We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sahara Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Monastir
cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sahara Beach”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Transfer approx 1hr 30mins from Airport. Rooms clean and tidy but very basic, Swimming Pools good and waterpark excellent, all lifeguarded. Pool Bars open for drinks from 10am snacks from 12, but we did steer well clear of beach bar as the flies were out in force!! loads of flies on food even in ice cream freezer.
If you want sun lounger round pool you have to get one at around 6:30am - mattresses free but you have to give a small tip for them every day. Hotel is situated in the middle of nowhere, so you have to stay there unless you get a taxi to Sousse, there is nowhere to walk and you are told that it is not safe to do so anyway. Beach ok but not clean - If you walk 100m left or right on beach the rubbish is unbelievable similar to a rubbish tip. There are lots of sellers on the beach but all you have to do is say no if you don't want to buy anything. Beach watersports very cheap and good value.
We were here for a week which was long enough . The hotels main restaurant ok but food very limited for english people, we lived on pizza, pasta and bread, there was always something to eat but not what we would of chosen. We think that the free ala carte restaurant was a scam as they told everyone it was fully booked but it was funny as we never saw anyone eating in there!!. We had an excellent waiter though called Freddy who couldn't do enough for us - he was simply excellent and we rewarded him on the last night for all of his services.

On a more serious note with all the recent attempted child abduction reviews we made sure we kept our kids in view all the time, however we did encounter a serious scare!!. On our 5th evening at hotel we were watching entertainment in show bar when my husband nipped out for a wee, he went to the toilets near the lifts and straight away noticed a man near the urinals fiddling with himself!! he was around 55 years old and French, he was in the toilets for sometime watching other people go to the toilet and rubbing himself (He was watching children and adults). My husband alerted the animation and security who removed him, however he just sat in reception and 10mins later returned to the toilets - by this time we had alerted other parents who in turn also viewed his actions. We reported it to the hotel manager who had him removed from toilets by security and spoke to him for some 20 minutes - the outcome was that he had told them ha had a prostate problem (yeah right) and that they were going to watch him and had sent him to his room, however 5 minutes later he was in reception AGAIN.... we demanded that the police were called as no way were we happy staying there with our children with someone like this lurking about.. we fought hard and finally the police were called and the man moved to another hotel and apparently on flight home the next day as by this time everyone had agreed he was a sick man. Whilst I am well aware that the hotel has no control of knowing what kind of people enter the hotel and that his behaviour was not down to them, it was very alarming to realise that even when they saw what he was doing and knew that he was a sicko, they were prepared to let him stay in a family hotel and try and brush it aside....If we had not of made a fuss he would of been doing it again that night or even something worse.......The reps spoke to the police but didn't really make a fuss either, they took a statement from my husband but that was it really, we think they were more interested in booking trips than peoples safety....

Overall a relaxing holiday with very good weather - but would I return - No - and would I recommend - No - I would say 2 star max.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshtobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,203
    1,494
    709
    313
    313
See reviews for
2,000
909
61
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I am 17 and went to this holiday with my friend and my elder sister and her friends and also with my mum and dad. Have to say it was the best holiday ive ever been on so far! the food was great which i enjoyed and had no problems what so ever. The drinks were brilliant aswell. There is a night club in the hotel complex area which is also brilliant for teenagers. On arrival you get asked your age and then they supply you with the correct wrist band. Honestly the best holiday couldnt fault it, bar staff and staff in general were great. Entertainment on every night and trips such as camel rides were available which we also went on. There was also a trip to a night club in the tunisia town organised by the hotel which looked fab and the friends we met that went also said it was brilliant however we were too late to book it.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Francesca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsbqt, Quality Manager at Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
dear guest
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that all services or facilities corresponded or even exceeded your expectations. Thank you very much for your kind comments and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Just got back from this hotel we had a great time. The rooms are a bit basic, however the outside entertainment, kids clubs and pools were fantastic and thats what we went on holiday for not to sit in our rooms. The maid service was amazing every day we came back to our room with the children's teddies arranged over the bed and one day we even all got flowers on our beds, the girls couldn't wait every day to see how their beds looked.

Waiters looked after us really well drinks on our table before we for there. Beach bar great at lunch times.

Great entertainment, Thomas cook kids club great and also the hotels kids club was wonderful. Pools were lovely and clean. Evening entertainment good, animation team very friendly. Water park was great being within the resort our teenager spent all time there!

Food was okay especially for adults we did struggle a bit with the kids however they thought the freshly made pizzas were great.

All in all a great holiday well worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We got back yesterday and we had an amazing time there I would recommend it everyone. We got there wednesday 30th may and we had to fill a form out and then get out keys we had amazing views from our rooms. The rooms are simple. The food is nice, if you are a fussy eater you can always finds something. The animation team were amazing got on with them from day one (momo khalif drugba mamadou ziggy rio lala mimo and others) on Friday night went to night club off campus with animation team and we got back fine. Loads of activities to do by pool and on beach. We went shopping in sousse never again went horse riding. Didn't want to leave and the day we left they opened the restrunt and Put breakfast on. I could go on but you should go and find out for yourself

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob123445678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The hotel is situated 6 miles from the nearest shops and their is nothing outside the hotel and taxis cost £4 each way. The hotel itself is set in lovely green, clean grounds close to the beach with clean pools and an aquapark. Their is bars situated on the beach, pools, and lobby and are covered in your all inclusive from 10am to 12 midnight. The staff in general are very nice and yes a tip does go a long way when you only get paid £100 a month, 1 dina is 40p so its not much to ask plus your drinks and pizzas get better. The rooms are clean and tidy and the cleaners very nice, clean towels every day and no personal items were touched.Beach towels are not supplied. Food in the restaurant is ok but typical eastern med catering for different countries, you are assigned to a table for your stay and only you use this table, tip the waiter a couple of pound at the start and he will get your drinks for you.
If you go into monastir expect a lot of hassle from shop owners constantly at you and not very polite. If you stop at a bar be carefull, they show you one menu and charge you with a different one.
On the hole this is a good 3 star hotel set in the wrong location, too far away from anything so you feel prisoned in one resort as you cant go any where for a walk outside.

On a more serious matter about all the reports in the paper about paedophiles in this resort we questioned the reps on arrival who played the whole thing down as if nothing had happened, my brother spoke to a rep after a few drinks he admitted the whole thing was true and that a family had been moved to a different hotel and rooms were searched, photos deleted, but nobody arrested as it is not illegal to take photos of children on tunisia. On the last night we were sitting in the lobby bar with friends when we caught two oldish men staring at our children and one was blowing kisses to one of the little girls, my brothers went mad and had reception staff remove them. To my knowledge these were german men staying at the hotel and were sent to their rooms. The next morning we tried to report this to the reps who didnt seem bothered { maddie and yasmine} so we made a complaint in writing and are now following it up at home.
This is a lovely hotel with nice staff just be carefull of the guests.

Room Tip: Upgrade for £8 a night to a suite, you get a telly fridge sofa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigbadsteve1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Settle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

hi, just got back from a wks trip to this hotel and its fab. i was a bit sceptical b4 we went as we read some reveiews about child snatching so was really hesitant but when we got there it was brill. theres loads for kids to do as the animation team always keep them entertaind. my kids went to the thomas cook kids club once but found it boring so they just playd with the hotels animation lot insted. every where is spotlessly clean and the pools and waterpark are fab. i complain about everything usually but i couldnt find anything to fault exept there was no aircon as it didnt stary til mid june but thats it so we just hired a fan insted, food was good , hotel good all round fab hotel and we are going to book again as we all loved it. my son loved "RIO" who was the main animation rep for the older kids as he was always getting them up to do things.
o would defo recomend this place xxxx

Room Tip: the rooms overlooking the waterpark are quieter, we upgraded to a suite which was a lot larger and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank snoopy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsbqt, Quality Manager at Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback following your recent stay Sloane . Iwe are delighted that you found the food good and that you liked our location.

I do hope we can welcome you for another stay in the future.

thanks a lot for the pictures

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We booked this as a last minute break for a week at the end of may 2012. We booked with Airtours via Thomas Cook after a recomendation from the travel agent who had stayed here last year. The accommodation was basic but spacious and clean, the food was good (husband says average!) lots of choice although one of my sons lived on pizza, pasta and pancakes for the week! Our breakfast waiter Saddam was lovely, always happy and very helpful. Evening waiter was indifferent.

There were pastries, meats, cheese, rolls, fruit, omelettes, eggs or pancakes at breakfast, at lunch and dinner there were soups, three or four different meat/fish dishes, chips, potatoes, veg, salads, breads, pizza and pasta followed by various desserts and fresh fruits. Water, wine, beer (husband didn't like it), soft drinks and hot drinks all included. During the day from midday to about 4 or 5 there were pizzas, sausages, burgers and chips in the telegraphie bar by the relaxation pool and another buffet, Ice cream and drinks at the beach restaurant.

The Aqua park was great for my two sons (10 & 12) who both made friends and happily went off around the resort joining in with water polo, football, pool surfing, ping pong and volley ball arranged by the fantastic animation team. Ali, Pedro, Rio, the fire eater (boys named him this and never found out his name!) and the rest of the team did such a great job, they walked around gathering the kids to join in the various competitions and matches so they didn't have chance to be bored. There was also a games room with pool tables, air hockey and arcade games which were about a dinar a go or two dinars for two player games. There is also a shopping area within the hotel which was nice to wander around.

Zihad who ran the watersports at the beach (all our money was spent here!) was fantastic and when my husband wasn't well, even took my boys out on jet skis for us. 2.4 dinars to the £ and banana boat was 5 dinars per person, sofa was 10 per person, jet skiing and para sailing were 30 for one or 40 for two people. Great value for money. Watch out for the guy selling cigarettes on the beach, if he puts a white cloth on your head and takes a photo with your camera he will walk you for money (6 dinar) and is very intimidating. Zihad had a word with him then he left me alone but be warned!

The show bar got really busy and if you wanted a table you had to get in early (by 7.30). The bar staff were stroppy in here and weren't tipped. The sun beds all had towels on by 8am which was ridiculous but I was awake by 7 every day so joined the throng and did the same. Blue cushions are free but as this is a tipping country, if you tip them half or one dinar they will look out for you every day and bring them over when they see you. We tipped our waiters and gave our breakfast waiter 10 dinar when we left as he was our favourite.

No cash point machines so take enough money if you have kids who like water sports!! My husband was ill with a sore throat, cough and temperature and the nurse sent him to get antibiotics from the local pharmacy which was 10 dinars return but a hair raising drive!

If you want a family holiday where the kids are entertained and are happy to stay on site, this is a great place to go. We didn't do any excursions but it would have been nice to have been able to walk into a town (taxi ride away but cheap if you wanted to do it). We wanted to chill for a week so it suited us and the kids had an amazing time.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views but high floor will be quieter. Family rooms are two inter connecting ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bundaberg108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsbqt, Quality Manager at Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and were extremely pleased with our high level of service.
we truly appreciate all your kind comments. Thank you once again and We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monastir hotels
0.3 mi away
Amir Palace
Amir Palace
#12 of 44 in Monastir
1,176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Neptunia Beach
Neptunia Beach
#8 of 44 in Monastir
326 reviews
5.7 mi away
Regency Hotel and Spa
Regency Hotel and Spa
#13 of 44 in Monastir
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
#5 of 44 in Monastir
2,182 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caribbean World Monastir
Caribbean World Monastir
#19 of 44 in Monastir
420 reviews
2.4 mi away
Houda Golf and Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort

Property: Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort
Address: Route Touristique Dkhila, Monastir 5000, Tunisia (Formerly Sahara Beach Hotel)
Region: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monastir
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Monastir
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Monastir
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monastir
#6 Family Hotel in Monastir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1042
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near to Monastir and approx 12 km from Sousse (Skanes - Tunisia). Broad, fine sandy beach. 22.000 sq m of gardens. A childrens paradise. Short transfer. Plenty of action and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sahara Beach Hotel Monastir
Iberostar Hotel Sahara Beach
Iberostar Hotel Monastir
Sahara Beach Hotel Tunisia
Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort Tunisia/Monastir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing