We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not 4 star”
Review of El Mouradi Skanes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Mouradi Skanes
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Monastir
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed for ten nights at this hotel: Very first impression unfriendly reception staff, strong smell
Of cigaret smoke.Soon realised resturant staff were only friendly if you tipped them every day.
Not English friendly hotel, mainly cater for Germans, many of which would just push in and bar staff would always serve the first .
Only a few English there, entertainment staff worked hard but allfull to watch once again
Did not cater for English. And children need entertainment as well but not till 9pm every night.

The hotel was clean ,rooms a nice size, but dated especially the bathroom. Maids were good
And we did tip them because they deserved it, but you shouldn't feel you should have to tip every
Day just to get the services you have already paid for and a smile from them would be nice .
We had a massage in the spa I know it wasnt expensive £20 but wouldn't recommend it,
Dressing gowns all had holes in them, towels didn't look,feel,smell clean. And the oil used
Had no smell proberly cooking oil, the Phots displayed do not match especially the spa
Shabby comes to mind.
Deposits needed for safe,beach towels, so take your own,even remote controls for tv(that's a first)
You need to hire cushions every day for sun lounger. That's of course if you are lucky enough to get one, be prepared to get up at 5am if you want one around the pool. Notices up but no one takes any notice.
Food what can I say plenty full but not really what you want to eat, Pitza chips, liver, stew,fish
Etc same every day.if you wanted an omelett you were expected to tip.
Would I ever go back to this hotel Definately NOT. NEVER.
Holidays are what you make of them ,but this hotel it was difficult unfriendly all in all disappointing.
Plus side weather was lovely, breeze on the beach.
July 2014

Room Tip: Go for third floor, less smell of cigarette smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Directeur général at El Mouradi Skanes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2015

Dear Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, we regret not being able to fully meet your expectations. .However we are surprised at some details and we would like to take this opportunity to inform you that: -In the hotel there is no smoking areas, the lobby as well as the bar, the main restaurant and restaurant a la carte. - In accordance with our All In concept, at the pool terrace and at the beach, Parasols and Sunbeds are free and the mattresses are payable. The remote control for the TV and the beach towels are not payable but we do require a deposit which of course is returnable at the end of your stay, whereas the safe in the room is with extra charge. Normally your tour operator would have been well aware of the hotel’s All In concept. We preferred to be informed of your opinion on real time during your stay, to control the critical points and better satisfy you. In our knowledge and our usual contact with the representative of the travel agency, our guests were satisfied during the period of your stay in our hotel. We take seriously every objective remark to undertake the necessary improvements. We thank you for your understanding and we hope to regain your trust.
Yours sincerely
Hotel El Mouradi Skanes Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 698 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Well here goes, just come back from the El Mouradi , and all i can say is a great holiday.The hotel its self is lovely and very large , the rooms could do with a little up-dating but they not bad.The staff are fantastic and so friendly , a little tip at your evening meal to the waiter and sod looking for a table our 8 seater was kept and drinks already served and the service was second to none.

Yes some food is repeated but with a million other choices to. If your going to to the trouble and expense to fly to a country hours away and with a different culture and expect chips egg and beans , well dont go and go to blackpool , The food is lovely and plenty off choice on all servings also the pool bars do chips pizza , rolls with cheese ect , also cakes and plenty more all day round.
Entertainment is pretty good and then a disco inside till 2am but you do pay for drinks in the indoor disco.
The beech is 20 feet from the hotel and the sea is clean with watersports ,yes you do get seaweed as some people have commented on here , for gods sake its the sea what do you expect .

Anyway if you want great sun , nice hotel , food , people yes alot off other nationalitys , but your abroad , seems some Brits on here need to stay in Skegness as they only want to see or speak to English.

The Holiday was 11 days and had a great time me my wife and 2 kids 14 years old.

Would i go back DEFO .

Mike , Debby , kids Wigan , Lancs.

Room Tip: rooms facing the pool above the inside Bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Directeur général at El Mouradi Skanes, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2015

Dear Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to file on Trip Advisor a positive feedback on the performance and quality of our services. We will not fail to convey your appreciation to our hotel staff for the effort and quality of their work. We would be happy if we can welcome you again and count you among our loyal customers.
Best Regards
The Management of the Hotel El Mouradi Skanes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Came back after a week away on the 26th July. Holiday was very good, food was great. Staff were very nice and helped us a couple of times with our queries (especially at the reception desk) - you only have to ask! Hotel is very clean - sheets and towels changed daily. Not worth watching the tv as it isn't in English (only news). Lots of Polish, German and Russians but I quite like that as I think it is nice to mix - some English people at the hotel were always complaining about this - very sad!

Entertainment was excellent, there was always something to do during the day and evening. Outside of the hotel isn't worth a visit apart from a couple of tourist shops.

Only downside - the hotel has lots of rooms which means lots of people so it can get busy at mealtimes and also around the pool. We had to pop down with our towels at 6am in the morning to save sunbeds. Deposits are required for safe and towels. Also, sunbeds are 2 dinar per day - seems to have gone up as it used to be 1 dinar. The hotel should look at these extras as all inclusive should mean we don't have to take too much extra money.

Wifi didn't work - I asked at the reception as I thought I had to pay but they said it was free but I couldn't get connected. I was told that it is perhaps too busy at the moment (which was all of the time).

I visited the Royal Kenz in Tunisia in June and it was a 4* platinum, it was fantastic - there is a difference in quality but overall a very good holiday at the El Mouradi Skanes.

Room Tip: As far as we could see all rooms were very nice. Sea view looks over the main pool and entertainment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Directeur général at El Mouradi Skanes, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2015

Dear Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to file a positive feedback on the performance and quality of our services. We attach a great importance to your comments in order to improve our services. We would be happy if we can welcome you again and count you among our loyal Customer.
Best Regards
The Management of the hotel El Mouradi Skanes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was mine and my boyfriends first holiday away together and honestly it could not have been any more perfect! The staff were absolutely lovely, the food was very tasty and the people who we met and spoke to were all very friendly! We tipped our waiter everyday and he would put flowers on our table at breakfast and at dinner he would make swans from napkins with hearts and all! It was so lovely. We also found that by tipping our maid, we would go back to our room and find flowers and decorative sheets on our bed, in the bathroom and all. It was beautiful! The room was completely spick and span every single day.

Many people on here have said about mosquito bites which personally its not the hotels fault, if you go to sleep with your balcony door open, of course you are at a higher risk to get bitten! Also to go against some other reviews I have read, there is cereal but it just looked a little grated so a little different to the cereal in England but for me, there was such a variety of food to have for breakfast so i couldn't complain really anyway! Every day at breakfast, lunch and dinner there would be chefs behind different counters cooking fried eggs, making pancakes, lunch would be pasta and fish or burgers and dinner there would be pizza, and all sorts. Although some food was the same some days, there was always at least 2 dishes different.

If you're looking to go on a nice relaxing holiday without tv and just to get away from everything, I would definitely advise going here, my boyfriend and I had the most amazing time and want to go back already! Everything was completely clean and tidy, for us, there wasn't a single fault in this hotel.

Hope this review has helped! Don't miss out, It is amazing!

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor looking down on mainly the entrance but we had the sun facing our bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nats18x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Directeur général at El Mouradi Skanes, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2015

Dear Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to file on Trip Advisor your positive feedback on the performance and quality of our services. We will not fail to convey your appreciation to hotel staff for the effort and quality of their work. We hope to count you among our faithful Customer.
Best Regards
The Management of the Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Please brace yourselves for a long review as my husband and I are so upset and angry about this place we want to give as much fore warning as possible to others possibly embarking on a visit to this hotel.....

We booked this trip to Tunisia at quite short notice to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary. We looked at the pictures and thought it looked like a lovely place to celebrate the end of our 1st year of married life, and start the second. We couldn't have been more wrong. When arriving at the hotel via the shared transfer, we immediately had the thoughts in the head and the stomach dropping feeling of "Please god this can not be our hotel surely"It looked nothing like the pictures at all! Needless to say it was our hotel, located about 300yds from an industrial estate, gas works, and a United colours of Bennetton Factory! Not a great start. Upon arrival at the hotel, we were given some paperwork to fill out, which we were not allowed to fill out at the reception desk. We were ushered away to another area to do it, as if we were a bad smell. Nobody checked on us and we had to wave to get someone's attention to tell them we were done. We weren't even told what the form was for!

Then there was the fiasco of our room. Being a married couple you would naturally order a double room. We were guided to our room only to be presented with twin beds. At this point, after poor service from the airline and transfer provider I had had enough and spoke out saying they can't expect a married couple to sleep in single beds. The porter swiftly called reception when he realised I wasn't going to back down. The manager/receptionist deckling with changing our rooms looked at us like dirt, as if giving us what we had originally booked was a chore. We were upgraded to a "honeymoon suite" by means of an apology. It was a dump. That's all I can say. Sheets weren't changed very often etc etc... All this is just the arrival!

Food: HORRIFIC! Who eats ratatouille for breakfast? Who has scrambled eggs that are swimming in milk? Who wants last night's dinner when they are on holiday. That was (seemingly) what they were serving. Saw another review saying no breakfast cereal which is completely true. Ive just read Kia F's review again and so far we match entirely! My husband and i were struck down with food poisoning for a total of 4 days out of the 7 between us so thanks to the horrific food it ruined the holiday even more than it already was. We reduced ourselves to eating bread and skipping meals so that we were putting ourselves at minimal risk of making ourselves worse!

Service: The term all-inclusive is used very loosely. You can't use the tap water. However, if you want a bottle of water (WATER I EMPHASISE) to take to your room so you can actually stay well you are charged for it! The money isn't what bothers me. It is the sheer principle. Staff would always wait to serve the `English people last and would slam a glass down so hard in front of you that it would almost smash! I paid a lot if money for the holiday and I thought all inclusive would include manners in that price. You ask for something and the staff would just carry on with their conversation as if you were never really there. Really quite upsetting. I was sat in the bar crying because I wanted to come home early! People were harassing you to buy things go on excursions and take part in activities when all you wanted was to sunbathe or be left in peace. The staff would even take to spraying you with water guns whilst you were in mid conversation, taking earphones out of your ears whiles your eyes were closed and moving magazines away from your face so that you would engage with them. The one time we did engage in an activity, water polo, my husband lost his wedding ring, only to be told it was gone and that the staff were not going to help him find it. It was only thanks to other guests helping us look very hard that it turned up. They kept asking him about his race as well which I though was rather rude and overfamiliar. We were both horrified! Why does somebody's race matter at all?

The hotel is dirty, dirty plates glasses and yoghurt pots being left in hallways for 3 days before we left with no sign of being cleared. Staff leaving faeces in the toilet after numerous people in the hotel were taken with food poisoning, someone had vomited in the bar and they just put a cloth over it AFTER being alerted to it, with no effort to clean it, DISGUSTING

The pictures are not the real picture you get upon arrival. Please, do not take the risk. Better off not going on holiday at all

Room Tip: don't choose one full stop!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Directeur général at El Mouradi Skanes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2015

Dear Customer ,
Thank you for your comment .We regret to know that you were not totally satisfied with your holiday in our hotel .However, we are surprised by some comments and we take this opportunity to correct some information:
-The Hotel El Mouradi Skanes is not in the industrial area, but in the tourist area of Skanes- Monastir. Maybe you mean the E-power planted outside the tourist area of Skanes, which can be seen from the hotel. Whilst, the E-power belongs to the city of Sousse. We preferred to be informed of your opinion on real time during your stay, to control the critical points and better satisfy you. In our knowledge and our regular contact with the representative of the agency, our guests were satisfied during the period of your stay. We take seriously any objective comment with a great importance in order to improve our services. Your holiday enjoyment is very important to us .We would be happy if you continue to welcome you as our guests and give us another chance to prove you our good willingness. Yours sincerely .
The Management of the Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The place was full of Russians the hotel staff ignore and are very rude to english people,on the first night the air con didn't work and my little girl was covered in bed bug bites and mosquito bites a real let down the tour man is a pest and rude a real let down of a hotel and not worth the money even the staff say the same and the manager is useless i say enter at own risk even the beach wasn't looked after if ur going to go to Tunisia go souse elmouradi.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Keiron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Directeur général at El Mouradi Skanes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2015

Dear Customer,
We thank you for your comments and for your confidence to the hotels El Mouradi. However, we regret to know that you were not totally satisfied with your stay in our hotel El Mouradi Skanes. But we preferred to be informed of your opinion on real time during your stay, to control the critical points and better satisfy you. Also we would like to inform you that the air conditioning does not work while the balcony door is open, the contact break automatically. We attach great importance to your remarks to undertake the required improvements. We hope to regain your trust and we would be happy if you continue to welcome you as our guests and give us another chance to prove you our good willingness.
Yours sincerely
The Management of the Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Quite disappointing really, food was repetitive. Breakfast cereal non existent. Ever had ratatouille for breakfast?.
Constantly being badgered by people selling trips from the hotel, just wouldn't leave us alone.
Lots of Russians at the hotel.
30 year old TV only had 1 English news channel

Room Tip: Just choose another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Directeur général at El Mouradi Skanes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2015

Dear Customer,
Thank you for your comments posted on Trip Advisor. We regret not being able to fully meet your expectations. Sorry that we were not informed about the critical points on the real time during your stay. In our knowledge and according to our permanent contact with the representative of the travel agency, our guests were satisfied with the quality and the variety of the food. We have taken your comments with great consideration to undertake the corrective actions needed as soon as possible. We count on your understanding and hope to regain your trust.
Best regards
The management of the hotel El Mouradi Skanes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monastir hotels
2.7 mi away
Amir Palace
Amir Palace
#20 of 43 in Monastir
1,197 reviews
7.7 mi away
Regency Hotel and Spa
Regency Hotel and Spa
#15 of 43 in Monastir
509 reviews
1.9 mi away
Neptunia Beach
Neptunia Beach
#10 of 43 in Monastir
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Marina Cap Monastir Apart'hotel
8.2 mi away
Monastir Center Hotel
Monastir Center Hotel
#11 of 43 in Monastir
259 reviews
4.3 mi away
smartline Skanes Serail
smartline Skanes Serail
#9 of 43 in Monastir
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mouradi Skanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Skanes

Address: | Zone Touristique Skanes, Monastir 5000, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Monastir
#12 Spa Hotel in Monastir
#12 Luxury Hotel in Monastir
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Monastir
Price Range: £26 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Mouradi Skanes 4*
Number of rooms: 505
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Mouradi Skanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Skanes Monastir
El Mouradi Skanes Tunisia/Monastir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing