We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Mouradi Djerba Menzel
Nearby Hotels
Les jardins de Toumana(Midoun)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Joya Paradise(Midoun)(Great Value!)
US$44
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Vincci Helios Beach(Midoun)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$106
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$190
US$163
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Miramar Petit Palais(Midoun)(Great Value!)
US$108
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ksar Djerba(Midoun)(Great Value!)
US$44
US$34
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$157
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,352)
Filter reviews
2,352 results
Traveller rating
632
765
422
256
277
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
632
765
422
256
277
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspizzaanimation teamcrepesthe main hotelsaladgreat holidaywater sportstunamini discojet skiingpirate shipevery eveningmain barbig thankscouscouspoolstip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
357 - 362 of 2,352 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed for one week with our son and his partner (both in their 20's) - we were in great company and so enjoyed our holiday but it really could have been better. Unfortunately we found some of the staff rude, not just a little tired or grumpy but actually rude - it was Ramadam so we tried to be patient but for my husband to lose his temper, they were really trying to wind us up. Tipping didnt make any difference.

The first night we arrived we were put into two bungalows which were awful - really old and tired. We saw our rep the next day who after checking our paperwork saw that we had booked into the main hotel and he moved us. The rooms in the hotel were better but to be honest we soon realised that the hotel was probably 4 star 20 -30 years ago and very little has been done since except updating the bedding and curtains. Mostly it was clean but everything was old.

The food was mostly good but... you had to fight for it. We think the place was at full capacity and so everywhere was busy especially the restaurant (school canteen). Water should have been freely available but you had to ask for it at the table and then you had to queue for a bottle at night - it wasnt provided in the room. Most drinks were served in plastic cups unless you could get a seat near the entertainment which we tried to avoid after one night. We usually went to the Sunrise bar which was lovely but... you had to pay for drinks. A bottle of wine was about £10.

We recommend the Quad bikes and the Catarmaran trip - we were really lucky and saw dolphins which came to swim with the boat.

Most days we went to the infinity pool which was salt water. This may be why it was quieter as it wasnt really suitable for children to play in as it tasted horrible and stung your eyes.

All in all we were all in need of a relaxing break and so made the best of it but... needless to say we will not be returning to this hotel or Tunisia - there are far too many other places in the world where the staff are pleasant!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PaulandPaula187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Arrived back from two week stay at the end of July 2012

Reception;
Advice, email before you go just to make sure you get what you have booked. Everything o.k and a nice welcome after a long trip.

Rooms
A bit dated but clean on arrival with seaview and on a high floor as requested. BUT. I have to say the housekeeping was very poor and put this down to the fact that the hotel was short on staff. I think this is the poorest housekeeping I have come across ever..but hey were survived.

Restaurant.....Sorry CANTEEN... for those who like to dress up of an evening and make the effort then really this is not the place for you. Ques were long and disorganised,food a little bland and I think catered for the unadventurous and only a very small selection of Tunisian foods. The first few days we found it difficult to get a table but came across Nassar at the Calypso Open Restaurant and he looked after us for the rest of our stay, but did feel sorry for the waiters as they were so under staffed for the amount of people staying at the hotel.

Facilities
The beaches were fine, pools fine never had a problem with getting a table at the Calypso at lunchtime. Never a person to hang about with the entertainment team but it seemed like others were having a great time so each to their own.

Rep
Not the best we have had during our stay with Thomas Cook not sure if they were being asked to be in to many places at once.

Trips
Booked half day excursion around the Island with Rep, to be honest you can really do this yourself for a fraction of the cost and we ventured out and about in a local taxi that cost 4dinar to Midoun
Two day Sahara
This was a little disappointing as the coach was made up of mostly French people, not that I have a problem with them I just don't speak their language and two guides Michel and Karim. Karim was supposed to be our English speaking guide but found him to be quite lazy he would let Michel speak for most of the journey in French to the other passengers and then would add a few words at the end and then pass the microphone back to Michel I feel that we missed out on a lot of information throughout our long, long journey. BUT glad we did it as some of the scenery towards the atlas mountains were great. Matmata ( for all you star wars fans) a little disappointing so don't get to excited.

Would I visit again: No and this is because I still have a lot of other places that I would like to visit but we do love Tunisia, love the people, love the culture and I am sure you will enjoy your stay. It is not the best hotel we have stayed at in Tunisia but with a few more staff on hand I am sure things could improve. A holiday is what you make it as well, don't expect too much and you will not be disappointed. Happy Holidays..

Room Tip: Email reception for your room requirements before you leave the U.K
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mod1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Just arrived back from a very relaxing 2 week stay at this hotel; myself and partner and three teenagers. We liked the low level spread out nature of the grounds; nothing over 3 storeys and although the out-lying grounds are basically dry sand with gardens along the paths, it's what you'd expect in such a dry climate. Everything was kept clean and tidy, inside and out. Cleaners and maintenance team seemed busy all the time. The main reception and bar areas were all well appointed, pleasant and cool.
We stayed in two rooms in one of the outlying menzel blocks (T) about 5 minutes walk away from the main entrance and 10 minutes walk from the main pool and beach areas. Our teenage son was in the same room as us, which was a bit of a disappointment as I had understood from previous reports that the menzel units were on two levels with separate rooms. maybe some of the other blocks are? Rooms were basic and a little tired but clean and perfectly adequate and everything worked. The beds were clean and comfortable but the linen wasn't changed during our stay; this was in contrast to the fresh towels we got every day. Airconditioning worked well, which was important as the temperature was in the mid thirties. The over bath shower was a bit weak and the pressure dropped a bit at teatime when demand was high. On the whole we were very satisfied with the room.

We thought the food was lovely and plentiful. There were different dishes every lunch and dinner as well as regular staples such as rice and pasta. Hot meat / fish and vegetable section, lots of salad variations, tunisian specialities and beautiful desserts, ice cream and fruit. There was usually someone cooking something fresh as well; deep fried mashed potato(sounds weird but was lovely) BBQ fish and meats and seafood as well as pizzas. Saying that there was always a queue for the chips?? At breakfast again a wide choice; cereals, yogurts, continental style meats and cheese, salads, boiled and scrambled eggs, hot meats and vegetables, pancakes, the deep fried doughy fritters were very popular and the omeletes were delicious. Freshly squeezed orange juice cost an extra 2 dinars (40p) a glass but was well worth it.
Drinks were Ok, beer a bit weak and some of the wine a bit rough around the edges. Water always available. Strong cocktails and some unusual tastes but what's the point of going somewhere different if you're not going to embrace new experiences?
The waiters were very friendly and obliging - more so once you had given them a tip. this doesn't bother us; you don't need to give them especially big tips and it's just the culture. Also making an effort with the language we find always helps, we do find us brits particularly bad at that; a little bit of 'get-by' french goes a long way. The only staff who weren't very helpful or friendly were the reception staff!

The pool areas were all clean well maintained on the whole, plenty of sunbeds with comfy cushions but you had to get up early (7ish) to bag the best spots. We found the front tier of the round pool area next to the beach very peaceful and relaxing as the activities tended to be kept around the central areas. We were never mithered to join in, which suited us well. There were people selling the extra paid-for activities around the pool, some of which we did, but on the whole you were left alone.
This is not the place to come if you are looking for a perfect beach and sea. It was quite a narrow strip and not very comfortable to walk on due to the stones and some rocks. the sea did have patches of weed and some of this was evident on the beach but we didn't think it smelt offensive and we only saw the tractors clearing it away a couple of times. We enjoyed swimming and snorkelling from the beach and off one of the jettys. For us these slight negatives didn't spoil the appeal of the place , at all, though. It was still lovely lying on a lounger looking out over the sea. The sea was quite busy with jet skis and the banana/ fly boat going up and down and the parascending boat in the late afternoon but the place never felt uncomfortably busy though - not crammed with people at all.
The entertainment team obviously worked very hard - mini disco and dancing most evening and some form of cabaret or other entertainment every night. we didn't watch much of it and found it peaceful and cool in the main bar playing cards and pool and chatting. The Sunset bar at the Aquacentre end of the resort is also a haven of peace in the evening but you do have to pay for your drinks down there. We saw several shooting stars there.

We did the activities included in the all inclusive; pedaloes and kayaking (you need to get a ticket EACH from reception before you head down there, though) we also went jetski-ing a couple of times (£12 for 2 or single £16 for 10 mins. We had a brilliant time quad biking (£10 each for 2 up or single £16) for an hour and a halfs trip (good way to see the surrounding area) We went out on the catamaran - brilliant getting very wet bouncing over the waves looking for dolphins (didn't see any) and swimming in the open sea. Take a big hat and plenty of sun block - very hot by the time you get back at midday and no shade. We also really enjoyed the horse / camel ride across the lagoon (£10 each for a 2 hour trip) although half an hour of this is just spent hanging around on the beach, which we didn't mind. We thought all the activities were very reasonable.
We also went on the Sunset cruise - bus ride to the Pirate Boat - worst chips I have ever seen/ tasted so didn't chance the prawns and you have to pay for the drinks on the boat. Drop you of on the spit of land they call Flamingo island - time to explore and then you're given a basic meal - music and dancing and a bit of 'entertainment' then you're driven back in landcruisers over the sandy tracks in the dark - very exciting we all loved this bit.

We also went on the two day oasis safari - good value for money but a very long drive (6 hours) which the rep Rachid wouldn't tell us about before we booked it. Saying that we really enjoyed the experience and probably wouldn't have gone if he had told us!? It was a really interesting trip.

So on the whole we've had a great holiday and would return but probably not in the heat of the summer and not at Ramadan next time!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Me and My husband spent our honeymoon (27th May for 1 week) at the El Mouradi Djerba Menzel and we absolutely loved the hotel and the staff. Dont get me wrong the language barrier was a bit of a pain at times but you soon get over it. We told them it was our honeymoon and it was my birthday during the stay but they didn't seem understand that much. They did offer to upgrade the room but due to the constant staff changes it was hard to find the same receptionist twice. It didn't really matter because the room we had was lovely anyway.

We were disappointed with our rep though. He were told to come to the welcome meeting which was going to be 30 minutes but turned out to be nearly 2 hours listening to him talking about excursions which we were not interested in at all. There was a 2-3 day trip but as we were only there 1 week it wasn't really something we would have been interested in. We also told him about it was our honeymoon and he said "well its not in my book/notes" as if we were lying or he wasn't that bothered. My husband also told him it was my birthday during the stay and again he said he had no notes of it even though he must have had my details including my DOB. He made no effort to help my hubby organizes anything special for me so hubby was really annoyed and upset that he couldn't sort me out a cake or something. This wasn't the hotels fault but Thomas Cooks problem. We went on one excursion he reckoned and it was terrible. It was billed as boat trip but it was actually 30 minutes on a boat, dumped on a island/beach for 2 hours with no shade followed by some food and then a bit of entrainment were they took mike out of Brits and then 30 minutes back on the boat. It really wasn't worth the money which i think was a bout £25 each. Especially as we were not aware we would be dumped on the beach so didn't bring a towel to sit on. Another couple we were talking to were not told to bring any money so they couldn't get a drink during the whole trip, obviously we offered to get them one. We were asked to fill in a form to say that we enjoyed our stay and flights while on the coach back to the airport which was weird and we didnt fill in most of it.

We had a 2 storey room so the bathroom and wardrobes were down stairs and bedroom and balcony was upstairs. The room was a 2 minute walk to the facilities, entrance and beach.

There are 5 bars in the hotel, 2 of which you need to pay for. The bar staff are really lively and lovely, especially if you give them a cheeky tip (1 diner is about 30p) they will bring you drinks, reserve you seating etc. One evening we went to the sunset bar for a drink after the all inclusive bar had shut but as it was open air and on the beach there was a bit of a chilly breeze coming over so we had a quick drink and went back to our room. Unless you are paying for the cocktails, there aint that great. Personally, i didn't really enjoy any of the drinks while we were there as i prefer just vodka and coke or something fruity but i didn't really like the drinks. My hubby loved the brandy though. The cocktails which were on the all inclusive menu were terrible to be honest, you get a different variety of one every time you order. The ones we paid for were lovely though and tasted like a proper cocktail but were quite expensive.

We loved the food, the breakfast was lovely and they did amazing omelettes which my hubby loved. The lunch was really good and had a real lovely mixture of foods and traditional tunisan food. Dinner was the same as lunch but also did fresh pizza. During the day by the pool, they had pancake, popcorn and pizza stands/stations so you will never go hungry. On one evening, they had a Tunisian bbq night which was lovely. We walked up to the restaurant and there was 4 huge tuna fish hanging up and 2 canoes full of shrimps and mussels. My hubby was super impressed and loved it. On another evening. they had a traditional Tunisian night and again the food was lovely. If you like it spicy you will love it. Also, there was a Al La Carte Restuarant which you can go to once during your stay at Lunch time. The food was lovely and it was nice environment to have a special lunch. Oh and a tunisian restuarant which is also Al La Carte and you have a 5 course meal which was absolutely gorgeous.

The hotel had 3 outdoor salt water swimming pools and we mostly spent time around the main pool and a smaller on which was a lot quieter. Like all hotel, if you want a sun lounger you need to get up early which isn't a problem for us as my hubby is a early riser. The weather was lovely and really hot so if you get a opportunity for sun lounger by the quieter pool you also get the benefit of the sea breeze which helps keep you cool.

There was a indoor pool and spa i think but we didn't use it.

There is a private beach for the hotel which is monitored by security so you dont have to worry about wanders coming over and routing through your stuff while you are in the sea.

The animation staff was really good and did lots of activities for all the family. The day time activities seemed really fun but we didn't take part just watched as they did aqua fit, dancing lessons, aerobics etc. We were more interested in the pool and sunbathing to be honest. The evening entertainment was really really good. They did lots of different acts done by the staff or people who come along such as magicians etc.

The flight over was with Nouvel Air and we actually loved it. The plane was spacious and you didn't have the TV etc so me and the hubby could just sit and chat for a few hours in peace where the Flight attendants ain't trying to sell you stuff like earphones, perfume etc.

Overall, we loved the stay and just wish the Thomas Cook rep had try to make a bit of a effort for us seeing as it was our honeymoon...well it was the day after our big day :-) If they had made a bit more of a effort we would have been over the moon.

XxXxXxXxXx

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amandas24hatfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

We spent 1 week at this hotel at the end of may, it was our honeymoon. We landed at around 2200 and was met by rep Rachid at the airport, and shown to the coach by Rachid and during our journey to the hotel we was given forms to fill out but no pen lol, luckily we managed to borrow one from another holiday maker, when we arrived at the hotel we was asked to leave a tip to the driver Mr Ali, even though we already paid for transfers. The next day we went for the rep meeting which mainly consisted of Rachid trying to sell the 3 day trip on the mainland, we did book one trip to flamingo island on pirate ship, I wouldn't recommend it unless you like being stranded on a desert island with nothing to do for 3 hours after a boat trip that makes the woolwich ferry look like fun. I spoke to Rachid and asked him if there is anything I could do for my new wife as it was our honeymoon and also her birthday, he didn't want to know and even walked off mid conversation to take a call! The hotel was lovely and so was the hotel staff they bent over backwards for the guest, the rooms where cleaned daily. We had a wonderful honeymoon and really liked the resort, I recommend the crocodile park. The only thing that let the holiday down was the lack of caring by Rachid, even at the end of the holiday when waiting for the coach which was late Rachid wasn't there to make sure we got on the correct coach.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee35ux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews