We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not one to complain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Mouradi Cap Mahdia
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Mahdia
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not one to complain”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Me and my husband have just come back having spent 2 weeks at this hotel. We are a very easy going couple and try not to believe all the reports but still read them anyway. We found this hotel very plain and basic, we were told the transfer is an hour, but its actually 2 - 3 hours pending the other drop offs. we read that upon arrival you get a complimentary drink this never happened!
along with alot of other things. We took ourselves to the room, no one to guide us. We arrived at 10pm we dropped our cases and headed to the bar for a refreshing drink. Bar shuts at 11pm!!!!
Food closes at 9pm. So we had to pay for drinks but couldnt get food, so no drama..... Next day and for 13 more days we ate nothing but carbs ie. pasta, rice, potatoe ,pizza,oh and fly pie from the lunch time restaurant, Its only a 3 star but you cannot live on carbs for 2 wks good look if you have IBS. There is nothing to do througout the day, thank god for the rest of the brits for making our holiday entertaining, The hotel is mainly for French and German. Please do not go if you have kids there is nothing for them to do at all expect swim in the pool. Up to you guys but for me never again xxxxx ps I was going to upload pictures but i have taken the same as everyone else in total 19 pics what you see in the pictures is everything. And if you do go have a meal in the 5x hoel near by its to die for

Room Tip: Ask for a double bed instead of single and say you are married and want to sleep together, they will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharonc1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    151
    72
    40
    53
See reviews for
140
139
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

As other reviewers have said this is a 3* hotel. Rooms are basic but perfectly adequate, no hairdryer, fridge or minibar. They are cleaned daily to a reasonable standard with clean linen and towels every day, the room maid will often ask you to get her a coffee from the bar (presumably better than what is available to staff!) Most of the staff are friendly and helpful, but there are sometimes language problems unless you speak French. Entertainment crew do a good job, but are rather up themselves!
The food is the problem. It goes from ok to absolutely awful. You can survive on pasta and pizza, but most of the other dishes are pretty dire. You have an option to have a "gala" meal once during your stay, ordering in advance from an a la carte menu. This was by far the worst meal we had, it was dire. Breakfast was the best meal of the day, with omelettes, fried eggs or pancakes cooked to order and a range of pastries which were hugely improved by a 20 second microwave blast.
We had paid extra for a seaview room, which actually means a sideways view of the sea beyond the swimming pool. The drawback of these rooms is that because they overlook the pool and public areas they can be quite noisy by day and by night. Standard rooms are at the back of the hotel and much quieter.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alaquiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We booked this holiday last minute and got a real bargain. It is a three star hotel, and it proved that with the standard of food. My husband will eat anything and he had no complaints apart from the lack of taste in some dishes. I struggled some evenings to find something appetising, however we didn't starve and were not put off because the friendliness of the staff and the rest of the holidaymakers made up for the limited menu. We were the only English couple in the hotel but we had a great time meeting new friends from afar. The beach is lovely and a just a skip and jump from the pool absolutely ideal. There is not much to do during the evening but the animation team were great and put on a show every evening and there were lots of activities to do during the day. Our aim was to spend two weeks relaxing In the sun in a clean hotel with a clean beach and this hotel provided it all. If the food was improved I would return to this hotel without a doubt.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jdaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi Sad
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Very good offer: full service and nice stuff !
It is like 4* hotel, but for price of 3*.
It is 3 * hotel beacause the rooms are not so luxuries and choice of food is not like in 5* hotels, also.
Animation team was excellent, very nice, talented young people.
Anyway, great hotel such a relaxing holiday !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MojaMalenkost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

please read!! just came back from our holiday on the 25th august 2012! first of all i would like to start of with driving through tunisia, not seen anyone write how scary tunisia looks at night, but dont be alarmed everyone is friendly and looks so much better in the day time, i can not fault this hotel at all, myself and partner had a great time we are both in our late 20s and both fount this hotel and place so relaxing! this hotel was very clean and rooms got cleaned everyday around lunch time, pool was also very clean, i had seen reviews about this hotel being 5 minutes from the beach it is not!! it is honestly on the beach 2 minutes from ur room, beach is clear sand is lovely but can get very hot!, there is always entertainment on and dancing going on if u like to join in, everyone is so friendly and like to have a laugh, but the workers do like their tips!! a few diner is fine they are happy, i would like to warn people about the men that sell cigerettes on the beach pls do not but them they are fake and taste horrible, there is a shop in the hotel that sell cigerettes for about 2 pounds (royales) also haggle with anyone selling stuff u will get it alot cheaper, the food sometime gets repeative due to the buffet however the food is nice and u can help yourselfs to alcohol or soft drinks, the pizza they cook is very nice made right there and then. There are many tourist there more italians germans and french, and a few english but everyone was friendly and it was nice when u did meet other english out there. everynight they have different entertainment on called showtime at 9.30 untill 10.30ish really good, i would say u defiently appriciate how much everyone works out there and for pennys! so please ppl do tip they really appriciate it, in winter times some have to beg while out of work to pay for university! there is also a nice place to eat called chicko mexican food about 5 minutes from the hotel soo cheap about 4 pound for 3 meals!! i would recomend the paragliding and the quad bikes it was amazing u get to drive around tunisia on the roads and see how ppl really live, everyone waves at you to say hello, best part of my holiday! would i go back back yes! but only for 1 week due to repetive food, but good hotel for couples and familys. wish i was still there :(

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santo domingo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Me and my friend were there 2 weeks, from 1th-15th August, 2012. Cap Mahdia is very nice hotel, with family atmosphere, ideal for total relax, enjoying in lovely beach, wonderful sea. The best of the best was people who work there. Everybody was so polite, from receptionist, waiters to room maids. Top of the top was the animation team. They were amazing with doing so many activities, talking many foreign languages, always smiled and friendly, never refused to do anything even it was Ramadan period and was probably very intense for them. Shows were superb, from dance evenings to funny sketches including guests participations. Would like to thank to all people working in cap Mahdia specially to animation DREAM TEAM - Ali, Mohamed, Zicoooooo Daly, Fabio, Abou, Samuell, Mejdi, Iliesh - you are the reason why we will come again next year :)))) ZUMBAWOMAN&EMI

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zumbawoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We arrived here on the 11th july the last week before Ramadam begun. On arrival the reception area was busy and we were given a form to fill in eventually! We were then told to go for lunch as the room wasnot ready. We returned 1 hour later but still had to wait a further half hour before we were shown to a room. This was on the ground floor but no sea view which we had paid for. Eventually we were shown a second room which did have a sort of sea view, but it seemed quiet so we settled for itThe room was basic with twin beds a good size wardrobe and large bathroom with shower over the bath. It was dated but cleaned to a good standard throughout the stay.

The first week the hotel was over run by locals making the best of their time before Ramadam, which led to very noisy meal times as children were running and screaming everywhere and no one seemed to have any control over their children. The pool is small in relation to the size of the hotel and this too was packed with screaming kids charging around all day and night!

The second week was much quieter and we were able to relax more. Ques were minimal at the bars & in the resturants.

Food was very repetative, pasta, pizza, potatoes, rice, fish, and a tunisian dish every night and lunch with the only addition some days of chicken & rabbit.

There are 2 dinning areas. One upstairs indoors and one outdoors by the pool. The outdoor one had a BBQ theme which grilled fish, liver or chicken at all meals along with chips, pasta, pizza & a tunisian dish, however guests are allowed to smoke in here which many did heavily!!!
some waiters would ask & bring you drinks, however wine, beer, water & soft drinks were readily available for you to help yourself.

Evening entertainment was good most nights something worth seeing. This was provided in an arena by the side of the pool so if you didnot wish to go & see it you could sit quietly round the pool area with a drink.

The rooms do not have a fridge or hairdryer but the room we used had air-con that worked well. There was a flap to open in the remote control to adjust the temp. Water is available in water coolers around the hotel.

If booking this hotel try to fly to Monistar Airport rather than Enfina as the transfer time would half. One hour into our transfer we drove past Monistar Airport.
It is a 2 hour transfer from Enfinda, possibly more depending on how many others are to be dropped off. Coming home we were picked up at 5.15am for a 10.15am flight, so I wouldnt fancy that with young children.

The beach area is wonderful!!!!! Clean & shallow water & only a few steps away from the hotel.

To sum up.....If the hotel increased its choice in food offered it would be well worth a visit, however as it stands at present we would not return.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool area are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank L_A_66Wakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahdia hotels
1.0 mi away
Mahdia Palace Thalasso
Mahdia Palace Thalasso
#6 of 18 in Mahdia
648 reviews
1.4 mi away
Club Thapsus Hotel
Club Thapsus Hotel
#7 of 18 in Mahdia
393 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Mouradi Mahdia
El Mouradi Mahdia
#16 of 18 in Mahdia
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
lti Mahdia Beach Hotel
lti Mahdia Beach Hotel
#9 of 18 in Mahdia
495 reviews
0.7 mi away
PrimaSol El Mehdi
PrimaSol El Mehdi
#5 of 18 in Mahdia
609 reviews
1.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mouradi Cap Mahdia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Cap Mahdia

Property: El Mouradi Cap Mahdia
Address: Route de la corniche Hiboun, Mahdia 5100, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Mahdia Governorate > Mahdia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Mahdia
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mahdia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — El Mouradi Cap Mahdia 3*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Mouradi Cap Mahdia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Cap Mahdia Hotel Mahdia
El Mouradi Cap Hotel Mahdia
Mahdia El Mouradi Cap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing