We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Liberty Resort Hotel
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Monastir
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Friendly hotel”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Been to Tunisia twice, this is a brilliant hotel for 4 stars. You're made to feel very welcome from the start. The team at reception are very friendly and helpful and all the staff in the hotel are friendly from the valets right through to the management. We even got taken to a wedding and received special treatment. Activities happen everyday and the pool staff, bar staff, life guards are all superb. Brilliant holiday and we are coming back again next year.

Everyone at the hotel, we thank you for a tremendous holiday.

Dean, Rachel, Olivia.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEANO81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    421
    229
    130
    118
See reviews for
508
395
42
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

In summary…….the Ramada Liberty Resort Hotel in Skanes, Tunisia is a substandard resort with substandard accommodation and no more than a 2 star at best.

It is tired and dated and in dire need of modernising to bring it up to anywhere near it’s perceived 4 star rating.

The food hygiene and standard of food is diabolical in all areas and the entertainment is awful.

The alcohol and beer is watered down and served in coloured plastic beakers that are not adequately cleaned and the general standard of cleanliness around the resort grounds has you pestered by flies, bees and wasps throughout the day.

The room is comfortable enough but dated and dirty in areas, very basic and needs additional cost for security of personal items and no fridge.

Like others have said, read the bad reviews that trip advisor has permitted as the bad reviews are the ones that most reflect the reality of this hotel.

This is my opinion and my view of this resort. Hope it helps.

I won’t be going back and I will NOT be recommending this resort to family and friends. I wouldn’t want them wasting money here.

If you want to know what I had originally written about the Ramada (Taking a Liberty) Resort but was prevented from posting it by Trip Advisor then please contact me.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LazyCorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monastir hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This holiday is great if you want to know if your relationship is going to last or not, it really is a make or break disaster holiday!!

Upon arrival, we witnessed the hotel manager THREATENING an elderly gentleman who had been given the wrong room and was asking to move rooms.

This didn't fill us with hope when we walked into our room and saw it was filled with COCKROACHES letting themselves freely in and out of the room under the door from the dusty bush outside, and not the seaview we had paid for.

And yes we were right, they refused to move us, even telling me to SHUT UP when I complained. We were offered another room which was even worse, so we spent the night on cockroach watch with soapy towels lining the door. Not only that, we were under the boiler room, and had loud clanging all night which we recorded on our phone!

As for the food, you either ate it and risked food poisoning or didn't eat and die. We mainly lived on bread and chips, but still managed to catch an infection and was on antibiotics upon return. There are more flies in the food than actual food. All of the meat looks the same (probably dog), we once counted 30 flies sitting on one table alone. They reserve food from the night before, the drinks are unbranded and served in dirty cups, great if you want to develop diabetes! The only food we looked forward to was buying a banana each morning from Ali, as it was the only food not contaminated!

The beach was disgusting, dog poo everywhere, glass, bottles, used condoms, cigarettes butts, you are constantly harassed the minute you leave. Entertainment is awful, none of its in English and they replay the same kids songs over and over and over. Not enough tables or chairs.

We actually had to withdraw more money to go and stay in the movenpick hotel and eat out every night. The exchange rate in the hotel changes daily, seems they just make it up as they go along. The airport does not let you use the currency, and since its illegal to take the currency out of the country, where does the money go? CORRUPTION at its best.

Out hotel rep was RUBBISH, spent an hour banging on about how amazing Tunisia is and did not take our complaints seriously at all. Excursions were also abismal, a camel ride through a dumping ground with rabid dogs roaming and endless rubbish, ending up at at a 'family home' where you were just pushed to buy drinks and souvenirs, a photo of you on the camel costing £10! Taxi drivers make up fares as they go along, even changing the quoted price half way through the journey.

All of the positive reviews on here are FAKE as they all mention the animation team, the hotel encourage and bribe you to write positive reviews, this hotel should be CLOSED down, it's filthy, disgusting, the staff are rude and it is the biggest waste of money ever spent. We now make sure we read every review before going on holiday. The best part of the holiday - LEAVING!!!

Pros:
- we lost weight on the bread diet and having the worst dirorreah of our lives

Cons:
- not even our greedy Labrador dog would eat the food at the hotel
- cockroaches and flies on a permanent vacation in the hotel
- rudest staff we have ever come across, especially the Lurch from Adams family lookalike
- dirty beach - visit at your own risk!!!

Ramada liberty - you should be ASHAMED of yourselves, and the fact you don't reply to negative reviews sums you up!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Was back again in this hotel in May. Great time as usual. New entertainment Director.
Has brought in some new things which has generated great enthusiasm with the animation team.
Chefs are doing new menu's especially towards the English guests.
Rooms cleaned every day, staff are great and the happy hour in the pay bar is just the job.
Have already booked Christmas and New year. Roll on December

Room Tip: try and get one facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshhillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monastir, Tunisia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Brilliant holiday, animation team excellent especially Niño,Chris,dido. Restaurant manager Ali was extremely helpful.Bar staff very good and very cheerful.rooms clean and serviced daily. Pool area very clean.

Room Tip: We had family room which was large and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Collette145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Never a 4star, 2 star at the most. Horrible rooms dirty and horrible smell. Dirty bed sheets,urine and blood stained mattress. Bathroom stunk of pee and poo shower didnt fit in the holder on the wall ,you had to hold the shower. Bath so old and rusty. Beds!!!!! Rock hard. Dirty hall way carpets. Rats running around outside near kitchen. Poor entertainment, watered down alcoholic drinks, poor entertainment, poor ,disgusting food. In the middle of no where. The only nice thing was the pool. Dont go there......... even if its cheap. Forgot to say staff can be very rude apart from afew waiters in the restaurant, very hard working and polite. Skanes was was dirty, sousse even worse, nothing pretty about the place. sorry Tunisia

Room Tip: stay home, do not go
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank amanda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Where do we start as It is being reviewed as a 4* hotel.....

The welcome - greeted with a drink and same coloured armbands for everybody ( even the under 18's able to get alcohol as we witnessed) .
Room - no toiletries and hairdryer not working and expected fridge in room not there!!Beds are like planks of wood and short......door lock to room was not secure.Shower fitting was poor and had a mind of its own.Door stop adjacent to toilet was a continual trip hazard.Chair was missing on the balcony ... The maid cleaned everyday and was pleasant so was tipped accordingly.
General communal area- Carpets in communal corridors worn and stained and needed replacing. There are pool tables and air hockey operated by an independent company that are always breaking down and the management shrug shoulders and say maybe tomorrow.WiFi what a nightmare - a week pass costing 30Dinar usable in the reception area only is close to unusable as the capacity in the router with people on skype and facetime make it a nightmare.tables in reception are always dirty and with all the spillages attract the flies and ants.Swimming pool was a real gem ...hardly used by residents so so much space :-0.. always sunloungers available two occasions in the shallow end the pool had floating"poop" in the pool and the attendant removed it with a broom !! the pool was not evacuated ...However you have to work round the waterpolo and the surfboards being used for activities .Animation team of 12 seemed always to have 6 on holiday !! There was the standard darts , water polo, water aerobics, dance class and archery in the daytime.The nighttime entertainment was a total shambles , even school playtime would be better, with so many people available and a timed structure this is unbelievably bad.
Eating facilities - 1. Beach bar - we visited the bar and the smell was horrendous and in turn it attracted the flies and insects to make you leave in a hurry , the cups that the drinks are served in had a "smell " to them so not washed properly. The environment for eating is a no go . 2. Barbeque bar side of pool- the afternoon crepe production was fresh and visible for all to see and a big success , but the pizza dough laying waiting for preparation with flies landing on the balls was not hygienic and was a sad state of prep for the other offering .The meal which you have to book is in essence prepared elsewhere and brought in for serving and laying awaiting guests to flies etc to attend to before consumption .Not a good environment to eat in 35C temperatures. 3- main dining hall "this was a classic Les Dawson offering" The same food offered in different guises everyday and recycled into paella dishes if not eaten. breakfast was "interesting" with potatoes and rice etc pancakes prepared with the finger touch all over them to make sure they are cooked Hmmmm , cakes so bad that even a Victoria sponge when we returned seemed good.The dining room could not cope with the surges of people and it became hunt the knife , plate , glass etc It had a "canteen" feel to the place ....4.- A la Carte - everyday and every week it was the same , the schnitzel was the highlight though we tried as a family all the options in two visits and the rest was not worth mentioning .
Location , location ...... it could not be any worse , no walks , no sites , lots of concrete and taxis , horse and carriage .
Location 0 , Food 0, Facilities 1, Entertainment 0 ,Room 0

Room Tip: ROAD SIDE TOP FLOOR ....about the best you can get there :-( , better still don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Charmron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monastir hotels
0.1 mi away
Neptunia Beach
Neptunia Beach
#8 of 44 in Monastir
317 reviews
6.2 mi away
Regency Hotel and Spa
Regency Hotel and Spa
#12 of 44 in Monastir
486 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amir Palace
Amir Palace
#13 of 44 in Monastir
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
smartline Skanes Serail
smartline Skanes Serail
#11 of 44 in Monastir
1,251 reviews
1.8 mi away
Helya Beach & Spa
Helya Beach & Spa
#22 of 44 in Monastir
382 reviews
2.5 mi away
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
#5 of 44 in Monastir
2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Liberty Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Liberty Resort Hotel

Property: Ramada Liberty Resort Hotel
Address: Skanes Beach, Monastir 5000, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Monastir
#6 Luxury Hotel in Monastir
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Monastir
#8 Family Hotel in Monastir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Liberty Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Liberty Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Liberty Hotel Monastir
Ramada Liberty Resort Hotel Tunisia/Monastir
Ramada Monastir
Monastir Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing