We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Palmiers Chez Neji et Catherine

Les Palmiers Chez Neji et Catherine
Ranked #5 of 27 Restaurants in Midoun
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Tunisian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Rather a small and very casual restuarant, typical tunisian food with a long list of meals to choose from.
We were a group of eight and all ordered different meals; everyone was happy with their meal: very yummy food, and great, yet simple, execution. Only exception was for the Bolognese my niece ordered, not a surprise as it's not really a Tunisian specialty.
Service was great: free "mise en bouche", free tea and a platter of fruit to finish.
If you are in for some grillades, try and make it there before 10 pm: they do run out of fish and sea food quickly, which is a sign of fresh daily supply !
Having been to other restaurants on the island, I believe Les Palmiers has one of the best Value for money. A definite Recommend !

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bourribourri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    75
    14
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Went here base on other TA reviews. Waiting staff''s english is basic, menu is only in french, alcohol is not served, credit cards are accepted. We asked our hotel staff to describe the location of this restaurant to a taxi driver who found it easily. This is a simple restaurant with basic facilities. We only had main courses accompanied by freshly squeezed orange juice. Fish of the day comes 'entire', not fileted, but is delicious. Meats tender and tasty too. Service is quick and friendly. Catherine the cook checks you enjoyed your food. Bill for two came to 33 dinars, and we thought this was superb value. If you are okay with cheap and cheerful, then we recommend this very strongly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lp12man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely restautant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

We sat in the terrace area which is down a few steps from the road so, given that this is near a busy road we were somewhat oblivious to it. The waiter was good humoured and friendly any with his little English and my little French managed to order our meal.
I had grilled fish and Lyn had prawns, we both had a Tunisian salad. The waiter bought us a basket of bread and some (very) spicy nibbles. The food came quickly and was excellent.
The price seemed a bit lower that we were used to at 31 dinar for both.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tasty food at great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

We arrived a little early not realising that most restaurants open around 7 or 7:30.

The food is delicious on lovely but simple plates/bowls. I had coucous with lamb and my husband enjoyed his Gambas served with chips. We ordered Brik and a Tunisian salad which was more than enough as they give you a bread basket too.

This only came to 40 Tunisian dinars.

It is situated opposite the mosque at Midoun if your taxi driver does not know where it is.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Snaggers_chips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fresh, tasty and authentic gem of Djerba - Phone Number for restaurant: 00 216 97 906 529”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

We had a bit of trouble finding this place because unfortunately the listing does not have a number (which l am going to try and fix) and the cabbie didn't have a clue. However our hotel reception knew were it was and we went there for evening dinner. The atmosphere was lively and friendly. The decor simple yet perfectly functional. The food was excellent. I had Turkey in sauce and my wife had the fish of the day. Both were very fresh and the flavours outstanding. We also had a Brik and a couple of drinks. The whole meal came to about 15GBP, exceptional value. We were also very surprised and happy when we asked for a cab to be called, after two minutes the owner dropped us back personally to the hotel. Service like this is unheard of in the UK and we felt very special indeed. We will visit again and insist you try if you are in Djerba.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick_the_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Palmiers Chez Neji et Catherine also viewed

Midoun, Djerba Island
Midoun, Djerba Island
 
Midoun, Djerba Island
 
Houmt Souk, Djerba Island
Midoun, Djerba Island
 

Been to Les Palmiers Chez Neji et Catherine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing