We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the bad reviews !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vincci Helios Beach
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Midoun
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ignore the bad reviews !”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

After booking the holiday I saw the bad reviews and got worried however most of the people writing these reviews are the type of people who look for something to moan about, this hotel is beautiful. Everything is spotlessly clean, the rooms are spacious and modern with TV with channels in all languages. They get cleaned every day and linen changed twice a week. All of the staff are polite, not just to the French. Yes it is true most of them are better at speaking French and German but you can't expect them to speak every language in the world, they all tried their best to help! Most of the staff are always enthusiastic and happy to see you. The service is impeccable, as soon as you finish your good the plate is gone, as soon as you sit down your drinks order is taken you can't fault it. I've never written a review before but I felt as if the hotel deserved it after reading the bad reviews. I didn't really see the issue with the seaweed, yes there was a lot but it was cleared daily, it's a beach for Christ sake! What do you expect the hotel to do about it ! We went with Thomas cook our rep, jamel was extremely helpful, he even told us to watch out for the tricks salesmen try to pull in the markets like saying they work in the hotel in the week and that they know you. Anyway he was really helpful when booking excursions. We went on buggies (best decision ever), went to midoun and houmet souk to the markets, to the crocodile sanctuary and on a boat trip, all of which we enjoyed! There is plenty to do for families and couples (me and my boyfriend). It was sunny all week 40 degrees on 2 days! We didn't go to any of the entertainment in the nights because it's not really our thing so I can't comment but on everything else this hotel excelled. I don't know whether were just easily pleased but I've been on many holidays around the world and this was one of the best! Some people did say that the food was a bit bland but there was something for everyone and something new everyday I can't complain! Overall and excellent holiday!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Celiacrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    886
    585
    176
    79
    37
See reviews for
702
505
127
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My daughters and I had a fabulous room - a superior bungalow - which was situated next to the pool exclusive to bungalow residents. We had a view directly onto the beach one side and the pool the other. Everything was spotlessly clean. We had excellent friendly and helpful service from all the staff who all tried very hard with their English. The beach was lovely with only a little of the seaweed that I had heard people complain about in reviews previously. The mealtimes were civilised and the food was of a high quality with plenty of choice and also very well presented. Our waiter remembered our drinks and always had them waiting for us. Most of the animation took place around the main pool so where we were was much quieter and we were mostly left alone to get on with relaxing and swimming. We had some super conversations with French and Italian guests. Perhaps there could have been some improvements made to evening entertainment, but it was early season. There were plenty of activities available, including the indoor pool and spa, for those who wanted to be more active on holiday. Small tips given early on in the stay to the right people really pay dividends with even higher quality service than the norm. The grounds were also very pretty and well kept and the white low rise Moorish style buildings were very pleasant to the eye and well laid out. Just a piece of advice for the airport. DON'T BELIEVE it when you are told you cannot take Tunisian Dinar with you past security/passport control at the airport. This is not true and you actually need Dinar to pay for drinks and other things when you get there. Security will try and take money off you - which is a con - so just keep it hidden until you get to the other side.

Room Tip: Choose Superior Bungalows if you can. They are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TwixieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have just returned from this hotel in djerba and we were thrilled with the look of this hotel,it is true that the evening entertainment was not geared to the British but there were only 17 British in the whole of the hotel for the 2weeks we were there so why would it be,mainly French and our second week Italians were the main nationalities but the staff would want you to get involved with all of the activities and games that went on around the massive outdoor pool or on the beach,you didn't have to get involved but we heard people moaning that the staff only went to the French people for games but if you show no interest why should they ?,I am a very fussy eater, don't eat any veg except potatoes or chips but there was plenty of meat,chicken,lamb,steak and liver so I got by,bottles of water served with your meal and a choice of wine,red,white or rose in a bottle not a glass,nice touch,the outside grill bar had just been finished and was nice to use at lunch times, the bar staff were superb as everyone had to queue,if you tried to push in they didn't serve you,the room we had was in the hotel itself and not one of the bungalows but it was excellent,loads of wardrobe space nice clean bathroom and tons of hot water all day,nice comfortable beds( pushed together ) but made a very large sleeping area, plenty to do outside the hotel as it seems quite remote at first but the taxis are so cheap and nearly always parked opposite the hotel,5dinar to midune for shopping about £2 and main town hamlet souk 25 min ride 10 dinar £4, crocodile farm is just a 20 min walk or a 3 dinar taxi ride,we hired a taxi for 4 hours (negotiated) a price of 60 dinar approx £25 and asked him to take us to 4 different sites he also stopped off at a mosque and an olive oil making factory and some other interesting sites, we also had the control of how long we wanted to stay in any one place and not having to wait for the coach to move on, the weather was hot in the low to middle 30s for the 2weeks we were there but there was a lovely sea breeze blowing as you are yards from the beach,all in all, lovely large attractive hotel,decent food,lovely beach,friendly staff good beauty salon and spa and not far from attractions,go and see for yourself don't expect too much and I'm sure and hope you enjoy.

Room Tip: Front of hotel very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PAULS1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful buildings and landscaping. Brilliant French-language entertainment. Good food and nice wines except for breakfast & coffee.
Great international atmosphere with multi-lingual staff.
Problems: WiFi, Tunisian restaurant réservation, bad coffee.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gaetan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was our second time at this hotel, and we still can’t work out why the Brits are complaining!

They have been renovating the hotel over the winter months. All the dark wood has gone to white. Carpets in the public areas are being replaced with wooden flooring.
The main and biggest job is the outdoor restaurant. It was the only place I went into once on our first holiday and wouldn’t go in again. So once this opened again I’m sure it will be great.

Once again we had a fantastic holiday, met some lovely guests from other countries. But I’ve still got to say we met some great staff. A big thank you to the lovely shisha man Nsa. Billy the entertainer and the rest of the team. Plus great bar staff and waiters. A couple recognised us from last time and we even got the same room as I emailed a few days before we went.
What I’ve got to say once again is some of the staff cannot speak a word of English. They are not being rude. We was told by one waiter we knew that the ones who were having English lessons said that the English speak to fast! Take this on board, slow down when speaking and try a few French words also.

Comments about being bothered by the entertainers! Not getting it…. They did their job by asking if we wanted to join in, we always said no. Then off they went to the next person. Having said that we spent many an afternoon talking to them on the sunbeds during the quiet time. We got to know some of them well, and lovely hardworking people they are too. We may not want to join in but it doesn't stop us from getting to know them.

Once again I would recommend this hotel. With the improvements they are doing and helping the staff to learn English it can only keep getting better.

I would certainly go back myself. The only grip I would say is that the air-con needs to be put on for a longer season. We went from the 4th of May and had some overly hot days but no air-con. It was a pain in the rooms as it was so hot. They said it’s on from mid-June to Sept. This needs to be looked at and readdressed. I just hope the management don’t spoil it by doing all the improvements then won’t budge this issue. I'm also hoping by the end of all the jobs the sunbeds get replaced, they can be uncomfortable.

Other than that, go enjoy and get to know the staff and other guests. Its a fab place.

Room Tip: we loved block 3. Not too far from the main hotel but enough to avoid any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crunchynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Visited may/June 2014, do not go if you have a child in nappies, there are NO BABY CHANGING facilities, you have to put baby on the toilet floor, or go back to your room, some of which are away from main block and very dark at night, we were in block 6 our entrance lights were out also 5 out in our room, reported this but nothing happened, the grounds are infested with ants, nothing seems to be done about this problem either, stairs are slippy so be careful, myself and 2 others that I know of fell down the ones from hotel to pool, the hotel will be nice when it's finished but at the moment it's a building site, food not so good, pool not cleaned every day,
,

Room Tip: Hotel rooms have a lift, blocks don't so up 2 flights of steps if you have a pram block 6 very v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bnbmoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We read the usual bad reviews just before leaving and were shocked when we arrived! How beautiful is Djerba???? Flying over the island you get an idea of what is in store....perfect sandy beaches, shallow turquoise water and SUN!
The area is amazing - it is close to paradise, palm trees everywhere. The people of Djerba are friendly and welcoming, we were warned that they didn't speak English, but we found they were happy to chat with the English they knew. This is not your average "british" holiday - true there were more French, Germans and Italians there than English - but it was a refreshing change. We made a few friends and managed to communicate with our little French and their little English.
The Hotel is awesome - spotlessly clean. We had rooms in the main building and were pleasantly surprised. The main room had a massive comfy king size bed and there was a sliding door to another room with 2 single beds in, which also had its own wardrobes and dressing table and tv, although the channels were limited. We had a balcony which over looked the amazing beach!!! What a view to wake up to! The main dining room is large although I imagine in high season it will become chocka! The food was plentiful and fresh. The usual all inc stuff, aways meat, veggies, pasta etc. Huge choice of salads and fresh fruits. The cakes......what can I say...except the diet starts now! The drinks were good, huge measures! Good variety. Try the local date liqueur - whooo! Strong but tasty.
The only downside was there was only 1 bar by the pool and no snack bar as promised. But if you are going out from June onwards I don't think this will be a problem as they looked to be working on a new snack bar whilst we were there, which will make this hotel even better.
The pool area is lovely, small pool for little ones and a gently sloping walk into the big pool. The big pool is massive! Clean and well maintained. Garden areas are lovely full of flowers - don't know how they do it in the heat.
The weather was lovely - hot and sunny with a breeze coming in from the sea. There was only 1 day that was a little over cast.
There was, however, nothing to do at night. We would usually wander about the shops and bars whilst away - there are NO shops and bars!!! Well there is 1 little gift shop within 5 mins walk but that is it! So as long as you are happy to make your own entertainment you will be ok.
Whilst there we did the obligatory camel ride - lovely up and down the beach! We also went on a pirate ship trip - the kids loved this. Watch out on the prices of trips and activities - vendors wander about the hotel and beach trying to sell to you and their prices often seem good but actually you get a better deal going through the hotel reps. Just check prices before committing. The pirate trip i think it was from 8 till 4 - great day out and funny too! The ship takes you out to a nearby island to swim and play, you get lunch cooked and then fun and games on the way back. We also went to the Friday market - madness!!!! Just use a taxi for this - it took 10 mins to get there and cost about £2.50 for our family of 4. More stalls than you could shake a stick at!!! Lots of bargains to be had and a few better quality fixed price shops. Good fun as long as you are firm if you don't want items that are shoved at you!!!
We also went to the crocodile farm. We grabbed a horse and cart to take us to the croc park, which is also a museum and an area set up to show traditional life on Djerba. (this was all in the same place on cost about £7.00 an adult - worth it for a half day out.) We used a taxi on the way back and it was something like £1.50. The taxi's are all metered and sooo cheap and friendly. We went to the croc park about 9am and practically had the place to ourselves. Nice half day out.
We also went parascending - our first time, me, the hubby and our 10 year old. Awesome - it was 100 td (about £35) great views and an wicked experience!

We were worried about it not being hot enough as it was the last week in May - but the weather was lovely and the sun very hot 26+ but the sea breeze kept it lovely. The air conditioning wasn't on when we were there - we were told it came on in June - we slept ok though. It does cool down in the evenings so just pack a cardi!


All in all if you are after a relaxing chill out then this is the place for you!

Room Tip: We had room 734 in the main building - we couldn't have chosen better!!! the view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stokesclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midoun
2.7 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
6.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Resort & Thalasso, Djerba
4.7 mi away
Caribbean World Djerba
Caribbean World Djerba
#9 of 45 in Midoun
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
#3 of 102 in Djerba Island
1,518 reviews
2.9 mi away
SunConnect Djerba Aqua Resort
2.0 mi away
Iberostar Mehari Djerba
Iberostar Mehari Djerba
#2 of 102 in Djerba Island
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Helios Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Helios Beach

Property: Vincci Helios Beach
Address: Bp 243 | Taguermess, Midoun, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Midoun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Midoun
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Midoun
#1 Luxury Hotel in Midoun
#7 Romantic Hotel in Midoun
#8 Family Hotel in Midoun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Helios Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 354
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vincci Helios Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Helios Beach Hotel Midoun
Venta Hotel Helios
Venta Hotel Djerba
Vincci Helios Beach Djerba Island, Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing