We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst holiday EVER!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Mouradi Djerba Menzel
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Midoun
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst holiday EVER!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel is disgusting!
The staff are unhelpful and don't speak English because they only cater for the French and Germans.
The food is beyond vile with nothing for children!
When we asked if they would serve chips we were told NO!!! Yet day in day out they served the same oily slop on dirty uncleaned plates.
The pool was really dirty and hasn't been cleaned in days.
It had broken tiles all around it which resulted in a child from our group slicing her finger open and needing several stitches which were not done correctly and she has since had it restitched on our return !!
The rep was no help at all!!
This hotel has honestly put me off ever returning to Tunisia and also booking with thomas cook because the star rating on this hotel was very misleading !
I would advise never to go to this hotel even if it was free.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mjk08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    688
    385
    227
    229
See reviews for
706
649
89
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Arrived on 12 July at 4 am one man on reception for coach full . Got to room by 5 . Room dated and not clean . Food not good and always running out tables not cleared . Cleaning of rooms no towels on 3 days not even cleaned on one day . The main salt water pool was dirty and had broken tiles . Not enough staff for the amount of guests . Worst hotel have ever stayed in .

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Midoun hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The staff don't want to help the english at all. All they speak is French and German. Needs updating. Rooms not great. Food is appalling same things everyday cold food and poor choice. You have to get up at five to get a sun bed. Beach is rocky and seaweedy not worth visiting as it stinks. Nothing to do here. Four days is long enough. Don't bother coming here

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Britsabroadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We got a dirty room, very loud aircon, far from center building. Head of reception promises change tomorow. Next day, they show even worse rooms. Same thing for other guests.
Food is raw. Only positive was the waiters. Seashore full of seaweed.Wifi does not work.
Would not stay there again, not four star.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunis, Tunisia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I have previously visited El Mouradi Mahdia Excellent hotel & personnel, which encouraged me to stick to the same Chain in Djerba! But that was big mistake. I am just back from a short stay with my family in El Mouradi Djerba, really deceived!!!
Big and Over-crowded hotel. The personnel are unpleasant and confused, starting from the reception, the cleaning ladies to the restaurant to the pool/beach guards …. This is the first time I had my beach towels stolen,I kept waiting for more than 1 hour to get a pizza, pasta, pancake or ice cream, and when I arrive they just tell you it’s FINISH!!!! Rooms smell moisture with bathrooms suffering from purulence.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chiraz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Having arrived on the 27th July to this hotel I was shocked by the size of it and just how many people are staying here! I don't complain about many things and use the El Mouradi chain of hotels whenever I'm in Tunisia. But this hotel is far to over populated for the staff to cope...meal times are a free formal fight and long cues and waits and most of the time the food has gone when you get there! Snack bars through out the day are a waste of time unless you like an hour que! Drink are few and far between unless you tip well and even then you have a long wait while he fetches a tray full. Entertainment at night is typical of Tunisia (garbage) and it's all in french and German. This is defo a french hotel then German and English is low down on the list and the staff and animation team really struggle to speak English and understand! There are a massive shortage of tables and chairs for the entertainment at night and if your not seated by 8pm forget it. If your a keen sunbather like me be sure to set your alarm by 5 am or its simple...the Germans will snap up the few beds there are and you will be on the floor with your towel. My final moan is the beach...well tbh you can't call it a beach..just seaweed and rocks unlike sousse and it's golden sands. On the plus my room is clean and free safety deposit box in room, free towels, and free water which in normal El Mouradi 4 star hotels you have to pay for!. Free mats on your sun loungers if you get up at 5am! The day time animation team are great and get you and the kids involved and finally in the end...what we all go for...the weather...FANTASTIC. Will I visit this hotel again? no it will be back to the El Mouradi palace in kantoui, the best hotel in Tunisia. This is a genuine review from someone who visits Tunisia 3 times a year for the last 15 years and is my honest opinion. And trust me I don't moan I just get on and make the best....I hope this helps? Happy hols

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We went for a 2 week relaxing holiday and that's what we got ! Second time here and would highly recommend . We only paid £625 each for 2 weeks and feel that the standard of the hotel, food ,drinks and location was great value. It was very busy during our second week due to the kids school holidays , and yes there was lots of queing but there was also alternative restaurants and bars within the complex that you could use. Beach barbecue and Calypso bar and restaurant were lovely. Staff were friendly but at times we were embarrassed how some holiday makers left their manners at home , being rude and arrogant apperared to be second nature to some people. At the buffet restaurant some people rushed around as though they had never been fed and some even complaining there was nothing to eat, where else could you not only have a substantial variety of buffet foods but also fresh tuna, seafoods and chicken, not to mention the lovely desserts and ice cream !!!!!!!!! If we are looking for another value for money holiday we would not hesitate to return but as a couple we would go either earlier or later in the season. If you expect English food and English culture please stay in england . This is north Africa were people work hard and appreciate the little they do have. You will have a fantastic time if you are prepared to embrace their culture. If you go along the beach to your left and outside the complex you will find a lovely little seafood restaurant, lovely and romantic , great seafood and again great value for money .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chrisbillyliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midoun
2.1 mi away
Hotel Djerba Castille
2.7 mi away
Vincci Helios Beach
Vincci Helios Beach
#1 of 45 in Midoun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
4.6 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Palm Azur
Hotel Palm Azur
#27 of 103 in Djerba Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.9 mi away
Winzrik Resort & Thalasso Djerba
5.5 mi away
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
#2 of 103 in Djerba Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mouradi Djerba Menzel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Djerba Menzel

Property: El Mouradi Djerba Menzel
Address: BP 163 - Midoun Djerba, Midoun, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Midoun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Midoun
#17 Spa Hotel in Midoun
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Midoun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — El Mouradi Djerba Menzel 4*
Number of rooms: 635
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Mouradi Djerba Menzel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Djerba Menzel Hotel Midoun
El Mouradi Djerba Menzel Midoun
El Mouradi Djerba Menzel Djerba Island, Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing