We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For little money a lot of music :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
smartline Skanes Serail
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Monastir
Reviewed 5 June 2012

First, we considered other hotels, but thanks to good last minute, we chose the Hotel Skanes Serail with my boyfriend.
Accommodation and communications at the reception was fine, and we got a welcome drink. Nearby the hotel, hotel, beach and surrounding gardens were during our stay the twelve always neat and clean. Beyond the beach and a hotel was not such a policy, but it is for Tunisia and Egypt almost typical ...
Inside the hotel is also a smaller indoor pool, especially in the morning we visited.
Meals we had all inclusive - Breakfast - egg omelettes, pancakes, eggs on hard, hot, sweet rice, two kinds of baguettes, butter, salami, cheese, jam, yogurt, cereal, milk, honey, vegetable salads, tea, coffee, cocoa , juices. The best are fresh every day, warm croissants!
Lunch and Dinner - various modifications meat chicken, turkey, beef, local specialties in a pot, meatballs, rice, couscous, potato slices, spaghetti, pasta, variously prepared fish, seafood, vegetable pies, cooked vegetables, vegetable salads.To drink in the restaurant and bar - water, tea, coffee, juice, Sprite, Mirinda, Cola, wine (red, pink, white), vodka, whiskey, local alcohol.
Room that we had a side view of the desert and the neighboring hotel, also on the part of the sea. Our room had an older, simpler equipment, but it was always tidy, clean towels. Me personally no matter luxury room, it comes with the room to sleep most of the time people spend out ... Anyone who knows the local environment also knows that the four stars hotel in this area are not four stars hotel in the European hotels.
In the morning pool play different styles of music and fun day care animators. There's Max, Aladdin, Hela, Dady, DJ, moderator. From morning for all who want to have fun with animators ready program - gymnastics, water gymnastics, water polo, football, games, darts, beach volleyball. In addition, it is possible to play tennis, mini golf, table tennis, equipment is older, but just for recreational play is good. Every evening in the hall inside is ready first animation program for children then for adults - miss, scenes, faquir show, the game of men against women, cabaret, karaoke ...
Thanks to these nice people such as MAX, DADY, HELA and we spent a little holiday actively, not just eating and rolling on the couch. So friendly, nice and individual behavior I experienced animators at any hotels in the past nor in Egypt or Tunisia.

Have a nice time sweethearts.
A lot of strength and optimism in your difficult work!
I love holidays :) :) :)

With love from the Czech Republic
<3 Petra a Filip <3

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Petra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 1,316 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

I just come back from Tunisia with my wife 02/06/12. We stayed in hotel serail in Skanes overall our holiday experience was fantastic the hotel was great the food was really nice n had variety of different type food we really enjoyed that part so no complain in that and it was buffet plus all drinks through out holiday was free as we had all inclusive. The pool was great as it had an indoor 1 aswel which was quiet warm n less busy. The beach was right behind the hotel where we did jet sking parachute n local dessert quad biking which was really fun. The entertainment team for the hotel were wicked especially Max he always brought a smile to my face with his level of enery n enthusiasm was unbeliverable always funny n smiling well done mate! The only down fall to our holiday was the journey from the airport to hotel it took 2hr 30min n on the bookin form it said 20min so please check on the google map b4 u book the distance from the airport to hotel. There were alot Mosquitos in the rooms particularlly the toilets had to kill em every night! The hotel was kinda isolated coz we had to always take cab into town which was not to bad coz it only cost £2.50 each way, so really there wasn't much if u wanted to walk anywhere so I wudnt bother walking outside the hotel to anywhere. overall the hotel n place was fantastic n I would recommend any1 to go there.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kay1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Just returned from our 4th visit, Fantastic. The staff are some of the nicest people we have ever met, from the maid, Fathima, to waiters Mohammed and the best night waiter Halim to the head chef who treat us like royalty, what a star. The owners are very hands on and the gardens and pool bar are fantastic. 5 English the 1st week, 3 the second, rest were polish, french and dutch, all brill.
Beach was raked and cleaned every day. We enjoyed the food but love fresh salads, fish and all the sauces so might not suit all. Can't wait to go back, enshall'ah

Room Tip: ask for pool / sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank johnandclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Just come back from a weeks stay in this hotel. Not sure where to start. It took over and hour and half to get through passport control, another hour sat on the coach waiting to be transferred to the hotel, finally when we got moving it took just over an hour to arrive at the hotel. once at the hotel, it took the staff an hour to check us in - we were the only arrivals that day and so the only ones waiting!
The room was basic, although it is advertised a superior.
Unfortunately we appeared to be the only English speaking guests until we discovered two lovely ladies who were from the UK. All the other guests were either French or Russian and all the literature, information etc was geared towards their needs; ordinarily this would not be a problem but the hotel does not make any reference in its literature that the hotel caters mainly for Russian and French Tourists. Although staff spoke English, their language skills were limited and as result we found communication difficult. Having said that the staff went above and beyond their roles to try and accommodate our needs.
The food wasn't to my liking but there was variety and we never really had the same menu twice
during our stay.
Whilst we were there it was extremely cold and the hotel did not have any measures in place to deal with this - felt very sorry for the younger guests and children who had not packed for such cold conditions and were wondering around shivering in their shorts and t-shirts.
Generally the hotel is clean, however the beach area was absolutely filthy and a major health hazard with seaweed piled two meters high just a few feet away from the sun loungers.
Hotel amenities are very limited and pricey and the nearest shops are within Monastir which is approximately 10-12 kilometres away and costs roughly 6 dinars in a taxi (£2.75) each way.
Overall this was a disappointing hotel and did compare favourably with the fantastic experience we had at the Sahara Beach Hotel only a few years earlier.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above the bar area - it can get very loud and noisy with music and activities well past...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank bossyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We have been in April 2012 in Skanes Serail, we really enjoyed our holidays. The food was excellent, the rooms were clean and also the staff from restaurant and bar were very kind, we enjoyed the animation; we travelled a lot but the animation team in Skanes Serail was really great. Thanks a lot to the chief-animator Kimo and his team (Sonic, Aladin, Hella). You made our stay in Tunesia unforgettable. We hope to see you again one day.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MariaAachen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

It was my second time in this hotel and it was the best holiday ever. Hotel is very beautiful, rooms are big and very clean with great sea view. Food is tasty and you can always choose something for you, restaurant is very big so there is always place to sit. Pool is big and clean also beach is very nice. Only one minus is that you have to get up early to occupy pool beds. Hotel is placed very close to Monastir 5min ways, and 15min to Sousse. Stuff is very nice always smiled, and animators are the best ever!! Friendly, happy and they have so many ideas to make your time very nice. Kiko was the best very, very good animator with very big sense of humor, :), also Ali is wonderful always smiled, and helpfull. He runs the best aquaaerobic. Showtimes at evening are was very good so you can't be bored at this hotel. I recommended this hotel for families with children but also for young people who want spend time for resting and have a lot of fun in the same time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank lasica7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Just back from 2 weeks and had a crackin holiday.
Been a few changes, mainly reception staff who weren't as good as the female ones we had met the last twice. The first room they gave us looked over the main road and waste ground so I went to reception and asked for a sea view room which after rubbing his chin said it would be 140TD (£70 !!!!), or "we may come to some arrangement", nudge nudge, wink wink.
anyway we moved and never paid a penny.
The staff have got to be some of best we have met and special mention to Mohammed and Haythem, head chef and restaurant manager. The food was excellent, no queues, always fresh and a good choice.
We actually met the owner and his family who were very friendly. We were the only 2 english in the hotel the rest being Polish, French, Slovak, German and all good.
Special mention to the animation team, Ali, Kiku, Didi etc who were brill and the sight of Kiku riding round the pool on a white horse was so surreal.
Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnandclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monastir hotels
0.5 mi away
Royal Thalassa Monastir
Royal Thalassa Monastir
#7 of 43 in Monastir
1,292 reviews
0.2 mi away
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
#3 of 43 in Monastir
2,343 reviews
1.8 mi away
Amir Palace
Amir Palace
#17 of 43 in Monastir
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Delphin El Habib
Delphin El Habib
#13 of 43 in Monastir
958 reviews
3.6 mi away
Regency Hotel and Spa
Regency Hotel and Spa
#12 of 43 in Monastir
511 reviews
3.8 mi away
Marina Cap Monastir Apart'hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Skanes Serail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Skanes Serail

Address: Zone Touristique Skanes | B.p. 23, Monastir 5065, Tunisia (Formerly Skanes Serail)
Region: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Monastir
#5 Spa Hotel in Monastir
#6 Luxury Hotel in Monastir
Price Range: £25 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — smartline Skanes Serail 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
smartline Skanes Serail is a family-friendly all-inclusive hotel located right next to a beautiful, long and sandy beach near the historical city of Monastir. The hotel offers a wide range of sporting activities and entertainment for the entire family, including bowling, mini-golf, aerobics, and tennis. If you want to recharge your batteries, the hotel's spa offers a Turkish bath, jacuzzi, and massages and treatments. The hotel features two restaurants and four bars, as well as a beautiful garden with a pool, kids' pool and sun-terrace. In short, smartline Skanes Serail has something to offer for all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your smartline Skanes Serail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skanes Serail Monastir
Skanes Serail Hotel Monastir
Smartline Skanes Serail Tunisia/Monastir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing