We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Saturday Night”

Al Mandra Restaurant
Cuisines: Tunisian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Luton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Great Saturday Night”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Just across the road from the Royal Kenz and Imperial Marhaba.

Was genuinely a really good night, great music, great atmosphere.
I would recommend it to people who like a good dance and a good time on a Saturday night.

Only criticism is that they allow smoking, but hey can’t really fault them for catering to their locals.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exceeds the current trip advisor #1 by far..”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

La mandra, port el kantoui, Tunisia.
During a one week stay in tunisia we visited la mandra on two occasions (as well as visiting the top rated restaurant la mediteranee) we agreed that this restaurant is by far the best and deserves to be ranked no 1. It's modern setting, ambient lighting and tranquil background music make for a lovely atmosphere, on the first visit I had the lamb which was gorgeous and the second visit we both had the steak, which was AMAZING!! (and believe me I have some great Steaks in my time) for desert we demolished the chocolate soufflé which was cooked to absolute perfection! the staff were friendly and the mojitos were up to scratch (unlike in most of Tunisia where they use peppermint cordial insteAd of fresh mint!!) compared to most restaurants In Tunisia, this place is modern and trendy, most of the locals will tell you it's expensive but compared to an equivalent in england, it is relatively reasonable.... You pay for what you get and if you want quality  food, good service and a pleasent atmosphere, this is the place for you. My only critism would be that the menu is all in french, having said that, the staff are All too happy to explain each dish for you prior to ordering. Definately recommended and worth a visit (or in our case, two!) 

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank 50shadesoffinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“not a smokeless zone!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

went to La Mandra with friends in Jan.2012 but only for drinks, it is a nice friendly place and it gives you a good chance to see how the wealthy young Tunisians enjoy themselves,but I wouldn,t like to sit and eat a meal in there as the place was like an opium den, 99.9% of customers never had a cigarette out of there mouth, for me this spoilt the whole evening. It was so bad that when we got back to our hotel we hung our clothes on the balcony to rid them of the stale smell. What a shame there isn,t a smoke free area.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice but expensive”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

It is a lovely place but the prices are slightly high. Worth going to for a quick quiet drink though.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“a real treasure”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

fantastic restaurant, very attentive waiters. food was excellent and good value for money compared with the UK, we paid under £10 for a fantastic fillet steak with fois gras, my husband and brother had sea bream which was also excellent. highly recommended.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank judithhamdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Mandra Restaurant also viewed

Port El Kantaoui, Sousse Governorate
Port El Kantaoui, Sousse Governorate
 
Port El Kantaoui, Sousse Governorate
 
Sousse, Sousse Governorate
Port El Kantaoui, Sousse Governorate
 

Been to Al Mandra Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing