We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hell hole!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Mouradi Djerba Menzel
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Midoun
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This place is hell on earth,arrived 4 am,was told by the rep there would be 4 staff at reception to check us in,only one for a full coach And one bloke in a golf buggy to take everyone to there rooms,what a joke,had to change rooms as very dirty and large ants on our balcony and some other insect in the room,new room had a few problems that we was told would be sorted out ASAP,wardrobe doors falling off and hard to move never did get sorted so lived out of our suitcase the whole week,hairdryer didn't work,someone came to fix it 3 times but did nothing,only after complaining to the rep did it get sorted, well it got changed to a very old one that burnt your hands using it,the food is terrible and cold,lucky if you get one drink with your meal unless you tip,which we did but still got lousy service,food at the bbq was nice but ended up with a bad tummy the 2 time we went there and still have it now,the hotel grounds are georgous but that's all that it has going for it,this hotel has been a complete joke from the minute we got there till we left,when we finally left,if you have booked this hotel I would suggest changing it,everyone cheered on our plane when it touched down and we have never been so relieved to be home.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Theresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,263)
There are newer reviews for El Mouradi Djerba Menzel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 2,263 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were so excited to be going to Djerba never been before and trust me, will never go back again!! We stayed in Prisoner cell block Y. The room was shabby and smelly, wardrobe doors were hanging off. When we opened the curtains we were greeted with a very baron outlook with chickens in an enclosed pen - oh and not forgetting the "Cock-a-doodle-doo who expressed his voice morning noon and night! The hotel ran out of all spirits for 3 days. There are inadequate public toilets for the size of the complex and not cleaned often enough. Very rarely had toilet tissue, soap or hand towels. There are however handy little hoses in the loo's for when the upset belly kicks in and you have no choice but to use them. Shortage of sunbeds so you need to be down before the cock crows. The food wasn't brilliant and often cold as the staff went off to pray. There were 6 in our party and 5 of us had really bad stomachs. If you fancy purchasing a souvenir from the shop - be careful that you don't stand on any bodies - there were two men asleep on the floor! I found most of the staff very pleasant and we tipped them well (not their fault that they work in a dump). This is definitely NOT a 4* hotel, more like a 2*. I am not fussy when going abroad but this place is the pits and we couldn't wait to get home. Been home now 5 days and still got bad stomach??
Please we warned, where excellence comes from is beyond me.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Had a excellent week, staff very friendly and helpfull, lovely surroundings and loads of things to do.
I have seen other negative comments, but if you pay 3* prices don't expect 5*, yes there are smells, but Tunisia does not have the luxury of a sewage system like the UK, and I have been to other places in Tunisia and got the same smell.
Your in a foreign country don't expect fish and chips and roast's, your not going to get it.
Some parts of the hotel are be refurbed, so not all rooms are the same standard, but I don't go on holiday to sit in my bedroom ours was clean and comfortable, would I go again, hell yes.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 601Daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Nice beach, but lot of seaweed(cleaning everyday). Good services at pool, bar on beach offer only nonalcoholic drinks or beer(Heineken) for cash. Good animations programs. tennis courts and small football field in terrible condition(we only walk around). Good food all day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FakyCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We arrived with great expectations after reading reviews on here. We were left a little disappointed.

On arrival we were told that our room would be ready but we were kept waiting for nearly 2 hours! The reception area looks great and we was hopeful about our room!

The room was very dated. The door key hardly worked and there was an odd smell! The sink stank and the bath was rusting and slightly mouldy! 2 out of 3 patio chairs were broken. The room was comfortable enough and it was great you did not have to pay for deposit box, although strangely you had to pay a deposit for the remote for the TV?!

The hotel has 3 pools and sunbeds fill up extremely quickly! The views and pool area at the round pool were amazing and the pool was very clean! The square pool is very busy with kids and the larger pool seemed quite dirty with broken tiles. The pool bar served pizza and pancakes and we also discovered a snack bar serving panini (the best food at the hotel)! Expect to queue for a very long time especially for the pancakes! It's not uncommon for them to close the stands despite people queuing for over 40 minutes without warning!

The main restaurant was always extremely busy especially at lunch and dinner. There seemed to be a lot of workers doing not a lot! A lot of tables were not cleared and the waiter service was poor! You would only get one drink so my advice would be request a bottle of water as it lasts longer. The food choice was the same for lunch and dinner almost everyday. Some days there was a barbecue and live stands. The food was luke warm and tasteless from the buffet so we usually queued for pizza! On our first night a large fight also broke out which didn't give the best impression.

There are many bars throughout the hotel and despite being told by a barman they only served spirits for 2 hours a day we had another barman who looked after us and would bring us drinks as soon as they were empty! The rose wine and beer was very good! If you are to leave the bar area you are only allowed a plastic cup which is no bigger than 2 shot glasses!

The evening entertainment was not entertaining! If you wanted a decent view you had to get there extremely early. The entertainment area is outside which is great and there is a nightclub at the hotel but we did not go here. They have a beach party on Wednesdays which they are very keen to sell to you!

The hotel is 3* rating at a push. It could do with a huge refurbishment. We have been to Tunisia before to a 4* hotel and the contrast is huge! We tolerated this hotel for a week but certainly won't be rushing back. I do not know where these 5 star reviews come from but whilst we stayed one couple viewed 21 rooms and were unhappy with them all and at least 3 families moved hotels! The hotel has potential but l would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank chiv69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

this hotel is terrible do not go there, food was awful,rooms were not nice, things were broken . no air-conditioning in reception nor the dining room , staff were miserable also ran out of spirits for three days the main swimming pool was dirty,will not go there again

Room Tip: don't have any people changing rooms all the time, try go8
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janet202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Have just returned from 2 weeks here,room in Y block disgusting,smelt of sewer all the time we were there, bathroom dirty, fridge is a cooler only.Not enough toilets by the pools and are not cleaned often enough or restocked for the amount of people staying that goes for the toilets inside the building also.Everything is very shabby and no air-con anywhere. We were a group of 6 and were all ill from the food 2 of us only just recovering. Staff very ignorant unless you tip and then they look after you.Getting a sunbed get up early there down at 6am putting towels on not enough for the amount of people there.Run out of Vodka, gin,whisky for 4 nights beware. I cannot stress enough how bad this place is, i wish i'd been warned, please believe me if you have kid's even more so, the food is awful no choice for the British.

Room Tip: Please dont go.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Jacquifaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midoun
2.7 mi away
Vincci Helios Beach
Vincci Helios Beach
#1 of 46 in Midoun
1,972 reviews
6.6 mi away
Caribbean World Djerba
Caribbean World Djerba
#8 of 46 in Midoun
880 reviews
4.6 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Green Palm
Green Palm
#22 of 46 in Midoun
684 reviews
4.7 mi away
SunConnect Djerba Aqua Resort
5.4 mi away
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
#3 of 103 in Djerba Island
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mouradi Djerba Menzel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Djerba Menzel

Address: BP 163 - Midoun Djerba, Midoun, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Midoun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Midoun
#9 Spa Hotel in Midoun
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Midoun
Price Range: £39 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Mouradi Djerba Menzel 4*
Number of rooms: 635
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Mouradi Djerba Menzel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Djerba Menzel Hotel Midoun
El Mouradi Djerba Menzel Midoun
El Mouradi Djerba Menzel Djerba Island, Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing