We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore negative reviews!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vincci Helios Beach
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Midoun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We went in October half term- weather was good everyday except for one day.
Ask to be moved to a 'Houche' by the main pool if they allocate you a room in the main hotel. Just a modern up to date version. The bungalows are for bigger family's and surround the 'quiet' pool. You will be charged if you want one of these. 
The eating area by the pool was closed however there are toilets there to use (someone mentioned there wasn't any outside) and also some by the beach.

Beach was metres away, hotel has loungers there and you can pay to ride the camels or horses or hire boat equipment. There are excursions you can do with Thomas cook however we opted out of these.

Hotel staff on reception and in the restaurant were nice and their English was good- better than our Arabic!
The bar was a switch lights out by midnight style but the option to go down to the club was open every night. although most people didn't.

Food was ok- sitting indoors avoids the flys! Food was a variety but best to try everything. Book in early at the al a carte restaurant - you get one reservation included in your all incl and it made a nice change to the main restaurant.

Entertainment staff were brilliant especially for the kids, I don't know how they do it everyday.
We used the spa on our rainy day plus there is an indoor pool to keep you occupied or taxi to the nearest town but you can be hassled and may be better going to the 'fixed price' shops.

On the whole we enjoyed our stay there- don't think we would go with Thomas Cook again though, the flight and staff on board were awful- the other budget airlines are first class compared to them!

We were apprehensive at first as there were quite a few negative reviews however you get what you pay for and it's not as bad as what some people make out. Plus it's how you make your holiday at the end of the day.

Ps if you like your tea- take your own tea bags with you!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank K-Hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,956)
There are newer reviews for Vincci Helios Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 1,959 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2011

Returned from this hotel a couple of days ago and have never written a review before but we now feel impelled to do so. We have been to Djerba before, approx 10 years ago and stayed at a different hotel and had an absolute wonderful time, so we were really excited about returning. To start, our flight with Thomas Cook could not land in Djerba due to a storm over the island. We had to land at a mainland airport wait for the weather to clear and two hours later we were on our way again and landed at Djerba. Not moaning at Thomas Cook as weather is weather but If your thinking of going to Djerba in October then note the rainfull as it is far greater in October. We arrived at the hotel and due to our delayed arrival the reception staff gave us checking in forms to complete and suggested we go through to the restuarant and eat as they had kept the restuarant open later for us...Nice thougt! Before we set off we requested a bungalow due to some of the comments we had read on Tripadvisor regarding the hotel rooms being not up to scratch. When we checked in at reception we were happy to hear we were allocated a bungalow. Room 120..we didn't have much of a view...overlooking the tennis courts but hey the room was very clean, modern and was quite reasonable in size. All appeared to be going okay...We decided to drop our bags in our room and venture to the bar..Your lucky to speak with any bar staff in english as they only seem to know "how are you" If your fluent in french your be fine! We soon learnt how to ask for our drinks in arabic rather than french as they say when in rome! The bar closes dead on midnight. Okay you might say the bar opens at 10.00 a.m. what's the problem with it closing at midnight!..well it's not just the bar that closes...they turn all the lights out around the bar seating area so your sitting in the dark with your drinks! your made to feel uncomfortable as if you shouldn't be there. This happend most evenings and must be the hotel policy as one evening we sat on the terrace seating outside the restuarant and the same thing happend..the lights were switched off on us!. The bar area really didn't have alot of atmosphere in the evenings..apart from early entertainment geared up for the kiddies, there's no music or entertainment for the adults. Okay there's "Showtime" at 9.30 inside the hotel in a room with a stage, with conference room type chairs arranged. We went once to this but it got far too hot in the closed room, and the show was in french with little bit's in english so we kind of lost track of what was going on and left. There is a Disco but was closed most evenings as I don't think there was many takers. If you do go to the Disco take note the bar is not part of the All Inclusive package and you have to pay for your drinks..Tip.. if it's before midnight walk to the main bar and get your dinks there! Not all of the facillities were open for example there is an outside eating area to the right of the main pool, this was closed for the duration of our stay. Looked as though it has been closed for the winter months which was such a shame as it got really repetative going to the same restuarant for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There was a bar area on the beach which was also closed. The food was plentiful with an array of different dishes. we're not fussy eaters but careful people and believe in trying all kinds of food but was really put off by the poor hygiene (caught the chef with his fingers in a bowel of croutons and then eating them by the soup station two evenings) and the amount of flies on the food not just the odd one...talking of flies don't eat outside on the terrace as your have to eat so quickly to avoid the flies landing on your food your end up with indigestion! also if you do have small children requiring high chairs take note, the hotel cats for which there are many, sleep on the high chair seats as the high chairs are left outside over night and I'm pretty sure the hotel doesn't bother to de-flea or worm the cats so take some hygiene wipes with you and save your kiddies scratching! Whilst I'm on a role with regards to hygiene, beware...there are not many public toilets in the hotel, we found two inside the hotel, one by the restuarant, one by the Spa and only one block by the pool. Now there's 354 rooms in this place with 3 plus beds in each room...that's alot of people for just 3 public toilet areas (9 toilets in total) so dare I say there not very clean and your lucky to find loo role and a hand dryer that works so take your hand sanitiser with you! The hotel is also in the middle of nowhere so you don't have any bars to walk to if you wanted to go out. The yellow taxi's are very cheap to travel around in, cost us just two dinar's to go up to the crocodiles not far from the lighthouse but be warned the drivers do not speak english. I'll end this review by saying this hotel really wasn't for us, we don't go away to expect people to all speak english but if this hotel is now being promoted by Thomas Cook in the UK, the hotel really needs to be more geared up for the english guests equally with the french guests rather than second class. The hotel also needs to invest in a few tins of paint as it's looking tired along with some new seating in the bar area as this is also looking tired and quite dated.
Currency..as the TTD's are a forbidden currency you can't get your currency before you leave the UK. There is a bank in the airport and a Bureau de Change in the hotel where you can change up you GBP's to TTD's. Be warned if you do have any Dinars left at the end of your hols, you can't bring it home and chnage it back to GBP's or change it back in the hotel. However you can change it back to GBP's in the airport but you MUST have a receipt from when you originally changed your currency to TTD's..Final tip..the drinks are served in smaller than small glasses! so if you do like a beer or soft drinks invest in a "bubba" drink carrier before you go. They are a drink container with a lid on them and have a handle. you can get them in ASDA £4 each! Spirits are local brands but would say when they were bottled the alcohol dissapeared! so perhaps if you like your spirits invest in a bottle before you go. We did try they paying bar for branded spirits and the Gordon's Gin I had tasted of Gordon and no Gin! and the Bacardi and coke my Husband had...guess what..tasted of coke! Happy holidays! or rather "Bonnes Vacanes"

Room Tip: Contact your travel agent before departure and request a bungalow. If you don't get one and are...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TezEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Not bad so long as you stay in the bungalows and not the main block. The bungalows are very nice and modern. The main block are run down, flood when you use the shower and are in need of a very serious overhaul.
The food is OK but the Tunisian cuisine was not to our liking. The drinks are all local brands and are not very good at all. We arrived at midnight and couldn't get anything to eat or drink despite travelling for 7 hours. For those who enjoy their tea you may be disappointed because although they have 4 or 5 different kinds of tea none of them resemble what we are used to in England, it would be a really good idea for them to introduce a tea bag that we we like and recognise.
The pool area is fabulous, lovely and clean, nicely appointed, loads of sun beds. The pool and entertainment staff are really enthusiastic and active. They are holding all sorts of activities through the day and the early for those who want to be active. We had 2 days of really bad thunder storms which stopped people using the pool area but they tried to keep the atmosphere going by doing stuff indoors.
The hotel is targeted mainly at the french clientele so if you don't speak any french you will have trouble getting some of the staff to answer questions, especially in the restaurant.
The rooms all have air conn but they never get really cool, even on lowest temp setting and highest air flow they are still rather warm.
The hotel is out on a limb, there is nowhere within walking distance and the roads are not good to walk on. They say that there is a disco but take that with a pinch of salt, if you want a late dance you need to take a taxi for 40 minutes to the capitol.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room in the main building, insist on using the bungalows, the difference is IMMEN...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graham_ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

returned from this hotel feeling very let down after reading some very good reviews. Not a 4 star - quite run down in places.
The staff at reception speak very good english but they are about the only ones apart from Will I am on the entertainment team, but saying that the entertainment team were mostly employed by the french travel company not the hotel. Why?!
The staff, especially in the restaurant were very surly with the exception of a few (the 1 female was delightful) and did there best to ignore us as we did not speak french!
On the whole the food was good but you have to try it all as some of it did look a bit suspect.
The 1 bar that is open in the evening is a nightmare. They kept saying they had run out of different spirits. When hotel management were approached on this they informed us that they never run out of vodka or gin so it looks like the staff were pulling a fast one (we believe they were just too lazy to get any more from the stock). The last 2 nights we were there were the only night with all spirits available - all night.
Our room in Houche 1 was ok but dated and the shower flooded the floor every time it was used-needs updating.We were woken up at around 6.15-6.45am every morning due to the fact there is a room above ours where the cleaning bits are stored and they seemed to delight in making a lot of noise including scraping something across the floor!
There was broken glass on the path which led to the pool which we reported at 8.30am. This was not cleared up until 4.30pm.
All entertainment is in french which we knew, but we did not realise that if you are not french you are completely ignored on all counts.
The people arriving from France were welcomed with cocktails - we got nothing - not even told where we could get bottled water from.
Didnt even get a drink at our welcome talk.
The thomas cook rep was not at all well informed. She didnt even know that there was a local bus!
I would not go back to this hotel & quite frankly shame on you Thomas Cook.
Even our fight home with them was a let down. No time to do our duty free order? If you had been doing your jobs and standing around talking it wouldnt have been a problem!

Room Tip: Ask for a Houche but not room 116
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariangray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Firstly our Manchester flight with Thomas cook was over 5 hrs delay ok thats nothing to do with the Hotel but a bad start to the Hol! We arrived around 1am in the morning as apposed to 7pm, & was not given a snack or even a drink, a bottle of water would have been welcome?!! Took to our room, one of the Houches, which looked very nice & actually slept 5 people (there were 2 of us) We thought our luck at changed! After unpacking a few essential things & settling for bed we recieved a phone call from reception at 2.15am, saying we made mistake you are in wrong room, we have to move you?? Told them sort it next day then at 2.45 am knock at the door same story, come on guys look at the time please!! Next day was told oh its ok you can stay there now, family not coming! My God! So not inpressed with customer service & lack of respect.
Forgot about that experience soon after & relaxed on the lovley beach, & very pleasant sized pool that had lots of free sunloungers what ever time you went.
Also had a few visits to change money to be told NO, come back in 2 hrs! same story as a previous reviever! People want to echange money so they can go out & about, not sit around for 2 hrs etc!
The food wasnt that good either, have travelled all over the world & we are not fussy eaters & will try anything, but not nice having cold food that should be hot! Spotted a few people warming food in the microwave! On 2 occasions we were both given chicken that was raw!!! Now that is bad, I noticed & took it back immediately just to be looked at strangley, there was 2 English men who also had raw chicken taking theres back at the same time. Fortunately we hadnt eaten any or we all would have been extremly ill!
The frut & cakes were good.
Most of the staff in the restaurant were not friendly & looked as though they hated thier job. There were a few friendly & helpfull staff in the Hotel but not many.
The Hotel building & suroundings are lovley, just the one bar open at night though. we went to one of the international shows which was quite funny. Theres not much else to do on a night.
We met & chatted to a few people & had drinks with them which was nice & broke up the boredem.
Try the Tunisian A la Cart its very good, the food & the staff, & a nice change being waited on!

I would not recomend this Hotel & this is my first BAD review I have ever done! Im not normally one of those unhappy moaning people, even if it sounds that way!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: The Houches & Bungalows are very nice!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoamingKoalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Lets start positive, the hotel itself blows you away when you pull in. You then spend the rest of your holiday blowing out! The bungalow rooms are great (including 2 english speaking film tv chanels, ideal for the evenings-i'll get to that later!).
The food is good quality but poor choice. There are No snacks between meals except at 4pm when its more croissants/pancakes, no burgers/chips etc altough tea runs upto 10pm.

I can't see how people say it's repetative when you can't even get chips every day or a decent breakfast! The only repetative thing about the food is the constant streem of croissants and pancakes!! And whilst on a repetative note, that bloody song. Be aware the music is the same every day (take your own mp3/ipod) with no less than six plays of the same Look Voyages signature song and dance, which by the end of the week, you can't help but join in!

The entertainment and the general attitude of the hotel is what lets the whole thing down. You are told before you leave that the main language is French, fair enough, but its ALL French or French, then German, then Italian before what little English they know is said if its the entertainment. Unless you are FLUENT then you will struggle to hear anything exept the odd word, even Del Boy would find it' ard! The staff are nice enough when they understantd you although they obviously don't know what job satisfaction is as they never smile!

The beareau de change desk is really a BEARAU DE NO CHANGE AND NO NOTES EXCEPT AT CERTAIN TIMES desk so take EURO's as this is accepted rather than sterling at airports or shops but be aware, dont go out unless your built like the Hulk, the people get physical (grabbing and pushing) and really dont understand the word NO. Thats no exageration!!
We were told by Thomas Cook Rep (HA!) that Hamout Souk was worse than Midoun so i'd hate to see what its like their!!

If you are looking through TC, dont! This is a new hotel for them (not for TC Germany though) and they clearly haven't done there homework regarding anything or even talked to the Germans about what goes on there.

The pool is ace, the Beach was clean (as is the sea so long as the seas calm) and theres enough seats if you get up early enough (some people were up at 6am)

The weather was ace, 42oc even in september.

By and large, I would say go, IF you speak French, IF you just want to stay and relax all day, IF you are'nt fussy over food (take imodium).

If you have kids then avoid, there just isn't enough to sustain their busy little minds and the ent staff don't speak enough English anyway.

I finish with a farewell from Del Boy; "Bonjour"

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goss6564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We have just returned from a week away at the helios beach, and if is was not for the weather, the fruit and the quiet pool I think i would have come home more stressed than when i went. The staff all speak french so if you can then you are fine, they do not even try to speak or understand the english, but seem to go out of their way for the French and Dutch. Breakfast served 8am - 10am but no toast after 9am basic principle need for breakfast. Food all served is luke warm, and very very repetative, i ended up living on vegetables and fruit that i have to say where amazing and full of flavour. The a la carte restaurant is also a must as you will receive amazing Tunisian food and fantastic service in a peacfull and quiet restaurant away from the drull of the main restaurant. Bungalow room was fantastic and cleaned every day, and bed was so comfortable. Nothing to do in the evening and nowhere to walk too you are in the middle of nowhere. Will not be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Always go for the bungalows we used a standard room to get changed in for our journey home and the r...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midoun
2.7 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Caribbean World Djerba
Caribbean World Djerba
#7 of 46 in Midoun
878 reviews
3.5 mi away
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
#3 of 103 in Djerba Island
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Resort & Thalasso, Djerba
2.7 mi away
El Mouradi Djerba Menzel
0.8 mi away
Seabel Rym Beach
Seabel Rym Beach
#4 of 46 in Midoun
2,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Helios Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Helios Beach

Address: Bp 243 | Taguermess, Midoun, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Midoun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Midoun
#1 Spa Hotel in Midoun
#1 Luxury Hotel in Midoun
#7 Romantic Hotel in Midoun
#8 Family Hotel in Midoun
Price Range: £35 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Helios Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 354
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vincci Helios Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Helios Beach Hotel Midoun
Venta Hotel Helios
Venta Hotel Djerba
Vincci Helios Beach Djerba Island, Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing