We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like the real tunisia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vincci Helios Beach
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Midoun
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“More like the real tunisia”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have just returned from this hotel in djerba and we were thrilled with the look of this hotel,it is true that the evening entertainment was not geared to the British but there were only 17 British in the whole of the hotel for the 2weeks we were there so why would it be,mainly French and our second week Italians were the main nationalities but the staff would want you to get involved with all of the activities and games that went on around the massive outdoor pool or on the beach,you didn't have to get involved but we heard people moaning that the staff only went to the French people for games but if you show no interest why should they ?,I am a very fussy eater, don't eat any veg except potatoes or chips but there was plenty of meat,chicken,lamb,steak and liver so I got by,bottles of water served with your meal and a choice of wine,red,white or rose in a bottle not a glass,nice touch,the outside grill bar had just been finished and was nice to use at lunch times, the bar staff were superb as everyone had to queue,if you tried to push in they didn't serve you,the room we had was in the hotel itself and not one of the bungalows but it was excellent,loads of wardrobe space nice clean bathroom and tons of hot water all day,nice comfortable beds( pushed together ) but made a very large sleeping area, plenty to do outside the hotel as it seems quite remote at first but the taxis are so cheap and nearly always parked opposite the hotel,5dinar to midune for shopping about £2 and main town hamlet souk 25 min ride 10 dinar £4, crocodile farm is just a 20 min walk or a 3 dinar taxi ride,we hired a taxi for 4 hours (negotiated) a price of 60 dinar approx £25 and asked him to take us to 4 different sites he also stopped off at a mosque and an olive oil making factory and some other interesting sites, we also had the control of how long we wanted to stay in any one place and not having to wait for the coach to move on, the weather was hot in the low to middle 30s for the 2weeks we were there but there was a lovely sea breeze blowing as you are yards from the beach,all in all, lovely large attractive hotel,decent food,lovely beach,friendly staff good beauty salon and spa and not far from attractions,go and see for yourself don't expect too much and I'm sure and hope you enjoy.

Room Tip: Front of hotel very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PAULS1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    605
    187
    81
    38
See reviews for
744
515
130
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful buildings and landscaping. Brilliant French-language entertainment. Good food and nice wines except for breakfast & coffee.
Great international atmosphere with multi-lingual staff.
Problems: WiFi, Tunisian restaurant réservation, bad coffee.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gaetan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was our second time at this hotel, and we still can’t work out why the Brits are complaining!

They have been renovating the hotel over the winter months. All the dark wood has gone to white. Carpets in the public areas are being replaced with wooden flooring.
The main and biggest job is the outdoor restaurant. It was the only place I went into once on our first holiday and wouldn’t go in again. So once this opened again I’m sure it will be great.

Once again we had a fantastic holiday, met some lovely guests from other countries. But I’ve still got to say we met some great staff. A big thank you to the lovely shisha man Nsa. Billy the entertainer and the rest of the team. Plus great bar staff and waiters. A couple recognised us from last time and we even got the same room as I emailed a few days before we went.
What I’ve got to say once again is some of the staff cannot speak a word of English. They are not being rude. We was told by one waiter we knew that the ones who were having English lessons said that the English speak to fast! Take this on board, slow down when speaking and try a few French words also.

Comments about being bothered by the entertainers! Not getting it…. They did their job by asking if we wanted to join in, we always said no. Then off they went to the next person. Having said that we spent many an afternoon talking to them on the sunbeds during the quiet time. We got to know some of them well, and lovely hardworking people they are too. We may not want to join in but it doesn't stop us from getting to know them.

Once again I would recommend this hotel. With the improvements they are doing and helping the staff to learn English it can only keep getting better.

I would certainly go back myself. The only grip I would say is that the air-con needs to be put on for a longer season. We went from the 4th of May and had some overly hot days but no air-con. It was a pain in the rooms as it was so hot. They said it’s on from mid-June to Sept. This needs to be looked at and readdressed. I just hope the management don’t spoil it by doing all the improvements then won’t budge this issue. I'm also hoping by the end of all the jobs the sunbeds get replaced, they can be uncomfortable.

Other than that, go enjoy and get to know the staff and other guests. Its a fab place.

Room Tip: we loved block 3. Not too far from the main hotel but enough to avoid any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crunchynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Visited may/June 2014, do not go if you have a child in nappies, there are NO BABY CHANGING facilities, you have to put baby on the toilet floor, or go back to your room, some of which are away from main block and very dark at night, we were in block 6 our entrance lights were out also 5 out in our room, reported this but nothing happened, the grounds are infested with ants, nothing seems to be done about this problem either, stairs are slippy so be careful, myself and 2 others that I know of fell down the ones from hotel to pool, the hotel will be nice when it's finished but at the moment it's a building site, food not so good, pool not cleaned every day,
,

Room Tip: Hotel rooms have a lift, blocks don't so up 2 flights of steps if you have a pram block 6 very v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bnbmoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We read the usual bad reviews just before leaving and were shocked when we arrived! How beautiful is Djerba???? Flying over the island you get an idea of what is in store....perfect sandy beaches, shallow turquoise water and SUN!
The area is amazing - it is close to paradise, palm trees everywhere. The people of Djerba are friendly and welcoming, we were warned that they didn't speak English, but we found they were happy to chat with the English they knew. This is not your average "british" holiday - true there were more French, Germans and Italians there than English - but it was a refreshing change. We made a few friends and managed to communicate with our little French and their little English.
The Hotel is awesome - spotlessly clean. We had rooms in the main building and were pleasantly surprised. The main room had a massive comfy king size bed and there was a sliding door to another room with 2 single beds in, which also had its own wardrobes and dressing table and tv, although the channels were limited. We had a balcony which over looked the amazing beach!!! What a view to wake up to! The main dining room is large although I imagine in high season it will become chocka! The food was plentiful and fresh. The usual all inc stuff, aways meat, veggies, pasta etc. Huge choice of salads and fresh fruits. The cakes......what can I say...except the diet starts now! The drinks were good, huge measures! Good variety. Try the local date liqueur - whooo! Strong but tasty.
The only downside was there was only 1 bar by the pool and no snack bar as promised. But if you are going out from June onwards I don't think this will be a problem as they looked to be working on a new snack bar whilst we were there, which will make this hotel even better.
The pool area is lovely, small pool for little ones and a gently sloping walk into the big pool. The big pool is massive! Clean and well maintained. Garden areas are lovely full of flowers - don't know how they do it in the heat.
The weather was lovely - hot and sunny with a breeze coming in from the sea. There was only 1 day that was a little over cast.
There was, however, nothing to do at night. We would usually wander about the shops and bars whilst away - there are NO shops and bars!!! Well there is 1 little gift shop within 5 mins walk but that is it! So as long as you are happy to make your own entertainment you will be ok.
Whilst there we did the obligatory camel ride - lovely up and down the beach! We also went on a pirate ship trip - the kids loved this. Watch out on the prices of trips and activities - vendors wander about the hotel and beach trying to sell to you and their prices often seem good but actually you get a better deal going through the hotel reps. Just check prices before committing. The pirate trip i think it was from 8 till 4 - great day out and funny too! The ship takes you out to a nearby island to swim and play, you get lunch cooked and then fun and games on the way back. We also went to the Friday market - madness!!!! Just use a taxi for this - it took 10 mins to get there and cost about £2.50 for our family of 4. More stalls than you could shake a stick at!!! Lots of bargains to be had and a few better quality fixed price shops. Good fun as long as you are firm if you don't want items that are shoved at you!!!
We also went to the crocodile farm. We grabbed a horse and cart to take us to the croc park, which is also a museum and an area set up to show traditional life on Djerba. (this was all in the same place on cost about £7.00 an adult - worth it for a half day out.) We used a taxi on the way back and it was something like £1.50. The taxi's are all metered and sooo cheap and friendly. We went to the croc park about 9am and practically had the place to ourselves. Nice half day out.
We also went parascending - our first time, me, the hubby and our 10 year old. Awesome - it was 100 td (about £35) great views and an wicked experience!

We were worried about it not being hot enough as it was the last week in May - but the weather was lovely and the sun very hot 26+ but the sea breeze kept it lovely. The air conditioning wasn't on when we were there - we were told it came on in June - we slept ok though. It does cool down in the evenings so just pack a cardi!


All in all if you are after a relaxing chill out then this is the place for you!

Room Tip: We had room 734 in the main building - we couldn't have chosen better!!! the view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stokesclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed as a family of 4 adults in the Bungalows for 2 weeks. It was the worst holiday we have had.

Rooms - we upgraded to the bungalows which was a good thing. We had 2 rooms in different blocks, one ground floor and one 1st floor. They were nice enough, clean and spacious, although one balcony (we had 2 in the 1st floor room) was covered in bird poo and was never cleaned up in the 2 weeks we were there.

Pool - we only used the pool designated for the bungalows, we found if you tip the pool guy he will get your beds quicker. They were good at getting rid of people who weren't supposed to use the pool. The pool bar was abysmal - the tea and coffee machine was mysteriously broken every day and the guy at reception helpfully told us to take one from the reception bar back to the pool! The pool itself was freezing. We had a bad storm one day in which a couple of umbrellas broke, they were never fixed whilst we were there.

Food - hit and miss. Omelettes at breakfast were nice (as they were fresh). A lot of pasta but not much to write home about. Drinks were self serve in plastic cups and don't dare even think about using the beer glasses (as they are bigger) for coke as you will get told off! The rep told us lunch was at the pool side restaurant.... We went there and it was disgusting. Salad left uncovered so it and everything else was covered in flies. The main restaurant is 'better'.

Beach - covered in seaweed which was left creating a permanent eggy smell. The sea was no better, we didn't swim once the 2 weeks we were there as it was mostly a red flag. We walked down the beach and came to a mound about 10ft high of seaweed, not exactly a picture of paradise!

Service - we could not believe the appalling level of service. They really don't like the English, even when we attempted French. Others we spoke to agreed. On more than one occasion I tried to get a waiter or the manager's attention and was point blank ignored. We usually tip generously when we have received good service but do not expect to have to bribe people at the beginning of a holiday to guarantee a basic level of service. We were also told we couldn't keep our room on the last day as they were fully booked, yet strangely French guests leaving the same day were able to keep their rooms!!

Overall, if you want a nice all inclusive holiday where you feel relaxed, get good service, great beach and decent food,go to Egypt. We went there the 2 years before Tunisia and are going again this year, we even planned it when we were at Vincci Helios as we were so disappointed!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank TheOnlyWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This was our first visit to Djerba and we really enjoyed our holiday.We stayed for two weeks at the end of September,the weather was perfect 30degrees plus every day.The Vincci Helios doesn't deserve any of the poor reviews ,the hotel is spotle
ss ly clean and our room was very nice,modern and clean.The food was good ,a good selection ,although like all all inclusive hotels the food does get boring at the end of the second week.The beach does have a problem with seaweed but every day the tractor was on the beach scraping it clean,so they cant do any more.The entertainment team did a very good job around the pool everyday ,yes they were a bit loud at times but if it got too much for us we just moved onto the beach where there was always plenty of spare sunbeds.This hotel is really good value for money,just go and enjoy yourselvesas we did.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms don't give you much privacy,so request a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pmagpeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midoun
2.7 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Caribbean World Djerba
Caribbean World Djerba
#8 of 46 in Midoun
839 reviews
6.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Resort & Thalasso, Djerba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
#3 of 102 in Djerba Island
1,546 reviews
2.9 mi away
SunConnect Djerba Aqua Resort
0.8 mi away
Seabel Rym Beach
Seabel Rym Beach
#5 of 46 in Midoun
2,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Helios Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Helios Beach

Property: Vincci Helios Beach
Address: Bp 243 | Taguermess, Midoun, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Midoun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Midoun
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Midoun
#1 Luxury Hotel in Midoun
#7 Romantic Hotel in Midoun
#8 Family Hotel in Midoun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Helios Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 354
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vincci Helios Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Helios Beach Hotel Midoun
Venta Hotel Helios
Venta Hotel Djerba
Vincci Helios Beach Djerba Island, Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing