We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Skanes Family Resort
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Monastir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Arrived back on 30th June after 2 weeks outstanding holiday. Big thank you to all staff for excellent service especially Zina and Hamida our maids rooms spotless everyday, you could smell that they had ckeaned them. They even laid out my daughters cuddly toys for her. Food excellent but would not rcommend the steakhouse as its not part of the all inclusive and food not as good as main restaurant. Hotel spotless someine always cleaning. Beach narrow but slopesgently in sea so ideal for kids. Evening kids entertainment not good most kids stand by the stage waiting for songs to come on. Saying that our 3year old enjoyed it most nights. Pools lovely, one has waterslides and a kids splashpool this one always busy. Other one much quieter, right by the beach and restaurant.
Always food available of some sort when one closes something else opens. I would def go here again. Just make sure you take plenty of insect repelant and bite cream if you go from late june on as you will get bitten. No fault of hotel.

Room Tip: If travelling with kids get a two room family room costs more but worth it as super king in main roo...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank happyhol2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (986)
There are newer reviews for Skanes Family Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 987 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Ok my first time abroad and the hotel and the grounds are clean and tidy at all times food choice a bit repetitive I had pizza and chip's every day limited choice for kids food. Thompson reps are good especially nutty nats bora bora and golden Graham nutty nats and bora bora have very very high energy and keep things alive.
Beach bar well there is a guy there who looks like death never smiles when you ask for something it's like you want to take his arm away he scared my daughter so moody he was. Pools are great the resort it's self is fantastic outside the resort is another story the whole of Tunisia in my opinion looks like one big land fill rubbish every were. We did the quad biking which was excellent and today we did our last excursion market fever market fever to me was super scary I was dragged into shops literally shoulder to shoulder walking along like a cattle market we took our 4 year old girl. This is not for young kids I will never ever visit a market like that again the worst experience of our holiday. apart from outside the hotel ,we had fun inside. tompson reps are good. rooms are Ok air con is absolutely rubbish in the rooms might as well not have it. All in all good resort mostly good staff I would come here again but would never leave the hotel again except for quaddimg please choose your excursions carefully don't book them in the UK book them here with tompsons ask people what there experience's were like before you go on them. There is a guy called Ali baba who does excursions he never left me alone trying to get a sale people have had good and bad with him but he a bit dodgy for my likeing. Would recommend the hotel 100%

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jay1394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

It is rare I say I'd go back to the same place twice but I'm already looking for next year!!!
I could not find one fault with this holiday, our room was amazing, we had two bedrooms and they were beautifully cleaned & felt new (like no one else had ever slept in it) beds were a little hard but that's personal choice. The food was so good we didn't even try the specialist restaurant, I am vegetarian, my daughter is really fussy & my husband is very critical and yet we all ate and thoroughly enjoyed every meal. All staff throughout the hotel were very helpful and polite and the hotel was absolutely spotless (put our hotels to shame). The pools were beautiful, my children are 2 & 4 and I was really worried about the pools but they were really child friendly, none were too deep & the life guards were so vigilant I felt really at ease.
My daughter (who's quite shy) happily went to the kids clubs & had a great time, was impressed with the safeguarding element of the clubs & they seemed to do well thought out planned activities which she loved.
I used the gym every morning which had a good selection of equipment and was free to use (perhaps could of done with turning the air-con on)
The evening entertainment catered for the children early on (cheesey but they absolutely loved it) and for adults from 9.30 which we could see from our room and looked to be varied.
Like I have already said I cannot fault our holiday and wouldn't think twice about returning next year!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

this place is immaculate massive in size we had a family room with upstairs leading to the kids beds and ours down the stairs with tvs in both there huge with bathroom and seprate shower the food is excellent and drinks well all i can say the cocktails are lethal lol the beach is right there powder white sand and water is safe for wee ones to play in as it shallow quite far out the kids reps are amazing a different show every night then u go to bora bora entertainment to about 12.30 which is gd then u are ready for bed believe me u will be nacked with being out in the sun all day the snack bar and the pannini bar at the beach are the most popular cld go on and the kids loved all the slides also a playpark aswell who ever books here u will have amazing time i defo will be bk in the future xxx

Room Tip: family room if u have kids or u will get two seprate rooms
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank m01982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived at skanes family resort myself my partner my dad and my 2 daughters aged 12 and 1 on 25th June we had 2 rooms between us that was cleaned daily by our lovely maid we had a lovely time by the pools we found the quiet pool the best always was able to get a sunbed every day and the entertainment by the pool was good done by a great guy called bora bora always got u in the pool doing water aerobics and Zumba he also did other activities such and darts and archery etc the bar staff around the pool where great always brought u a drink gave them a little tip daily and they would look after you always so friendly also there was a little club near the pool called the snoopy club the 2 lady's in there where lovely one called Katy and the other sofi was really good with the children,we found the restaurants where nice always a good choice of foods had a diff theme every nite the beach was lovely even though we stayed round the pool and the beach bar did great toasties and paninis all round we had a great holiday and would go back thank u skanes family resort for a lovely week

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Hayley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my family arrived at skanes family resort on June 25th 2014, the food was great, staff was very friendly would recommend to families with young children for entertainment, the pools are very good, lifeguards are not very good at watching they would be on there phones or walk to the beach, bora bora was one of the best there, he would keep you entertained through out the whole day, he treated me and my family very good he would always check if u were okay!

Stayed: June 2014
7  Thank Lauren Smiley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were a family with a 4 year old, we stayed from 18-29 June. We arrived just after midnight, they had kept the restaurant open and offered us dinner but we declined as it was so late. The only negative thing about the arrival was that the check in process was so slow, took nearly an hour before we got to our room as we were one of the last to be seen, yet we had a crying, tired 4 year old, would have been nice if they had thought about that and sorted the families with obviously tired children first, as we weren't the only ones.

Our room was a swim up room, absolutely lovely and clean and kept so throughout our entire stay. Our maid was Hamida, she was so nice, couldn't do enough for us. One night my child was sick through the night so I had a pile of dirty towels and bed linen. When she came to the room to clean, I explained and she was so nice. My daughter was asleep at the time so she returned at various points through the afternoon to ensure that we didn't need any more towels/linen, so thoughtful. Only pitfall with our room was that the balcony door in the kids room didn't lock and the rugs in the rooms were really slippery on the floor. They look nice but not very practical. The safe was very temperamental too.
We went to the welcome meeting and were offered a guided tour which we accepted. Well worth the extra 20 mins or so being shown things and offered tips and suggestions by Graham who had very honest and frank opinions which we liked and respected.

We spent the first few days at the slide pool. Much busier than the other one and more going on. We quickly realised that the 'cleaners' at the pool reserve the sunbeds and then will offer the best beds to the biggest tippers. Not something I condone or liked. The remainder of the holiday we spent at the 'quiet' pool which was a much better choice. No reserving bed business there. In fact you could get a bed at anytime through the day, always some available and no one wanting a dinar to help you put your towel on the bed. The hotel employ an entertainment guy called Bora, amazing man with so much energy. He was great. Watch out ladies he will have you doing water aerobics whether you want to or not - but in a nice way!

We went on the pirate boat trip with Ali Baba. We enjoyed it.

The beach outside the hotel is clean but there's lots of beach sellers who target the kids, so beware. They will have scarves, shells, kites and jewellery dripping off your kids saying its a gift etc etc.

The kids club was fantastic, no complaints at all there, they do an amazing job. Special mention to Silly Sarah and Super Shaun who my daughter loved.

The evening entertainment is ok, repetitive yes, but no different to any other family hotel in the Thomson chain really. Same program and set up that they've had for years, so could do with revamp for sure. Make sure you watch the silk show, an act brought in by the hotel - mesmerising in my opinion.

The bars, well, the one by the quiet pool was great. Friendly attentive staff, particularly Raouf. The sports bar is ok too. The bar at the amphitheatre omg, shockingly awful. Slow service and for the bulk of our holiday there was only one miserable surly man called Abdulmonem serving. My God he was awful. The last few days he wasn't there - what a change. Keep him off!!
One word of warning regarding the drinks - Dont bother ordering diet coke. They have bottles of diet coke as its not available through the pumps, only when they think you aren't looking they just top these bottles up with normal coke. I saw this on many an occasion.

The restaurant is ok. The kids choices are very limited and repetitive. There is plenty for the adults. We thought the lunches were always nicer than the evening meals, but that's just a personal thing. They have theme nights, the only one we didn't like was the Indian Night (not to be confused with the Indian restaurant there). We didn't try the Indian restaurant based on the buffet night as it was vile. The drinks service at the restaurant is very hit and miss. Didn't even get offered a drink on many nights despite tipping on previous ones, so in the end we just got our own juice instead and gave up waiting for 'waiter service'

On leaving, we were being picked up at 6am. They open the restaurant early so you can get breakfast or a drink if you want before you leave which is a nice touch.

Yes the hotel is in the middle of nowhere in the sense that there's no shops or bars in the vicinity, only big hotels, but we knew that before we booked it so it wasn't a problem or a shock.

All in all we had an amazing holiday, I would recommend this to families for sure.

Room Tip: Get a swim up room, well worth it.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Saffron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monastir hotels
0.7 mi away
Amir Palace
Amir Palace
#13 of 43 in Monastir
1,197 reviews
1.1 mi away
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
#5 of 43 in Monastir
2,248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Thalassa Monastir
Royal Thalassa Monastir
#7 of 43 in Monastir
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
smartline Skanes Serail
smartline Skanes Serail
#9 of 43 in Monastir
1,296 reviews
1.4 mi away
Neptunia Beach
Neptunia Beach
#10 of 43 in Monastir
341 reviews
3.2 mi away
Houda Golf and Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skanes Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skanes Family Resort

Address: Skanes, Monastir 5000, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Monastir
#1 Spa Hotel in Monastir
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monastir
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Monastir
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monastir
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monastir
Price Range: £102 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Skanes Family Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skanes Family Resort is right on the fine sandy beach of Skanes, the touristic zone of Monastir. It's geared around families. with two outdoor pools, which include an aqua park with colourful waterslides and a pool just for kids - there's something for everyone. During the day you could have a game of tennis or football, and relax in the spa. And after dark the entertainment steps up a notch, with dance and acrobatic shows in the amphitheatre. Our rooms are light and spacious and come complete with air-con, satellite TV, hairdryer and a minibar. When it comes to Family rooms there are plenty of options with some sleeping up to six. You also have the option to book Swim-up rooms and interconnecting rooms. If you fancy exploring, it's less than 25 minutes' drive to Sousse's medina and souk, and around the same distance to buzzing Monastir. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Skanes Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skanes Family Resort Tunisia/Monastir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing