We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value family holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mahdia Palace Thalasso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mahdia Palace Thalasso
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Mahdia
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value family holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

I have to say reading Trip Advisor is somewhat of a double edges sword before going to a place - not sure if only unhappy people write articles but im mhere to even the score a little.

When people read 5 Star i do wonder if they straight away think of the Waldorf in New York and expectations are set somewhat high - please remember its North Africa your coming to. That said the hotel is aspiring to be a high stars hotel and in many places easily reaches a 4-5. mIts is super clean, got good space and grounds, pools are lovely and well maintained. The beach is a hard one as we normally go to caribean where its 100%, make no bones the beach was very good here - could do with alittle more cleaning at nights to make it almost perfect.

Food is a good one as it seems to divide many, i thought the food was good and there was planty of choice my wife is a dreaded vegetarian and she though the choices were alittle limited - there was always salad, rice, pastas and veg so she never straved but it would have been nice for some more vegetarian dishes. we were half board so ate many times by the poolside in the afternoons - this was very good - maybe by the end of 2 weeks the menu was dull but pizza and steak etc always good - have to say Sami who worked there was a real gent and an ambassador for all workers - he made a fuss of the kids and us each time and was concerned that we enjoyed and he did all he could - hotel be aware this guy is 110%

With 2 kids the nights enternainment was not really somethig we got much chance to do but what we saw was very good - our 8 year old joined in the mini club and mixed with Spainish, Polish, american children and she loved it - great to see kids playing because they love to and not bothered about where they are from - very nice set up again a credit to the hotel - the gitrls that run it work very hard here.

Drinking is something i had a stab at a few nights in the week when i got a pass from my better half and it was very nice the local beer is good and 4.5 Dn a pop not too bad really (2.49 Dn to the pound) most people there were all inclusive which was something the UK did not offer. ice creams 5 dn, soft drinks 3.5, half bottle of wine with meal 14 so all not too expensive.

Room was nice and big with nice view of sea - two double beds and two singles for the four of us, fridge in room for you to fill, nice batroom. room cleaned each and every day new towels the same. cant be faulted. TV with BBC news and a couple of sports channels in German but if you want full sky stay at home i guess. Safe in room but no WIFI - had to pay at reception by the hour which is something I think they should just give guests these days.

Not many English there - maybe couple of families - lots of German, Polish and Russian - all very nice the people i met

we had a few trips out - we went to Madhia in a taxi - be aware the taxi will call ahead to mate who meets you as if passing in street and says do you remember me from your hotel i'm awaiter from the madia palace - to not be impolite you say of cause i do and off it goes from there - your meeting his wife next who just happens to run a shop selling all manner of tourist things - i sussed it straight away but go along the chaps is nice and you have to buy your nick knacks from some place better him than someone not trying hard enough!! just be aware.

we went to El Jem to the Roman ruins and its well worth a trip out - cost 100 Dn for the taxi to take you stay waiitng for you for a couple of hours and then take you back - well worth it.

oh and important one - weather - well never been anywhere where its so sunny each and every day - no clouds, no rain just sun - be careful some really red people knocking about but amazing if your a sun lover.

overal a very good holiday - beach, pool, drinks, place. Relaxed and chilled and so not ready to be back at work

Room Tip: not a gym as such - no weights - couple of treadmills etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig2996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    192
    92
    42
    46
See reviews for
223
200
58
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sfax, Tunisia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Our stay, was relatively short ... only two days due rooms unavailability during the high season.
But, we had enjoying that exclusively on the pool, a spacious one with appropriate water depth for children's and adults. Food's was fresh and specially fish in summer time was grilled with finest manner will go along well with pastas. Great collaboration and friendliness was much appreciated from hotel staff.

Finally, to be honest, I could advise to go there and enjoy the blue turquoise of water sea of Mahdia coast.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nizar c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ustka, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

We have just got back from Mahdia Thalasso Palace. The hotel has its own atmosphere, the food was great and plenty. Service professional and kind, waiters couldn't do enough to make our stay unforgettable.Will definately go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Chickens663535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

A beautiful setting, with spacious pool area and nice gardens. A short walk to a very nice sandy beach. The interior design is typically Moorish with attractive ceilings, chandelliers and paintings. We thoroughly enjoyed sitting in the non smoking part of the bar, but more often than not, our smoke free space was rudely invaded by persistent smokers, without being challenged by the staff.We had a spacious room with a view of the pool and the sea. It was such a delight to open the curtains in the morning. The room was kept immaculately clean by a very friendly and efficient chambermaid. The staff at reception were friendly and so were the staff in the main bar, the snack bar, the pool bar and the beach bar and the waiters in the main restaurant. The same could not be said about their supervisors who found it difficult to crack a smile or to acknowledge their clients' presence. The food in the main restaurant was of a poor quality, boring and unimaginative. Shortage of cutlery, cereal bowls; spoons seemed hard to come by! In a fishing port like Mahdia, the fish on offer was indifferent to say the least. The serving utensils were more often than not cross contaminated with a variety of food, running a high risk of poor food hygiene. Complaints about this were simply ignored!
It is a pity that such a wonderful hotel is adversely affected by poor food standards and unfriendly supervisors in the main restaurant whose job is to meet and greet residents with a smile!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Globaltr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver,Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We just got back from staying at Mahdia Palace for 7 nights. Let us say, that this hotel is very impressive for Tunisian standards. It is very clean, they clean all day long it seems, all the time - the rooms are ultra comfy, big, and well kept.

Our room had a king sized bed, and they even setup a baby crib that was waiting for us on arrival even though we bought our own portable baby crib. There was a safe in the room, free of charge, internet was accessible right from the hotel room. Heck they have the entire hotel decked out with hi gain wifi antennas so you can be online anywhere really. Speed of the internet is 6mbit down and 512kbps upload (I tested it with speed test for anyone who cares). The price of the internet is 5 dinars for 1 hour, or if you buy 6 hours then you only pay 3 dinar per hour and the price goes down from there. I recommend for travelers that rely on the net as much as I do for work to buy a package for the length of their stay to minimize the cost.

The bathroom and the toilet are separated, and both are roomy and very clean and nice. There is hot water here always, although it tastes a bit salty.

People in the lobby are really friendly and very prompt, sales people in the shops aren't in your face annoying, they are nice and relaxed and respective.

Now for the dining, they have a pretty small dining area, which gets very cramped on the weekends. The food selection is good, but when the weekend rolls around its like chaos so you might have to stand in line for 10 min for all the good stuff. If you are Half Board, you have to pay for drinks at dinner. 2.5 dinars for Soda/Regular Water, Coke/other Soft Drinks, 4 dinars for Celtia their local beer. These rates are the same in the mini bar, and through out the hotel.

Other people going on HB, I recommend you buy your drinks in the on site grocery store where a cola is 1.2DT, 1L of water 1DT -- or you go across from the hotel to the right to the shopping center where a cola is 0.8 DT and a water 0.7DT. No point to buy it in the hotel when you get the exact same thing, this way you can maximize your buying power.


The cons, there are only a few

-since we were with our little son, he explored every nook and cranny we adults wouldn't - the garden around the palm trees wasn't cleaned and was full of stuck in the sand cigarette butts.

-the surface of the tiles that were used to tile the area around the swimming pools gets ultra slippery when wet, this was dangerous for everyone, but especially to little kids who can easily slip and fall

-there's no outdoor dining area for the main buffet, which is a con because if you have little kids and they get bored you can't eat while they run around outside and you watch them..


Would we return to this hotel? YES, next year we plan to take the grandparents there, its just perfect for family, quiet, nice beach and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Get a room that's an even number, that means it looks onto the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Atila O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We were a little worried after reading some reviews but were really happy when we arrived.
staff are lovely, our family room was spacious and clean.
the food was ok, better than expected and there was lots of choice. the staff in the resturant really looked after us.
it was the start of the season when we visited so everywhere was really quiet, the were only a few other children in the hotel so they had the whole pool to themselves. also we were the only english family...which didnt bother us at all.
The shopping centre across the road is great for bags and sunglasses and kids beach toys! and people arent too pushy to sell.
when on the beach stay close to hotel as the hotel staff will warn off any sellers.
overall a really relaxing (cheap!) holiday and would love to go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank foxfamily07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

This was our 2nd visit to the Mahdia Palace Hotel, and it was as restful and relaxing as the 1st. Except on weekends!!! when the hotel was packed out, and this turned the restaurant into a battle ground, there was no cutlery, dishes, or glasses, and the queues were horrendous, with people pushing in. The evenings had no entertainment except for the piano man, and he was awful, singing off key all the time, we went to bed at 9pm just to get away from him and watched tv, which was also awful as the only english channel is the news which is on 24.7. We were really looking forward to our visit as we had such a wonderful time last year.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Suziq138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahdia hotels
0.0 mi away
lti Mahdia Beach Hotel
lti Mahdia Beach Hotel
#9 of 20 in Mahdia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.7 mi away
Club Thapsus Hotel
Club Thapsus Hotel
#8 of 20 in Mahdia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.2 mi away
PrimaSol El Mehdi
PrimaSol El Mehdi
#5 of 20 in Mahdia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Mouradi Mahdia
El Mouradi Mahdia
#17 of 20 in Mahdia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
1.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour & Thalasso
0.4 mi away
Nour Palace Resort
Nour Palace Resort
#4 of 20 in Mahdia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahdia Palace Thalasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahdia Palace Thalasso

Property: Mahdia Palace Thalasso
Address: BP 134, Zone Touristique, Mahdia 5100, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Mahdia Governorate > Mahdia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Mahdia
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mahdia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mahdia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mahdia Palace Thalasso 5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1996, this fabulous Palace of 5 stars lying on a 6 hectare site is located on one of the best beaches of Tunisia's coast. The MAHDIA PALACE THALASSO offers 452 rooms and suites inspired by the style of the Tunisian pure art. Located in the centre of the touristic area next to a turquoise blue sea and a sandy beach, the MAHDIA PALACE THALASSO offers modern comfort to its guests and a real sense of relaxation and well being. This mixture of modernism and tradition, associated with the harmony of colours and style is worthy to the warmth of this jewel of the city of Mahdia. Distance: 3 Km from the centre of the city, 55 Km from "Skanes-Monastir airport", 35 Km from the Coliseum "El Jem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mahdia Palace Thalasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahdia Palace Thalasso Hotel Mahdia
Palace Hotel Mahdia
Mahdia Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing