We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Dessole Bella Vista Resort
Ranked #33 of 44 Hotels in Monastir
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, fantastic staff”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We went to this hotel in October 2013 and despite being the only English family at the hotel we had a fantastic time. The rooms are basic but very clean, the staff are always polite and helpful. There was plenty of food to choose from even though it was mainly aimed at the Russian clientele.
We came straight back and decided that the whole family and some friends would go again in May.
This is a beach and pool holiday but trips can be arranged to Monistar and other beautiful surrounding places.

Room Tip: We had a room on the front of the hotel, even though the airport is facing there is little disturban...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanessaT32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    59
    49
    32
    40
See reviews for
122
40
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Who could ask for more and how can we thank you all at the hotel Bella vista Monister Tunusia
for a great holiday. really we could not get better any where else .To begin with from start to finish we had a fantastic holiday .The hotel is located next to monister airport which is a huge plus if you have children or elderly parents ,only 3 minutes away ,and on arrival we were greeted with a very warm welcome .The hotel is big ,bright ,spotless clean ,with great atmosphere.and your own private beach.Entertainment for children is extremely good with all day activity ,its what parents want .There is a huge selection of food to cater for every one and under no circumstances will you go hungry on top of the beautiful desserts,all really excellent and very well presented ,no shortage of sun beds and umbrellas at pool or beach and a great big pool with bar and restaurant . we found the staff very helpful polite and friendly which is very very important on holiday. would recommend a holiday again in tunisa.

Room Tip: 1 avoid room near the pool as there is loud music playing during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sean h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olomouc, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

The location is perfect, it is just across the road from the airport if you land in Monastir! The planes do not disturb you during your stay, don't worry.

Food and beverages were good, a lot of things to choose from. The only problem were endless queues for afternoon pancakes or icecream. Umbrellas at the beach were for free as well as additional towels for the beach.

What I didn't like about the hotel were the receptionists - it may be in their nature but I really do not want hotel staff to look at my girlfriend with this "lover" look, touch her etc, you know what I mean if you've been to an Arabic country. They should be more professional in this. Plus, if you need something, they won't help you. We had problems with wifi in the lobby and we told them million times about it but they didn't do anything to fix it!

The hotel guests are mainly from Russia and they think they are the only ones there so expect some wird moments when a lady will start talking to you in Russian and you won't understand a thing :)

Animators at the pool were all young locals, they were too loud for me and the program was the same everyday!

All in all, if you can get a last-minute offer to this hotel, it is quite good but there are definitely better hotels I've seen.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MCepek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We stayed at the Bella Vista for 2 weeks....our children are 14,11 and 4....And I can't put my finger on what it was I liked about the whole holiday..or..what I didn't like.
The transfer was all of 1 minute, the airport noise isn't really a problem. The hotel is OK,a little dated in places. The food was very hit and miss, many times we ate bread and chips. They had such a miss-mash of food that just didn't go together, you can only eat pasta for so long.!! The waiters are sometimes too helpful and this really did get on our nerves. The pool are was great for the children, the youngest even flung himself with his new found courage (with armbands) down the big slides..The sunbeds were generally OK, however, you had to tip the men who worked around the pool area to get them to bring mattress covers for you..also I asked if I could have a parasol one day, one that wasn't fixed, and he said no and pointed me in the direction of a fixed one. On later observations, it seemed that the Dutch had favouritism and they got these parasols,for tips and cigarettes. The beach is 2 minutes away and is lovely, apart from the men harassing you to buy there goods, that was really annoying. The rooms were basic but clean. The hotel shops were pricey, so take all that you need and more, a bottle of suncream worked out at £23..!! We ventured out one day to the market in Monastir, we couldn't get back quick enough, it was smelly and nothing there..Open land with tons of rubbish. We didn't venture to the other resorts.
At night there is no where to walk to, so you are stuck with the hotel entertainment, which is OK..the mini - disco wasn't in English so my little boy soon got very bored. The beer was very tasteless and did get fed-up of drinking it..!! There were ladies who went topless but I didn't as I couldn't be doing with the attention from the lads who worked around the pool area. All in all it was a holiday with fantasic weather....

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeriEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Had hoped for a nice realaxing break with my partner but this hotel is not worth the price. Rooms and the entire place are generally what i would call dirty, service in the main resteraunt can be an absolute nightmare, and at certain times you have to queue to get servced at all of the bars and snack bars. It is not set up to cater for UK tourists and I would not recommend anyone going here expecting the same standard as other European/Eastern & African destinations. We met some great people and all had a good time, mainly having a good old group moan. The entertainment team are nice people trying hard with no real budget or equipment.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TommyGun1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monastir hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Be prepared to queue for everything. There were never any clean cups at breakfast or tables. The waiter's idea of cleaning a table was to brush the food off the table and not change the table cloth, although if they changed the cloth that was dirty too. The main resturant was the filthiest place in the hotel! There was food all over the counter, dirty floors and walls and the waiter's were all filthy. Evening meals were awful, We are not fussy eaters however because everything was dirty it put you off eating anything. When we did try to eat something then we found all of the meat including the fish was processed. Lunchtimes were burgers, hotdogs or pizza and you had to queue for that. At 3pm they would do pancakes at the poolside and you had to queue for those too! You had to queue at the bar unless you tipped the bar staff. By 9pm they had run out of glasses so you would have either a plastic cup or odd glasses for the drinks order i.e beer in wine glasses, red wine in shot glasses etc. If you were luck enough to get a glass it was chipped or cracked.
We arrived at the airport in Tunisia and it took over 2 hours to get through immigration. When we finally got through and out the otherside we got onto the coach which then took us across the road to the Bella vista! We could have walked quicker and on the way home we did which was a good job as it took over an hour to get back through! If you really feel the need to go to this hotel then dont pay for the transfer as you can see the entrance to the hotel from the check in gate! The only consolation was the weather and the beach was great, the sea was clear and refreshing however this was not a 4 star hotel by any standards. The locals in the surrounding towns didnt make you feel welcome unless they knew you were english and they assume we have lots of money to spend. I would not recommend this hotel or Tunisia to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kelle80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

My partner, 11 year old daughter and I stayed at this hotel in July 2010 after a transfer from the Houda Golf and beach resort (as it was very very dirty),
The Bella Vista is straight across the road from the airport so you sit on the bus for 90 minuets then it takes 2mins to get to your hotel. We stayed in room 4014, which was much nicer than some of the rooms, our room had a separated bit for my daughter to sleep in, although the sofa she was meant to sleep on was brick hard.
The staff at the reception do not really speak good English and didn't explain much to us on our arrival or give us any information about the hotel or time tables for the meals etc.
The hotel is under staffed so there is always long que’s for everything, at night there is 1 bar that serves spirits with 2 bar men working so you can imagine how long the que’s are for a drink for 1600 people. Even when you do get to the front of the que, they never have enough glasses so you have to wait till the glasses are collected and washed before you get a drink, they often run out of cups so sometimes it's hard to even get a cup of coffee.
The hotel do quite a lot for young kids but only for under 5 year olds.
In the dining hall they only bring out 1 tray of chips at a time so the que gets massive and your dinner gets cold while waiting for more to be brought out, then you have to que for a drink, 1 person giving out the ice-cream so that is also another long wait.
If you want a bed next to the main swimming pool you'll have to be up at 6am, but some people were tipping the life guards to put bed out for them and also tipping the waiters to bring them there drinks, although this is not meant to happen.
In the afternoon, they have buffet style outside of pizza, pasta, burger and chips, We waited for over an hour for a pizza.
Not a lot of British in this hotel when we were there but loads of polish, russian, french, dutch, germans, Tunisians
My daughter wanted to use the internet but at 15dinar for an hour(approx £7) I thought that was expensive, however when she asked the reception staff they just said tomorrow, we went back the next day at 6.10pm and we again were told tomorrow and when I asked why they said the secretary goes home at 6pm with the code, so you can use it between 10-6pm, back the next day the same reception staff had the code and still could not get the internet to work so we gave up, however if you take your laptop I’m sure they have wireless connection in the lobby as we seen lots of youngsters on their laptops.
The entertainment staff work really hard and long hours, the entertainment manager Momo is very good and very approachable.
The hotel was 25 rooms over booked and found it impossible to keep our rooms for a late check out.
If this hotel employed more staff and had set times for lunch and dinner it would run a lot better.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fraserbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monastir hotels
0.9 mi away
Amir Palace
Amir Palace
#12 of 44 in Monastir
1,187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Helya Beach & Spa
Helya Beach & Spa
#17 of 44 in Monastir
393 reviews
2.8 mi away
Caribbean World Monastir
Caribbean World Monastir
#18 of 44 in Monastir
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Neptunia Beach
Neptunia Beach
#8 of 44 in Monastir
328 reviews
0.8 mi away
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
#5 of 44 in Monastir
2,199 reviews
3.4 mi away
Houda Golf and Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dessole Bella Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dessole Bella Vista Resort

Property: Hotel Dessole Bella Vista Resort
Address: Route Aeroport Monastir, Monastir 5000, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Monastir
#12 Luxury Hotel in Monastir
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Monastir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dessole Bella Vista Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Dessole Bella Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel
Resort All Inclusive Bella Vista
Occidental Grand Monastir
Hotel Dessole Bella Vista Resort Tunisia/Monastir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing