We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour & Thalasso
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Mahdia
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous holiday”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I rate this hotel 5 star for a Tunisian holiday, the entertainment staff are friendly and they work very hard to entertain everyone of all nations. All staff of waitering staff are hard working too, also very friendly and help as much as they can. Food is ok, need a little changing, this is my second time at this hotel, and a lot of the staff remembered us from last year, the entertainment team has changed from last year, but still very happy with the hotel and the staff.. People have totally under rated this hotel, and there is no need, I can promise this will be a holiday to remember...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luloopylu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour & Thalasso, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review on your return visit to our IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour hotel, it is very rewarding to read that we were able, once again to meet your expectation, our guests’ full satisfaction is our main goal and there is nothing better than achieving that.

We took good not of your comment on the variety of our buffets and commit to improve on this aspect however we are glad to read that you were satisfied with the quality of the dishes on offer.
We also appreciate your kind words towards our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being one of our hotel's main strengths we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Thank you again for making us your choice hotel when visiting Tunisia and for your kind recommendation to Tripadvisor’s readers; it would be a great pleasure to welcome you again at your earliest convenience.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,105
    532
    225
    70
    41
See reviews for
682
779
58
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Beautiful hotel ....absolutely amazing staff ....they couldn't be more helpful :) beautiful pools a choice of three !!! We arrived and wasn't happy with a view from the room ....complained and they gave us a beautiful room with a amazing view :) Animation team was excellent !!!! This is a very clean hotel .....Beach is beautiful !!! Food isn't great though !!! Internet isn't very good either !!! Bar staff are lovely .....constantly coming over when ur sunbathing and bringing you drinks !!! I would definitely recommend this hotel !!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenmac24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour & Thalasso, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent holiday at our IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour hotel and are grateful for the time you spent to share your feedback on your stay.

At IBEROSTAR we know that meals are a very important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience, this is why our professional Chefs strive on a daily basis to prepare a wide variety of typical local dishes as well as the best international delights in order to please all palates, we regret we were not able to conquer yours and forwarded your comments to our Chefs for revision and improvement.

On the other hand, we greatly appreciate your praising comments on our staff, their genuine kindness and helpfulness being one of our hotel’s main assets, we will certainly not fail to share your review as we know this will mean a great deal to all of them.

We are also very grateful for your nice comments towards our animation staff, their enthusiasm is contagious and they strive to offer a wide variety of leisure and sport activities throughout the day as well as entertaining evening shows to make our guests' stay a memorable one.

Last but not least, thorough cleaning being an absolute must for IBEROSTAR, we thank you for highlighting the cleanliness of our hotel; we strive to give total confidence in this area, being fully aware that this is the base for a comfortable holiday experience in any hotel.

Once again thank you for your wonderful feedback and for choosing IBEROSTAR for your holidays; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and look forward to welcoming you back at your earliest convenience.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I had an amazing time in this hotel! One hundred percent a five star hotel! The entertainment staff were amazing very friendly and a very warm welcome! The night shows were very good! The bar staff were very good and whenever you had a empty glass you would have a new drink! The food was okay good for kids nuggets and chips and pizza everyday which was very good! The reception staff was very friendly and informative! The activitys through the day were very good and fun! The rooms were a very nice size and roomy! The hotel was very clean! Overall I had an amazing stay here and would recommend it to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bianc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was really a pot luck choice.
We had read the reviews and considering how mixed they were, it was pretty difficult to decipher the truth.
The bad points..
It takes approx 90 mins from the airport.
There is favourability towards the german and russians
We were given a street facing family room which was very noisy at night.
The good points...
The pools were clean
The food was surprisingly good, even though we had to get used to eating german frankfurters for breakfast.
The rooms were clean.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

All in all, i would go again

Room Tip: All rooms facing the street are going to be noisy as there is no double glazing, so choose a sea fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour & Thalasso, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Gus,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour hotel for your holidays in Tunisia and for sharing your feelings about your overall holiday experience among us as this gives us the opportunity to maintain, and of course if necessary, improve the level of the services that we provide to our guests.

We took good note of your comments related to service and lament hearing that you did not feel well cared after during your stay; at IBEROSTAR we strive to deliver an excellent and personalized service to all our guests, and we lay high value on our personnel being guest orientated and welcoming at all times, regardless of their provenience.

Moreover, we would like to take the opportunity to point out that we allocate our rooms in accordance with the room type selected at the time of reservation; as you can see on our website, room categories depend mostly on their location, sea view rooms are also more expensive than double standard rooms which are located on street view; we encourage you for future occasions to contact our call center from where we can offer you a personalized booking guidance and help you choose the hotel and accommodation type that best meets your holiday needs and wishes.

On the other hand, we greatly appreciate your positive comments on our buffets because at IBEROSTAR we know that meals are a very important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience, this is why our professional Chefs strive on a daily basis to prepare a wide variety of typical local dishes as well as the best international delights in order to please all palates, it is very enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.
We also would like to thank you for your lovely comments regarding the service you received from our team members, we will make sure to share your kind words as we know it will mean a great deal to them.

Last but not least, thorough cleaning being an absolute must for IBEROSTAR, we thank you for highlighting the cleanliness of our hotel; we strive to give total confidence in this area, being fully aware that this is the base for a comfortable holiday experience in any hotel.

Thank you again for your valuable time; It will be a real pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Mahdia and please do not hesitate contact us beforehand to organize every detail of your stay.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston
Level Contributor
123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We travelled with Thomas Cook. It was one of the best flights we've had but probably as it's been the shortest. There was about a 2 hour wait at the airport as they seem to land all the TC flights close together and then sort everyone into busses. Then we had a 2 hour transfer to the hotel. That all went smoothly.
The reception staff at the hotel were lovely and welcoming. We went straight to lunch while our bags were got ready to be sent to our rooms. The restaurant is quieter at the far right hand side. Akram looked after us all of the 2 weeks superbly. All the restaurant staff were friendly and welcoming too.
Our rooms were on the top floor next to each other (as requested) and we were on the street side (you pay more for a sea view) from high up the view is really not that bad. It's a Tunisian town with character, you can see the sea to the left as you look out. You don't hear much up there from the street, but of beeping, the sound of Ramadan ending was great to experience. Lots of beeping and a buzz of happy people!
The food was very good, always cooked properly and lots of variety. Very impressed with that. The hotel is very clean and rooms were well cared for too. Very impressed with the bar service too. Again, the staff are a credit to the hotel.
Philip the rep is excellent, otherwise known as mr Mahdia!
We did the el Jem trip with TC but the guide gave info on the bus and then left us to it at the coliseum and the mosaic museum. That was disappointing as other groups had proper guides. So save some money and get a taxi there, you won't miss much!
We did wander about to some of the local shops. Again we were made to feel welcome.
The only downside of the country is the litter that's laying about.
We used the hotels beach towels and changed them every day. Deposit of 20 dinars which you get back. The hotel has a supposed rule of no lounger reserving, it's gets ignored but we didn't do it and always got a lounger. Now the warning - if you do leave your towel and someone can't find a lounger or parasol, the pool attendants will take what you need off an unattended reservation (thanks for the parasols lads!) :)
Also there was an incident one day were some locals accessed the hotel pool area and done things from unattended loungers were taken. We were at lunch and had 2 snorkel masks, a pair of goggles, some fins (belonging to our kids!) and a ball taken!! And the games room had the pool table balls taken! One of the shop keepers said it had happened before. I think this is the only area which needs looking at for improvement. So please don't leave stuff unattended! You won't need to. This happened half way through our stay but we didn't let it bother us too much, at the end of the day it wasn't anything of value and it has been replaced already.
So would we go back? YES!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDgbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Mr girlfriend and I travelled here in July 2014 and I can honestly say it was fantastic. The hotel was immaculate and the staff were always happy. We used the spa and I could not believe the service we received for such a low cost.

We used a little take away across the street one night "kings food" - I can highly recommend it if you have a taste for spicy foods, excellent and so cheap!

If you decide to go the. We can both say that the pirate boat trip is worth every penny and the hotel staff are fantastic.

We won't be back to this part of Tunisia again as it's a big world and we would both like to see as much of it as possible whilst we still can.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

First the good ... beach great, pools nice, food nice once you get it lovely and clean Now the bad air con rubbish couldn't sleep asked to be moved twice and other rooms were just as bad tossed and turned all night felt so sick because of the heat in the room was told the air con is set at 18 but our room was boiling was more like 30 the towels are really small in the bathroom ,and the queues for food was stupid really let the place down not enough staff to cope with the number of people it really was annoying never stayed anywere you have had to queue for food, and orange juice and eggs or omelettes in a morning . what a shame it could be a really nice hotel ,would not come back to this hotel but will come back to Tunisia .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour & Thalasso, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Amanda,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour hotel for your holidays in Tunisia and for the time you spent to share your feelings on your stay; we certainly believe that our guests’ comments provide us with useful insights to assist our staff to identify areas of concern.

We regret reading your disappointment on the temperature in your room, however we would like to point out that the temperature in all rooms is around 20-22 degrees Celsius which we believe is acceptable and that we have not received any complaint from our guests on this aspect of their stay.

Moreover we lament reading your comments on our bathroom towels, these have the following dimensions: Bath linen, length 140 cm width 70 cm Weight 550 grams and towels, length 80 cm width 50 cm Weight 280 grams; for future occasions please do not hesitate to request more bath towels, our housekeeping staff will provide you with as many as you wish in no time.

Further, we lament hearing that you had to queue for the show cooking stand at our main restaurant, however as the food is cooked fresh in front of our guests, depending on the desired doneness, it may take a few minutes before you get served, especially during high season; on the other hand, the passion for gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company we are very pleased to read that you appreciated the quality of our buffets.

Last but not least, we are glad you liked our installations and are grateful for your highlight on the cleanliness of our hotel and its location with direct access to the beautiful beach of Mahdia.
We do appreciate your comments as they can help us to improve and sincerely hope to see you again in the near future and to have the opportunity to offer you a very enjoyable experience with IBEROSTAR.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahdia
2.1 mi away
Mahdia Palace Thalasso
Mahdia Palace Thalasso
#5 of 18 in Mahdia
666 reviews
1.6 mi away
lti Mahdia Beach Hotel
lti Mahdia Beach Hotel
#10 of 18 in Mahdia
506 reviews
0.4 mi away
PrimaSol El Mehdi
PrimaSol El Mehdi
#6 of 18 in Mahdia
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Club Thapsus Hotel
Club Thapsus Hotel
#8 of 18 in Mahdia
406 reviews
24.0 mi away
Royal Thalassa Monastir
Royal Thalassa Monastir
#7 of 43 in Monastir
1,153 reviews
1.7 mi away
El Mouradi Mahdia
El Mouradi Mahdia
#15 of 18 in Mahdia
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour & Thalasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour & Thalasso

Property: IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour & Thalasso
Address: Route de la Corniche, Mahdia 5100, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Mahdia Governorate > Mahdia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mahdia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mahdia
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mahdia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mahdia
#3 Family Hotel in Mahdia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour & Thalasso 5*
Number of rooms: 447
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore every inch of the IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour & Thalasso hotel and discover the treasures of Tunisia. Admire the turquoise waters of the Mediterranean from your sea front room. Dive into the sapphire waters of the pools. Witness the spectacular sunset and its fusion of gold and coral as you stroll around the gardens of this five star resort, and take home a treasure trove of unforgettable memories of your time in Mahdia. A hotel worth discovering. You’ll find this unique hotel just 37 miles away from Monastir international airport. Its 447 rooms are located right by the shores of the Mediterranean, surrounded by the best Tunisian beaches and a lush landscape that makes for a delightful stroll. ÁGet ready for new sensations. At the SPA Sensations, you can enjoy a traditional hammam to purify your mind and body, alleviate stress with a massage or take care of your skin with beauty and well-being treatments. A culinary mixture of civilisations. Visit the Principal Restaurant and sample the flavours of a thousand stories in its delicious selection of dishes; from traditional couscous and famed Maghreb sweets, to recipes from the finest world cuisines. Experience thrilling adventures, taking part in all kinds of sports, both within this Tunisian hotel complex and in the surrounding area. You can take advantage of this opportunity to explore the Mediterranean sea floor, have fun in the swimming pool or get in shape in the fitness suite, among other activities. Seize the night in Mahdia. Experience unforgettable moments at the nightclub in this sea front hotel and get up in the morning feeling great and ready to go to the shopping centre or sign up for any of the daily activities on offer. The kids can also discover a whole new world in spaces designed especially for them. A team of lively activity leaders will take care of your little ones, ensuring that each moment is full of fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Iberostar, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour & Thalasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Royal El Mansour Hotel Mahdia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing