We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“prison life is better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Mouradi Djerba Menzel
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Midoun
Reviewed 16 August 2014

On reading the last review I feel I have to write a review and warn British people to steer clear of this disgusting dirty hotel on an island that is just one big rubbish tip. I had heard from people that the hotel staff where getting people to write nice reviews in return for favours in the hotel (getting into the A la carte restaurant and bbq more than once per stay or that the reviews where from English girl who are going out with staff at the hotel) This has to be true as the el mouradi hotel I stayed in was in the middle of nowhere the rooms disgusting with live wires hanging out of the plug sockets, dirty bath and toilet and most night spent catching cockroaches! meal times where like the last day before the world ends and only one shop has food......charge,push,fight any way to try get a warm meal. in the uk we are taught manners to cue and wait! but seen as the hotel is full of Tunisians Libyans and French it was a waste of time! It was disgusting and the second week ate out everyday to get a nice relaxing meal together. the pool was dirty with black algae growing all up the sides of the main pool and a few people had got blisters from allergies from the dirty water (poor little toddlers drinking that water) and the paradise beach lol what a disgrace piles and piles of rotting seaweed left in the sun smelling of sewer mmmm really got your appetite up for meals! the entertainment is stupid immature and boring, oh and in French, german,dutch every language but English.....no chairs or tables and no drinks unless you tip tip tip.....the trooth is this is not an English hotel at all as everyone speaks French. I wondered why only Thomas cook fly to this island and now I know! Thomson and all the rest would not bring there holiday makers who have saved all year to a dump like this! I am disgusted Thomas cook have put there name to this hotel let alone give it 4 stars and im sure very soon will be pulling out of this hotel with the amount of complaints! oh even the rep is Tunisian and a complete wet lettuce who promises you the world and on the coach back to the airport spends ten minutes explaining he is only human and makes mistakes lol brilliant. To sum up this holiday I met a lovely couple and in his younger day the man had served 5 years in prison...I will never forget his comment on leaving..."IF I HAD THE CHOICE AGAIN I WOULD DO THE 5 YEARS THAN COME BACK HERE, MY ROOM WAS CLEANER, THE PRISON WAS CLEANER, PEOPLE SPOKE ENGLISH AND YOU NEVER HAD CUES LIKE THIS TO GET 3 MEALS A DAY! hahaha brilliant, I cried with laughing, but do you know what? he meant it! hope my review helps and im sure a lot reading it will agree this is the proper EL MOURADI MENZAL REVIEW

Room Tip: make sure you get one in the hotel and not menzals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank annette e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 2,289 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and the first time I have ever written a review on her but I felt compelled to write this review in the hope that it will give a true reflection of what this hotel is really like... After reading the last few reviews I did in fact wonder if some of the people were actually staying in the same hotel!
I also believe that if you break down the daily cost of this holiday you would not expect to stay in a 4 star hotel all inclusive in the UK along with travel for a mere £40 a day... So with this in mind are people that naive to think they are visiting the Hilton!
We also arrived in the morning and were not able to go to our rooms until 3 pm but isn't that the same in the UK ? So we went to the pool via the air conditioned reception and drank plentiful drinks from the bar!
We did not have to get up at 5 am for a sun bed... Most mornings we arrived at the pool at around 10 and being a family of 7 were still able to get beds.
The food choice is incredible and all the moans from people saying you had to queue for food then yes... If you choose to eat from the counters were they are freshly making your individual choice.... Would you not queue in McDonald's / sit and wait in a restaurant! Comments on here about the staff being rude?? I wonder if it was in fact the moaners that instigated this because throughout our stay every member of staff on being greeted with a hello would be very kind and friendly.
The menzels... Plain a little tired but clean and cleaned daily... For the two hours a day and to sleep it fit the purpose... And as for those that say there were bugs/ cracked tiles then it would be great to come and do a trip advisor review on your house! The animation team work very hard along with every member of staff working constantly every day without a full day off.
The comment that really made be laugh was the one about the beach being stoney and full of seaweed... Hellloooooo it's a beach!!!!
We have had a fantastic holiday here and would recommend it to anybody... All I ask is that please do not be put off by some peoples totally unrealistic expectations.

Stayed: August 2014
9  Thank Racisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had never been to tunisia before and this hotel turned out best holiday EVER! The hotel in itself was amazing, and we have no complaints, i have no idea where the negative reviews are coming from! We rarely needed to leave the complex becaue of all the thingd that there was to do! Water aerobics with Mimo every day wa our highlight and we miss it already, every body got involved! The evening entertainement was also top notch, we were told that going abroad entertainment was bad but it was fantastic here! The animation team are the best I have ever come across,and all made conscious efforts to speak to us and make us feel welcome! Mimo, bibo, momo, sovienne, and ALL of the others deserve a huge pat on the back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Bethany-Antonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Arrived around 11.00am to be told you couldnt get your rooms till 2.30 so with no air con in the hotel, been 5month pregnant, travelling with two young children and been travelling since 1.30 in the morning this wasnt a good start.They was no were to keep cool and all the kids wanted to do was go in the pool but wernt able to so first day was waisted just hanging around the un air conditioned hotel. When we were shown our room we found we had no bath plug so informed the cleaner who did try to get us one but ended up with one that didnt fit. We then went to reception to let them no, they didnt have a clue what we were talking about just laughed we ended up at reception 4times about the same problem but never got it resolved. We ended up having to have a bath with water constantly running to then find we had no hot water the full holiday not even the slightest bit warm!!! Our room was not cleaned the full holiday, beds not changed once I no this as we have suntan lotion for the kids that is blue when you first put it on and we got it on the sheets a little the first day to find the same mark was still their the day we left. When it came to meal times it was like a cattle market, found staff very rude they didnt care who they bumped into and expected you to move out of their way. The food was terrible even just pasta, you had to wait bout 20 to 30 mins to get anything and it was self service. The chefs had a break half way through service for 20 mins so if you wanted anything you had to wait. We had trouble getting some butter the manager told us to put our food in the bin and start again after their break! U couldnt get bottles of water for your room till 8.00pm so our first day when we asked for some water to take to our room around 4.00pm we got told we couldnt have any, bearing in mind we had two young children and I was 5months pregnant the manager told us we had to walk to the pool bars to get a tiny plastic cup of water to take to our rooms this was at least a 20min walk to our room. I couldnt wait to go home im just glad we only went for 1week and speaking to the other english their not one of then enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1c2h3e4z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

how people can say this is a good hotel is beyond me i have trravelled all over the world and stayed in 5 star 4 star hotels and can honestly say this hotel is worse then any 2 star hotels in turkey or spain filthy poor quality right across the board they are robing the british dont be supprised if thomas cook withdraw this substandard hotel holiday 50 brits on coach transfer back today every one said the same some had stayed 1 wk they was lucky we had to suffer the 2wks and i will never go to this country again you have been warned dont go i was with my husband my grandson and my 75yr old mother lorraine hull east yorkshire .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Lorraine660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This experience of going to this hotel was a disaster we walked into the main hall there was no clean classes to get a drink from we was going to stay in a room that smelt like piss they rarely should stop people from going and I'm 13 I went with me great nana who is 75 my nana who is 53 and my grandad who is 52 there is only 1 pool that is not salt water. The hotel staff you got some nice ones and some bad ones. They say this is a 4 star I would rate it a 2 star. Jack from Hull

Room Tip: We had to pay 70 English pounds to get the room we booked for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel has some bad reviews about the floor being dirty and the rooms , my experience in this hotel was amazing and didn't come across any of these problems my only fault with the hotel was the food but I am a fussy eater. This hotel is perfect for families as the animation team are amazing , mido momo bibo and slim are amazing and so are the others everyone was very friendly and welcoming would recommend to anyone xxx

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dionne1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midoun
2.7 mi away
Vincci Helios Beach
Vincci Helios Beach
#1 of 46 in Midoun
2,273 reviews
6.6 mi away
Caribbean World Djerba
Caribbean World Djerba
#7 of 46 in Midoun
906 reviews
4.6 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Green Palm
Green Palm
#19 of 46 in Midoun
716 reviews
5.8 mi away
Isis Hotel Thalasso and Spa
1.7 mi away
Seabel Aladin Djerba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mouradi Djerba Menzel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Djerba Menzel

Address: BP 163 - Midoun Djerba, Midoun, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Midoun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Midoun
#12 Spa Hotel in Midoun
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Midoun
Price Range: £23 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Mouradi Djerba Menzel 4*
Number of rooms: 635
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Mouradi Djerba Menzel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Djerba Menzel Hotel Midoun
El Mouradi Djerba Menzel Midoun
El Mouradi Djerba Menzel Djerba Island, Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing