We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Club Tropicana & Spa
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Monastir
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Happy”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Overall my partner and I happy stayed at the hotel in mid May 2014 (rain, windy and cool but it's nice enough). It's 3 stars and we paid just a bit over £300 each which we can see it almost twice the price now. We didn't have a sea-view room but the room was great as you would expect the hotel studio-room would be, large bathroom though.

You may need to bring the beach towel as the hotel charge 7 dinar to hire, I hope they will change this when the price are high for the packet. Pool side beds never enough and you would be few inches away from each other if you ever get one. The beach was good for us so no bother. Clean, white sandy beach and lovely swimming in the sea on good day. The hotel keep beach sellers out of the sunbeds area. Staffs will look after you when you have to deal with the outsider.

We don't tip until we see they give a little for what they do. We realised we were a big tipper at the end of the trip but we are happy anyway. £1/2.60 dinar - we've been giving 10 dinar for tip = the price for a taxi to Monastir included tip. The hotel is about 10 miles from Monastir, The Noddy train from the hotel cost £8/PP - if you like walking like us then it possible, we did it. Promise you will enjoy the view and you may not see others tourist but the Tunis tourist. Please bring a bottle of water with you. Later you will be able to find a small shop later, 6 dinar for a bag full of shopping = the price of a packet of crisp at the airport. Cheap and hope it stay cheap for years to come!

Beware of the Tunis who would greet you "I know you from the hotel"! I can't believe 14 years (my 1st trip) it still using this line to catch you. It didn't work on me before/now but surprisingly many British tourist got trapped on that. British politeness can get you around the carpet shop, perfume factory and so on!

Enjoy your holiday!

Room Tip: For Glasgow late flight 50 dinar to keep the room until 23.00 Go higher floor for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suwicha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    217
    67
    25
    10
See reviews for
202
213
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I booked this hotel without reading the reviews beforehand then after booking was disappointed to read the negative comments but I must say I and my family have had a great relaxing week here and would go back.
Pros - fantastic food, great service (once we had tipped a small amount) lovely pool, great beach, nice clean room overlooking the pool and sea
Cons - air con in room is pre set and was sometimes not cool enough for me especially with a duvet on bed, newish looking shower was not built properly and leaked water, corridor outside room was very tatty carpet not cleaned and very dated, had to reserve a sunbed by pool early I.e. 6 o'clock sometimes as we needed them by kiddies pool. No kids entertainment we had to request a mini disco which they did then informed us on our last evening that they were going to be doing them nightly so I suppose that's not an issue but no kids club despite being advertised. Being ignored by one particular waiter as we had not tipped him and our waiter was off the for day.

So there you have it all in all for what you pay it was a great hotel yes it could do with some adjustments and staff training but maybe that's how they do things in Tunisia not of the cons would deter me from spending another holiday here something I don't do normally.

If you are looking to book and have any questions I am more than happy to advise you.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room they will change it for you no problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jacquinewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Wales
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel is far from being 3 star, much more like 4 star. The hotel is large but not huge and impersonal. The rooms are clean with duvets on the beds. We had a lovely walk in shower as well and a sea view. The food is very good quality and we could always find something to eat. Plenty for children as well. Beautiful bread. Traditional Tunisian food right up to freshly made pizzas, copious chips and fried eggs. Beautiful cakes and pastries. Nice outdoor and indoor pools. A shop, Tunisian cafe , spa and beauty facilities as well. The staff are lovely. Very helpful, polite and always smiling. Our waiter and chamber maid went well above the standards. A amphitheatre is where the evening entertainment takes place, which was ok, but needs some new ideas. The drinks where good especially the shorts, but the cocktails and wines are watered down. Snacks, cakes and abundance of drinks are available all day till 11pm.. Towels for the pool and beach can be changed every day for clean ones after a small deposit. We had a safe for our room as well which had a small fee. The beach is at the end of the hotel path. Absolutely amazing golden sand with safe Mediterranean bathing. Water sports by the side of the hotel. Bar by the beach which the waiters sweated onto bringing drinks for us whilst we were lying on the free loungers. The security was discreet and helpful. All in all a very good holiday, we will be returning.

Room Tip: Away from the next hotel called Safari .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank hugomidwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My husband & I booked this holiday last minute with First Choice. We were a little sceptical about it being a 3 star. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised Reception, Lobby area was immaculate. The room was basic but spotlessly clean, could of done with a fridge & kettle in the room but that's just me. The grounds were immaculate & always saw staff tending to the gardens and walkways etc. The beach was great would go later in June for better weather though next time. The food was lovely, cakes were beautiful, always fresh fruit(strawberries).
Did a pirate trip with Ali Baba(LOL) near the pool which was really good & half the price of FC for exactly the same half day full of fun. Met some nice people. All bar staff were helpful & friendly.
Would definately return to this hotel for the right price & would take travel kettle.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank damian72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed here late May for one week ,given the area outside being so shabby I didn't know what to expect. No need to worry, inside the complex every thing is so clean, tired in areas ,but spot less. The food was great, with local dishes on offer daily only the very fussy would struggle ! My only gripe would be the red wine was well watered down ! The staff in the restaurant were very friendly and tips were well rewarded with service, they like you to stick with their little area and will have drinks waiting for you once they know you. The cleaners are very eager to please with swans made from towels and rose petals on your bed etc (not great if you have hay fever like me) they are very keen on your flight home date! They don't want to miss their tip! The beach is great and easily accessed with a bar close by ,again tips pay off and your drinks will be brought to you, water sports available all good. I indulged in a massage for 50 Dinar( approx. 23 £) this was for 50 mins which was great and good value. The spa area was a little intimidating ,being lead upstairs and low lighting etc with hardly any English, just felt a little vulnerable but was actually very nice. Went into Monastir to a market place ,the traders are a real pain especially being two women traveling together. You really do have to haggle hard, it is expected , came home with a rug and 3 singing camels that I never wanted !! But it became a bit of fun in the end!! Over all great holiday great place, I agree not much to do but very friendly really good food ,good value for my money happy and would go back.

Room Tip: Try not to have the rooms by the lift ,very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Hotel Club Tropicana. Spent 7 nights at this hotel nice location we'll maintained the staff are friendly and cheerful good selection of local drinks the rooms are well kept and the views are excellent from the balcony, the biggest problem was/is the lack of WiFi only location is the lobby and then only when there are less than half a dozen guests trying to get on it eg 6am .

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor excellent views and only a 4 story hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Just returned from a stay at club tropicana, stayed with my daughter.First impressions, Hotel very clean and bright. Quick check in then went to dining room for food, we arrived at 10.30pm so they had saved us salad, bread and fruit, also drinks. We were then shown to our room, was a bit of a walk and the corridoors were badly lit, lights were on a sensor. Room was lovely, bright and clean, walk in shower in bathroom, balcony overlooking pool. flat screen tv on wall and air con. Perfect. Dining room, clean bright and airy, staff very polite and helpful, food beautiful. I have been to Tunisia 14 times, this was the best i've had. Pool area clean, no trouble getting a bed, bar staff polite and friendly, always very clean area. Entertainment........apart from the 3 proffessional acts that were on, that were very good, there really was nothing else, the hotel really need to put a bullet up their animations backsides as there get up and go had got up and gone. there was no singing and dancing like in other hotels, their attitude towards guests if you dared complain about the lack of entertainment or music choice was not good, i was actually told i should of booked another hotel if i didnt like it, also one member of animation told a group of us that they had spent their day off at next doors hotel as it was more fun, while we were left sitting listening to something you would expect to hear in a care home for the elderly. Last evening before our return home, they were putting on a film ICE AGE..i could of stopped at home to do that, i pointed out to which they just walked away not interested to what i had to say. May i just point out that the animation was not the usual Tunisians but a mixture of 2 English girls a Dutch girl and boy and a German boy. the hotel advertises a gym, there is not one there. they advertise it as being lively, it is not. Overall. the Hotel, staff, and food were fine...the animation was crap and boring!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank CathandZoeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monastir hotels
5.8 mi away
Regency Hotel and Spa
Regency Hotel and Spa
#12 of 43 in Monastir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
2.1 mi away
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
#4 of 43 in Monastir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Thalassa Monastir
Royal Thalassa Monastir
#7 of 43 in Monastir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
smartline Skanes Serail
smartline Skanes Serail
#11 of 43 in Monastir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
6.2 mi away
Delphin El Habib
Delphin El Habib
#14 of 43 in Monastir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.4 mi away
Neptunia Beach
Neptunia Beach
#9 of 43 in Monastir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club Tropicana & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club Tropicana & Spa

Property: Hotel Club Tropicana & Spa
Address: BP 88 Zone Touristique Dkhila Sahline, Monastir 5102, Tunisia (Formerly SuneoClub Tropicana)
Region: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monastir
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Monastir
#2 Spa Hotel in Monastir
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monastir
#4 Family Hotel in Monastir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Club Tropicana & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Club Tropicana & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marmara Tropicana
Resort Marmara Tropicana
Hotel Club Tropicana & Spa Tunisia/Monastir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing