We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - rip-off policy with the drinks”
Review of Green Palm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Green Palm
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Midoun
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This hotel is frequented by 70-80% of French guests, - so while some of the staff speaks German, English is not spoken here. This may be an issue for American or English speaking guests. ( I know because avoiding French, I realized English isnt getting me anywhere either)The Hotel is very clean and it deserves 4 European Stars, its not your typical run down vacation resort. The previous reviewer mentioned the beach wasn't close and hazardous to reach? The beach is like 400 Meters away, access given by very calm road. Not sure he reviewed the same hotel. There is a bar at the beach and the service is actually very good - very attentive staff. The beach itself is very clean, crystal clear water, very shallow for half a mile, just as you want it to be. The rooms are very big, separate toilet and shower, flat screen tv (2 german channels) and I also had a nice balcony overlooking the pool. I would have given the Hotel 5 Stars if the following things were improved: The A.C seems to either automatically turn off or is being turned off by the manager on some days. The hottest temperatures in my room were around 26 C Celsius 78 F. If I hadnt had my sunburn it wouldnve been as bad. The next days were hotter and the AC was turned on then. The prices for drinks, especially beer are too high. I paid 2,75 EUR for 0,25 Liters of local brew. This equates to 5,50 EUR per regular beer which is as high as Skandinavia. The pain threshold for Germans is around 3 EUR for regular beer. The cocktails and other drinks were also way more expensive than what I would pay back home in Berlin. Especially shocking since Tunisias gross domestic product per capita is 4 times lower than Germany. Some of the reader may think, well I will just buy my drinks in the supermarket outside and put them in the empty minibar. Great idea, the problem though is that the Gate to the Hotel has airport procedures and will not even allow you to bring a can of coke inside. Obviously they force you to buy EVERYTHING inside the hotel at high rates. My bill for just coffee, few beers, bottles of water ended up being 100 EUR for 9 days. Maybe an All Inclusive Hotel will be the better choice if one intends to drink a lot. I kept my consumption to the absolute minimum and I could've easily ended up spending twice as much on my drinks. Another thing: Get ear plugs if you may not hang out at the evening entertainment show...which happens to take place in the court of the hotel until after 11pm. Its impossible to sleep before that time unless you bring decent ear plugs. Conclusion: Book the hotel for the great food - the great service - the beautiful beach - the spacious rooms. Dont book if you want to have a calm vacation and dont want to spend too much extra on drinks.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the pool if you want to go to sleep before 11:20 pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank manuelrauch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

We spent a week here as part of deal from promovacances. The spa was great with attentive and competent staff, the accommodation was excellent, large clean rooms, good storage space, strong box, etc, but the catering was sub-standard. lacking imagination and authenticity. Despite confirmation to the contrary the beach installations were not in place and access on foot was hazardous to say the least.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw on ground floor were similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EguillesMichael_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

i was many times before in Green palm Hotel really as my review before it still lovely place where we can Enjoy. good serves kindly staff . I would like to say thanks for kindly attention of reception employee ( Yasmen ) & Polaris traveling ( Mr. Hatem ) . I hope for all to spend nice time . Thanks

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khaledi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Overall the quality of the food, service, and entertainment at the Green Palm Hotel was very much sub-par.

As part of our package purchased through Promovacances, our flight left from Paris at 5:30am, dropping us off in Djerba around 7:30am. Exhausted and eager to begin our vacation, we were welcomed by two very unfriendly receptionists who repeatedly told us that our room would be ready in about 15 minutes. Over two hours later, we were finally told that we would likely be unable to check in for another two hours. This level of competence seemed to be shared by most of the hotel staff, particularly the man promoting the spa in the lobby and the man promoting water sports (which can only be accessed by taking a 10 minute taxi ride).

While the room was acceptable, the entertainment appeared to severely lack in resources and the food (often recycled from previous days) is atrocious.

I will be sure to never return to this location.

Room Tip: Do not purchase diving packages and try to avoid booking your stay during Ramadan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jocelyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Spent a week in this hotel and although the place (almost brand new) did look good, the quality is far from what could be expected.
The place is quite noisy, canteen-like food, rooms are frustratingly small, the swimming pool was good I must admit but only from late in the afternoon when the water was finally clearing from the bunch of all-day-around-the-pool people.
Add to it the fact that the staff did never seem to have a clue about what quality service does mean (apart, mind you, from the wee shisha shop where this one guy working on his own was doing far better than the lot of his colleagues).
I did not have great expectations in the first place but, sadly, I found out that even low expectations could not really be matched.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This hotel is two years old and says that it is a "green" hotel.
1) Room :
Not too big not too small, nice view on the swimming pool
Hard bed, very noisy. you can hear your neighbor making babies and people walking in the corridor

2) Lobby :
Big, cold and smells of cigarette smoke

3) Bar in lobby :
Prices are reasonable but the doses are the strict minimum.
They have very nice almonds served with the aperitif

4) Dinning room :
VERY noisy,
Do not leave the bottle of wine you have not finished to be kept, a nice bottle of red Magon disappeared.
Wine starting at 12 euro

5) Food
Very basic, not well presented, the cook has to return to school. Even some taxi men said they have heard that the food is no good.
We had lovely lunches outside the hotel at : la Cote de boeuf, Haroun, Zamouri, Le Poisson d'Or, so in the evening we ate most of the time a salad a couple of oranges and a few dates
Even the pizza where basic, worse than a frozen pizza !!
They serve a lot of offal, no steak !!!

6) Staff
Very friendly, shamed of the quality of the food
Charming director, but did not listen to the query of it's guest saying that he does not get enough money from the travel companies

Conclusion :
Before I booked this hotel I had read the reviews in here, it looks that either they have been made by people that are satisfied with canteen food or the reviews are made by the hotel

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CBHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

really Green palm Hotel is Lovely stay . the staff is very friendly . food is good the rooms is clean by the way the photo of Green Hotel at Hotel wep was the real Hotel condition . special thanks to Polaris travel agency ( Mr. Hatem & Mrs,Patrisia ) they offered to us special price & great services . so in my mid now one idea to come back to Green palm in summer time ......

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Khaledi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Midoun hotels
1.6 mi away
Vincci Helios Beach
Vincci Helios Beach
#1 of 47 in Midoun
2,335 reviews
1.1 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
2 mi away
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
#2 of 47 in Midoun
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ksar Djerba
Ksar Djerba
#22 of 47 in Midoun
44 reviews
2.8 mi away
Les jardins de Toumana
Les jardins de Toumana
#19 of 47 in Midoun
132 reviews
3.6 mi away
El Mouradi Djerba Menzel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Palm

Address: Zone Touristique, Midoun, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Midoun
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Midoun
#15 Spa Hotel in Midoun
Price Range: £22 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Green Palm 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Green Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Palm Hotel Midoun
Green Palm Djerba Island, Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing