We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Mouradi Cap Mahdia
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Mahdia
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay Away”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Cap Mahdia Hotel, Mahdia, Tunisia. 08/09/2013 to 22/09/2013
Having recently returned from our annual holiday we would like to register a complaint about the hotel named above. We expected a higher standard from Thomson Skytours and this is what we ended up with, the worst holiday that we have ever experienced. Our Thomson Rep Cheryl deserves a medal for the problems that she has had to sort during our (and others) stay.
Staff
On arrival at the Hotel we were given registration forms to fill in and then told to go for something to eat and our rooms would be ready by the time we got back. Upon our return we were told that we would have to wait a further 10 minutes and each time we went back to the reception desk we were the last people to be seen to even if we were first in line. After repeating this game 3 times we were finally shown to our room. The bar staff and waiters were ignorant towards most of the people that we had contact with, at the bar the staff would stand a think about what they think you asked for and give you whatever comes into their head, fair enough this did improve slightly towards the end of the holiday but instead of asking they just handed out what was closest to hand. We were told there was no Vodka on the bar but other people appeared to get served with it. The waiters in the dining room were ignorant and so slow at clearing and resetting tables. We tried to help ourselves to setting our own table but got grunted at by several waiters each time we did this. We asked for salt and pepper for our table and the waiter huffed and puffed about it and eventually brought some for us. It was a game each and every meal time to find and to keep long enough to use any salt and pepper. When the waiters cleared our table of used plates and glasses we of course said thank you to which the waiter would grunt and mumble and then walk away. Using my limited knowledge of German I tried a little experiment and thanked a waiter in German and the response was a smile and acknowledgement. The staff in this Hotel do discriminate between different Nationalities, and as there was only half a dozen or so English parties in the Hotel it was very obvious who the favourite were and it certainly was not the English.
Restaurants
We had access to 3 restaurants throughout the day; the main Alhambra restaurant which I have referred to above is where I shall start. The Alhambra restaurant is a self-service restaurant the food was barely warm and when the trays ran out it took a good few minutes before it was replaced with fresh food (if that’s what you call it). The food had little variety and although we were expecting to be able sample some local food what was placed in these trays was barely recognisable as a food source. On the sweet counter I saw what I thought was a dark chocolate chip covered layer cake, however when I went to cut a piece off with a knife the topping of the cake “flew off” to reveal a strawberry or raspberry topping, this cake had been so covered in flies that it actually changed the look of the topping. This was also the case with the salad bar but not to such an extent. The other restaurant which is set back off the side of the pool area was horrifying. You had to fight the flies off of your food before you could pick it up and put it on your plate, needless to say we didn’t eat there anymore. We found that the 3rd restaurant which was closest to the beach was in fact the best although it was only open for a few hours in the afternoon and only served pizza or spaghetti bolognaise followed by crepes. The food was cooked to order and flies weren’t allowed, so this is where we had most of our meals for the fortnight.
We complained to the Thomson rep about the nearly cold food, which to her credit did bring up with the hotel management. The next day we thought nothing had changed as the food was the same but to our amazement we found that a microwave had been placed next to the bread counter. Now this barely corrects the problem but at least we could have ‘hot food’ when we ate in this restaurant.
Hotel Room
The hotel room we were assigned was basic but pretty clean, however, we had a faulty air con unit which was leaking water, the cleaner was mopping up about 3 cup full of water every morning, it may not sound like much but when you see how far 3 cups of water spreads out on a marble tile floor it soon becomes a slip hazard. We mentioned this to our Thomson rep Cheryl who told the reception, 15 minutes later 2 men arrive armed with a silicone gun. Because the cleaner had just cleaned the floor and turned off the air con unit no water was evident so they said everything was ok and left. Over 6 days and 4 reports to the reception we again told our Thomson rep who then marched to the reception desk, we were offered another room in a part of the Hotel that over looked the late night disco and pool area, it was a slightly better room granted but we did not fancy the noise so we asked if we could just have the air con fixed and stay where we were, this was agreed. This time a single guy from the Hotel maintenance dept arrived along with a porter, this guy went to town with the air con unit and found that the water collection and drain system had been blocked with muck and that the drain pipe did not have enough drop in it to take any water away. The air con unit was filthy inside and had to be fully cleaned out, the filters were black and so was the inside of the whole unit. This maintenance man fixed the problem in about 30 minutes. 30 minutes is all it took to prevent possible slip injury or even legionnaire’s disease.
A Le Carte
As part of the stay in the hotel we were allowed 1 A Le Carte meal. We asked the head waiter to make a booking for us on our last evening, we were told that we had to see him 1 day in advance. As we were due to come home on the Sunday we thought it would be nice to have a decent meal before our departure so on Friday evening I asked the head waiter to make a booking for 2 for the A Le Carte meal on Saturday night. The head waiter told us that the bookings were full and that we would have to try another night. We were not told that there was any restriction on numbers or is there any documentation stating this within the hotel, so as a result we did not get our so called A Le Carte meal.
Departure
On our departure day we were joined by another Thomson rep and she asked if we had enjoyed our stay at the Hotel. We told her the problems that we had encountered to which she replied “it is only a 3 star Hotel after all”. We had booked the VIP lounge which cost £64 for 2 of us which was a waste of time, the coach transfer was 2.5 hours long and following problems with the airport baggage belts we ended up with enough time for a luke warm cup of coffee and chasing the staff in the lounge for our passports when we saw that our flight was boarding. This VIP Lounge was designed to hold 25 people which ended up being around 50 and the staff did not have a clue what was happening due to the amount of people in the lounge waiting for flights. This VIP Lounge is over subscribed by the tour operators and is not a relaxing way to end your holiday.

Room Tip: Room number 500 and upwards are on the quiet side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alnbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    153
    74
    40
    53
See reviews for
143
144
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Booked through Holiday Hyper market at £436pp for me and my mum, with transfers for £40 added on after, staying 4th-11th September, flying from Edinburgh
We arrived late at night on the 4th and the taxi driver from the transfer drove erratically for an hour and half, but we knew to expect the long distance, when we arrived the driver expected a tip, I explained with the rules of your country, which I agree with, I only have English money, I must say he pretended not to understand this and kept demanding a tip. I handed him a pound coin to see if he would understand, he looked at it handed it back, slammed the taxi doors and went in a huff! Thought this was extremely unnecessary and rude. We reported this to the rep and she said she would sort it out.
When we then entered the hotel we were both taken back by the old fashioned decor, not great looking
We then checked in and explained the taxi driver situation to the desk clerk and the bel hop. With that, the bel hop took our bags up to our room, handed the key and slammed the door. Obviously realising he wouldn't get a tip either.
I'm not sure why the English money wouldn't be accepted as they could exchange it if they wanted. We had clearly just arrived and had no intentions but to eat and sleep!
We were told snacks were available til 12, so went to the food hall and we were offered pizza or spaghetti bolognese. We both got pizza and it was drowning in tomato purée. We overlooked this due to our hunger but my mum tried to scrape some off but ended up giving up
On looking at the room, the curtain hooks didn't work properly on the rail so wouldn't close properly. Again, very out dated style. The room appeared clean but wasn't done properly, I like to clean and when things aren't clean I want to clean them, which was the case with this room. The bathroom was a large size but the bin had something brown on the kid which I hope was just rust! The bath also felt gritty/bumpy
The next day we prepared ourselves to relax in the sun and were very excited, the pool area is really nice, and we managed to get deck chairs no problem
We went to breakfast and only had cheese on poorly toasted bread. There was a selection if salads, eggs and sausages. My mum is allergic to eggs which is tough by all means but this was the breakfast everyday. And not everything had labels so we were hesitant to try things.
Breakfast was between 6-10 however if you went at 9, you were struggling to find a table with cutlery or food available, they just seemed to care less about topping the food up at that time
At the pool area there were a variant of guests but most people staying there were German, which the food seemed to cater for
There were some guests of Muslim culture were woman would wear clothing that covered then head to toe, which we had no issues with but we were certainly given disgusting looks from them when in our bikinis...at the pool area!! We also got spat at (not spit, but like mumblings of disapproval) like we were dirt. We thought this was shocking!! We would understand this if we were walking around the town centre, but, we were not we were in the hotel complex at the pool, we had booked a hotel that 'supposedly' accommodated people from the UK considering the flight was from Edinburgh? In fact accommodated people if all types.
Being from Edinburgh, I see all varieties of people and cultures and embrace them and couldn't care how people chose to dress. But on holiday at the pool in a bikini getting dirty looks and whispers was unacceptable
When we had our rep meeting we had asked how to dress out the hotel complex etc to make sure we wouldn't offend. The rep the also stated we should cover up around the hotel as the men that work there (bar staff/waiters) were Muslim
We were confused as to why we should have to cover up in the hotel? We were there to relax, not be ogled by the hotel staff. And if you have a strong belief in the way woman should dress, why work in a hotel that accommodates people who will be dressed however they want?
I don't want to come across as racist, and I hope I am not. I couldn't be less bothered about what people chose as their religion or how they dress
With that the look the men gave was disgusting, a look of sexual interest and disgust at the same time, iv never felt so sickened. So I did cover up for that fact
The bar staff/waiters were also very rude in their service, knowing everyone had already paid with it being all inclusive, they didn't mind keeping you waiting or the manner in which they spoke, which was rude and demanding, 'what do you want?' Spat out. They done this to the men and woman.
Bottled water wasn't included so you had to pay, which the man infront of me did, once he had gone, the staff member put the money straight into the tip jar, not the change the customer had forgot the whole money!!
The staff also went round asking people to get them beers!! Rude!
Our maid was a nightmare! She cleaned the room after our first night, all that was done was the bed was poorly made, more toilet roll and towels provided. The cleaning had not been improved.
Then when she seen my mum in the hall, she asked her for coffee, my mum being a big softy went and got her some. When making it, she realised she didn't know if she's want milk and sugar. So only added milk. Took this to the maid. Who then demanded sugar. Again my mum went and got her sugar and made her another cup of coffee. Now that's my mums choice to do so but I felt the maid took advantage of my mum being kind
After our first day, we returned to the room to get ready for tea, we had just entered the room, I was standing in the bath washing my feet from sand, bloat groom door open when the maid knocked very lightly, used her key, and just came in!! I was so shocked thinking what if I was getting undressed for a bath? I shouldn't have to worry about the maid barging in!
This happened whenever she seen us entering our room, to hand us a flower, which was sweet, but was obviously for tips. She even barges in when we had the do not disturb sign on!!
A total of 3 barge ins, and a total of 8 coffees! My mum felt sorry for how many rooms she must clean but I stated she wasn't exactly cleaning them considering how poorly clean ours was. And on one day, with tea starting at half 6, we went to our room to get ready at about 6:15 and she was only just at our room, so we had to wait!
Most days we told her not to bother cleaning and would just ask for towels or some toilet roll
The food at lunch and tea was pretty much the same, and it was the same everyday!! There wasn't much variety and things were poorly heated so food was warmish. Me and my mum lived on rice and potatoes and sometimes we'd have a bit meat or I'd get ravioli which had the smallest injection of meat, so it was just like eating a rubbery but pasta. Pasta was available but the sauce was tomato purée!!? It was horrible! Again things were poorly labelled so we were unsure what all the food was.
We were starving most of the time and eating rice and potatoes made us bloated. I also had some uncomfortable toilet trips due to the food...
The flies...were everywhere!! Really annoying and unavoidable, they were at the food or just when you were at the pool. Hotel could have done something about this dying fly deterrents
Other staff, such as Ali Baba, was very annoying! He would be very polite when trying to sell the activity sports but as soon as you said no, he was very rude, and would approach you all nicely the next day not realising he'd already spoke to you, very unprofessional
The entertainment staff were fine although seemed to hassle us a lot on our second last day to join in activities
The private beach, is NOT private, sellers are allowed to walk through selling fake fags, towels etc and the private water is just a sectioned out area, it seems more taken to me.
Also whilst we had a walk on the beach, not going to far, I was walking where the water would hit my feet, my mum up from me on the dry sand, a tall man walked past my and pressured his hand on top of my head, I dodged out the way and yelled no! But that meant nothing. I kept walking but I was very scared. A nearby man playing football shouted at the man who was now laughing, and apologised to my mum who was nearer which was very nice but a horrible experience nonetheless
Another day a man tried to speak to my mum, looking at her up and down, she ignored him, and his response? 'Dont talk? Good' and had produced a very creepy smile. We turned and walked as fast as we could. This was just outside the 'private' beach of our hotel. This was degrading and disgusting
We also went to a market in the town centre on the Friday, which was for the locals as it was more a car boot sale. So I wouldn't recommend going but we were told there were shops in the town centre which may be better suited to tourists
The taxi to the market we were told was 5 dinar which already included the tip. We went to wait for a taxi, and one pulled up with someone already in one of the seats, I assumed this was maybe his wife? We got in agreed the 5 dinar fare. He then went the opposite way from the market, which I thought maybe it's a one way system or something? He then dropped off the initial passenger, then turned round to take us to the market, on the way, he then stopped to pick up another two passengers!! I felt this was very unsafe
When he dropped us off this then didn't change the fare to 5 dinar between the four of us, it was still 5 dinar per party! Now 5 dinar is only £2, I am hardly scrounging the money, it's the principle that we shared the journey!!
Thus happened on our way back to the hotel also, it felt very scary getting a taxi with strangers and very unsafe
There was a botanical garden/sort of zoo nearby which was nice
There was also a shop nearby which catered to tourists in what they were selling, we made our purchases and I noted to my mum that it seemed dearer than what I calculated, we checked the receipt, and I had been charged my pashmina twice!! Once at the discounted rate, then at its normal rate! We went straight back and grudgingly got our money back. Very sneaky and dodgy!
On our last day we went down to the pool area to see market stalls around. We asked one of the market stalk owners what was going on? He said that this market travels all the hotels in the area, so they came to this hotel once every two weeks. We thought this was disgusting as they were crowding the pool area, when there was space at the front of the hotel, which would obviously mean the couldn't hassle people, I walked past one, as in no where near the stall, but on my way to the pool area, the stall owner jumped from his seat, shouting over to me, I put my hand up and clearly stated no, he still came to me shouting out to me, then I shouted no back with my hand up again and he then understood, I was furious! One no should be enough and I wasn't even at the stall for him to start a conversation of prices etc
Thought this market was wrong to be held in the hotel interrupting guests
I will never holiday here again, I don't know how the hotel has it's three stars
I think the hotel should state clearer that wearing a bikini at the pool will be frowned upon
The only good thing was the sea. Crystal clear water and you could just see Malta, but this was obviously not due to the hotel
If you are a female don't bother going
I'd recommend a hotel that is 5 stars and states it accommodates British people for the food
Horrible holiday

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneWin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mahdia hotels

Southampyon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The Flight: Lovely cabin crew very friendly.

Transfer: Not too long 1 hour 45mins.

The hotel: We had to wait until 3.00pm to check in (thought they would know we were coming!) after being awake since 04.00 am this was not ideal.Lady on reception was quite abrupt. Room OK but you could not shut the balcony door from the outside. After day three the maid started to demand coffee in a plastic cup, this made me uncomfortable. This hotel is in a serious need of a refurbishment, the bath had no enamel left on it at all and there were patches in the shower were it had been repaired.The outside table was not cleaned the whole time we were there. There was also two long hairs on the side of the bath that were there for 3 days.
Water: You have to collect it from the various water coolers around, there are tiny cups or you can refill it from a bottle you have bought from the hotel or bought with you.
The food: This is a very Tunisian hotel so don't expect English food, however the food was mainly lovely if you like spicy food.Breakfast was boring unless you like boiled eggs and frankfurters.
Pool: Need loads more loungers as most of them are reserved by 06:00 am by people putting towels on. Beach is quite nice and the sellers are quite willing to stand back and not not hassle
Checking out, quick and easy.
Airport going back : Took ages to go through passport control nearly missed the plane as several people also nearly missed theirs.
This could be a really good hotel if it was managed an awful lot better. e.g clean the rooms the people are expected to be in. Man the bar near the pool and put more tables and chairs around that empty space so people will gather there.
This was a last minute holiday but on reflection I would have rather gone to a RIU as they have constant standards .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apherisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunis, Tunisia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

well,I stayed in this hotel last year 2012 and still have good remembering from this hotel ,for a 3 star category the food was excellent and varied we had barbecues outdoors for the ones who wanted a little break from the ordinary buffet ,the swimming pool was rather clean,the animators were doing their job not flirting,the residents mostly Italians were correct and behaving gallantly
bottom line, I suggest this hotel for any visitor to Tunisia especially the British.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahmed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Very good hotel where we love to come back! All is great, but they need to put more umbrellas and loungers as it seems that there are more guests this year! Some guests are pretty rude. Beware of the cleaner called Turkie who will come and tell you some sad story about her life, and wait for the money; she also gesticulates that she is hungry and will ask you to bring her some food and coffee! Once I asked her soft-heartedly if she wanted some coffee and she said 'No, I want some pancake!' The staff gets fed and they can come and help themselves to the food, it is only that she wants to be served! She hangs around pretending that she is cleaning hard until 6 p.m when the guests come back from the beach, so she makes sure she gets the money, coffee and some food! She gets moody and puts rubbish from other rooms if you don't do what she wants! A bit hilarious, but not good picture for the hotel. We never had this experience before. Also, the locals freely hang around the hotel beach, play football etc and when you ask them to leave they say:' This is Tunisia!' Something strange happened in their attitude towards the foreigners and the way they look at us this year. I hope we can go back next year as we feel that this beautiful country deserves to be admired. All in all great hotel, and great swimming in the most beautiful sea! Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

A very multicultural hotel , few British , lots of germans and Eastern block , had difficulty exchanging scottish notes .. but a MEGA star rep CHERYL fixed it for us!!.
Food pretty good for an all inclusive , staff amazing except reception who were arrogant , and talked down ... sack them and replace with the animation team ..who were the lovliest bunch of young folks...
Rooms clean ,location lovely .... I chose this hotel as it offered horse riding , but was told an 80 kg limit , Ive 3 horses at home ..so wasny expecting that!!!..Booked independantly through hotels own trip guy he was lovely .. remember and bargain though!... my holiday was saved , rain links nearby , sadly didnt have time to do that .. would defo go back .. but probably to hotel down road that offered my riding!.... 5* to Cheryl the local rep who saved our bacon .... hope Thomsons know what you do for them !!!

Room Tip: Felt vulnerable on ground floor would have prefered being single woman up a flight or two
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xena666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I spent a week at El Mouradi Cap Mahdia in July and it was the best holiday I've ever had, so much so, I'm going back for a week next month. The hotel, rooms, food, pool and beach are all well above a 3 star rating. The animator team are so friendly, so much fun and work so hard, they made my holiday so enjoyable, I will never forget it. Even during Ramadan when they are tired, they still give 100% to all the guests to make sure they enjoy their stay. I especially loved watching their dance every morning and I loved their evening shows. I was especially impressed by Alaa who was so funny, hard working and made sure I enjoyed my stay, i cant wait to see you all again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahdia hotels
0.5 mi away
El Mouradi Mahdia
El Mouradi Mahdia
#15 of 18 in Mahdia
581 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mahdia Palace Thalasso
Mahdia Palace Thalasso
#5 of 18 in Mahdia
742 reviews
0.4 mi away
lti Mahdia Beach Hotel
lti Mahdia Beach Hotel
#10 of 18 in Mahdia
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Club Thapsus Hotel
Club Thapsus Hotel
#9 of 18 in Mahdia
416 reviews
1.0 mi away
Topkapi Beach Mahdia
Topkapi Beach Mahdia
#6 of 18 in Mahdia
279 reviews
1.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Royal El Mansour & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mouradi Cap Mahdia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Cap Mahdia

Property: El Mouradi Cap Mahdia
Address: Route de la corniche Hiboun, Mahdia 5100, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Mahdia Governorate > Mahdia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Mahdia
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mahdia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — El Mouradi Cap Mahdia 3*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Mouradi Cap Mahdia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Cap Mahdia Hotel Mahdia
El Mouradi Cap Hotel Mahdia
Mahdia El Mouradi Cap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing