We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ramada Liberty Resort Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Neptunia Beach(Monastir)(Great Value!)
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Skanes Serail(Monastir)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mezri(Monastir)
US$35
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$37
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Regency Hotel and Spa(Monastir)(Great Value!)
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Amir Palace(Monastir)
US$35
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
SENTIDO Rosa Beach(Monastir)(Great Value!)
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Delphin Ribat(Monastir)
US$34
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (1,417)
Filter reviews
1,417 results
Traveller rating
502
433
229
131
122
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
502
433
229
131
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimation teamcrepesgreat holidaygreat funcouscousomelettekids clubtunisiatitomattressesdisco
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 1,417 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

As previously mentioned in other reviews, it seems blatantly obvious that many of the 5 star reviews have been written by people linked to the hotel.

This hotel has both good and bad points. It is certainly not a 4 star (mainly due to food and restaurant issues). However, it does have many good points, which in our opinion, would give it a 3 star rating. We travelled as a family of four-two adults and two children aged 11 and 13 and overall we had a relaxing, enjoyable holiday.

Good points:
The rooms were large, comfortable and clean, although could do with a bit of updating. They were cleaned every day despite no tip being given until the last day. There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room but these could be obtained from the bar after 10am.

The pool was great for both adults and children, with varying depths to suit. It was always clean and never seemed overcrowded! Lifeguards were present but were perhaps not as observant as you may expect with lots of younger children in and around the pool. Towels were available for a small deposit, but I would suggest you take your own larger ones.

Regular activities took place during the day including water polo, boccia, darts, zumba and archery. The animation team would come and ask children and adults to join in but were never forceful if you refused. However evening entertainment was rather poor and will be mentioned later!

There were a couple of nice tennis courts, which could be hired for a small charge and a very friendly tennis coach should you need him. No need for rackets or balls as they were included. We enjoyed doing this in the evening.

The beach was a very short walk away and was made up of lovely fine sand. However, seaweed along the shore spoilt it a little. A hotel inclusive bar was included in one area and plenty of watersports were available for a reasonable charge.

Bad points:
Only one bar around the pool and one inclusive bar inside. Others, including what was advertised as an English bar (not!) were chargeable. This was disappointing as there was a lovely area which could have been used for snacks and drinks during the day.

Food was the biggest let down for us. Whatever time you arrived at the restaurant for breakfast, lunch or evening meal, you were made to queue for a long time, even if you only wanted one item from the large selection on offer. It would have been much better if people had been allowed to go back and forth at leisure. By the time you did get to your selection it was often cold! Flies were also evident where food was left exposed. This really needs sorting out! On the plus side, the pancakes and omelettes and pizza freshly made were lovely. The children were disappointed that ice cream was not available throughout the day as you would usually expect from an all inclusive 4 star hotel!

Finally...the evening entertainment was very disappointing with the animation left to organise bizarre comedy sketches. They did work very hard all day and were very friendly (especially Zazi and Nino).However, the hotel really needs to buy in outside entertainers if they are going to advertise themselves as 4 star! We were also left with two days of our holiday with no activities due to a serious incident that took place in the pool. Unfortunate, since we were only there for a week.

Despite the ups and downs of this hotel, we did have a lovely holiday for the price we paid. Beware, flying to Enfida may involve a 90 minute transfer!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank s2rav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel end of July/Aug with my wife and two children aged 12 & 14
First of all I must say that I have been visiting Tunisia since 2002 so have been about ten times and am aware that 4star rating in Tunisia is not the same as in other country.
Good points first
The room are basic but good and are identical to every other room I have stayed in whilst in Tunisia, If anything did not work in the room the service team always repaired it the same day as asked. Maid service was good and I have always found this in Tunisia hotels.
The pool I will put under good points although there is a severe shortage of sunbeds and space, there is a barbecue area that is wasted room that would be better used for sunbeds.
Bad points
Food is exceptionally bland roasted Turkey was on every night of the 10 days I stayed there it proved to be difficult to shift and we weren’t getting anything else till we had eaten it.
There is an internal restaurant which you can book once during your stay but on the night we went in the service very bad with people getting mains before starters after waiting over an hour. The food is much the same as the main dining room and on the night we used it at least half walked out without eating.
There is a barbecue area around the pool which you can book once during your stay for lunch time. The food is ok but limited and you will probably just order the pizza. This area is a massive waste of space and would better serve if the table area was reduced to a couple of tables where you could get a drink during the day and a plate of chips allowing the additional sun beds.
There is a beach bar where the food is basically the same but with good service and you can get a half decent beer in the beach bar where the barman does not think he is doing you a favour serving you.
Drinks:
First of all we did not use the bar facilities much after the first couple of days instead we went across the road to a hotel called Neptune’s where you are welcomed and the prices are reasonable.
All inclusive drinks are disgusting and the service is appalling, they only ever serve you drinks in a plastic beaker day or night regardless of what you order. My suggestion is to purchase a drink from the pay bar and keep hold of the glass to decant you drinks into.
Pay bar is expensive, bottle of beer is 5TDN where across the road it is 3.2 it’s not a lot when converted to UK pound but you will never get a cold beer, Ice or a slice of lemon in the Ramada Liberty but will always get if offered across the road so why pay the higher price for poor service. By the way Neptune’s is classed as 3 star but I recommend taking a look at it the kids loved it on an evening because the animation team loved the kids, and the kids could get popcorn, candy floss and pancakes whilst watching the shows. Bad for them yes but god did it keep them happy.
There is what’s amusingly called an English bar but you will find the drinks menu is in Arabic the music belting out is Arabic and the bar is filled with local taxi drivers sat around the bar.

Suggestions if you have already booked:
Monastir: is 10TDN away (£3.50) each way if you want to see the real life of Tunisians go for a visit but I warn you it’s a bit of a depressing place. A good lesson to children to show them how bad life can be.
Sousse: is 10TDN away (£3.50) each way this more of the tourist area that you will regret not booking into, plenty of good restaurants and hotels/bars even a couple of English bars.
Ali’s bar is5TDN away (£2) also known as Ali barbers bar in what’s called the tourist zone only 5 mins away towards Sousse and he does a full English breakfast.
Do not buy anything from the hotel shop, go into Sousse or there are two big supermarkets round by Ali’s bar. Crisps are 5TDN in hotel and 1 or 2TDN outside with kids and bad food you go through these. Cigarettes 200 are 60TDN in hotel and 30TDN outside they work on you being a captive audience
Final point
I spoke to a lot of people in hotel who said it was there first time in Tunisia and would not be returning, I find this a pity because I have never had bad service in Tunisia in all my visits ut I can understand that if people think this remote hotel and poor service is standard to Tunisia then they will never return.

Room Tip: check air con when you first get room as night club music will not allow you to leave patio door open on a night.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Been to Tunisia twice, this is a brilliant hotel for 4 stars. You're made to feel very welcome from the start. The team at reception are very friendly and helpful and all the staff in the hotel are friendly from the valets right through to the management. We even got taken to a wedding and received special treatment. Activities happen everyday and the pool staff, bar staff, life guards are all superb. Brilliant holiday and we are coming back again next year.

Everyone at the hotel, we thank you for a tremendous holiday.

Dean, Rachel, Olivia.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEANO81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

In summary…….the Ramada Liberty Resort Hotel in Skanes, Tunisia is a substandard resort with substandard accommodation and no more than a 2 star at best.

It is tired and dated and in dire need of modernising to bring it up to anywhere near it’s perceived 4 star rating.

The food hygiene and standard of food is diabolical in all areas and the entertainment is awful.

The alcohol and beer is watered down and served in coloured plastic beakers that are not adequately cleaned and the general standard of cleanliness around the resort grounds has you pestered by flies, bees and wasps throughout the day.

The room is comfortable enough but dated and dirty in areas, very basic and needs additional cost for security of personal items and no fridge.

Like others have said, read the bad reviews that trip advisor has permitted as the bad reviews are the ones that most reflect the reality of this hotel.

This is my opinion and my view of this resort. Hope it helps.

I won’t be going back and I will NOT be recommending this resort to family and friends. I wouldn’t want them wasting money here.

If you want to know what I had originally written about the Ramada (Taking a Liberty) Resort but was prevented from posting it by Trip Advisor then please contact me.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!!!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LazyCorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This holiday is great if you want to know if your relationship is going to last or not, it really is a make or break disaster holiday!!

Upon arrival, we witnessed the hotel manager THREATENING an elderly gentleman who had been given the wrong room and was asking to move rooms.

This didn't fill us with hope when we walked into our room and saw it was filled with COCKROACHES letting themselves freely in and out of the room under the door from the dusty bush outside, and not the seaview we had paid for.

And yes we were right, they refused to move us, even telling me to SHUT UP when I complained. We were offered another room which was even worse, so we spent the night on cockroach watch with soapy towels lining the door. Not only that, we were under the boiler room, and had loud clanging all night which we recorded on our phone!

As for the food, you either ate it and risked food poisoning or didn't eat and die. We mainly lived on bread and chips, but still managed to catch an infection and was on antibiotics upon return. There are more flies in the food than actual food. All of the meat looks the same (probably dog), we once counted 30 flies sitting on one table alone. They reserve food from the night before, the drinks are unbranded and served in dirty cups, great if you want to develop diabetes! The only food we looked forward to was buying a banana each morning from Ali, as it was the only food not contaminated!

The beach was disgusting, dog poo everywhere, glass, bottles, used condoms, cigarettes butts, you are constantly harassed the minute you leave. Entertainment is awful, none of its in English and they replay the same kids songs over and over and over. Not enough tables or chairs.

We actually had to withdraw more money to go and stay in the movenpick hotel and eat out every night. The exchange rate in the hotel changes daily, seems they just make it up as they go along. The airport does not let you use the currency, and since its illegal to take the currency out of the country, where does the money go? CORRUPTION at its best.

Out hotel rep was RUBBISH, spent an hour banging on about how amazing Tunisia is and did not take our complaints seriously at all. Excursions were also abismal, a camel ride through a dumping ground with rabid dogs roaming and endless rubbish, ending up at at a 'family home' where you were just pushed to buy drinks and souvenirs, a photo of you on the camel costing £10! Taxi drivers make up fares as they go along, even changing the quoted price half way through the journey.

All of the positive reviews on here are FAKE as they all mention the animation team, the hotel encourage and bribe you to write positive reviews, this hotel should be CLOSED down, it's filthy, disgusting, the staff are rude and it is the biggest waste of money ever spent. We now make sure we read every review before going on holiday. The best part of the holiday - LEAVING!!!

Pros:
- we lost weight on the bread diet and having the worst dirorreah of our lives

Cons:
- not even our greedy Labrador dog would eat the food at the hotel
- cockroaches and flies on a permanent vacation in the hotel
- rudest staff we have ever come across, especially the Lurch from Adams family lookalike
- dirty beach - visit at your own risk!!!

Ramada liberty - you should be ASHAMED of yourselves, and the fact you don't reply to negative reviews sums you up!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews