We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Skanes Family Resort
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Monastir
Certificate of Excellence
Rainham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have just returned from 2 weeks at this hotel. Our first family holiday abroad with our 3 and 5 year old. The hotel was recommended by a friend who went last year and it lived up to all our expectations. The resort was a good size and we loved both the swimming pools and being directly on the beach was a real bonus. The food here is amazing so much choice, even after 2 weeks we were finding different dishes. And the cakes, wow, they were delicious. We did try the Indian restaurant one night but actually preferred the main buffet restaurant. The staff are so nice and friendly. The hotel is constantly being cleaned, the toilets down to the paths! Our room was modern and spacious and we had a lovely lady cleaning our room. We did pay to upgrade to a swim up room because our first room didn't have a balcony, but it was well worth the money! We loved the swim up and used it a lot. The kids loved the crazy golf and the playground. My 3 year old loved the evening entertainment dancing along with thomson the dog at the amphitheater. We did the pirate boat trip which was really good and got the train to monastir one day but to behonest we were more than happy staying in the resort, lots to do. Other reviews are correct in that the beach is pretty grubby if you walk along but if you stay on the bit designated to the hotel it's lovely. I would definitely consider returning next year.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AliPlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    277
    106
    28
    31
See reviews for
646
69
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 weeks (11-25 June). We were a party of 8, 3 adults and 5 children (aged 2,3,4,6 & 10).
My first impressions of the hotel were not great. We arrived by taxi in the very early hours of the morning. When we asked for a drink we was told it was gone 12 and we had to pay. We explained that we wasn't looking to drink alcohol but water which we was informed would be available in our room fridge.
When we arrived at our room there was some confusion over the type of room we had. My husband went back to reception where he was told by the hotel that they would sort it out and move us in the morning. The following morning after a heated discussion with the hotel and the help of our rep Charlotte we were moved rooms. We shook hands with the hotel and agreed to start over and i must admit from that point they was very helpful and acommodating. They even had chains put on our front and balcony doors as we were worried about the children opening them.

The hotel staff were so friendly and helpful. Nearly all were always smiling (shame about one of the men in the shop who was so rude and ignorate on many occasions).
Our waiter (I think his name was Anis) was such a lovely friendly man always happy and asking how you were. He would have our drinks waiting for us when we got back from getting our food.
There was some great staff at the lobby bar who would bring us drinks to our table.
We were in room 4225 and our maid was lovely, we had clean towels everyday. The room was always clean and tidy, the sheets were fresh and there was some beautiful towel art on a number of nights.
We did tip but not to get good service but to show our appreciation of the good service we did get.

We found the reps great. Graham had alot of information to offer. All were very friendly and would try to help you.
The crèche and kids club reps were brilliant. They really made my children feel at ease and knew them all by name within a short amount of time.
Evening crèche sesions were for 3 hours and were on friday sunday and monday evenings 7-10. Daytime sessions were for 2 hours with 3 different time slots throughout the day.
We used the drop in kids club which was for all ages, so handy if you have children of different ages that would like to go together. They can only take 16 children at a time so get there early if you really want a place.
The thomson entertainment team worked hard all day and ensured all my children and my husband (who's a big kid at heart) were all having a good time. My husband won 2 top dog t-shirts while we were there which he was pleased about. (You get them by winning the 12 o'clock game).
All the reps worked hard from morning until late evening in high temperatures. If you have any insues on anything dont be afraid to raise them with them. They were more then happy to sit and just chat with us after their evening entertainment had finished. They were always listening to feedback and ways to improve things.
One final note on entertainment the hotel employs a guy called Bora Bora. He is such a character, has so much personality and is a real credit to the hotel. His cheeky chappie dance had us all in stitches, such a lovely fun guy.

Tunisia has many lovely sites and many ways of getting around, from taxi and train to tuktuk and horse and cart.
You can get the noddy train from outside reception which takes you into Monistir (about 15-20 minutes away).
The hotel also runs a free shuttle bus into sousse and port el kantouie a couple of times a week. The train across the road will also take you into sousse for around 30p.
We hired a large car and driver through the hotel for a couple of days. We went to el jem on the first day (about an hour away) then carthage and sidi bou said on the next day (near Tunis and about 2 1/2 hours away).
We did the pirate boat trip with thompson it was about 3 1/2 hours on the boat going from the harbour in Monistir. We got to see some dolphins by the fish farms, have a swim (not with the dolphins) and lunch was included (bbq fish and chicken with salad and a bread roll followed by some fresh water melon).
Ali baba also does this excursion we chose thompson as they had some reps on there to do face painting for the children. We spoke to people who went with ali baba and they had a good time too.

Overall a really good holiday, I would recommend it. There are small things that need improving but you get that where ever you go. The good thing is that feedback is being listened too so things are improving all the time.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Aimee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We've just got back from our one week stay, 2 adults 3 children 11,8 and 3.
The hotel is spotlessly clean, food fantastic (something for everyone)rooms spacious.
We tipped one of the guys, around the pool, ayhmen,on our first day and he saved our sunbeds for us everyday which was absolutely brilliant!!! Another guy around the pool, bought us drinks all day long, which was also fab, and made you feel that extra bit special.
We needed a doctor one day as our daughter had an ear infection and a doctor was sent to our room within 30minutes! Absolutely fantastic!
If I had to pick any fault with the hotel it would probably be the entertainment team in the evenings. There was a kids disco but it was exactly the same every night (not that the kids minded) but there wasn't much going on after the kids disco.
The entertainment team didn't really seem to want to interact with the guests, unlike the Tunisian staff and life guards around the pool who were absolutely fantastic!
Brilliant holiday x

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Outnabout1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We returned back from our holiday to skanes family resort yesterday after a 7 night stay. We had a wonderful time. The hotel was clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were greeted by reception staff on arrival and was even waved off by staff and reps on the day of our departure which was nice. The food was great we all fed very well for the duration of the week. There was soooo much food to choose from from various different places around the hotel. The pools were clean and the kids loved the slides, and the park and crazy golf. The resort being on a private beach was a fantastic touch, and also had so much to do from jet skiing to paragliding even riding camels plus many more. The snack bar and drinks bar on the beach are included in the all inclusive package which was good. Our cleaner cleaned our room everyday and did a very good job.
We did 2 excursions the first was a trip on a pirate boat which was a lovely well organised trip, we got to see dolphins, jump into the sea off the boats edge, the pirate entertainment was good with the added bonus of a yummy lunch. We booked this through Ali baba who works in the hotel. He sold the excursion very well and is a lovely friendly man, in fact this excursion was better organised thanThe second excursion we did which was a visit to friguia park (an African zoo) through thomson. As much as the zoo was a wonderful experience we got to feed elephants, zebras, giraffes and even hold a baby lion cub, however thomson over booked so a family of 4 from another hotel ended up not being able to go after having booked because there wasn't enough room on the coach for them. The other down side was that it was a 2hour coach trip to get to the zoo and 2 hour coach trip back and once we arrived at the zoo we were informed we only had 2 hours in the zoo. The park itself is quite large with lots to see including Zulu dancers and a sea lion show to watch so with 2 young children one of which was in a wheel chair we found we had to rush about the park to see everything we didn't get much time to properly stop and enjoy the experiences we had. What with the heat as well we found the lack of time in the park ruined it for us.
Over than that though we had a truly wonderful holiday, the kids faces were priceless throughout the duration of our stay, me and my husband also had an amazing time and are already looking at returning next year with additional members of our family and are even looking at staying for 2 weeks next time.
I 100% recommend this holiday to anyone xxxxx

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Just back from a 7 night holiday skanes family resort, we had a fantastic time, the hotel was very clean and was constantly being cleaned. Food was great, lots of choice with different themed nights, didn't even bother using our free meal in one of the restaurants because the buffet was so good. Staff were very friendly in particular a life guard, Mohammad Heldi plus bar man, Rauof who'd always remember your name plus your drinks and would bring them out to you.
Plenty to do, water sports on the loverly private beach or excursions with Thomson, thou we went on a pirate ship with Ali baa baa which was fantastic and half the price of Thomson. Coach to the pirate ship did look a bit ropey but ok, they even stopped the traffic so you could cross the road as Tunisians dont worry about zebra crossings and took us right to the ship, the same was for the return to the coach, felt very safe.
Choice of alcoholic drinks was poor but then its in an Islamic country so what can you expect found the larger to strong but lovely as a shandy. Kids loved the pools and made lots of friends.

Room Tip: Swim up rooms looked good, plus a room near waterpark are better as an outside disco went on at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just home from a fantastic week at Skanes Family Resort.....We're a family of 4, with 2 girls aged 1 and nearly 4. Having never been to Tunisia, we were unsure what to expect.
Flight time of 3 hours was perfect, and apart from the extortionate prices for food and drink on the plane (But that's every airline), flight was great.
Having stayed up all night to watch England game and get to the airport for 3am, we skipped the transfer bus at the other end and got a taxi £30 from airport- was at our hotel within 40mins.

On arrival, we were welcomed by 3 members of staff that took our bags, gave us welcome drinks and carted everything up to our rooms for us.
Room totally Exceeded expectations, 2 big spacey modern rooms with TV with USB in each, plenty of storage space and very clean.
Read a bad review saying that the rugs were slippy!! Just roll them up and move them out the way, really not hard!?

Both pools were great, spent time in both. Beach was lovely, with the added bonus of having a security man shooing away the local sellers....every resort has them! A firm no and they move on.
These people have no money, of course they want you to buy something.

Exceptionally friendly people, from Reception to the Cleaners. Bar staff were great, and reception staff were really helpful.

Food and Drink, I have no complaints.....less bland and repetitive then other All Inclusive we've been too, plenty to keep both kids full. My other half can vouch that the drinks are NOT watered down!

Entertainment - We thought it was fine for us and the kids. After being up early, swimming, sunbathing and running round. We were all knackered by 11pm anyway.
Genuinely thought the Entertainment Reps did a great job.

Kids Club/Creche - Faultless, both kids loved it.

Big shout out to Graham the little Scottish Rep, without him we would of been without a Hello Kitty suitcase for our flight home :) Thanks again

All in all, a fab week.....we wish we'd stayed more. Keep up the good work

EXCEEDED our expectations on all levels!

,

Room Tip: 2204 over looking Main pool but far enough away from noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nickyd2379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel was kept spotless from dawn to dusk so there should be no complaints about the cleanliness of the hotel. ALL the staff we met were very friendly and always spoke and said hello if you smiled and spoke to them.
Our room was spacious but right next to a lift and cleaners cupboard, so you have the lift going past in the night and the cleaners getting all their stuff ready at 7.30 each morning so no chance of a lie in.
The food was ok just struggled to put things together to make a meal, needed some more veg and potatoe dishes, you can only have rice with everything so many nights.
The thing that let it down most for us was that all the daytime entertainment was around by the slide pool, but because most of it was too deep for our 7 yr old, she wanted to stay by the quiet pool were she could swim confidentially. this means you miss out on interacting with the reps which makes a big part of your holiday fun.
The hotel is miles from anywhere so you can't just go for a stroll if you want a quick change of scenery. We wouldn't rush back and prefer the Port el Kantaoui area.

Room Tip: If you get given room 1111 ask to change straight away before you unpack..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andy6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monastir hotels
0.7 mi away
Amir Palace
Amir Palace
#12 of 44 in Monastir
1,184 reviews
1.1 mi away
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
#5 of 44 in Monastir
2,195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Thalassa Monastir
Royal Thalassa Monastir
#7 of 44 in Monastir
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
smartline Skanes Serail
smartline Skanes Serail
#10 of 44 in Monastir
1,278 reviews
1.4 mi away
Neptunia Beach
Neptunia Beach
#8 of 44 in Monastir
326 reviews
4.8 mi away
Regency Hotel and Spa
Regency Hotel and Spa
#13 of 44 in Monastir
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skanes Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skanes Family Resort

Property: Skanes Family Resort
Address: Skanes, Monastir 5000, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Monastir
#1 Spa Hotel in Monastir
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monastir
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Monastir
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monastir
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monastir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Skanes Family Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skanes Family Resort is right on the fine sandy beach of Skanes, the touristic zone of Monastir. It's geared around families. with two outdoor pools, which include an aqua park with colourful waterslides and a pool just for kids - there's something for everyone. During the day you could have a game of tennis or football, and relax in the spa. And after dark the entertainment steps up a notch, with dance and acrobatic shows in the amphitheatre. Our rooms are light and spacious and come complete with air-con, satellite TV, hairdryer and a minibar. When it comes to Family rooms there are plenty of options with some sleeping up to six. You also have the option to book Swim-up rooms and interconnecting rooms. If you fancy exploring, it's less than 25 minutes' drive to Sousse's medina and souk, and around the same distance to buzzing Monastir. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Skanes Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skanes Family Resort Tunisia/Monastir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing