We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great holiday! Special thanks to the animation team.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Miramar Pirate's Gate
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Monastir
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The hotel can use a extra paint but for the rest we had a great time. The food was good, people very nice and friendly. Next year we come again for sure.
The pool is great with water from the sea, the beach is great with beds (some need to replace), the restaurant was nice and good personal.
There is also a disco in the hotel but so good isolated that you won't hear anything.

Room Tip: Room with view on the sea were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lianne1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

i went here with my husband in april 2009. i was 7 months pregnant so i wanted a decent hotel where i could relax in with no fuss. When i saw the outside of the hotel, all the colours and greenery- it looked like something out of charlie and the chocolate factory! very well maintained plants and trees. Inside the hotel is lovely. very big and spacious. The indoor swimming pool was perfect as it was kinda cold to use the outside one. My husband just had to have a try in the freezing cold water, he was the only one! Our room was nice, great big bed, nice dressing table with massive mirror for me however the view was not very nice. we soon changed and it was worth it. nice sea view makes a difference to the whole room.

the staff were so friendly here. i think on all the holidays we have been on (quite a bit) this hotel actually had the best staff ever. even the entertainment staff were so good. always joking around with us, so caring and friendly.

the location of the hotel may be the only downside. if you wish to explore then you will have to catch a cab to souse or further on. We went everywhere, it was worth it, went to nice restrurants , shops and even a boat trip. Its so funny the way you catch a cab here. you just give one look at the taxi man and he will come back, one even stopped on the roundabout for us!

the board we chose was only breakfast. reason was we didn want to be hotel bound with full board. we like trying outside food aswel. once i was so tired of going out far everyday and it was already dark we decided to have food from the hotel. we went and saw the manager, asked how do we pay for the meal- as we saw him for breakfast he knew us, he said dont worry and gave us 2 plates! from the food we tasted it was really nice, we were kinda regretting going just breakfast now! Even once i didnt come for breakfast and the manager was asking my husband if i was ok ,,then he sent up a whole breakfast tray for me. like i said really great staff.

there was entertainment in the hotel aswel, one night there was a fire blower, another night it was a guy who could put his face in broken glass etc, was quite good.

we will definitely be coming back here with our kids. this time we will do half board so dont have to travel as much and relax in the hotel more. amazing holiday. went for 11 days but wasnt enough!

Room Tip: sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aminah_J89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The first time around our room wasn't brilliant had hairs and toe nails in the bathroom, next morning once we changed room it was lovely, a big room with a private balcony.
Pleasant people, loved the American style bar, good sized pools, good entertainment :).
The food was average, not the best we were glad we went half board.
The hotel is on a beach, which is quite dirty so we did not get to do any swimming in the sea and in general stayed away from it.
Good place to visit is Monastir, big change from Skanes and Souse which are not very clean and pleasant.
Overall enjoyed my stay, it's good value for money, not sure if would go back though.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KristinaS627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Royal Miramar Thalassa is one of the hotels of tunisian chain El Hana working under Miramar trade mark. It is situated in Skanes resort area, right on the beach, between 2 cities: Monastir and Sousse. I fell in love with this hotel as soon as I saw its photos in catalogue and I chose it without any doubt. After 2 weeks spent in this hotel I can tell you that I made excellent choice. The hotel consists of a main building and several bungalows situated on a large, well-kept, green territory. There is a thalasso center, one of the best in Tunisia, belonging to the hotel. Thalasso center has a large swimming pool and even handicapped persons and kids will be able to come down into the water without any difficulties. There is a wide choise of European and local food. People having a sweet tooth will be happy with rich assortment of desserts and pastry. Friendly staff speaking English, French, German, Italian, Spanish pays attention to each guest and assists to solve any problem. Excellent animators work in this hotel and arrange various entertainment programs every evening. Daytime activities are also well-organized. Souvenirs sellers come to the hotel every weekend to organize a kind of fair and you can buy all you need right at your hotel. The only advice - bargain!
Skanes is a resort area where all hotels are situated right along the beach but there are no shops, markets, restaurants, houses there. However there is "Safari" entertainment center just in front of the hotel entrance where you can find a gift shop, a coffee shop and a night club where you can have fun every night.
Monastir and Sousse are quite close (only 9 km to reach both, but opposite directions) and you can take a taxi right near the hotel entrance to visit these cities with their places of interest, shops and medinas (oriental markets). They are worth it believe me. And the same advice - bargain with a taxi driver before you start your trip. Be ready to bargain constantly in this country, every time you buy something and get some service. Bargain! This is what local people expect from you, this is a part of their culture.
The only disadvantage which I can mention is that you have to pay if you use lounge chairs near the swimming pool or on the beach. The price is 2 dinars (local currency) per day. But this fact can hardly spoil your excellent holidays.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marina_VS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Warning! If you don't want to swim in the sewage and be surrounded by swarms of flies, do not go to this hotel!
First day on the beach, we were surprised by the color of the sea water. It was brown green with a strange smell. Never see such color in the other parts of the Mediterranean Sea (Spain, Italy, Turkey). Hotel staff explained that this color and smell is because of the sea weed. In fact you can see lots of sea weed laying around on the shore line and we bought this explanation for a while. After 3-4 days we discovered that hotel located beside huge open air sewage treatment facilities (if you can say so because sewage water is kept in the huge shallow lakes and I doubt if its treated in any way). Dirty water then is damped to the sea, so we have smell and unusual sea color. Also the whole set up attracts squadrons of fiies attacking you when you trying to have a meal outside. Very, very unpleasant. Please note that dirty water and smell not all the time there, sometimes its more or less bearable. We noticed that locals do not swim there (there is abandoned hotel and beach near by).
As for hotel itself it is dilapidated run down place, hotel had seen a better times, some facilities are shut down (restaurant by the spa, bbq area and cafe by the beach), renovation obviously was not done for a long time. Hotel territory is quite pleasant and well kept, rooms and meals are good, we stayed on half board and have no complaints about quality of food or service (if you tip, of coarse). Spa center is good though, but be aware spa pool is not free for the hotel guests (20 euro pp per visit). Spa staff explained that they are separate company and have nothing to do with the hotel.
In general, hotel is bearable, three star minus, ok for the budget holiday. BUT! because of the proximity to sewage lakes it is not enjoyable to stay there in any way. In fact I do not recommend to stay in any hotel near the town of Skanes.
Tour operator Thomas Cook was not helpful, did not offer any reasonable alternatives or refunds after we complained about hotel location and all problems associated with it.
Finally, after one week we escaped to another hotel near airport, were water was azur blue and no flies or smell, lost one week money but did not regret it for a second.
As a general observation, Tunisia sanitary norms are very low, dirty towns, flies, open sewage, not recommended for travel with small children.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bo55ykot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Gorgeous rooms overlooking the sea. Simply decorated, with very comfy beds. Staff was friendly. Great beach and spa. Quiet place to relax. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nnmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Just spent 10 days half board at the Royal Mirimar Thalasso with my husband. We booked completely last minute and got a fantastic rate. However after checking a few reviews were sceptical about the hotel. Upon arrival we were allocated our room quickly, which was from previous hotel stays huge. There were only two of us but we had room for another two adults easily. The room was dated, but clean and the cleaners came every day to change the towels/bins and sweep the floor. The only issue we had with the room was that the toilet leaked. We asked for this to be dealt with, which is was, but then a few days later it reoccured. The water was from the cistern, which was moped up by the maid every day.
The food, we found to be very reasonable. The breakfast was repetitve, with only an omlette - with no meat option, given as freshly cooked in front of you. Quite often there was quite a queue, so we stuck with the other options. There were however, fresh croissants and choc du pain and rolls replenished throughout. For dinner we found the food to generally very good and with a great variety for half board. For our 10 day stay we did not have the same dinner options twice. Dessert was usually a very nice selection of cakes. Neither my husband or myself were ill or felt rough from the food. The restaurant staff were usually friendly and happy to help, except for the odd one who clearly couldnt be bothered. We were disgruntled by the fact that you had to pay £1.50 for 2L bottle of water, which we saw as a necessity in a hot climate and also with a meal. The drinks were a let down for us, the choice is limited and if you dont drink beer add up very quickly. Try the Tunisian version if there is one for the spirits. Small note the bar staff are not experienced at making cocktails, this is very evident. That aside, they were very friendly and happy to chat.
The entertainment team work very hard to present a variation of entertainment to amuse all visitors with different age ranges and back grounds. Whilst there, we saw some very good shows. They are great dancers and always try and include you in as much as possible. However as a young couple we felt very let down by the night life - there was a nightclub across the road which starts at 11pm-4am. Its ok, the best we experienced during our stay but the music was slightly repetitive in its genre. Due to visitiing whilst off season, it was quiet in the hotel nightclub most nights after 11pm and quickly became boring. Would have been fine if your in a group of people where you can entertain yourselves and have a laugh - here is where you need to make your own entertainment or be happy to plod off to your room to watch tv or take a taxi into Sousse. There is one english channel that werent too bad and bbc news unless your german, russian or french.
The outside pool area is sufficient, but uncared for in general. You can see where there has been some movement/erosion of stairs down to the beach and edge of the patio area - which if you had small children or difficulty with mobility would be worry. The beach was clean and the water was clear and pleasant. The outside pool was freezing, but clean. Swam several times init for a laugh.The inside pool is quite small, but sufficient again. The slide is humerous - a token for children. There is a spa on site, which we never used, but did look very nice inside and clean and had a large indoor swimming pool and small gym room.
Overall we thought the staff were helpful and friendly in general, the hotel was dated and been left uncared for, its in serious need of an update. It was simple and reasonable for the price we paid. The food was good, the entertainment ok, lack of nightlife and isolated area made it a little worse. Quite simply the holiday was what we made it, we just chilled out by the pool and lazed around which was fine. There are other options to go do trips and travel to Sousse, Monisteer etc.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClifSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monastir hotels
3.9 mi away
Helya Beach & Spa
Helya Beach & Spa
#40 of 43 in Monastir
396 reviews
5.6 mi away
Neptunia Beach
Neptunia Beach
#10 of 43 in Monastir
351 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Thalassa Monastir
Royal Thalassa Monastir
#7 of 43 in Monastir
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Golden Beach Monastir
5.6 mi away
Ramada Liberty Resort Hotel
4.2 mi away
Skanes Family Resort
Skanes Family Resort
#2 of 43 in Monastir
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramar Pirate's Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramar Pirate's Gate

Address: Route Dkhila, Monastir 5000, Tunisia (Formerly Royal Miramar Thalassa)
Region: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Monastir
Price Range: £19 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Miramar Pirate's Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Miramar Thalassa Hotel Monastir
Royal Miramar Thalassa Monastir
Hotel Royal Miramar Thalassa
Miramar Pirate's Gate Tunisia/Monastir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing