We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iberostar Royal El Mansour
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Mahdia
Reviewed 2 August 2014

On arrival at Enfidha airport which was at 9am my first impression was one of a shambles, it took nearly 2 hours to get through passport control and then a 2 hour transfer to the hotel, we didn't arrive at the hotel until around 2pm however it was well worth the wait. On arrival we went to the restaurant and had a much needed lunch whilst the staff checked us in. This hotel is superb, myself and my partner travelled here for his 50th birthday and we were not disappointed. We had a room which overlooked the pool and the sea which was stunning, the grounds are beautiful with direct access to the beach with the pool staff being very attentive to the point we wouldn't even need to order our drinks they would bring them to us without request. The restaurants are very good they didn't cater completely for my partners' taste however the food was freshly prepared with lots of choice which suited myself perfectly. The staff are exceptional and nothing is too much trouble for them I'd like to thank Ali who looked after us perfectly throughout our entire stay in the main restaurant.The hotel is very clean and I fully recommend the spa I had 3 days of treatments with 3 different treatments each day for £100 a must visit at this hotel. The animation team are fantastic and constantly have something going on every day even if you don't want to get involved they are very entertaining to watch you wont fail to have a smile on your face. Overall this is the perfect holiday for couples there were children there who were extremely well behaved and it was overall a diverse mix of nationalities with only a few brits which I must admit was very refreshing as there were no lager louts about. Overall we had a fantastic holiday where the staff ensure your every need is catered for I would fully recommend this hotel as the staff make your stay very special we were sad to leave and will deffinately visit again and again

Room Tip: we stayed in room 1313 overlooking the pool and beech also very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kathryn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 2,120 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 amazing nights here.
Food is excellent with lot of dishes being made on demand (grill, orange juice, omelettes, pasta etc)
The all inclusive concept works great with waiters moving around serving slash, soda, beer.
The hotel threw an amazing beach party yesterday with an African drum group and disco music, popcorn sangria... Totally crazy!
I agree with the rest: the staff are excellent and are doing that little extra that makes you feel alone at the hotel
The rooms are excellent
I will surely come back here!

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank MrZangief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Been here a week ! Loving every second cannot recommend this hotel enough !! Food fantastic ! Spotlessly clean all the staff are outstanding !!! Especially the entertainment team !!! Diko , mamado, etc! All fantastic !!! Beach Fabulous ! Another week to go here will not want to go home ! Love this hotel exceptional

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wellzy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Royal El Mansour, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for the time you took out of your holiday to share your enthusiasm on your ongoing holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour hotel; it is wonderful to read your complete satisfaction on every aspect of your stay.

We also appreciate your praising comments on our buffets because at IBEROSTAR we know that meals are a very important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience, this is why our professional Chefs strive on a daily basis to prepare a wide variety of typical local dishes as well as the best international delights in order to please all palates, it is very enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

Your enthusiasm for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation; we will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments to all of them.

Last but not least, thorough cleaning being an absolute must for IBEROSTAR, we thank you for highlighting the cleanliness of our hotel; we strive to give total confidence in this area, being fully aware that this is the base for a comfortable holiday experience in any hotel.

Thank you again for your time; we wish you a very nice second week among us!

Warmest Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Went on an all inclusive package for 11 nights, please don't be put off by any negative comments about this hotel, all the staff have been 1st class and can't do enough for you.
The hotel is kept immaculately clean with
The waiter service to your sun beds for drinks is fantastic as are the restaurant staff, choice of food was plenty with very little queuing for anything.
Getting a subbed around the very large pools has also be very easy, the entertainment staff are also excellent encouraging you to join in without being to pushy.
The snack bar is also very good with pancakes and fresh doughnuts served all afternoon, with a good supply of different flavoured ice cream (try the pistachio it's great).
I would also like to mention Our Thomas cook rep Phillip who is based permanently at the Hotel, without doubt the best rep I have ever come across in 30 years of travelling.
I would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just back from a week break. A warm welcome to the hotel, very clean and spacious room and excellent pool facilities. The buffet food is the same as everywhere, very similar night after night but lots of choice. The safe in the room is free, there is a fridge, you can get free Wi-Fi in most areas of the hotel although the speed is pretty slow and if you're using the hotel beach towels they are 20 dinar deposit each which you get back at the end of your stay. The usual no reserving sun beds is a rule but not really enforced but we always managed to find beds by the pool and a sunshade.
The waiters poolside are attentive and a small tip can make a massive difference to the service you get. We have 10 diner every couple of days which equates to about £3.50; not a lot considering the amount of running around they did and especially during Ramadam. The poolside entertainment was varied and good fun.
Not so positive; the morning coffee in the restaurant is not good; a bit chewy. There's not much outside of the hotel. A short walk away is a small town and there is also a market. Both worth a visit but will only take an hour to explore. There is no coffee making facilities in the room.
I wouldn't go back to Tunisia but would highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: There is quite a bit of noise on the roadside rooms but with good air con you can keep the door shut
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank kiran c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Was on an all-inclusive package through a UK based tour company and chose this hotel based on the pool - which I never used preferring the beach. Fabulous room with a separate toilet to the large bathroom, safe, tea and coffee making facilities, very large and comfortable bed and a small balcony with a small clothesline. The food was available via an enormous buffet divided in to zones in the main dining room. There were also a la carte restuarants available for dinner and a bbq area for lunches. There is plenty of variety to feed even the fussiest of eaters and the local beer it palatable and ice cold.

The pool is enormous as it is divided into 3 and there is a private beach area. All have lounges available and umbrellas or around the pool there is also a permanently covered area. If you want a poolside seat get up early as this is a very large hotel. Towels are provided free on a token basis - you pay 20 Dinar for a towel token which is refunded when you return the token to the front desk on departure. You can have a clean towel whenever you want trading in a dirty or wet one as needed.

There are scheduled activities throughout the day - notified on noticeboards around the lobbies and doors leading to the pool. One morning while I was on the beach they came round asking if anyone wanted to do aqua aerobics. There is a playground for children also. I was there during the World Cup prelims and they had set up the Conference Room for anybody to watch the matches.

The hotel is walking distance to the nearest Carrefour supermarket and the central market but that is a long walk of about 45 minutes (which I did not mind). There is a very small convenience store across the road which sells bottled water. However if you are on an all inclusive holiday you get free bottles of water (small or large) from the bars in the hotel.

While some days it felt like elbow room only in the main dining hall, I would happily stay here again due to the atmosphere and friendliness of all the staff. The only negative I have is that the free wi-fi can be a bit dodgy. I had no access to it in my room but solved that problem by borrowing an ethernet cable from reception for 10 Dinar which was refunded when i returned it.

I flew into the new airport at Enfidha which meant it was a 2 hour drive to the hotel. Try to fly into the older airport if you can as it is much closer.

Room Tip: I had a street side room but did not have any problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank mep01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I went with my family and had an amazing experience as the country were sort of poor, yes the waiters want tips mainly because they don't get paid enough. The hotel room service was amazing. The pools were amazing, clean and well taken care off. There were amazing activities like Quad Biking, Camel riding, Jet skiing etc. The beach was amazing as it was right in front of the hotel. The entertainment was amazing as the audience could take part in the events. The food was amazing as it was well cooked and well represented. The inside of the hotel is just pure amazing. Overall my view from this hotel was amazing and deserves to be a 5* hotel, I would so recommend this to anyone and would love so come back again.

Room Tip: Sea view room would be the best as you have an outstanding view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Abhishe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahdia hotels
2.1 mi away
Mahdia Palace Thalasso
1.6 mi away
lti Mahdia Beach Hotel
lti Mahdia Beach Hotel
#17 of 18 in Mahdia
551 reviews
1.7 mi away
El Mouradi Mahdia
El Mouradi Mahdia
#14 of 18 in Mahdia
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Topkapi Beach Mahdia
Topkapi Beach Mahdia
#6 of 18 in Mahdia
294 reviews
0.4 mi away
PrimaSol El Mehdi
PrimaSol El Mehdi
#7 of 18 in Mahdia
665 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vincci El Mansour
Vincci El Mansour
#4 of 18 in Mahdia
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Royal El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Royal El Mansour

Address: Route de la Corniche, Mahdia 5100, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Mahdia Governorate > Mahdia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mahdia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mahdia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mahdia
#2 Spa Hotel in Mahdia
#3 Family Hotel in Mahdia
Price Range: £37 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Royal El Mansour 5*
Number of rooms: 447
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour & Thalasso hotel is found on the seafront of the marvellous beach in Mahdia, Tunisia. This 5-star hotel is designed for couples and families with children and it offers everything necessary to spend some days of pleasure, fun and entertainment. It features 447 spacious rooms located on the Mediterranean and equipped down to the finest details. The Royal El Mansour & Thalasso hotel offers luxury facilities, such as direct access to the beach in Mahdia, free Wi-Fi, a thalassotherapy area with a sauna, hammam and Turkish baths, massages, beauty salon and hairdressers, All Inclusive accommodation type (optional), Miniclub (ages 4 to 7), Maxiclub (ages 8 to 12), children's park, fitness centre, heated children's pool, fitness room, meeting rooms... And for all hotel guests, the hotel also has a main restaurant where you can savour the best of Tunisian cuisine and diverse specialities in international cuisine, as well as four bars, among them the delightful Arab Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Iberostar, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Royal El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Royal El Mansour Hotel Mahdia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing