We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant hotel, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Joya Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Joya Paradise
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Midoun
Certificate of Excellence
Velika Gorica, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel, friendly staff”
Reviewed 2 September 2007

Good value for the price. Pleasant hotel, tidy rooms, clean swimming pools, tasty food, and friendly staff. The only negative thing - old shabby towels but clean. Overall impression 3-4, slightly above average. Sandy beach 10 minutes walking distance or by hotel horse carriage free of charge;)

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Towels
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BoneyS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    420
    142
    76
    50
See reviews for
346
364
82
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2007

Mariqueen Hotel on Djerba is rated a 4 star hotel by local authorities, but I would rate it as a 3+ star hotel.
Hotel guests are mostly from Check Republic, Slovenia, France, Croatia and Italy.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, although some are very pushy in trying to sell some extra services, such as spa treatments, tattoos, horse-back riding ecc. (but you can easily get rid of them by telling you don't have any money left to spend :))))
Rooms get cleaned every day, and towels also get changed every day, although they provide you with fresh towels late in the afternoon (but most probably you spend your days on the beach or pool, so it's not a problem).
Rooms are pretty spacious - you have a twin bed + TV area with a spare bed (even more comfortable than the "real" beds), and each room has a fridge and a hairdryer in the bathroom. Every room has a small terrace or balcony, and is surrounded with flowers and plants.
There are 2 swimming pools for adults + one for little children, and they are all extremely clean, so you'll enjoy a swim even if you usually don't like swimming pools. Those are really the cleanest pools I've ever seen!
The food is really nice - you have plenty of choice each evening (no pork, but you can survive without for a week or two), and you can try some tunisian specialities every night. Breakfast are also OK, they bake croissants and buiscuits that are really tasteful.
What else... you have a lot of animation program during the day, and the animators really do their best to make your stay pleasant and active. Even if you don't like cabaret shows, sketches or dancing performances, you will laugh a lot...
You have a really authentic Cafe Maure on the first floor with really tasty mint tea that is a local speciality.
The beach is 10 minutes away if you go on foot, or you can go in a horse-pulled carriage (free). Sunbeds and umbrellas are free on the pool, as well as on the beach.
What else to say... I hope you'll enjoy your stay at Mariqueen as much as me and my two friends!

  • Liked — Friendly staff, cleansiness
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Blonda_Hara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2007

Despite all the negative reviews on this website of the hotel, me and my girlfriend still decided to choose this hotel for our week long vacation. Upon arrival we were very suprised. The hotel staff greated us with complementary cocktails, and were very helpful, in assisting us with our bags. Their English is poor, however they did very hard to understand us. All the hotel staff were very friendly and tried to assist us with any questions or concerns we had.
Our room was cleaned daily with new towels left in the bathroom. The room was spacious and equipped with a queen size bed, a TV and a table, we also had a balcony with 2 chairs. The food was in the hotel was fine, a little bland at times however there was plenty of choices. The breakfest was fantastic, and there was plenty to choose from. For dinner there were a lot of salads and also a few meat choices. The hotel drinks were fine but very sweet, the beer was by far a lot better. The outdoor pool was large and clean, and the indoor pool was also open and heated. The upstairs lounge with the chichas was great and their coffee and "the de pignon" are a must.
The beach was about 200m away and was clean with plenty of loungers. We went in Febuary and the weather was averaging about 24C. The hotel is within walkable distance to the town of Midoun (took us about an hour at a slow pace), and a 15 min. cab drive to the capital of Houmt Souk.
Overall the hotel is a 4 star hotel. There is no noticable damage to the hotel and the hotel staff are genuinely friendly (as are the locals in the streets). Some of the tourists that post reviews on this website should understand that they are going to a developing country and the staff are trying their best to accomodate foreigners. Don't get frustrated if they don't understand you, try again and i'm sure you will get what you are asking for. We went into the hotel with an open-mind and were very satisfied. The hotel is very nice and clean and the staff very friendly.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank marcinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2006

Fortunately all we really wanted out of this week long vacation was sun, sand, and water so we didn't hang out at the hotel much. The hotel was definitely not 4 stars by any standard I know of. We were worried from the moment we pulled up at the hotel. The reception was dimly lit, hot, and filled with cigarette smoke. Our room was riddled with broken lights, flaking paint, half-functioning plumbing, ants, and the thinnest scariest matresses you've ever seen. The bed sheets were covered in a thin layer of sand when we arrived. Room service didn't replenish soap or shampoo and didn't clean the toilet area well at all. The food was typical buffet style reminiscent of a cheap Vegas hotel. The beach is actually 750 meters from the hotel, not 300 as advertised. The pool was nice but also a bit run down. Djerba was great and we don't regret going, but would definitely choose a different hotel if we were to do it again.

  • Liked — Close enough to walk to the beach, good hotel designated beach area.
  • Disliked — Cleanliness and disrepair
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go to the Mariqueen
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhg1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 July 2006

Well I just came back from my summer vacantion on Djerba. I stayed in the MariQueen Hotel for one week and enjoyed every day. The hotel has very big and confortable rooms with a toilete separeted from a quite big bathroom and air condition. The receiption was great, people were friendly but their English isnt at the best. Still communication with them is easy and you get information and money change quickly. I have to say that the staff is one of the friendliest I ever met. They smile and say hello every time and they work all days. If you have younger children then this is the hotel for you! They have a Mini Club at 8 oclock and they dance with the children and sing songs in many languages. And by day the animators talk and connect program for tourists which is a nice option to spend the day and nights by the hotel as there is not much nightlife on Djerba. Many hotels dont have any music or any clubs so this is a welcome change from the other hotels. The hotel is clean, the food was very european and tasty. Of course there are some things to fix like new paint here and there... or a new shower or a bit more things here or there. Still the hotel has the feel of Djerba and is a place you are more than welcomed to stay in. They really try to make the tourist feel at home and satisfied with them. I was impresed and very pleased with my vacantion.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midoun
1.1 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
Vincci Helios Beach
Vincci Helios Beach
#1 of 45 in Midoun
1,584 reviews
0.3 mi away
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
#2 of 103 in Djerba Island
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Les jardins de Toumana
Les jardins de Toumana
#14 of 45 in Midoun
117 reviews
2.2 mi away
Green Palm
Green Palm
#18 of 45 in Midoun
589 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fiesta Beach Club Djerba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joya Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joya Paradise

Property: Joya Paradise
Address: Zone Touristique, B.P. 357, Midoun, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Midoun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Midoun
#6 Spa Hotel in Midoun
#6 Luxury Hotel in Midoun
#7 Family Hotel in Midoun
#9 Romantic Hotel in Midoun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Joya Paradise 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Joya Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Joya Paradise Midoun
Joya Paradise Djerba Island, Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing