We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vincci Helios Beach
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Midoun
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed here from 31st of august to 7th september and overall had a brilliant holiday.
Getting there was a nightmare but this was due to thomas cook who i thought was appauling from start to finish but the hotel was very good it was clean staff were friendly there was aways something to eat the pool was big and although there was entertainment around the pool they wasnt at all pushy if you said no they left you alone.
Beach was lovely and although there was seedweed on the beach this was due to the storms as the day before the storms started it was gorgeous and the day after there was a lot of seedweed but this was being cleared away by the tractors.
We went canoeing and out on the boats which they give you life jackets for.
The sea was rough for 2 days due to the storms and the red flag was up but there was always one or two lifeguards on the beach asking you to come in if you went too far out.
We went out for a horse ride which was brilliant the horses are well looked after.

Yes there was alot of french people but this didnt bother us. Overall it is a good hotel i think the bad comments on here is from people who like to moan as we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ricknlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    891
    587
    177
    80
    37
See reviews for
708
506
129
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had a week here in the Bungalows with the aim of having a relaxing week laid on sunbeds in the sun and reading. It met our expectations on this front and exceeded them in other ways. If you are after a relaxing week, book the bungalows as they have a quite pool for bungalow residents only with the benefit of no manic animation team.
THE GOOD BITS
Very clean and spacious rooms
Well maintained grounds and pools
Good selection of fresh and cooked food
Great housekeeping staff, reception and waiting staff
Close to the beach
THE BAD BITS
Stray cats wondering around the outdoor restaurant area begging for food.
Some people feeding the cats from the table
The wine was dire
Some of the bar staff were rude until tipped
The entertainment aimed excusively at the French
Not much to do in the evening unless you are French
People reserving sunbeds at six in the morning and not turning up until lunch time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A_SHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I would disagree with many comments from reviews by other people. I stayed at this hotel with my daughter, my second visit to Djerba, although a different hotel from 31st August to 14th September. On arrival the reception staff were friendly, the restaurant was open for a snack even though it was late at night. We were shown to our room by a very friendly person after quickly being given our key to our room.
The accommodation was very spacious and clean in the Houche, situated in the grounds. A TV was included, not that we go on holiday to watch tv. Beds extremely comfortable and pillows were lovely too. It was nice having a balcony and this was also clean.
We found the restaurant staff very pleasant, they asked what language we spoke and always made the effort to talk to us. Our table was saved for us daily and the waiter remembered what drinks we preferred and ensured they were placed on our table each day. On the days wine wasn't required our waiter made the effort to collect a soft drink for us instead. The food choice ensured there was something to accommodate all tastes at breakfast lunch and dinner. As self service you have the freedom to choose how much you eat. Water was available at every meal, coffee tea and milk and juice each morning, water soft drinks and wine at lunch and dinner.
There were daily activities around the pool, which included water polo, darts, pool games,dancing lessons and aqua gym,plus table tennis, archery and football, the beach activities included beach volleyball and other group games.The animation team try to get the guests involved but if you don't want to participate you can just say no. We found that the entertainment team were very friendly and were keen to improve their language by talking to us, There were a few in particular whose English was very good.
There was dancing outside after the evening meal and the animation team were keen to get the guests to join in before the daily evening shows. Although not all evenings had an English translation it was still easy to understand what was going on.Considering how much the animation team do throughout the day and night, they always had a lot of energy and looked as though they enjoyed their jobs.
People often reserved sunbeds but never used them, however we never had any problems and always managed to obtain them each day. The pool was quite large and, clean and warm. Towels could be hired for a deposit if you wished. The beach was very close and plenty of sunbeds situated there. Due to a storm a large amount of seaweed accumulated on the beach. It was possible to still go onto the sea though as they had managed to clear a lot of the seaweed to give access to the water. Please note that the seaweed the wasn't the fault of the hotel and it was along the whole beach not just this particular stretch of beach.
The pool bar provided drinks throughout the day and there was also a drinks machine in the hotel which provided soft and hot drinks plus the bar.
I used the spa for a massage and the price was very reasonable, the facilities very clean and spacious. Staff were polite.
The only negative thing I can think of is the on the departure day, there was only one courtesy room available for showers and there were several people waiting to use it. The spa shower was available but it ended up being like getting dressed in a sauna.The welcome meeting was not very informative but as I have been to Djerba and Tunisia before I was familiar with the trips etc.
I would be happy to return back to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: I only know about the Houche as that is where we stayed, there were no problems and the room was ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 31st August - 14th September and whilst I agree with some comments from the other reviews, it really isn't as bad as its been made out.

There were storms on our first few days there which had an impact on the beach by way of seaweed piling up and rough water which cant really be helped however there were tractors on the beach trying to remove the seaweed. Once the weather cleared up, the beach was much more pleasant and we enjoyed going down there.

The pool area was big and we had no problem getting sunbeds and they were often available later in the day. It is noisy as this is where the animation team spend their time getting guests involved with their games and club dances. It wasn't our thing but a persistent no is all you need to say. There's no chance of having a snooze on the sunbed!

There is little English spoken on the complex as the guests are predominantly French followed by Italian and German. We did not have any issues with any of the staff as they all made the effort to speak to us in English and enjoyed learning more of our language. On the rare occasion that I did join in with a game, some members of the animation team were fantastic and took the time to ensure I understood what was being said. The only time we were sometimes left in the dark was in the evening when they did they entertainment shows but we managed to work out what was going on.

The animation team work incredibly hard and spend their time mingling with guests at meal times, carrying out activities throughout the day and perform shows in the evening. Whilst we heard some say the entertainment was poor, you cant fault their effort and friendliness.

The restaurant was chaotic at times due to number of guests although that is often the case with all inclusive but the staff were great. The waiters were all polite and greeted us every time we entered the restaurant and they always knew what we wanted to drink and sometimes had our drinks ready for us on our table - this was without tipping!

Overall, we didn't experience any problems and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Please don't be put off by negative reviews - its a different culture so don't expect everything to be in English and standards are different in different countries,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I agree with a few of the comments by Louise1 so will just say my bit here.

Stayed here from 7th -14th September. I had emailed the hotel when we booked and arranged to upgrade to a Bungalow room, which worked out better value than booking with Thomas Cook. Our arrangement with the hotel was a bungalow room nearest the beach (room 812) around the private pool, mini bar twice a week and also a complimentary hammam which I will write about in a while!. I had no problem with the reservation staff who could not have helped us more during our stay, Mr Latrech and Mohammed Ali who were extremely helpful. I would say this was the only pleasurable part of our stay.

Some hotel staff have a complete misunderstanding of us Brits along with the restaurant staff, who, we found to come across as rude and arrogant. One actually said he did not like the English, charming!! The al la carte Tunisian restaurant was ok but we felt, was a bit rushed.

We have been to Djerba before and thought Vincci Helios would be as friendly as a previous hotel we stayed at. If some members of staff (along with the appalling entertainment team) were not rude and downright ignorant, the holiday could have been a little more bearable. The entertainment here is really dire.

For our friends, who surprised us on the plane, (lovely surprise too!) and stayed at Vincci with us, this was their first visit to Djerba and hopefully will not be put off by their experience here.

Food was ok but not of 4* standard. You could always find something to eat but not really that great.

We had a couple of issues while we were there, one, which was sorted fairly quickly, and amicably with the General Manager, Mr Razmullah. Thank you Mr Razmullah.
The other as below:

THE SPA

AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!! The Spa is independent of the hotel even though based there. We had a complimentary hamman each from the hotel for my partner and myself. Our friends who asked for the same package with the hotel as we had were under the impression they had the hammam too as agreed with the Spa Manager (big guy, wears a white and blue jacket). We visited the Spa on the Sunday with my partner, who was a witness, that us ladies could have both our partners treatments. The men decided it wasn’t for them and we agreed with the big guy, (who at this time understood English) and negotiated that my friend could have a fish pedicure and a massage and I would have a hammam and a massage too. After all, they would charge the hotel for 4 treatments and get paid for it! On our day of departure, our friends were hassled for the cost of her treatments and later in the day were were too for mine! They wanted 145TD in total. After a few words with the big guy to sort this out and explained he agreed to this, he said he did not understand English!! Did a few days earlier though!! His English was very good saying he ‘would take our cases and we could not leave the hotel’, must have had a very quick English language course……….

Ultimately, we paid him the money minus, one hammam treatment as we sere getting stressed and just wanted to leave. I know 145TD is not a lot for two people but the principle of being duped for something that was complimentary stinks when they agree to accept we could have other treatments and claim back from the hotel, very, very naughty. Also, being threatened and treated so badly is not acceptable by any means. So, don’t bother with any treatments and - AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!!

I will be contacting Vincci Hotels head office to complain about the spa too.

If the food was better, the spa didn’t exist and money spent on this hotel, it would be a much better place and we would consider coming back.

Room Tip: Ask for block 8 Bungalow room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AandJBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

If you are thinking of booking here please take note of the bad reviews - we unfortunately didn't. You will probably be thinking, like us, that with so many good reviews this place must be ok, sorry but this isn't the case.

We had a long delay due to a bad storm on the night we were due to arrive, we couldn't land on Djerba island so had to land on the mainland. This would have been ok if we had any idea of what was going on, but for several hours we were left in the dark.

When we finally arrived at the hotel it looked ok from the outside but at soon as we got inside things started to go downhill. The rooms are very basic but clean, certainly not 4 star but ok if you don't intend spending much time indoors. The public areas are so shabby, the furniture is cheap looking and often ripped or unclean. The pool itself is lovely but the loungers are mainly ripped and broken, we were told this was due to the storm on the first night but looking at previous reviews I severely doubt that. If you want a lounger by the pool you will have to get up pretty early, we managed once in the week. It's also worth mentioning the smoking, I am a smoker but found that with people being allowed to smoke pretty much anywhere the smell was awful, especially in the mornings. On a plus note the grounds are well kept, just a shame they don't pay the same attention inside the hotel. The spa is the same, pretty shabby and the treatments are overpriced for what they are, plus you will be expected to tip, a massage worked out at about £38 with tip for example.

The food was pretty awful, we didn't have the luxury of the second eating area by the pool as this was closed until the last couple of days so we had to make do with the 'canteen'. It seriously felt like we were in a huge works canteen, bright lights, everyone pushing and shoving around, not quite the 4 star eatery we had been looking forward to. Everything felt like it was just at it's sell by date, croissants that were just about ok, soggy salads etc. You could see that leftovers from lunch would appear again in the evening. The toast machine never worked, the coffee machine churned out chocolate instead of coffee, plus worth mentioning that for both hot drinks and all your deserts you will be using cheap plastic spoons. There are no tea and coffee making facilities in your room either and you can't hire a kettle so bring one if you like a nice cup of tea! The white wine is pretty nasty but we found the Rose drinkable, you will get a bottle with your meal but don't think you can then take it with you to the bar or pool area to finish off - no drinks to be taken out of the canteen, just one of the many daft rules this Hotel has. A big tip is to eat outside when you can, the outside eating area is a lot nicer. We got to dread going for meals as we knew what we would be faced with, the best you can say is it's edible and there is plenty so you won't go hungry - just don't expect 4 star dining - think more like school dinners.

The staff are a mixed bunch, some are ok but some are incredibly rude, you soon learn that a tip goes a long long way. Nobody speaks English, we were ok with this but I'm mentioning it so you can make an informed opinion.Some of the staff can speak a tiny bit of English but if you try to complain about something or ask questions you will struggle. If you make an effort with the language that will help and you will find a few who want to practice their English. It was odd really, a mixture between really good service with a smile and having your drinks slammed down with a grunt. But worst of all is the Thomas Cook rep, that guy is downright rude, he doesn't like women so you won't get anywhere unless you have a man with you. He won't take any responsibility for problems and just shrugs his shoulders. His only answer for all of the problems is "This is Tunisian 4 star not British 4 star".

Be really really careful if you swim in the sea, there is a strong undertow that you won't be warned about. Someone actually drowned on our first day, and despite his death there was very little warning about the danger. There is a red flag but most people either don't see it or don't understand what it means. After the guy died there was someone walking up and down the beach with a whistle but I doubt you could hear that out in the water. I love swimming in the sea but on this holiday I didn't dare try more than a small paddle.

The beach itself could possibly be ok but there were huge piles of stinking, rotting seaweed which spanned the length of the beach. They cut a gap through the seaweed so you could reach the sea but the smell was awful. The sand is full of cigarette butts and camel/horse poo although I expect this had been made worse by the storm. Then again if the ashtrays were cleaned regularly it wouldn't happen.

The final thing I will mention is the noise, don't come here for a quiet holiday which is what we had requested. Each day there is loud pumping music by the pool, people walking round and round holding hands then doing a halfhearted strange dance where they wave their arms around and shout at each other, this happens every day sometimes twice. These 'animators' are doing their best and plenty of people join in the fun and games, if you call passing wet towels over your head fun and games, but it just wasn't for us.

If you want a mediocre smoking hotel with mediocre food and drink then you will enjoy the Vincci Helios, if you want a 4 star hotel you will not.

Room Tip: Maybe go to Greece?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I am shocked at people saying it is a nice hotel. It is advertised as 4star but is barely a 3. The whole place is filthy & in disrepair, missing tiles, no air-con in reception or main dining room, lights in pool hanging off baring wires. I ripped my toenail and end of my toe off by the pool on some parasol hole in the ground (metal sticking out) and there was no first aid facilities. The trail of blood from the pool to the hotel room was still there 2 days later and god knows how much longer after we left. Everyone we spoke with hated it. We tried to fly home the day after arriving but told no flights until our departure anyway. It really is that bad!
Smokers everywhere ironically under the No Smoking signs in Reception.
Thomas Cook Reps were rude, offensive and incredibly unhelpful. We will never ever use Thomas Cook again nor travel to Tunisia.
The beaches are not sandy, but covered with cigarette butts, seaweed, camel & horse poo. A tractor goes along in the morning to "clean it up" but is just mixing it up. The seaweed was piled almost as tall a person and rotting mixed with the camel and horse poo it was horrific being anywhere near the beach. None of the activities were available as they couldnt get it over the seaweed - more like they couldn't be bothered.
There is literally nothing nearby other than an over-priced supermarket that is slightly cheaper than the rip off one in the hotel.
The food was appalling and we had pancakes for breakfast, chips for lunch, more pancakes for snack and salad or nothing for dinner. Pushing and shoving by the French - predominently French guests and the staff spoke French and a little English.
They tried to blame everything on the storm on our first night. Firstly the storm was no worse than winde and rain we get sometimes and secondly, a storm does not tear a sofa in the foyer. All of the furniture was filthy and ripped or in some manner of total disrepair. You will want to put a towel on the seat first - and that is indoors.

Room Tip: Don't travel here in the first place we paid £650 each for a dreadful holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank novisfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midoun
2.7 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
6.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Resort & Thalasso, Djerba
4.7 mi away
Caribbean World Djerba
Caribbean World Djerba
#9 of 45 in Midoun
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
#3 of 102 in Djerba Island
1,523 reviews
2.9 mi away
SunConnect Djerba Aqua Resort
2.0 mi away
Iberostar Mehari Djerba
Iberostar Mehari Djerba
#2 of 102 in Djerba Island
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Helios Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Helios Beach

Property: Vincci Helios Beach
Address: Bp 243 | Taguermess, Midoun, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Midoun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Midoun
#1 Spa Hotel in Midoun
#1 Luxury Hotel in Midoun
#7 Romantic Hotel in Midoun
#8 Family Hotel in Midoun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Helios Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 354
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vincci Helios Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Helios Beach Hotel Midoun
Venta Hotel Helios
Venta Hotel Djerba
Vincci Helios Beach Djerba Island, Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing