could barely hear it.
Restaurant is great with vast choice of food even for fussy eater like myself, we were there 10 days and you never knew what will be for dinner each day as it changes daily... and the food was fantastic everything was fresh and well cooked...

Staff on the restaurant is absolutely amazing especially our waiter Mehdi who on the second day exactly knew what do we drink and the table was always booked and ready for us.

Pools are very nice and big enough for the amount of people that were there not sure about mid-season (July - August). Grounds are well maintained and there is plenty sunbeds to choose from and when you already chosen one you only have to wait for one minute before a happy man with moustache brings you the mattresses - great service (again if it gets busier I guess there will be more staff).
Pool bar is well situated and serves drinks between 10.00 - 18.00 staff was ok and a good variety of drinks although some of them were a bit of a mix of everything but still tasty according to my wife as I preferred cold bottled water...

Beach is nice nothing amazing but good thing is there was a good choice of attractions like jet ski, banana ride, parachute hire of motor boat all in pretty good prices 50TD (£20) for 20 minutes on the jet ski (60 euros in Greece). I wouldn't recommend a walk along the beach as pass the hotel grounds unfortunately there is a lot of rubbish laying everywhere which is a shame on the locals that this is the way they look after their country.

ANIMATION Team - Amazing
One of the best animation teams I've seen all day long they were organising various contests or just activities inviting all the guests. Archery, stretching, aqua gym, dancing around, volleyball and many other and then in the evening they were still there to entertain guests with many different shows - great thanks to all the team.

Apart from activities with animation team there was plenty more you could do yourself like tennis (rackets in reception) or gym (downstairs by the shops)

There is also an inside pool for cloudy days which are hard to come bay in the summer.
SPA and Jacuzzi but unfortunately you have to pay for those two which was a bit of a downfall although it was 25TD (£10) for the Jacuzzi

Shops in the hotel are quite good with large choice of various things and they have comparative prices to the shops in the town if not cheaper. There is one shop outside the hotel worth a visit its across the street to the left very nice and honest salesman.

We had a great time and that’s thanks to the hotel and its staff I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody who wants to relax, spend some time beside the pool sipping cocktails or if you like sports you are welcome to join in the fun with the animation team.

Just few words on the 2 day trip we took. We drove all the way down to the edges of Sahara desert about 400 miles south stopping in El Jem third biggest coliseum in the world (ABSOLUTELY STUNNING) and the mountain villages were people live in caves then we stayed in a 3 star hotel (not very nice after staying whole week in Royal El Mansour) went across the salt flats to the mountains and back up the way to Mahdia. If you cannot sit in the bus for most of the day don't go on that trip BUT if you would like to see Tunisia like you won't see on the post cards and sitting in the bus doesn't bother you go and enjoy it but don't forget the camera as things and places you will see have to be remembered...

Room Tip: We were in room nuber 3124 and all the rooms with x1xx are street view. Try to get room with x0xx w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cezar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahdia
2.1 mi away
Mahdia Palace Thalasso
1.6 mi away
lti Mahdia Beach Hotel
lti Mahdia Beach Hotel
#16 of 17 in Mahdia
555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Topkapi Beach Mahdia
Topkapi Beach Mahdia
#6 of 17 in Mahdia
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
PrimaSol El Mehdi
PrimaSol El Mehdi
#7 of 17 in Mahdia
666 reviews
2.5 mi away
Club Thapsus Hotel
Club Thapsus Hotel
#9 of 17 in Mahdia
447 reviews
24 mi away
Royal Thalassa Monastir
Royal Thalassa Monastir
#7 of 43 in Monastir
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Royal El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Royal El Mansour

Address: Route de la Corniche, Mahdia 5100, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Mahdia Governorate > Mahdia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mahdia
#2 Spa Hotel in Mahdia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mahdia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mahdia
#3 Family Hotel in Mahdia
Price Range: £45 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Royal El Mansour 5*
Number of rooms: 447
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour & Thalasso hotel is found on the seafront of the marvellous beach in Mahdia, Tunisia. This 5-star hotel is designed for couples and families with children and it offers everything necessary to spend some days of pleasure, fun and entertainment. It features 447 spacious rooms located on the Mediterranean and equipped down to the finest details. The Royal El Mansour & Thalasso hotel offers luxury facilities, such as direct access to the beach in Mahdia, free Wi-Fi, a thalassotherapy area with a sauna, hammam and Turkish baths, massages, beauty salon and hairdressers, All Inclusive accommodation type (optional), Miniclub (ages 4 to 7), Maxiclub (ages 8 to 12), children's park, fitness centre, heated children's pool, fitness room, meeting rooms... And for all hotel guests, the hotel also has a main restaurant where you can savour the best of Tunisian cuisine and diverse specialities in international cuisine, as well as four bars, among them the delightful Arab Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Iberostar, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Royal El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Royal El Mansour Hotel Mahdia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing